DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
FrontierSpace Player's Handbook
by Ken [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2022 14:55:41

A lovely re-implementation of the old TSR Star Frontiers RPG. Quality of the product is very good and old-school sci-fi gamers will likely appreciate dipping their toes back in familiar waters. While the rules have been slightly updated, there's a sense the writers could have gone a little farther; for example, I'm not really sure why anyone these days uses a d100 mechanic over d20 except for nostalgia alone.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
FrontierSpace Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Covert Ops - The Moongate Dossier
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2022 19:14:36

A most excellent (and long awaited) addition to Covert Ops! My players LOVED the rookie background generator and the addition of traits serves to differentiate between players. Heartily recommended.

Thanks guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Covert Ops - The Moongate Dossier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by John P. - E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2021 11:30:11

Please check out my review of Bare Bones Fantasy rpg... https://youtu.be/Cir6Fd5u_0s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trouble at Karam's Claim
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2021 22:05:23

I've ran this several different times with different groups and once used just the map. Serves a good plot for a couple of hours of a session, though you might want to expand or drop this in a larger plot for a single night's game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trouble at Karam's Claim
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FrontierSpace Referee's Handbook
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2021 20:54:57

A simple to use space opera rpg that covers everything. Nice!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FrontierSpace Referee's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Decahedron Magazine #5
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2021 09:53:50

I can't add any more than the first review. There is stuff here I will use in my games, and that's as high praise as I can give.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Decahedron Magazine #5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by Clayton D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2021 11:52:25

Excellent product for running a Wuxia game, whether or not you use the included ruleset.

This product can be thought of as consisting of two parts: a thorough presentation of Wuxia genre, flavor, setting, and tropes, along with a lightweight system for running a game in this genre. I bought this product to add Wuxia flavor to an existing Dungeon World game, but it absolutely delivers as a system-neutral resource for those wanting run a game with Wuxia flavor.

I appreciate the author's tight presentation, clarity of vision, and good editing. Everything in here deepens the Wuxia flavor, anything else is thankfully left out. Even game-mechanical elements such as Qi Techniques (like martial arts moves) are infused with so much flavor that you can still use them even outside of the intended game system.

Particularly noteworthy is a section on the Wuxia genre and advice for the GM on how to infuse Wuxia into their game. This kind of specific, concrete advice on running a game is gold, valuable even for the experienced GM.

The included bestiary is excellent. It is specific, evocative, and includes more monster illustrations than I would expect in a product like this. This is probably where most of the art budget went and that's fine by me -- of all the art in an RPG book, the monster art has the biggest chance of being used at the table, in the game.

In conclusion, some of you may be in the same position as I was, wondering if this purchase price is worth it even if you're not planning on using the rules. I say it's absolutely worth it! Get it and thank me later :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 13:36:46

Great little supplement. Really captures the Wuxia genre, with good well flavoured character options, in a nice easy to play ruleset. Plenty of options for martial arts and magic. Scant but very evocative artwork.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia: White Breath Cave
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2020 02:29:26

I ran this adventure. It's a good way to introduce the players to the system...though as I ran it after he start of the campaign, they might have been a bit more powerful than expected. Still, it provided us an evening of fun on short notice when I wasn't feeling inspired, and what more can one ask from an adventure?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia: White Breath Cave
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by 38720 M. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2020 02:19:56

That's a great wuxia game! And I do not say that lightly...I have more than a few of those. Due to being light, it's almost infinitely customizable. And the system is light enough that the players and the Referee can focus on what's actually going on in the game instead of on managing their own characters/NPCs. And creating NPCs on the fly is a breeze! As an aside: that, I believe, is the greatest failing of some other games aiming at the same genre, even games that I otherwise like a lot...

In the last month, I think my group is averaging over 2 sessions of Age of Wuxia per week. That should be enough of a recommendation, I believe!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by Alexandre R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2020 05:46:39

This is a nice rpg for playing oriental adventures in a fantastic world. The art is amazing and very and very illustrative of this fantastic atmosphere. You have non crunchy rules for martial artists and classical magic spellusers. Ideal for dungeoning in an ancient oriental atmosphere.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by Newton P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2020 09:18:34

I love the game so far. They've done some fantastic things to bring the genre alive, and mimic those high-flying Kung-fu movies we love.

For example the Qi power: "Heroic Pose" is almost screaming for my players to stand-up at the table and say something cocky (but poorly dubbed in English so their lips don't match the words...hahahaha).

Also, I love the rules for "Improvised Weapons" (again, another standard of the genre) with damage output that doesn't make it a poor choice.

The 'Cinematic Sliders' is fantastic, and so simple, that other rpgs should have this for an easy 'heroic' mode.

The simple 'one-line' of stats for minor NPCs is perfect. I don't want to wade through lines of stat-blocks for mooks who are going to drop like flies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by Ralph B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2020 04:43:52

An excellent iteration of wuxia! The ruleset is direct and simple to use but contains enough detail to make advancing a character fun and interesting over time. Skills cover dozens of different kung fu styles that feel different from each other, numerous spells for sorcerers, alchemies, and many others. Well worth your attention.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of Wuxia Core Rules
by Damian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2020 05:07:30

I have searched for a self-contained ruleset for wuxia for a long time, one that did not require extensive home-brewing to my group's tastes and my ideals.

This ticked all the right boxes for me:

  1. A straightforward system for capturing the tone of a wuxia game - I mainly skimmed it and it wasn't hard to grok
  2. It is classless and mainly skills-based (derived off your relevant ability score + skill level), allowing you to mix and match concepts
  3. It is capable of representing a diverse many in-genre abilities through these skills, including but not restricted to:
    • alchemy [poisons, medicines, antidotes, etc]
    • detective
    • diviner [can be traded for 'strategist' if you want a less magical setting]
    • sorcerer [which seems simple enough to remove if you want a straight-up non-magic game],
    • thief

In addition, the usual tropes are there:

  • Different kung fu styles, their effects and how to create them
  • Different spells and their effects
  • Sample weapons of ingenious design (hidden weapons mostly)
  • Sample magic weapons

I, for one, am happy with my purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
by Cold C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2020 15:51:45

There is so much to this small package. Classless & level-less. This system incorporates so much into it's basic mechanics. The melee sytem handles multi-attacks, superiority of experienced warriors, dealing with multiple attackers, and defense in it's single melee mechanic. Character building is only the essential, but easily allows builds to any archetype, and easily one of your own. The magic system is likewise extremely uncomplicated and adaptable. A free form spell creation, that actually requires very little math, and remains exact.

The creativity allowed in the magic system, and item creation does make for some opportunistic power gaming. It could be a bit OP, and NPC's taking advantage of this system could turn it into a fast paced slap jack system, of outwitting enemy spellcasters, or them you. The damage causing effects of spells seems well regulated, but the advantages of non-damaging spells, could greatly influence balance. Which could be good or bad? This system seems to promote problem solving, not only by making simply swinging through battles dangerous, but also by making sneaky and inventive solutions enticing.

This system is something that just must be tried. It's an innovative system, for innovative exciting roleplaying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 157 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates