DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
10th Muse #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2014 04:50:55

Nice art, but the story doesn't say much about what the series will be about, although it does flesh out some of the characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10th Muse #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sherlock Holmes: Victorian Knights #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 04:07:07

Five pages of story seems a little short for an introduction to a new series, although what little writing was there was fine. The relationship between Holmes and Watson seemed a little more prickly then I remember from the original stories, but otherwise okay. While the art could have been better, it does its job.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sherlock Holmes: Victorian Knights #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Odyssey #0
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2014 04:05:47

The five pages of story did a poor job of explaining the set-up and what has come before and even who these main players are. The art was nice, but the writer seemed to assume the only people reading this would be familiar with the characters and backstory and made no effort to fill in those first-time readers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Odyssey #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orion the Hunter Trade
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2013 12:31:27

I was thankful for my purchase. I didnt have to go back and buy the individual trade paperbacks



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orion the Hunter Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Female Force: Nancy Reagan
by Scotty G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2013 17:27:23

Female Force: Nancy Reagan

Staff: Michael Troy, Manuel Diaz, Jeremy Kahn, Alberto Pessoa

Overview: Educational, just not engaging.

Review: When I downloaded “Female Force Nancy Reagan” I thought someone had made Nancy Reagan into an action hero with a team of other 1st ladies (Note to self: pitch concept to NBC, I’m sure they are looking for something less offensive than Ironsides). What I got wasn’t that but it was still decent.

Jumping right in, the art’s solid but sometimes it looks traced (see: cover). They use a very vibrant palette and it’s clear this was intended for kids (or at least students). Layout it top notch and lettering is readable. A few times it got a bit small and when superimposed over some really vibrant colors (see page 14 for an example) it got a little hard to read when the text was smaller than expected.

The comic gives a glossy overview of Nancy Reagan's life from birth until childhood. While good overall, it has a few missteps (it compares Ronald and Nancy to Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie?) Sometimes it jumps around chronologically (Example: It’s talking about a rocky relationship with her children then jumps to post presidential life when Ronald had medical issues then back). Then on page 16, for no reason, it jumps into some really disjointed things. It just says, “Consulting an astrologer about her husband’s tactics? Star Wars? Reaganomics? Red Scare Nuclear War?” without giving us the context of what is going on until a page later. It is a very odd jump and implies things that might confuse a kid on the first read without supervision.

This comic was clearly meant for students and was designed to be an educational resource. In that light, yeah it is successful. It is nice to see a comic working to engage kids in an education sense. However, it lacks any sort of passion. It’s paint by numbers. It might as well have come from wikipedia. This falls into the trap that educational TV shows and video games (really, all forms of media) falls into. It tries too hard to educate and not hard enough to engage.

Metrics Art: 5/10 (Better then expected with some slip ups) Lettering: 4/10 (Generally pretty good with some mistakes) Plot: 1/10 (Disjointed and lacks passion) Novelty: 3/10 (Educational angle saves it) Overall: 3.25/10

Review from: http://indiecomicreview.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Female Force: Nancy Reagan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secret Lives of Julie Newmar Trade
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2013 12:44:35

Light time travel with a bit of goofiness in it. As usual, the cover is the best representation of the person at hand, Julie Newmar, but the interior art is passable. Story looks like it may continue but I'm not dying for another issue. Fun for one though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret Lives of Julie Newmar Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tony & Cleo #0
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2013 17:01:40

This comic wasn't half bad. the artistry was ok and the story itself was interesting. I expected more interaction between Tony and Cleo though because I LOVE interracial comics and I thought that this one would have been just as good. Overall I say it was on "ok" comic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tony & Cleo #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Final Death Race #1
by Hillel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2013 14:33:45

The comic tries to make a sequel to the original Death Race 2000. However, for anyone that has actually watched the movie, you would know that several things that happen in this comic would not happen in the original story. (The return of the Death Race being a good example.) Perhaps I will be convinced that this is good with later issues, but for now you have been warned.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Final Death Race #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Wrath of the Titans #1
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2013 11:43:09

Excellent art work which exceeds my own vision of such a clash of mythology.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Wrath of the Titans #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: Sinbad Rogue of Mars #1
by Thomas M R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2013 11:40:06

Excellent product and I plan on purchasing more in the future



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: Sinbad Rogue of Mars #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ray Harryhausen Presents: War of the Elementals #0
by William R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2013 12:36:53

This was a nice teaser for what could be a very interesting premise. The characters were not given enough screen time to get to know them well but they seem to be non-ordinary and have some intrigue to them. the drawing style is a bit more stylized than I am used to but it seemed to fit the setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ray Harryhausen Presents: War of the Elementals #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Victoria's Secret Service: Nemesis Rising #0
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2013 19:02:15

This is basicly an introduction to a series with character/dossier sheets on each girl at the end.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Victoria's Secret Service: Nemesis Rising #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nanny & Hank #0
by Keith L. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2013 04:14:00

The art style is not my cup of tea, but the story and the execution is excellent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nanny & Hank #0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Styx & Stone Trade
by Walter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2013 20:36:42

This is good stuff! Good story, good art, good characters, it has it all. I look forward to more Styx & Stone and I encourage anyone who enjoys horror comics to give this a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Styx & Stone Trade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Walter Koenig's Raver
by Walter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2013 18:23:07

Raver is a good idea, but it leaves too much unexplained. There is no backstory and you're just thrown into it expected to know what's going on. That would be okay I guess if it wasn't for the fact that the comic borders on boring. I give this three stars for the third issue, which was decent. The other three issues get 1-2 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Walter Koenig's Raver
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates