DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/15/2019 07:55:28

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2018/12/11/ersteindruck-stars-without-number-sandkastenspiele-in-einer-weit-entfernten-galaxis/

Der Weltraum. Unendliche Weiten. Dieses Regelwerk soll dazu dienen Abenteuer auf fremden Planten zu erleben, unbekannte Lebensformen und neue Zivilisation zu entdecken. Das Buch dringt dabei in Regeltiefen vor, die kaum ein Regelwerk zuvor gesehen hat. Aber lohnt es sich auch? Dieser Frage wollen wir nachgehen.

Ursprünglich erschien die erste Edition von Stars without Number 2011 bei Sine Nomine Publishing und wurde schnell ein Geheimtipp in der Nische der Sci-Fi-Rollenspiele. Sechs Jahre und einige Erweiterungen später wurde in einem enorm erfolgreichen Kickstarter die Revised Edition finanziert und verlegt. Ähnlich den anderen Publikationen des Verlags, beispielsweise Godbound oder Silent Legions, legt Autor Kevin Crawford einen Fokus darauf Sandboxkampagnen nicht nur zu ermöglichen, sondern die Spielleitung explizit in der Erstellung und Durchführung einer solchen Kampagne zu unterstützen. Mit welchem Tipps und Hilfsmitteln das ermöglicht werden soll, schauen wir uns in der Folge an.

Die Spielwelt Der Hintergrund Obwohl Stars without Number sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat eine möglichst breite Art von Hintergründen und Spielstilen zu unterstützen, liefert es trotzdem ein eigenes Setting mit, dass von der Spielleitung als Ausgangspunkt genutzt werden kann. In dieser Welt führte vor hunderten von Jahren ein Kataklysmus namens „Der Schrei“ zum Zusammenbruch des terranischen Mandats. In einem Moment verloren alle Telepathen aus unbekannten Gründen ihren Verstand und die entstehende metadimensionale Welle ließ den intergalaktischen Transport als auch die Kommunikation zusammenbrechen. In der folgenden Zeit, das Schweigen genannt, zerfiel nicht nur die Macht des Mandats, sondern  auch ganze Zivilisationen stürzten zusammen. Der Umgang mit komplexen Technologien und das Aufrechterhalten der Gesellschaften  fielen in basalere Stadien zurück.

Nun, Jahrhunderte später, hat die Menschheit erneut begonnen sich zwischen den Sternensystemen zu bewegen. Nur einige wenige Welten haben die technischen Errungenschaften der Zeit vor dem Schrei, der so genannten Prä-Technologie, bewahren können. Die meisten Welten arbeiten mit Neuentwicklungen, der Post-Technologie, die aber unzuverlässiger, weniger effektiv oder weniger mächtig sind als ihre antiken Vorgänger. Einige Welten schicken sich an ihre Nachbarn durch Diplomatie oder militärische Macht unter ihren Einfluss zu zwingen, andere haben nicht die notwendige Kenntnis oder Ressourcen sich aus einer zweiten Steinzeit zu befreien. Der Sektor steht also an einer historischen Wasserscheide. Welche Fraktion wird aufsteigen, welche fallen, wer erhebt sich aus dem Staub der Geschichte und wer wird endgültig vergessen?

Die Spieler im Sandkasten

Artwork von Stars Without Number Man kann es dem vorangegangenen Absatz schon entnehmen. Die SpielerInnen starten – zumindest wenn das Ausgangssetting benutzt wird – in eine Welt voller Möglichkeiten. Die Welt ist noch nicht an einem Punkt angekommen, dass sich eine Fraktion gegen die andere durchgesetzt hätte und die Machtverhältnisse sind im Fluss. Es bedarf also herausragenden Individuen, die bereit sind, das Schicksal der Menschheit zu beeinflussen und zu den Helden oder Schurken ihrer Zeit zu werden. Oder um es mit den Worten des Berliner Historikers Leopold von Ranke zu sagen „In großen Entscheidungen ist es notwendig, dass mächtige Männer eine Unternehmung zu ihrer persönlichen Angelegenheit machen.“ Heute würde man das sicherlich inklusiver und mit weniger heiligem Ernst formulieren, als es Ranke Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts tat, aber der Aussage wohnt der gleiche Geist inne, der auch die Idee der Sandbox belebt: Eine große Entscheidung zu einer persönlichen Sache machen.

Aus diesem Grund kommt das Setting auch nahezu ohne vorgegebene Fraktionen, Konflikte, Storylines etc. aus. Es ist vielmehr wie ein großer Baukasten zu verstehen, aus dem man etwas Eigenes zusammenstellen kann. Das ist natürlich mehr Arbeit als ein vorgefertigtes Abenteuer in einem existierenden Setting zu nehmen und die SpielerInnen durch eine Plot-Achterbahn zu jagen, aber wenn es funktioniert, kann es eine sehr belohnende Erfahrung sein. Damit die Erstellung des Hintergrunds aber nicht in zu viel Arbeit ausartet, nimmt Stars without Numbers die potenzielle Spielleitung von Anfang an an die Hand. In den folgenden Absätzen betrachten wir deshalb die grundlegenden Design-Prinzipien des Spiels und beleuchten, wie das Spiel die Spielleitung Schritt für Schritt hindurchleitet.  

Die Regeln Bedingt durch die enorm erfolgreiche Kickstarter-Kampagne, die immer neue Kapitel als Stretchgoal freigeschaltet hat, ist das Buch sehr umfangreich geworden. Es gibt Regeln für naheliegende Dinge in einem Science-Fiction-Rollenspiel wie beispielsweise Raumkampf oder Sektorenerschaffung. Dann gibt es Regeln für Dinge, die für bestimmte Szenarien sinnvoll sein können, wie psionische Kräfte oder künstliche Intelligenzen. Und schließlich gibt es auch noch Regeln für Weltraum-Magie oder intelligente Nanitenschwärme als Hülle für die selbstbewusste Essenz antiker AIs. Damit die Rezension nicht in Detailanalyse ausartet, beschränkt sich die genauere Betrachtung hier auf die Regeln zur Setting- und Charaktererschaffung.

Settingerstellung

Artwork von Stars Without Number Dieser Teil des Regelwerks ist eines der Kernstücke und auch der, an dem man die Designphilosophie des Spiels am besten sieht. Legt man zu Grunde, dass Stars without Number vor allem eine Hilfestellung zum Spielen in einer Science-Fiction-Sandbox sein will, dann ist die Sektorenerstellung das Herz des Spiels. Hier wird die Spielleitung Schritt für Schritt durch einen Prozess geleitet, an dessen Ende eine Hexkarte eines Sternensystems mitsamt verschiedenen Planetensystemen unterschiedlicher Entwicklungsstufen, Raumschiffhäfen, aktiven und inaktiven Raumstationen, Asteroidenminen, Fraktionen und Handelswegen steht. Im Prinzip also alle beweglichen Teile, die man in einem solchen Setting erwarten oder brauchen kann.

Doch ehe das alles steht, ist es ein langer Weg und am Anfang steht ein großes übergreifendes Werkzeug, das so alt ist wie das Hobby selbst: Die Zufallstabelle. Es gibt für beinahe alles in diesem Generierungsschritt Zufallstabellen. Dabei ist es nicht zwingend notwendig sie immer und für alles zu benutzen, aber sie helfen bei der Erstellung eines eigenen Systems ungemein, wenn man nicht von vornherein mit einem sehr detaillierten und festen Bild an die Sache herangeht. Wem generell die Idee eines zufällig generierten Systems nicht gefällt, der wird sicherlich mit diesem Spiel nicht glücklich werden. Wer bereit ist dieser Herangehensweise grundsätzlich eine Chance zu geben, der bekommt hier ein Paradebeispiel geliefert, bei dem sich viele andere Spiele unter dem Banner der Sandboxspiele eine gehörige Scheibe abschneiden können. Es würde zu weit gehen jede einzelne der Tabellen zu besprechen, aber vielleicht kann ein einfaches Beispiel verdeutlichen, wie die Sektorenerschaffung funktioniert.

Nachdem man die Anzahl der Planeten festgelegt und ihre Position auf einem Hexfeld beliebiger Größe angeordnet hat, geht es darum den Planeten so genannte tags zuzuordnen. Tags sind hier zu verstehen als kurze Schlagworte, die die leitenden Charakteristika des Planeten umschreiben. Um einen Planeten mit tags auszustatten, wirft man zweimal einen 1W100 und schaut unter den entsprechenden Einträgen nach. So hat man dann beispielsweise einen Gefängnisplaneten, dessen Terraforming nie beendet wurde. Oder aber eine paradiesische Gartenwelt, die eine Zivilisation beherbergt, die dabei ist zum Hegemon des Systems aufzusteigen. Damit allein ist es aber noch nicht getan. Jeder tag hat eine ausführlichere Beschreibung komplett mit möglichen Feinden, Verbündeten, Komplikationen, Orten und Dingen, die es zu entdecken gibt. Dabei sind die Beschreibungen zwar kurz, aber immer atmosphärisch und evokativ, so dass es leicht fällt direkt die Grundlinien eines Spielabends zu erkennen, während man auf die tags schaut.

Nachdem man also nun tags ausgewählt oder erwürfelt hat, bestimmt man auf gleiche Wirf-auf-Tabelle-Weise weitere Kennzahlen des Planeten (Bevölkerung, Atmosphäre, technische Entwicklung) und zusätzliche interessante Dinge des Systems wie Raumstationen oder orbitale Ruinen. Für die Statistiker noch interessant: Bei den letzten Tabellen wird mit 2W6 statt einem W100 gewürfelt, so dass die spielerisch sinnvolleren Optionen, wie atembare Luft und zumindest rudimentäre Bevölkerung, stochastisch bevorzugt werden. Danach können noch Fraktionen erstellt werden, die im Metahintergrund agieren und die Welt so zum Leben erwecken. Natürlich können SpielerInnen mit der Zeit einer dieser Fraktionen beitreten, sie übernehmen oder zu eigenen Fraktionen aufsteigen. Für all dieses bietet das Buch Regeln und lässt so einen ambitionierten Leiter nicht im sprichwörtlichen Regen stehen. All das kann aber auch später kommen, denn die ersten Abenteuer brauchen nicht zwingend eine Myriade agierenden Hintergrundfraktionen, sondern diese können nach und nach eingeführt werden. Wichtiger ist es, dass man die erstellte Welt zum Spielen nutzt. Darum wenden wir uns nun den möglichen Abenteuern zu.  

Abenteuererstellung und Spielphilosophie

Artwork von Stars Without Number Nachdem der Sektor in seinen Grundgerüsten steht, bleibt natürlich noch die Frage offen, wie viele Details man hinzufügen will und was genau man denn in diesem Spielkasten tun will. Hier zeigt sich, dass Stars without Number trotz seiner Detailfülle diesen Aspekt nicht aus den Augen gelassen hat. Die grundlegende Philosophie zu diesen beiden Fragen wird bereits zu Beginn der Sektorenerschaffung explizit aufgeschrieben und lässt sich auf zwei grundlegende Fragen zuspitzen: „Habe ich Spaß?“ und „Brauche ich das für die nächste Sitzung?“ Im Idealfall sollten beide Fragen mit „Ja“ beantwortet werden. Sollte die Antwort bedingt durch die Detailuntiefen „Nein“ lauten, sollte man aufhören. Im Zweifel rät das Spiel einem dazu, die fehlenden Details von den SpielerInnen ausgestalten zu lassen, um ihre Verbindung mit der Welt einerseits und ihr Engagement am Spieltisch andererseits zu stärken. Beides enorm wichtige Dinge, wenn eine Sandboxkampagne gut laufen soll. Der Fokus auf den Spieltisch und die konkreten Bedürfnisse des Spielabends werden jederzeit höchste Priorität gewidmet, was auch gar nicht oft genug erwähnt werden kann. Denn ansonsten findet sich die Spielleitung schnell mit einer bis ins Detail ausgearbeiteten transhumanistischen Zivilisation körperloser, unsterblicher Intellekte wieder, die ihre Grenzen mit einer quantenkommunikativ gesteuerten Armada semibewusster AI-Kriegsschiffe verteidigen, was die SpielerInnen beschließen mit Ignoranz zu lösen. Statt sich also wie Captain Kirk mit Bauernschläue und Todesverachtung einer überlegenen Zivilisation von Energiemonstern zu stellen, drehen sie ihre Nostromo um und verschwinden so schnell sie können, um sich und ihre mühsam zusammengeklaubten Besitztümer in Sicherheit zu bringen. Will man als Spielleitung nun die Entscheidung der Charaktere nicht entwerten, indem man sie per Traktorstrahl in den Konflikt hineinzwingt, muss man die ganze Arbeit zur Seite schieben und aus dem Handgelenk eine neue Geschichte improvisieren.

Damit das möglichst leicht machbar ist, gibt einem das Kapitel zur Abenteuererstellung einige gute Hilfsmittel an die Hand, damit der Frust über die schnöde ignorierten Mary-Sue-Übermenschen nicht zum Abbruch der gesamten Kampagne führt.

Kurzum folgt man auch hier wieder dem Prinzip der Spielleitung einen Baukasten für eigene Abenteuer zu liefern. Die Spielleitung wird angehalten sich über die Motivation seiner Gruppe klar zu werden, um so das bestmögliche Abenteuer für diese spezifische Gruppe zu erstellen. Dabei geht die Abenteueranleitung nach bekannten Mustern vor, die aber in einer sehr verständlichen und klaren Sprache formuliert sind. Such dir die Themen des Abenteuers aus, schreib eine grobe Outline an Szenen, füge beliebige Anzahl an Details und Handouts hinzu, mach dir klar welche Motivation deine Gruppe haben könnte deinem Storyköder zu folgen, dann noch einmal aufpolieren und auf die Spielerschaft loslassen. Damit die eigenen kreativen Prozesse starten können, kommt erneut die Zufallstabelle zum Einsatz. Den Abschluss bildet eine Übersicht von 100 möglichen Abenteuerideen, wenn man denn so gar nicht weiß, wo man anfangen soll.

Charaktererschaffung

Artwork von Stars Without Number Die Sektoren stehen, mögliche Abenteueraufhänger sind auch etabliert und man hat sich gemeinsam mit der Gruppe überlegt, was man denn spielen will. Nun müssen natürlich noch Charaktere her. Stars without Number steht hier sicher in der OSR-Tradition des Rollenspiels. Das bedeutet, dass unter der Motorhaube grundlegend eine einfache D&D-Version arbeitet mit all den typischen Eigenheiten dieser Spiele. Es gibt sechs grundlegende Attribute, denen entsprechende Fähigkeiten zugeordnet sind. Je höher der Attributswert, desto höher der Bonus, den man auf einen Wurf bekommt. Man bekommt entweder eine feste Anzahl an Punkten, die man auf Attribute und Fertigkeiten verteilen kann oder man kann sie zufällig erwürfeln. Von diesen Werten leiten sich Werte wie Rüstungsklasse oder Rettungswürfe ab.

Alle Charaktere basieren dann auf einer Kombination von Hintergrund, Klasse und Fokus. Der Hintergrund steht dabei für die biografische oder soziale Herkunft wie zum Beispiel Adel, Klerus, Fabrikarbeiter etc. Die Klasse legt fest, was der Charakter hauptsächlich macht und worauf er sich im Spiel konzentrieren will. Der Krieger kämpft, der Experte hat ein besonderes Spezialgebiet, der Psioniker hat übersinnliche Kräfte und der Abenteurer konnte sich nicht so recht entscheiden und möchte sich alle Optionen offenhalten. Schließlich nimmt man noch Foki, die den bisher relativ generischen Charakteren spezifische Ausformungen geben. Der Krieger kann also entweder Soldat, Offizier, Assassine oder Ritter einer technologisch wenig entwickelten Welt sein.

Man muss dazu sagen, dass Stars without Number – wie alle OSR-Spiele – deutlich in der tödlichen Ecke angesiedelt ist. Ein einzelner Blasterschuss kann auch erfahrene Charaktere auf der Stelle töten. Wem das nicht gefällt, der kann natürlich die Alternativregeln für heroische Charaktere benutzen, die mit höheren Lebenspunkten, Rettungswürfen etc. einhergehen.

Ansonsten ist zu der Charaktererschaffung wenig zu sagen. Das System ist simpel und leicht verständlich, bietet aber auch Möglichkeiten zu Optimierung und Numbercrunching. Es wirkt intuitiv, wenn auch wenig innovativ. 

Erscheinungsbild Das Buch erscheint – wie bei DriveThruRPG üblich – in mehreren Druckoptionen. Alle Aussagen basieren auf der farbigen Premiumversion, wie sie im Rahmen des Kickstarters ausgeliefert wurde. Optisch ist das Buch solide gemacht. Das durchgängig zweispaltige Schriftbild ist angenehm zu lesen und dezente farbige Balken am Rand lassen einen beim Durchblättern nicht nur immer wissen, wann ein neues Kapitel beginnt, sondern bilden eine schöne optische Kapitelklammer. Ferner wird jedes Kapitel durch eine großes einseitiges Artwork eingeleitet und zwischendurch sind immer wieder künstlerische Auflockerungen eingestreut. Das erfüllt alles seinen Zweck, entfacht aber auch keinen Begeisterungssturm. Die Artworks sind durchgehend von solider Qualität ohne allerdings dabei besonders hervorzustechen. Das Papier ist matt und angenehm dick, so dass es auch haptisch nichts zu bemängeln gibt. Der einzige kleine Wermutstropfen ist, dass der Buchblock deutlich kleiner ist als das ihn umgebene Hardcover. Da der Pappeinband somit an drei Seiten deutlich „übersteht“ bekommt er deutlich schneller Knicke und die Ecken sehen schnell bestoßen aus. Insgesamt aber ein handwerklich gutes Produkt, dessen Fokus aber klar auf der guten Benutzbarkeit und nicht schönem Aussehen liegt. 

Bonus/Downloadcontent Zum Zeitpunkt dieses Ersteindrucks gibt es keinen offiziellen Bonuscontent. Allerdings hat man auf der Webseite des Projekts Sectors without Number die Möglichkeit eine Web-Version der Sektorenerschaffung zu nutzen. Außerdem wird auf DriveThruRPG eine kostenlose Variante des Spiels vertrieben, die einige Sonderregelkapitel und Artworks weniger enthält, aber einen hervorragenden Startpunkt abgibt.

Fazit Die Ein-Mann-Schreibarmee Kevin Crawford hat mit der Revised Edition von Stars without Number ein beeindruckendes Werk vorgelegt. Auf den etwas mehr als 300 Seiten findet sich ein wahres Füllhorn an Ideen, Anleitungen und Regeln für nahezu jeden Aspekt von Science-Fiction-Rollenspielen im Generellen und den Sandbox-Spielstil im Speziellen. Wer schon immer einmal sein eigenes Universum erschaffen und dann seine SpielerInnen darauf loslassen wollte, der hat mit diesem Buch quasi eine Pflichtlektüre vor sich.

Optisch ist das Ganze sicher keine Schönheit, aber der Text an sich ist so dicht, dass manches Regelsystem mit dem dreifachen Seitenumfang nicht an die inhaltliche Tiefe herankommt. Alle Regel-Subsysteme wie Fraktionenhandlungen oder Raumkampf sind intuitiv und folgen dem klaren Designanspruch möglichst schnell und flüssig am Spieltisch umsetzbar zu sein und wenn möglich alle SpielerInnen einbinden zu können. Eine vorbildliche Herangehensweise, an der sich andere Simulationen ein Beispiel nehmen können.

Natürlich muss man dazu sagen, dass die schiere Fülle an Optionen einen mitunter fast erschlägt und eventuell einschüchternd wirken kann, aber die Beschäftigung lohnt sich für jeden, der Spaß an Science-Fiction Kampagnen hat. Mit knapp zwanzig US-Dollar für die PDF und 60 US-Dollar für die günstigste Druckversion gehört Stars without Number sicherlich nicht zu den günstigen Vertretern seiner Art, aber die kostenlose Variante bietet einem die Möglichkeit legal und gefahrlos in die Kernelemente des Spiels reinzuschnuppern, ehe man die Investition tätigt. Auch das verdient, wie das gesamte Buch, viel Lob und Anerkennung. Insgesamt ein uneingeschränkt empfehlenswertes Produkt. Chapeau, Herr Crawford.

Der Ersteindruck basiert auf der Lektüre des Buches und der Erschaffung eines kompletten Sektors mit Hilfe der entsprechenden Regeln.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2019 05:55:47

My personal favorite RPG system. The revised version very much improves on the what was alreay great in the first and removes some of the obtuse systems (Like combat both in space and land).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2019 05:46:45

Real fun Space snadbox RPG which has ample tools for a GM to use to set up the galaxy. The second version is improved.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Nick A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2018 18:11:42

The game is really fun. The binding on my book broke almost immediately. I went through proper opening procedures several times, and went to open it for a session and the binding separated. Unfortunate.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Tyler L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2018 12:48:14

Stars without number is a fantastic game that I'd reccommend any fan of RPGs and Sci Fi to play. That being said, I will not give it a 5 star rating for only a couple reasons. First I provide evidence to why my opinion is valid, and then I will present the couple of issues that I had with it. Bear in mind that this is my opinion, and I do, still love the game quite much. Now, to get started

  • MY OPINION = VALID: This is the narrative to how I arrived at my rating decsision. If you want to see only my end result of thoughts, please look below this area. So, as with most people who have played a certain games' opinion is valid, I believe mine is as well. Me and my group of friends played this game for about 1 entire year, and we loved it. We played it in a strange fashion however. We had gotten bored of playing fantasy (we've played DND for over 8 years at this point) and I have most often been in the dungeon master seat. I was also getting bored of running only fantasy games. One of my friends told us about STARS, and we decided to play the game in a one-shot fashion. So, I read a good portion of the book, prepared some ready-to-hand-out characters. We were quickly in love with how much tension the system provides, and we decided to keep playing the game in episodic fashion. Every week we'd pick a random day in between our normal game session, and we would play an 'episode' of the game, which the players and I as the GM, loved. We did this all year.

    Now, we eventually stopped playing it, and I will tell you why. We had played the game with a series of episodes, which the players would pick from a group of pre-made characters, and complete whatever 'mission' the CEO of their company told them to do. They would do this however they'd like, and sometimes would take unexpected twists and turns to accomplish their objective. It was a little bit more narrow focused than most of my games, but it seemed the group liked that direction. Then, one day, my one player asked the question that would later be associated with dread for the entire group. . . "Can I make my own character?"

    Now, normally this question would not be a problem, if the rest of the group was not already in love with the way the game was set up. They were pre-made operatives. Everyone had become attached to the characters that they played each week, and the atmosphere was team oriented in game. Everyone was a specialist. However, a player convinced me that he would be more attached if he made his own character, which, despite the nature of this game in particular that we were running, I allowed him to roll his own. I realize this was a pivotal mistake with OUR experience with STARS. He ended up creating a psionics character, which I had made any as part of their team. And for a reason. One of the players in the group was known as Doctor Emmis. He was a combat medic, he saved the other players' lives while putting his own at risk. The player that played him loved that character and gave him a lot of personality. Now, the psionics character that was made, was a healer as well. But it wasn't just that. His character was so unbelievably good at healing, that he could bring people back to life and what not. He eventually gained the ability to regenerate decapitated creatures. The player playing Emmis felt that his character was now, wholly underpowered, undermined by the psionics mechanics, and I can see why. A few weeks after this new character, we got disinfatuated with the game and stopped playing.

    After looking back at the psionics rules, it seems obvious to me that they are overpowered. If you aren't playing a psionics character, you're missing out on some strength. Sure, maybe you won't have as many skills, but that does not matter, you will more than make up for it by being stronger than everything else. Now, on to the more objective stuff.

    • THE GOOD - THE BAD - AND THE UGLY - In this section, I will highlight what I like, dislike, and hate about this system.

    • GOOD - Stars without number is, well, a fantastic system overall. The combat is more streamlined due to people not making multiple attacks, damage dice rolls being mostly condensed, and the hitpoints not being superbly over-inflated. All of that, and the character creation is stellar. It really sells that you are creating some science fiction person with a history. The weapons are cool and fleshed out, and various mechanics allow things not usually present. Also some innovative mechanics such as "Once Per Scene," abilities make it easier to keep track of otherwise boring tediums, while still allowing people to have decent resource management. Skills also function a little better than in other d20 systems, where instead of rolling a d20 it is 2d6, so its much more averaged out. There is less chance of an idiot at a skill succeeding something they shouldn't, and those that are good at something are more likely to succeed. That's pretty cool. Also it has skill points, so you feel more invested when you level up. That is more subjective, but I know tons of people who miss games giving them skillpoints. The games' character customization is modular, allowing you to create whatever you want without having to pidgeon hole yourself into some stupid archetype that you don't want all the abilities from like in 5e. It also provides tons and tons of GM tools to run an awesome game.ONE MORE NOTE: Ship combat is cool, nuff said. So, overall. . .
    • Streamlined Combat
    • Superb Character Creation
    • Looks and Feels like sci fi
    • Variety of weapons/backgrounds
    • Melee combat fits in
    • Once Per Scene abilities are great!
    • 2d6 for skills is a massive improvement over a d20.
    • Skill points!
    • Character customization +++
    • Ship combat finally done right.
    • GM Tools are fleshed out.
  • Bad - As with all things, there are some faults with this system. Combat, although streamlined, has its various issues, mainly with immersion becoming problem, and just overall awkward design philosophy. First off, just like most d20 systems, it operates with the 6 second turn rule, meaning, one round (composed of everyones' turns) takes place over the course of 6 seconds. This means that whatever your character does, it happens in 6 seconds, every single turn. Now, for a game like 5e or other medieval fantasy d20 games, this is okay, it is fine, but the way STARS is presented, I think this harms the game at it's core. So, essentially you can fire in burst mode, or regular mode. Thats three bullets, or one, for your attack with many weapons. Other weapons it's just one shot per round. If you have a head on you, I think you may figure out the issue with this. No one with a fully automatic weapon will fire only one shot over the course fo six seconds. It is ridiculous. It is not that it breaks the games balance, but it really does destroy the immersion. The problem with this is that I don't know how I would fix it without completely redo-ing things or adding some arbitrary ruling here and there. But, you can look past these things to enjoy the game. Another minor complaint is that the way the skill points work would allow you to level up a skill to 4 (max) very quickly, which can hurt a games' progression system. The maker seems like he noticed this, so he put in an arbitrary level requirement to reach certain skill levels. This is okay, but it kind of puts a weird blockade on doing things, and I think it could be done a better way if it was thought about more. Last but not least, skill points. It is awesome that they are in the game, but they are done awkwardly. I had to, several times, re-explain the whole 0-4 skill progression to the same players, as the book did not explain it easily enough for them. Also, it costs the skill + 1 to level up, and that was the main source of confusion. I know I may sound scatterbrained, but it is a glaring issue that can slow down the game. So, overall . . .

    • Awkward gunplay
    • Progression is awkward.
    • Skill points, while great, are presented in an awkward way.
  • UGLY - So, there are a couple of things that eat away at me in this game. Things that make me not want to pick it up as much as I did when I first got it. Most of these are avoidable, but if they are let in to the game, in my opinion, they destroy it. First, and quite literally, foremost, are the 'casters,' of the book. The psionics. They are unquestionably broken beyond belief. You can play a regular character which needs crazy expensive high tech gear to break through a wall, or you could be a decent psionic who can just R.A.W. rip through the wall. You can play a hardened combat medic, slowly churning through supplies to keep your teammates alive, or you can be a decent psionic, and reattach heads of fallen comrades without expending real reasources. Now, this wouldn't be a problem, as there is a resource called 'effort' which limits the amount you can do these things, but the power difference of these abilities versus being slightly better at shooting, are just astronomical. I think we can pinpoint just how it happened this way too. AC's never get to a ridiculous level in this game, so, as you level up, you just become crazy good at hitting your target. Your Base attack bonus makes sure of it. Even a psionic with skill 2 in ranged ends up with like a +10 to hit, which at that point being a warrior type doesn't change much. Psionics are too good at all the other things. If they are to be as powerful at psionics as they are, they need to be hindered in other ways. There is a reason in RPGs why you can't play a wizard wearing platemail with a greatsword, at least not without expending tons of resources to do so. It's just too easy to be good at other things to justify the strength of the psionic. A way to fix this might be to tone back the attack bonus scaling. We found while playing, the people getting the hit bonus every level hit almost every time, and so did the psionic character with his gun. Raise some AC's, lower some Hit bonus scaling on the psionics, or just scale back their power. Now that's my main complaint of this game, but I want to touch on a couple more things. The hacking systems and other skills, are neat. I am glad they are in the game, but its' also just, well, underwhelming as a player. For example, in order to appropriately hack, you need to premeditate it for some long period of time. I know, it makes sense, but if you're trying to run a game and you want to play as some master-hacker type person, or making a quick decision to hack into something, the game doesn't support that very well, and it doesn't have a reason not too. Most of the time in an RPG, the players aren't going to want to take a one week break so the hacker can plan his hack, and that can be frustrating for the person who wants to live that fantasy. That's my main example. So, last but not least, there are the special items. The magic items of the game. Most of them are straight up game breaking, and as such, will not be used very often by many people. I can't really remember, but one of the items was a 'black spike,' or something like that, and it automatically instantly hacked for you, and kept it hacked forever. Just seems weird is all, I don't know how else to explain it. A lot of the special items and weapons were like this, where as a GM i would be legitimately afraid of what my players would think of doing with these items. So, I just never used them. I came up with my own special items. So, overall. . .
    • Psionics' power scale
    • Some skills seem under-powered, or just awkwardly restricted.
    • The 'magic' items baked into the system are mostly too powerful, such to a point that they are not interesting.

Review Overall, the game is great. It has some glaring issues, but they can be worked around. You can ban psionics, you can avoid putting powerful items into the game. So with that in mind, you can have an amazing experience playing it, but I can't help but think it could have been better if this stuff was baked into the game -properly-



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lexicon of the Throne
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2018 04:41:26

As always this is a high quality and useful RPG supplement by Kevin Crawford. I admit of being kind of a fanboy regarding his work and was so excited for this new expansion for the godbound rpg. Alas, I have to admit I am a little bit disappointed, since some of the words, especially the (super cool) Dragon concept word. Just by being a dragon you get automatic boons worth two to three minor gifts for free. On the other hand you are a frigging dragon, so I might be to concerned about balancing issues. Still its something that lessens this otherwise great product in my view.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lexicon of the Throne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Jonathan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2018 17:31:00

Stars Without Number is becoming one of my favourite Sci-Fi RPG's. It's game mechanics are simple to grasp, being easy and fluid in play, yet crunchy and satisfying enough to deal with nearly any Sci-Fi setting you want to stomp around in. The default setting is elegant and infinitely expandable. The actual rules are kept firmly in check, making combat deadly and intensely satisfying. Think twice before starting a fight. They end quickly.

If you have a hankering for some 2d6 Traveller style Sci-Fi, with some OSR/3.5 d20 style D&D combat mechanics, this is highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound Art Pack
by Shawn P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2018 14:12:07

Great art pack, the map-by-country is a nice touch and expecially the artist being contained in the image file name for attribution. It's a very generous donation to small creators to be able to use professional level artwork.

-An Eldritch Dream Games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:49:41

This is a great open ended system that you can make as complex as you want! I have been using it to run adventures. Any flavor of sci-fi can be used but beward at the lower levels, unless you choose the "heroic characters" option, you are in the default "gritty" setting where you can die early.

I got this after watching Adam Koebel on RollPlay. I am running a game on Roll20 and love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:09:36

This is not a game itself, but a modification to games of a particular subgenre (think OD&D or B/X) so that the math allows a single adventurer to play through older modules. If you like this, take a look at Scarlet Heroes by the same publisher, which takes this and builds a complete game around it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lexicon of the Throne
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2018 22:26:54

This is the best system agnostic pantheon and religion generator I have come across. I used it to create two religions using my own pantheon for a homebrew DnD 5e world and it generated two very well fleshed out religions along with a history, heirarchy, rules, punishments, and base of operations. These two religions ended up opposing each other and have basically sparked a campaign for my players. I highly recommend this for the religion and pantheon generator alone. Kevin Crawford never ceases to amaze me at his high quality works and Lexicon of the Throne is a great addition to any Worldbuilding GM's repetoire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lexicon of the Throne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Skuuf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2018 07:16:06

I've been running games every week for 14 years and this is my favorite System/Setting by far. The tools that Kevin Crawford gives to the GM are powerful and freeing. This product is worth the purchase for the Faction system alone. If you want a game that enables you to be creative, and then gets out of the way, this is the one for you. It can also be modded it for a fantasy setting without much difficulty and I currently perfer it to D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lexicon of the Throne
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 14:43:23

Another high quality product from Sine Nomine. Lots of fun Words to play with, and the section on creating new Words is great! My favorite bit is the section on Concept Words, like "Lich King" - AWESOME! Also, well made PDF table of contents, which is very pleasing to me. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lexicon of the Throne
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2018 20:26:28

The revised edition streamlines skills and adds new features such as drones and the new adventurer class. The Sector generator is always a help, allowing GM's to easily create unique settings. Psionics have changed substantially, now having core techniques and more versitile uses. Can't help but weep at the lack of Mindblades though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Roberto M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2018 21:11:44

I am a longtime fan of the original. The Revised Edition is a vast improvement on the system. Mr. Crawford takes the OSR engine into refreshing territory. They book is worth the asking price just for the advice and the tools it provides. With this game you can pretty much run any sci-fi game you can imagine with it. Easy to modify and house rule, flexible and simple, yet robust. Can't recommend it enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 264 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates