DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tavern Kit 2
by Sergei K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 05:54:49

I haven't tried drawing rooms using this generator, but the "Room shape" table doesn't have a value for 11 on dice. In the "Quirks" table, 9 corresponds to two entries,there are no entries for 61 and 66. Table "Accessories": Earing – Long, Eyes - Manacle.

In General, the tables for tavern features and NPC secrets are not bad. The appearance tables are sparse and suggest that my female dwarf is equally likely to wear curls and be bald. It's not fun.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tavern Kit 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Potion & Other Drink Names
by Badger B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2020 17:11:53

I love tables.

I find it very hard to innovate anything [still too new a dm sadly].

These tables really spark my imagination.

I usually end up veering away from the tables themselves as they have given me a really good idea what I was looking for but couldn't put my finger on it.

This particular publisher is quite a prolific tables creator and of the stuff I have bought from them, I have yet to see needless repetition.

Thank you



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Potion & Other Drink Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Encounters & Events - SciFi Volume 3 - Planets
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2020 11:22:09

Although it's part of the "Encounters & Events" series, these tables aren't really encounters and events. They're settings for encounters and events. They're descriptions of planetary features. Some entries are about the physical features of the planet, some about the local species, some about social or political structures, some about the planet's usage, and so on.

Roll up or assign one or two of these for a world you're generating to give the world some character. There's a main table of 100 entries. Most entries include a d6 subtable to provide variations on the main entry.

You won't find single-biome entries like swamp planet or desert world, but you will find entries for single-use worlds, such as Hospital Planet, Grave World, or Rubbish World. Many entries could be used to describe specific regions or sites on the planet, without necessarily describing the planet as a whole, such as Military Outpost or Jump Gate.

Overall, the entries are in the low to medium range of science fiction plausibility. There are no input parameters or modifiers to let you adjust for what you've already established about a world. In effect, the tables assume you're working from a blank slate. A Garden World is as likely as Craters, and the tables don't know or care whether you're rolling up Mercury, Earth, Jupiter, or Pluto (or their equivalents elsewhere). It's fiction first, and then it's up to you to if you want to put some science-y explanations behind the results.

If that's what you're seeking, this is a good tool for the job, offering good variety on various science fiction tropes. If you're seeking a science-based method for establishing a world's characteristics or the development of life or civilizations, this isn't the tool for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters & Events - SciFi Volume 3 - Planets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Called Away - SciFi Edition
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2020 00:42:34

The described purpose is narrower than it needs to be: "a player or character can’t make it to a session or you need to have a certain character not present at the same location as others for a short time. Where did they go? What are they doing when not in play?"

In our group, when a player misses a session, we play their character for them instead of making up reasons to take the character out of action. That works for us, so we don't need these tables for an absent player. Maybe we'd use them for an extended absence or a temporary retirement, but not for the odd missed session or two.

However, there are other uses for these tables:

  • Roll up one to three entries as backstory for a PC or a major NPC. Describe what happened then, and how it still shows its influence today.
  • The PCs are looking for a particular NPC. If the NPC isn't available right now, roll on these tables instead of settling for a boring "not available" response.
  • If the PCs meet an NPC they've encountered before, you can roll up a result to say what the NPC has been up to since the last time.
  • If you need to convey information to the PCs about the setting or current events, roll up a result and use that as the means to convey it, maybe in the form of a news item or a conversation with a nearby NPC.
  • Use the result as the means for delivering an adventure hook, instead of yet another rumor in the spaceport bar.
  • Do you remember Morn from Deep Space Nine? He never had a speaking part, but the running gag was that other characters would keep referring to his actions that always happened off camera. Roll up an entry to say what your own Morn has been up to. In fact, I now think of these tables as the "Morn Tables."

To get a result, you roll from the main d100 table. Some entries refer you to d20 subtables, Mad Libs-style. Here are some example results, with subtable outcomes in italics: Got into a fight/argument with another in party and stormed off. Attacked by a childhood enemy by mistake and is recuperating at a military starship. Character’s aunt lost their job as a translator and needs help. Is required to do jury service or give reason for exemption in person in nearby friendly planet or moon. An alien culture is after the character's kidneys for use in a mating ritual and they need to hide.

In a d100 table, you're likely to start repeating results as of the 13th roll on the table (that's the Birthday Problem as applied to 100 entries instead of 365). However, replay value should still be good if you pick the next unused item instead of repeating, or if you find ways to make an entry fresh again on a repeated use. By the time I'd use up all 100 entries, I'm sure that a return to a past result wouldn't seem like boring repetition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Called Away - SciFi Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[PFRPG] Breath Weapons
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:24:16

Sixteen pages on Breath Weapons for use by dragons and others. There are different kinds of breath weapons, different shapes and attack grids.

For $1.50 it is worth having just to use to modifiy for dragons and other creatures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Breath Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick Generator - Anime/Manga Title Generator
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2019 21:11:54

i love this generator. One day when my family was waiting i pulled this out on my phone, and my family had fun describing the story that was behind the generated title. My daughter, who loves anime, told me that the third word was the name of the second series - and she would give us both story lines.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Generator - Anime/Manga Title Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cult Details Generator
by Anton M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 12:14:19

Meet the Penultimate Eternity (name came from the name generator) The Penultimate Eternity isn't a secretive cult. Some would say it isn't a cult at all. Its members are clergymen, holy people that worship other gods, who join with the intent of bringing the pantheon together, as one united fellowship rather than multiple disparate religions. To join, you must enter the tomb of their founder (who lived 2000 years ago), take a relic from it, and place a new relic in its place for future cultists. Relics retrieved from below are given to museum creators, who 'purchase' them, providing the cult with any funds that it doesn't get from its members. The Penultimate Eternity has a strange custom of never looking away from a room's occupants when leaving - it is, they claim, a way to acknolwledge that those within exist even as they leave each other's presence, in defiance to the idea of one's world being one's own perception.

Not all of this came from the book. The custom was already there, but I made the reasoning for it myself. The main ritual - taking an artefact - was there, but the placing of a new relic came out naturally from that. That said, most of the details did come from rolling, and any that didn't came from extrapolation from already-rolled values. I would never have thought of the Penultimate Eternity if I hadn't read the book and rolled some dice. The cult I'd originally had in my head was a generic, evil cult. Now, when I present my next cult to the players, they'll get to interact with a strange group of idealists with unsettling rituals, who claim to seek world peace and friendship - which, contrary to common sense, will be absolutely true. This is great.

My only complaint, and it's small enough that it doesn't warrant a rating bump, is that almost every table has 20 (on the d20) be 'something else', which I find somewhat irritating. I'm rolling because I can't think of anything else.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cult Details Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi there, thanks very much for the review/feedback. Glad you liked. Will say am defiantly trying to phase out the "something else" line from future products. Was using it a stop-gap/fill in the blank thing in my early days of creating pdfs and it was a bad habit that stuck around longer than it should have. What I suggest to people to do for that item is to treat it as a "Roll twice and combine the result" entry. But I agree it's something that could be removed or at least renamed.
Encounters & Events - SciFi Volume 1 - Space Derelicts
by 5E S. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2019 15:33:37

Excellent resource. More than a list of encounters, it is an encounter generator, and open-ended enough to spark the imagination in a multitude of different directions. Easily worth the purchase price, if not more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters & Events - SciFi Volume 1 - Space Derelicts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
by Jake H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2018 16:56:44

This product has a great many professions and accompanying hooks/ideas that provoke creativity to anyone who would use this list. I find that as an inspirational tool it will be useful and the content is good. However the document has a sizable number of grammar related mistakes that take away from this simple product and leaves one with a bad impression due to these mistakes. The layout of the document could use a revision and perhaps the occasional picture of one or some of these professions. However I understand that this is meant to be a short, simple product and for that reason I take no issue with there being minimal art. However, the layout of the tables could flow better and a background to match up with the border would look nice. I suggest a 5e parchment background. Overall I think the ideas are solid and once the spelling mistakes are corrected it will be a fine product considering that it is free.

Provided is a Google Docs link to any mistakes word wise I could find in the document for the Authors use. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1EQYHxbcw---vM335BALJ7ImB4xjk7HafgsDOLnjWad4/edit?usp=sharing



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick Generator - Fantasy & Medieval NPCs
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2018 16:14:01

The list of professions alone makes this worth it. Recommend this purchase.

The personality table has entries that are similar: Languid, detached, gives up easily, nonchalant... I would have preferred to see fewer entries and more aspects of their personality covered. How do they feel about their job? Their family? The authorities? Still, this is a useful table as a start.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Generator - Fantasy & Medieval NPCs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Insult Generator - Dwarven
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2018 15:58:20

This is as handy as it is colorful. I plan to give some NPCs a favored insult as part of their mannerisms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Insult Generator - Dwarven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2018 19:44:39

My biggest annoyance with this product is that its only 2 pages long but contains more than a dozen spelling errors, missing words, or the wrong word. Just sloppy work. Its just a listing of medival professions, you can find similar via google with minimal effort.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
101 Fantasy Jobs & Professions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick Generator - Adventuring Party or Group Name
by Kim F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2018 00:23:03

This was originally reviewed on the Open Gaming Network.

These reviews are intended to give you the best chance of evaluating whether this product is for you.

Products are given a 1 to 5-star rating with each rating defined as follows:

1 * – Bad

2 * – Mediocre

3 * – Decent

4 * – Good

5 * – Excellent

Now, let’s get on with the show!

This week we give you Quick Generator – Adventuring Party or Group Name!

Publisher: Ennead Games

Author: Chris Kentlea

Cover Artist: Lord Zsezse Works

System: System-agnostic

Page count: 4 ( 1 page cover, 1 page credits, 2 page content)

This one is a bit different to what I normally review, with it being just a simple name generator, but I figured it was time to showcase something new here.

So, let’s start by looking at the cover first as usual: The cover itself is fine, it’s the same stock cover used for Ennead Games other generators, but I think a nice touch would have been a nameplate or a banner showcasing some of the names that you could generate from here. Just as a “showing off” for the product. No complaints about it really, though it’s a little bit dull – but for a product like this, I’m not expecting Ennead Games to have forked out on a “new, shiny, fancy cover”.

Inside are two tables, following the “Verb, Noun” style of name generation. Roll 1d100 on the first table, and then roll 1d100 on the second table. Voila, here’s your name. So you get things like “Yellow Vanguards”, “Profane Dominion”, and the like. Some of the combinations are really evocative, and other less so. I will give the author kudos though for keeping all the names within the realm of believable fantasy. You won’t find any unsuitable-feeling words on the list, so no science fiction tropes for example. Obviously, not all combinations sound great, but then you just reroll.

And so we come to the conclusion:

This obviously is not a large product, by any means. It’s two pages, a random generator for coming up with names on the fly, and it’s cheap at only 1.25$, more importantly it’s actually good at what it does. That inclines me towards a high score.

But, and this is a big but. This is obviously a PDF product, which means that most of the time, you’ll be using some form of electronic device, be it a tablet, computer, laptop or phone to look at it while rolling. That also means that you’re likely to have access to the internet, which makes this kind of product a bit redundant for only two tables. Which would tend to drag it down a bit.

I’ll rightfully admit to being old-school on these things though, and I don’t like it when the GM or the players get absorbed into their devices when playing, which is far too easy, and likely to happen. So, printing this out becomes a good option, though it might be a little ink-heavy. – Print it out though and tell everyone to turn off their phones and you have a decent product for the price on your hands.

As such, I’ll clock this in at 3 stars (if there’d been a third table, to suggest things like a company outfit, it’d have been a 4 star), but if you like having your devices during your game, this would probably only rate 2 stars for you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Generator - Adventuring Party or Group Name
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
First off, a big thank you for this, this is the sort of review I absolutely LOVE as it's fair, give comments and suggestions. You mention a possible third table, well the funny thing is I am working on an expanded variant of this which gives more details about an adventuring party (and incorporates the date from this generator as well - might be able to add in outfits before it comes out in a couple of weeks). As for the cover, I kind of agree with with you, but with just me running the show, I have to keep costs down as much as possible, especially with regards to artwork - but it is something I am working on improving as time goes by. Again, a big ty for this review. Chris
20 Tavern/Inn Menus
by Katrina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2018 11:16:07

Really helpful! Offers 20 menus each offering breakfast, lunch/ supper/ bread, dessert, and non-alcoholic and boozy drink options with prices for everything.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
20 Tavern/Inn Menus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Equipment Maker SciFi Edition Volume 1 - Firearms
by Kyrinn E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2018 15:22:44

Equipment Maker SciFi Edition Volume 1 - Firearms

I knew I wasn't going to get much for my money, but, I was a bit surprised how little I got.

While there are tables with lists of names and qualities, these qualities largely go undefined. When combined with random determination of the various categories, one ends up with nonsensical weapons with no game effects even hinted at, such as: 87 Stunning Toxic Mending Gun

The Mark System (Mk. #) is supposed to point the GM in the direction of how powerful the weapon is across all categories (damage, ammunition capacity, etc.), and in the most superficial fashion it could 'help', but it really isn't worth the trouble of rolling on a percentile table which has results ranging from 1-20. The amount of work a GM would have to go through to make the very loose terminology in this pdf work with a sci-fi game seems like something that could be done with the RPG in question alone, and this product's tables only useful in quickly generating nonsense names. These names, however, will sound very enticing to Players who will want a: 99 Withering Chaotic Chain Spray, and want it to do something awesome in their chosen RPG system; this product will not do this for the GM.

So, what are we left with? This product may be an interesting starting point for lengthy prep for an idea-deprived GM, but other than that, I'd suggest saving your money and giving this a pass.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Equipment Maker SciFi Edition Volume 1 - Firearms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 132 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates