DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Odysseys & Overlords Game Master's Guide
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/28/2019 09:36:58

This opens with exactly the same overview of the background and current state of the setting as is to be found in the Player's Guide, along with the note that it designed to be used with The Basic Fantasy Role-playing Game ruleset, but that any OSR rules will do. There's also mention that this is for the Game Master and that although they will need to consult the Player's Guide occasionally, this will be their main reference.

The first topic to be explored is encounters, divided up into dungeon, wilderness and urban ones. The use of random tables is encouraged, which will of course be different depending on which environment you are in... indeed, you may well find it useful to construct several for different places in each environment type, as well as according to party level, time of day (at least, when outside) and the like. There are plenty here to be going on with, complete with explanations of what each list entry signifies. From this, we move on to how to create a group of NPCs, including adventuring parties, brigands/bandits, pirates and all manner of undesirables as well as groups of merchants, nobles and pilgrims. Some might be friendly, but that's rather brushed aside as "making things too easy for the players"! This includes allocation of magic items and using non-humans.

Next comes a section entitled Dealing with Players. This begins with how to deal with players who don't like the statistics they've rolled for their character then moves on to the acquisition of spells including how clerics may be limited according to the deity they revere and how magic-users gain their spells. Also touched upon is what happens if a character uses armour or weapons that are 'prohibited' for them. There's a fair bit of discussion of advancement and how to deal with character death as well. We then move on to magical research with plenty on creating new spells or magic items as well as enchanting weapons.

This is followed by advice on how to create adventures, beginning with that classic, the dungeon adventure. The first thing to decide is why they party wants to go into a dungeon in the first place. (I remember asking that the very first game of D&D I played... the rest of the party had no real answer for me - might have helped if they'd read this!) Once you've decided why they are going there, decide where 'there' is, decide what monsters to use and draw a map. Then 'stock' the dungeon - assigning contents (including monsters) to each room, not forgetting puzzles and traps as well as monsters to kill and treasures to loot. Some sample traps are provided. Wilderness adventures then get a similar treatment, with an area map rather than a detailed floor plan, and this leads neatly into strongholds, as those might be found in the wilderness. This discussion includes building costs (maybe your party wants to construct a base) and a note that a stronghold might have a dungeon underneath it, as well as a few notes on laying siege to the place. In some ways it's all very basic and obvious, but if you are new to GMing could prove invaluable.

Next up, Monsters. There are notes on how they are described, and then a selection of them (including plenty of dragons!) ready for you to use. Some are sentient, like gnomes or giants, others are of animal intelligence or lower, like the gelatinous cube. Of course some, like ghosts, are undead, and lycanthropy is also covered.

Monsters dealt with, the discussion moves on Treasure. Plenty of charts to help you determine what there is to loot... and a section on using magic items once you have laid hands on them. Lists of magic armour, magic weapons, potions, scrolls, rings and other items follow, covering what they do and what benefits (or otherwise, if they are cursed) they confer.

Finally, there are thumbnail sketches of various kingdoms and other lands within the setting. I'm crying out for a map here... although this book is well-illustrated I like a map to get oriented! The descriptions are good, though, bringing each polity into vivid life.

This work provides a wealth of basic material to set you off on a path to running effective adventures. Whilst much work remains to be done, the scaffolding is here to aid you in developing places and adventures to happen in them. Have fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odysseys & Overlords Game Master's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you SO MUCH!!
Odysseys & Overlords Player's Guide
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/20/2019 10:21:23

The book opens with a broad sweep of the history of the land. A long time - a thousand years or more - ago, the gods lived in peace and prosperity amongst mortals, with magic and learning flowing freely and animals also living in peace. Unfortunately that didn't last, due rather predictably to the gods squabbling and spoiling it all for everyone. When the brawling stopped, most of the gods were either dead or had departed, leaving mortals to fend for themselves. A few hung around hoping to be worshipped but in the main mortals relied on military might to decide matters of rulership and even righteousness. The land is now fragmented, with islands of civilisation separated by wild lands where bandits and monsters hold sway. People rely on Adventuring Companies (guess who?) to bridge these gaps and protect those who would travel. There are also plenty of ruins filled with relics of happier times to loot. What more could one want for an adventure setting?

A character, that's what, so the next part of the book explains how to go about making one. It's recommended that you use The Basic Fantasy Role-playing Game ruleset, which is available as a free download, written with 'old style rules' play in mind, and also suitable for introducing younger players to role-playing. The instructions for rolling up a character are beautifully clear. To start with, get a piece of paper and a pencil. Roll 4d6 dropping the lowest die and adding the rest up to generate your ability scores. Next you choose a genus and class, making sure you meet any prerequisites for them in terms of ability scores. Of course, there is a bit more detail than that, but not much, and everything is made clear, although you do need to read through the final steps of character creation before you find out what a 'genus' is let alone what you can choose!

The genus (pl. genera) is the equivalent of race in most games. These ones draw on the history outlined earlier, and are groups who took different paths during the squabble of the gods but all are based on normal mortals, except Wildfolk who are descendants of mating between humans and animals, which was considered normal in ancient times. They are Abyss-Kissed, Human, Spellscorched and Wildfolk.

Next, the classes: Bard, Cleric, Fighter, Magic-User and Thief. In general, once chosen you have to stick to your class, only Spellscorched are permitted to be combination classed, and then only Fighter/Magic-User or Magic-User/Thief are allowed. Genus also affects class choices, some genera are limited in the choices they can make. Money and equipment lists round out this section, so by now the character is just about fully equipped and ready to go...

... unless, of course, they wish to wield magic. There's a comprehensive section for both Clerics and Magic-Users, with spell lists for both and a massive alphabetical list of spells with full details of how that spell is cast and what happens when it is. Both game mechanical and flavour aspects are handled clearly.

This magic section consumes much of the rest of the book, but there's space to explain what dungeon and wilderness adventuring is all about; along with a section on hirelings and services, as well as that all-important matter of combat. This section explains how combat is conducted, what your character can do, and includes things like turning undead as well as actual brawling. And that's it. Short and sweet, and notable for the clarity of explanation. Off you go and enjoy adventuring!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odysseys & Overlords Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this excellent, thorough review!
Odysseys & Overlords Free Preview
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/17/2019 08:39:11

Opening with an account of a golden past, when people lived in harmony with their gods, all was peaceful, a time of learning and of plenty, we then hear how it all went wrong predictably enough by the gods starting to squabble amongst themselves and wrecking it all for everybody else. Mortal lands lie divided, with brave adventurers (guess who?) guiding people between them and dealing with monsters, exploring ruins to find relics of the lost golden age over a thousand years in the past.

Next, there's an overview of character creation. Notes explain that Odysseys and Overlords is designed to be used with the Basic Fantasy Role-Playing Game, but any 'old school rules' will do: it's aimed at those who like that style of play... just about everything you need is here, though. Every character has a genus (equivalent to race) and a class, the one chosen to demonstrate how classes are presented is that of the Bard. It's all pretty familiar if you have played a bard in any class/level fantasy game - bards can fight a bit but their primary skills are in performance (often music, but poets, storytellers and the like can also be played), and through their performance thay can generate spells. There are various charts showing how a bard character gains levels and develops as they gaim experience.

Though short - two whole pages of an eight-page PDF are devoted to the Open Game Licence - this gives quite a good overview of the game/setting as a whole, and should let you decide if you want to investigate further. The little bit of world history provided is evocative and sets the scene well for the sort of game envisaged, encapsulating a world that sounds like it will be fun to adventure in. The notes also suggest that it ought to be easy to introduce younger children to this game, always a good thing. Take a look, and if you like the sound, jump right on in!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odysseys & Overlords Free Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you SO MUCH for your kind review!
Extreme Drowess Episode 3: Save the Flumph
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 15:26:18

Gamma is absolutely adorable. It's worth listening to this one just for Gamma.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Drowess Episode 3: Save the Flumph
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extreme Drowess Episode 5: Where Do We Go From Here
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 15:21:30

This episode introduces a new NPC, Balor, who highlights some of the problems with Drow society, and forces the characters to start examining the way they've been taught to live. And yet, it's not preachy - just fun to listen to.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Drowess Episode 5: Where Do We Go From Here
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extreme Drowess Episode 4: In Dreams
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 15:08:30

Seriously, Gamma is adorable. I'm enjoying listening as the characters and the story arc devleop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Drowess Episode 4: In Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extreme Drowess Episode 2: A Small Problem
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 15:02:09

I loved this adventure! It introduces an intresting sub-race of dwarves and a terrifying sub-race of kobolds. I recommend picking up the adventure to run for your own crew.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Drowess Episode 2: A Small Problem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Extreme Drowess Episode 1 - The Wanderways
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 14:55:36

I've never been a big fan of the Underdark but this has gone a long way toward changing my mind. The show lags sometimes because the players are learning both the system and the D&D Beyond app but that in no way diminishes their ability as players, the quality of the story, or the enjoyment I get from listening to their game. "The Wanderways" is an excellent introduction to the Underdark and to the story arc for these characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Extreme Drowess Episode 1 - The Wanderways
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The DMs Guildhall Episode 30 - Eddy Webb
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2018 10:23:38

As an introduction to Pugmire, I would rate this interview a 5. Travis and Eddy provide a good introduction to Pugmire and ample reasons why RPGers will want to play and develop in this system. I am hooked. I rated it a 4 purely due to some unfortunate audio issues (Eddy's feed locking up then racing to catch up and sometimes cutting out entirely). Fortunately, I don't think anything was missed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The DMs Guildhall Episode 30 - Eddy Webb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the lovely review! As these episodes are recorded live on Twitch we are unfortunately at the mercy of our ISP with sound to a certain degree. I do my best to ensure we track back over areas when I know there is an issue during the broadcast to ensure clarity of communication, and I'm glad to see that this did not prove too great an impediment to understanding Pugmire (which is a BEAUTIFUL game) Thanks, Travis
Citizens Divided
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2018 07:18:19

A plausible near future. This setting scratches an itch I’ve had for the past few years, specifically a depiction of a post-collapse society without all the mutants and "mind magic" typical to post-apocalypse settings. The cyberware and bioware are believable and not overdone and there is no ultra-tech like plasma or laser weapons. I’ll definitely run something in this setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citizens Divided
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval Female Art 1
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2018 18:02:29

Strictly speaking, more fantasy than real life medievel, these are all very nice female portaits at fairly high resolution. Except for the use of shading, reminds me a lot of Patrick Nagel



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Female Art 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your kind review!
Citizens Divided
by Rasms H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2018 18:01:04

Beside 4 pages out of 40 being ads, there "only" being 2 differnt armours and 1 weapon, is this a really good suppliment there are worth every penny!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Citizens Divided
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks much for your thoughts. In terms of weapons and armors, I really feel that the Savage Worlds Core Rules covers everything you will need for Citizens Divided, with the exception of what is contained herein. Having said that, among my planned supplements will be another tech book with more bioware, cyberware, personal gear, and yes, weapons and armor. I hope you enjoy the selection of bioware, cyberware, power armors and Professional Edges, as well as the setting elements. If there are specific items in any of those categories (or things I have not thought to list) that you would like to see, please let me know in the product discussion, or by email at raymonddidit (at) gmail (dot) com! Thanks! Travis Legge
Glimpse the Beyond Second Edition
by Allison R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 21:16:55

Had a bit of trouble getting in to review posting options -- but I'm here.

I have the soft cover 2nd edition. I'll start by saying it's stunning. Everything is well organized and concise. If you're into a little bit of dark magic, check out this expansion, ready to go!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Glimpse the Beyond Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you SO VERY MUCH for your support and your kind words! Thrilled to hear you are enjoying Glimpse the Beyond Second Edition! Travis
Beneath the Fallen Tower
by Noah G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 18:38:05

I played in this scenario at a convention game hosted by the author, about a week before it released here, so I have the perspective of actually having run through it. This is a challenging, atmospheric, and exciting adventure with lots of nuanced details. For me, the biggest plus is that it does double-duty as a one-shot and a sandbox. The one-shot central quest was playable from beginning to end in a 3-hour convention time slot - though admittedly, we were very lucky to have taken some correct turns. Had we not, it probably would have taken 4 or 5 hours (or a lot fewer, if we'd really messed up :-) ) - at any rate, well within the time limitss of a single evening game. But the book also has enough extra locations, descriptions, and plot hooks to form a good-sized sandbox around the environs of the quest, and could easily form the basis of a campaign. Last but not least, I think the entire package captures the sentiment, style, and intentions of Swords & Wizardry Light-style play: there is light but impactful fun here. Highly, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Fallen Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks SO MUCH for your thoughtful review! Glad to hear you have enjoyed Beneath the Fallen Tower! Travis
Gangsta Pixie Stock Art
by jason h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2017 19:44:22

Ten Years+ we've been looking for our Feylin (think pixie + fanboy/fangirl in post post apoc.) THANKS!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gangsta Pixie Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! Glad to see she works out well for you! Please let us know where she winds up being used so we can share it! Thanks, Travis
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates