DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Modern20
by Damien D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 09:13:53

I was very excited about this - especially the hit location system for a D20 derived ruleset. I really like D20 as a system, but always thought it lacked the crunch of personal favourites like Twilight 2000 and 2300AD. Both of these had good hit location systems, so I was really looking forward to seeing what this would bring to D20.

Unfortunately, even an initial read of the hit location rules has revealed major ambiguities and/or errors with these rules. Layout is very poor in places with circular references leading nowhere. They are simply not useable for me in their current form, and I consider a poor investment of cash.

Example:

Firearms Skill This has a perk "Called Shot" that suggests that you can negate the penalty for targeting a specific area of the target's body, and refers to the Hit Location section for more details.

Yet the Hit Location section contains no details on how to target a specific location, only that the natural D20 value on the attack role is the actual location that is hit.

The Hit Location table does include an Attack Modifier, but there is no reference to this anywhere in the document - the phrase "attack modifier" is present exactly once - on that table.

And the values on the Hit Location table don't make sense: with -18 to hit someone in the head (almost as bad a penalty as your nth attack).

Its as hard to hit someone in the center-mass chest location as it is their calf (each at -12 modifier), and if you leave it to chance, its harder to hit the chest (10%) than the calf (15%). Meanwhile the damage done by shooting them in the calf is the same as shooting them in the chest. Yet a groin shot results in 50% more damage than the chest. 

How anyone is meant to get an Injury (an attack role 5+ greater than the required to hit DC) with a -18 attack modifier for a headshot is beyond me. There's no driver to attempt to do so when the probability of hitting the in head or neck for the x2 damage (10%) is far better than taking the -18 to hit (especially when your other successful shots will do something, rather than miss due to -18 attack).

Again, consider the inconsistency: attacking a prone target, where the head and arms are the most visible target and the rest of the body is concealed, is a +4 modifier to the attack. Yet -18 for a called shot to the head.

So not only are the signs of the modifiers inconsistent (+4 penalty to attack a prone, -18 penalty to attach the head), but the absolute value of the modifiers are way out of scale from each other.

As a bonus example of the poor quality control, the section of text refering to the hit location table being below, is itself actually below the table rather than above it.

The Grappling rules section mentions random or selection of hit location, but again has no details on the selection process.

The Unarmed skill allows for a Joint Lock perk to grapple attack against a specific hit location, but doesn't refer to any penalty for doing so (which is inconsistent with the Firearms skill Called Shot perk). Yet another perk of Unarmed skill (Precision Strike) does mention negating the penalty for targeting a specific area of the target's body - but there's nothing to cover whether or not this is mutually exclusive with Joint Lock (i.e. does a full round Joint Lock attack benefit from Precision Strike, or is every Joint Lock attack free from the penalities?)

Summary: What could have been a great alternative to modern D20 rules instead feels a let down with inconsistent and ambiguous rules and layout.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Modern20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Darwin's World: Cave of Life
by Gregory G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2021 09:05:20

Enjoyed this adventure, muchly! Well written and fun to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Cave of Life
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burning Lands Comic #1
by Thundermark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2019 20:33:32

Free comic series, and worth every penny. I was unpleasantly surprised w/ the lack of quality of artwork and dialogue, as Darwin's World products are usually top-notch.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Lands Comic #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Darwin's World: Scav's Swag
by BRIAN M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 18:53:33

I have mixed feelings about this product. On the one hand, it does provide a really good, really random set of loot tables. On the other hand, many of the items in this chart are woefully dated. This is because DW used the D20 Modern Equipment charts to develop its own equipment lists. The problem with that is that D20 Modern was written in the early 2000s, so the technology for many items is long obsolete - nobody carries PDAs anymore; they use smart phones, for example. What I have done is re-build the lists to update certain items, by re-creating it in Excel. It was tedious, but a little more useful, especially since I use my own made-up "sci-fi" weapons, for example. In general, the tables work well for the Post-Apocalyptic setting of Darwin's World, but the GM may have to make minor adjustments.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Scav's Swag
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skeleton Base (revised)
by BRIAN M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 18:42:11

This is a well-detailed adventure good for introducing players to Darwin's World. Of particular usefulness is the different maps for players and GM. Also, the GM can just sit down and get going; he/she doesn't need to roll up loot or NPCs. This helps if time is limited or just to have a ready-made introductory adventure any time it's needed. Perhaps best of all; the GM can reuse this "old military base" later wih just minor tweaking (different building names, more complete fencing, different loot, humans instead of robots, etc.). I have reused this base many times with just small changes and the players were none the wiser.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skeleton Base (revised)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Abandon All Hope: The Right to Live
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/19/2018 15:28:14

RPGObjects has a long history of exceptional products and The Right to Live is one of them. What makes The Right to Live work as a module is that it provides a template for how Abandon All Hope adventures should function - by experiencing it, both players and GMs get a strong idea of what an Abandon All Hope adventure should be.

In case you're not familiar with Abandon All Hope, it tells the story of a massive prison ship that passed through an "evil" section of space and became infested with demonic presences and Satanic evil. Its inspirations include Event Horizon, and, of course DOOM. The player characters were incarcerated on the vessel and now must survive as ships systems break down, are seized by various evil factions, or are corrupted by the devil. It catches what makes survival horror compelling - this is an environment in which even the air you breathe can't be taken for granted. The Right to Live shows the precariousness of existence on board the prison vessel, as well as showing the oncsequences of various types of approaches to the evil that has come aboard.

The player characters are thrust into a conflict between two prison gangs, a conflict that has been exacerbated by their reactions to the demonic presence. Each feels they have the best way of protecting themselves against it, and that the other is interfering in those efforts. And even by the end of the adventure it isn't clear which of them (if any) are right or wrong (if those words can be said to apply here) about the situation they're in. Nevertheless they're committed to the conflict and the player characters must navigate it.

If there's an area where The Right to Live could be improved, I would say that expanding on the consequences both of player character action and NPC action would help. The situation the PCs come to has arisen as the consequence of certain NPC decisions; what happens after the PCs come in and take action? You could certainly spool out the consequences of even relatively minor decisions out of control as both the opposing gang(s) and the demonic presence respond to even small changes to the situations at times. Finally, although The Right to Live emphasizes the precariousness of the situation from a social perspective, it could use a little more in the way of system breakdowns and shortages.

Abandon All Hope is a classic horror game because it understands the nature of a horrific situation. The Right To Live is a strong entry in the series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abandon All Hope: The Right to Live
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burning Lands Comic #4
by Heather H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2015 16:47:08

Enjoyed it. Enough that I'll be buying the novel. Disappointed that the graphic novel wasn't continued.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Burning Lands Comic #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2015 21:02:22

I've got both the hard copy included with the video game, as well as the PDF. It's a really cute Game that's OGL and all packed in one small booklet. It's really nice to have all the character options/rules/ and the monsters in one book. I wish there was more monsters though.

Over all pretty cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 09:32:31

While the book is well written, is is missing a significant amount of material in the 2.5 edition. All of the referenced tables and appendixes are missing. Now, to run a Darwin's World 2 game the four core books are needed the D20 Modern book is required and an exhaustive search on the internet for these missing tables is required. Now, these tables are impossible to find complete online and they are NOT included in the DW2.5 version of the PDF's. Wit the inclusion of those charts & tables I would recommend this, but without those charts & tables I would NOT recommend this product as in increased the frustration on the GM and the players when attempting to prepare for a campaign.

Good material, but it appears the presentation/publication to PDF is/was lacking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Abandon All Hope
by Carles A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2015 06:23:46

I had my first game of AAH yesterday night, using the Seeds of Rage adventure, you can read the review elsewhere..

Ok, my love for the premise of the setting was spot on so I bought it in the fly. And it delivers.

The PC creation system: its good. Fast and manages to strike the key elements to make characterful PC.

The system: is fast and enjoyable. The "gauge" sytem of despair, guilt and insanity gives also a lot of flavour and is a great tool for roleplaying too.

The setting: the premise, as I said before, is great. The book describes several gangs, all of them fairly typical as well as general sections of the ship, robots and demons. All in all its useful information but personally I will go for a more psycological approach for the evil creatures (think of games like Kult) and I changed the robots to somethinng more "ghostly" like. Im used the great manga Blame as inspiration, you should check it out because it creates a great mood for this game.

The artwork is kind of mediocre and does little to set the mood, the gear is OK tough, the demons are kind of silly.

All in all, its a good solid product for its price, with a great idea and a great system to implement it. I'd reccomend it to a creative GM willing to use this as a framework to develop his own ideas



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abandon All Hope
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Abandon All Hope: Seeds of Rage
by Carles A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2015 06:07:51

Seeds of Rage is an introductory game for Abandon All Hope. This is a playtest review because I had the chance to play the game yesterday night.

The Good: The adventure is good to introduce players to Gehenna and get your campaign started.

The Bad: The adventure is little more than a dungeon crawl.

The ugly: The adventure has several inconsitencies that the GM needs to work around.

To begin with, the game is great, the premise seduced me almost instantly and my players did like the idea of playing criminals..what happened later was unexpected to them. They had lots of fun dealing with sugar daddy and trying to scam him to break into Slag's cell while he was on the infirmary. They are also intrigued with whats happening because I kept all information to a minimum.

I do plan on buying the other adventures but Im afraid of what they will be. For a sci-fi terror game I was expecting somethig different than a dungeon crawl. There are some interesting moments, yes, but the master will need to be creative to make them special.

About the inconsistencies, some things let me kind of thinking and I needed to work them around. Some of theme did make the adventure better (in my taste)

About the demons: Its kind of ironic, but the main book says that you need to "keep down the number of demons and use as much human foes as possible". Yet in this adventure most foes are demons. In my play session I kept that to a minimim; they only heard an "inhuman howl" and the final foe (Slag). Keeping the suspense of whats going on in the ship made the adventure a lot more intriguing. After the first session they dont know exactly whats going on. And when they heard the howl, they got really scared!

Weird assumptions: My group did not manage to meet the Doctor, an interesting encounter. But I did find that NPC, who is supposed to tell "the truth" to the PCs weird. I mean, jumping to the conclusion that "oh yes we are in Hell and all this creatures are demons, and some of the are of guilt" seems to me like something a bit deus ex machina, I dont think that jumping to that conclusion would be so easy.

Time lapses: This one thing unsettled me but I worked around with time elipsis; if you stick to the written adventure, it feels like Perdition happens and all kind of things happen very, very fast, illogically fast just for the sake of the scenario. Its kind of illogical that an adventure that takes place in one day or two details events that would logically need more time to develop.

All in all, I would have given a 2.5 if possible. Unless your group loves dungeoncrawls the adventure will need a lot of work and tweaking to be enjoyable, and if you do like dungeoncrawls probably you will prefer another game anyway. Even tough this negative comments, the game is enjoyable, the premise great and my players do look forward keep finding and discovering whats going on. If they had discovered it on this very first adventure a lot of the charm of the game would be lost.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Abandon All Hope: Seeds of Rage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2014 02:49:49

This is just another d20 fantasy setting. It does as advertised, an attempt to translate the video game to the table top. While it does not feel like a port of the video game to the table, it makes the effort and comes off as just another d20 variant. It's a free supplement, and it feels like one. I owned the physical hardback that came with the game and felt the same initial impression: it didn't cost me anything. As such, it's free. It contains a setting. It has rules. But there's nothing in it that sets it apart from any other supplement already available.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Two Worlds Tabletop RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Post-Apocalypse^20
by Brian T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2014 11:57:39

Character Generation with this system seems to go much faster as long as you know what you want. Also, supplements seem to be accessible rather easily for a few bucks. The only gripe I have with this particular set of PDFs is that the bookmarks are inaccurate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Post-Apocalypse^20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cities of Fantasy 2: Racial Neighborhoods
by JK R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2013 09:27:54

This 37-page book provides a description of five racial neighbourhoods for fantasy cities - one for each of the major races of dwarves, elves, gnomes, halflings, and half-orcs. Each community comes with a description of the local architecture, it's social atmosphere, descriptions of characters and businesses likely to be encountered there, what magic is likely to be in use, and a selection of plot hooks.

The dwarven and halfling communities are both fairly typical, the sort of thing that might be found in any generic, multi-ethnic fantasy city. Either could be taken out of the city, and used as the basis for a town inhabited by that race, and general guidelines for how they live. Thought has been given as to how underground communities will be structured, and there are some rules guidelines for moving around in halfling-sized buildings.

The half-orc community is also generic - at least assuming that half-orcs aren't a social elite in your campaign world, which seems unlikely - but is more tied to the rest of the city. Much of the description here would work just as well for any slum area that's more frequented by beggars than it is by the Thieves' Guild.

The other two, however, are more specific. The elven neighbourhood is a scholarly retirement community, and the gnomish one a Vegas/Blackpool-style gambling district. Both make perfect sense, but, in most game worlds, they're likely not the typical elven or gnomish quarter, merely one example of a specialised variant. That doesn't make them less useful, and the material on how, for example, high-class casinos might work in a fantasy world, could well be handy whether or not gnomes are involved. But it's worth bearing in mind.

The book is well written, and passably illustrated, and includes a lot of useful ideas and rules that could apply further afield than the dwarven equivalent of Chinatown or Little Italy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cities of Fantasy 2: Racial Neighborhoods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern d20 Core Kit
by james e. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/03/2013 13:35:14

It is hard to argue with free. Not only does this have a very playable version of d20 modern here, but i feel like they went a bit above and beyond by including some fairly good art and the layout is favorable.

however, the lack of an equipment section is a major drawback, and others have pointed out, their is no combat section either. I remember how to play d20 games fairly well, but others may not be so lucky.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern d20 Core Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 547 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates