DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
by Ben G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/15/2011 08:58:33

If you're honestly hesitating over spending a buck for this, or any of the other One Dollar Dungeon map packs, please let me put your doubts to rest. It will be a dollar well spent!

Beautifully constructed, easy to use and with many options for printing, including color, black and white, with or without a grid, you can easily place these maps into your campaign. Your players will love them, you'll enjoy not having to work out the next encounter's map, and you can print them at home with ease using the pre-sliced PDF files. A bit of scotch tape and you're good to go.

Another great option with these maps - they include Virtual Table Top systems files, so you can use these maps online with a variety of products.

When I say this is a beautiful map, I mean it. The colors and design really stand out. While labelled the paladin's Secluded Citadel, you could just as easily use this map as the Desert Manor House, or however you see fit. With four stories worth of rooms, there's plenty to explore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2011 11:29:13

Yet again another Home Run hit out of the ballpark! The color palette for the citadel is fitting for a desert environ or a scrub wasteland with very little vegetation. Some of the walls though do not line up properly as far as the rock formation and the front roof to the main entrance seems to float. The choices for the VTT MapTools map are very good and the FoW is excellent. Very fast drawing the FoW and adheres to the wall outlines. The only thing I would have done differently on the VTT map is add light sources for the light fixtures, although this can be tricky as you would need to go as generic as possible to fit with all of the different frameworks out there. Great job and I expect to see more from this company!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Townscapes: River Crossing Map
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/03/2011 07:23:15

Originally Posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/03/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-iii/

I was really impressed with the first D20 Cartographer package I reviewed (One Dollar Dungeons: Warlord’s Watchtower) on Monday. It was a very detailed and intricate map for only a dollar, how could I not love that? This is a similar package in terms of what you are getting, except it’s a little pricier, the map looks like it was done with computer graphics instead of being hand drawn and it’s a much smaller map. It’s kind of odd that you’re getting less for a higher cost, but it’s still a pretty intricate package for the price tag – just one that’s not as good as the One Dollar Dungeon series.

For your $1.50, you’re getting SEVEN versions of the same map. You get PDF versions of the map in full color and grayscale that are scaled to A4 paper size. You get PDF versions of the map in full color and grayscale that fit letter sized paper as well. You also get three versions of the map in jpeg format – a black and white grid based map and two full color maps, one with a grid and one without. That’s pretty impressive that there are seven version of the map as this way any DM can print this off in exactly the format they want.

The purchase of River Crossing also comes with a tool for the MapTools free program that will let a DM fiddle with the map. It comes with the map and object layers preset, so if there is something you feel the seven versions of the map are missing, you can edit it to your heart’s content. That’s something that can be quite handy if you use Maptools and this alone makes the price tag for River Crossing worthwhile.

So now, let’s talk about the map itself. It comes in four pieces: the bridge with the stream under it, a section of river, a dirt road and a field. Besides the bridge part itself, you can print off the other three sections multiple times to make a much larger map if you want/need to. A river crossing is also a great place for a lot of dramatic confrontations, such as defending a bridge, needing to destroy it before an enemy’s reinforcements can arrive, or needing to get across for whatever reason. The map is really easy to put together and it’s a nice little idea that can fit into any campaign. The downside of the map is that again, it’s sort of small and it’s not a s good looking as other products I’ve seen from D20 Cartographer. You’re still getting a great deal for your buck and a half, it’s just not AS great a deal as other products this company offers. River Crossing is a versatile map that can fit into any campaign and the price is right, so if you’ve been looking for something like this, you might as well snatch it up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Townscapes: River Crossing Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2011 07:20:01

Originally Punlished at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/01/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-i/

I was really impressed to see what all you get with the Warlord’s Watchtower Map Pack. I mean, it’s only a dollar and remember maps for D&D Miniatures running between ten and twenty bucks. You’re also getting SEVEN VERSIONS of the map for your dollar. That’s fourteen point two CENTS per version of the map. How is that not an insane deal? So what are all the different versions you are getting here? Let’ break it down.

1) a fifty-six page black and white high definition pdf of the watchtower broken into 7×7 tiles. (A4 and letter sized) 2) a fifty-six page full color high definition pdf of the map broken into 7×7 titles. (A4 and letter sized) 3) a four page guide to the map in full color and how it should look when assembled. 4) a jpeg of the entire map in color with a grid layout 5) a jpeg of the entire map in black and white with a grid layout 6) a jpeg of the entire map in color without a grid layout 7) a jpeg of the entire map in black and white without a grid layout 8) A Maptools pack (for a program called…Maptools) which makes the map great for a pbem or play by web game. Of course, to utilize this option, you’ll need Maptools, but as that is a free program, why wouldn’t you pick it up?

Again, all this for a dollar is insanely impressive, but it all comes down to quality. Thankfully the watchtower is as detailed as it is low in cost. The grass and forest areas on the exterior sections of the map alone impressed me enough to get this a flat out recommendation to anyone running a fantasy game. The interior is also nicely detailed but the decorations are a bit sparse for a the residence of a warlord. There’s a nice armory but no kitchen or treasure area.

I’m still a bit flabbergasted at the sheer quality that this map exudes when it comes to the price point. If you’re planning on running a lot of fantasy oriented scenarios, it’s certainly worth your time (and your dollar) to pick up the whole set of One Dollar Dungeons, but the Warlord’s Watchtower by itself would be perfect for the climax of a long running storyline or even a simple “storm the castle” scenario. For a measly buck, you are getting seven variants of the same map designed to fit any fantasy campaign and a an add on to Maptools. How can you say no?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Townscapes: River Crossing Map
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2011 16:35:54

I have reviewed the One Dollar Dungeon products and find them to be spectacular. I was a little disappointed with this particular product. It has the virtual tabletop file included like the other products. The reason I went lower on this one is that I had hoped for a bit more diversity in the included panels. What you get is the river with bridge that you can see, the river without a bridge, and a few panels of land with rocks. It is useful for building relatively non-descript maps. However, I think the $1 price point would be more appropriate for this map and the One Dollar Dungeons $1.50. Just my opinion. I love the D20 Cartographer products and look forward to additional products.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Townscapes: River Crossing Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback, NB Neil! Your comments are heard--I have marked the price of this particular map down to $1.00 as recommended!
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/20/2011 21:38:53

I had to go four stars on this one, which doesn't mean this map isn't high quality. It is well made and again has all the bells and whistles so that you can use it any way you like, print it out (color or b/w), use MapTool or other electronic solution, or whatever else you can think of.

The map overall may be a bit less "universal" as previous ones. It features a bunkhouse-type structure with a tower attached. I would likely use it as a piece of a larger map rather than the focus of an encounter. Or you could use it as your groups' safehouse, which they always appreciate. It is a bit similar to the Wizard's Tower, but obviously not arcane inspired. I dig it and again, it's a dollar. What more do you want? This is good value. Buy it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2011 08:18:33

Another great product! First, the quality and forethought of the maps are getting better and better. I really like how the artist choose to include what the room would look like if sunlight was streaming thru the arrow slits and murder holes. As well as what a character would conceivably see through these. I would wish however these items to be png objects with different times of day and weather taken into account for versatility(I would expect these to possibly be add-ons for say a $1 more as it brings the versatilty of the product way up). Second, the inclusion of MapTool macros make the product more inticeable to me as that is my VTT of choice. Also, the map layout to include one large map with each floor depicted in a vertical row and each floor broken out is great professionalism and convenience. I do wish there were two sets of MapTool rpmap files, one with the whole Warlord tower in one map for people with a thich bandwidth and multiple maps for people on a dial-up or metered internet account. Well worth the money spent! Please keep them coming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2011 21:01:17

While the map is gorgeous, I am left wondering at some of the room layouts. Why would there be a large basement? Also, why the 5 ft square rooms? Why not just have them be part of the yard? Why the walkway along the north and west of the map without guard tower(s) along the north wall? Another minor niggle is why have a gallows png if the gallows is already pre-drawn on the map unless the jailor is extra sadistic? Other than these minor niggles, I have to say the map kis exceptional yet again. Also the included pngs and portraits are very nice additions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Terry! I really appreciate you taking the time to write something for my maps. I thought I would go ahead and write a quick reply and offer some additional information for you and future customers. The large 'basement' area is the dungeon, which is why it is equipped with racks, a 'stretcher,' and torture tools. Like all the .png objects, the gallows is included so that customers can use it on their own private maps in the future, and the 10x10 rooms function as 'transition rooms,' sort of like airlocks, to prevent any jittery prisoners from trying to make a break for it through an open door if a warden has to enter or exit while they are in the yard. Hope this helps! --D20 Cartographer
One Dollar Dungeon: Wizard's Weird Tower of Wonders Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2011 20:51:48

OK, this one may have been a little too off the chart for my tastes. Although, the maps are exceptional as usual and will probably see use in my campaigns(maybe not all of the levels). Speaking of which this is a great use of thinking for a VTT versus f2f play. Included is all of the maps in their own file and then one extra large map with all of the levels included as one. Although, I wish the bundle would have included a .rpmap for each level seperately. Also, this map begs for some crazy lighting effects inside MapTools for some of the levels!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Wizard's Weird Tower of Wonders Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2011 20:42:13

I picked this up yesterday and it will probably see action very soon in both of my games! Yet again exceptional detail, versatility and exceptional value for online play. Keep them coming! At this point I don't even think twice when making the purchase of one of your new maps! I know it will see use at some point in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2011 20:39:18

Yet another winner under D20 Cartographer's belt. This map will be a steady staple in my map library. The inclusion of objects as manageable items makes it a very versatile map and the price cannot be beat! The colors and clarity of all of the maps in this product line are exceptional and are easily recognizable. The file size and dpi for online play is very good so as not to require a large upload bandwidth. There are some minor niggles on the VTT side though such as using circular VBL for columns and pillars in some of the maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/03/2011 15:06:06

If you've seen my latest reviews, I've done them for every one of the maps from this set. Not surprisingly, this one is great. But it's not just detailed, gorgeous, and interesting, IT'S HUGE! The map comes in separate pieces if you want to use one section only, which is nice for those of us with dungeon tiles or the open dry erase map. You can integrate these into your set-up for some forest fun. As usual, it comes with the MapTool campaign file so you an just open it up and get going with an online game. These maps may just convert my in person group to online combat around the table (at least a few sessions). I love that the objects are added separately, layers already exist, lighting and vision blocking are enabled. You literally just have to drop in tokens.

After seeing this line of products, I have to say that this is exactly the type of project I love from independent developers. It is clearly a labor of love and you get far more than a dollar's worth of value here. Support D20 Cartographer by picking these up today, because I want to see more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/30/2011 22:10:27

What can I say? Another gorgeous map from D20 Cartographer. Also, did I mention it is only a dollar? What can you buy for a dollar these days? Not a whole lot. In this case, you get full color panels of a prison (or what could double as a barracks potentially or bunkhouse of some sort), black and white panels that you can also cut out and make your full sized map to use at your table. Or if you've started using some of the electronic tools, this line of products is a godsend. Seriously people, you can literally directly import these maps into MapTool with objects included (also separately to add to your collection for later) and more importantly VISION BLOCKING AND LIGHT SOURCES already embedded. Slap your tokens down and just start playing. I really do commend Joshua Bennett who creates these. They really are very well made, universally usable for almost anyone who runs a fantasy RPG, and as I always say I can't wait to see the next one. There is some real skill and talent going into these, so support them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Cleric's Cathedral Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/13/2011 21:51:38

I love this line of products and can't wait for more. If you use MapTool, pregenerated maps, or just need some inspiration, this is a must have. Not only does it give you the maps to print out in several formats, you can just open the virtual table top file up with objects (included separately as well) and vision blocking ready to go and just get the fight going. The artwork is great. You get so many options it's insane and it's a DOLLAR. Don't question it. Just buy it. It's worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Cleric's Cathedral Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/13/2011 21:46:09

I feel like I'm going to say similar things about all of the D20 Cartographer products to date. They are easily worth the $1 with black and white, color, gridded, non-gridded, MapTool compatible (including objects, vision blocking, etc.) versions of the maps. This one is particularly useful as your interchangeable inn, bar, store, anything inside really. Does it really matter if you use the same building a few times? If you rearrange the objects, no one will even notice! With all the features of this product, you can't possibly pass it up if you've got any sense and use pregenerated maps ever.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 62 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates