DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
by Agnes O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2011 03:04:46

Fun map to play on. Had a spontaneous battle on this map last night just to test it out and I can't remember the last time that's happened.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlock's Wicked Warrens Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/31/2011 21:05:36

Another success from One Dollar Dungeon. This one is a bit different with the focus on an underground lair of a warlock or nefarious character. Lots of character here with runes on the floor, a nice layout, and plenty of detail. This is perfect for a final showdown map with a villain. I've had cult battles and other type situations that this would be perfect for. You could always cover up some of the runes or say they are faded to make it just an interesting side quest with non-sentient creatures. I like the atmosphere, so I find it a good option for tons of situations. Check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlock's Wicked Warrens Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/31/2011 21:00:51

I dig this map. It has a nice Persian feel with some diversity to the locale. There is an external courtyard, a receiving room and interior rooms, and underground cellars. The dual levels makes the map a bit more interesting and I really enjoy the aesthetics. This is a perfect map for a noble's mansion, a monastery in the wilds, or even a small PC stronghold. Plenty of options, Maptools files, etc., so get this. It's one dollar for cripe's sake.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2011 16:09:49

Very versatile and high quality map pack! Everything is included for whether you run your game online or face to face around a table. All of the extra set pieces are included in a seperate folder where the user can just copy them into the maps provided creating a different church, crypt, mausoleum for their purpose or used in a completley different map. The only complaints I have are that some of the interior walls do not line up with the grid causing tokens to appear as if they are partially thru a wall(particularly the church foyer). The other is the graveyard seems to be 30-50 ft higher than the church, yet standing on the ground I can see clear across the map. I understand this is a VTT problem, but it can be mitigated by using simple tricks, such as using a conical light at the top of the stairs leading into the graveyard, placing VBL so the player can only see so far into the graveyard. Other than those minor gripes, I see this pack being used often. Keep up the great work and you will continue to have my purchase!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Maps: Graveyard and Church Map Pack
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/30/2011 12:52:39

Whether or not you want a spooky adventure this Halloween, whenever you DO want to run a game with some goings-on in a graveyard this is well worth a look!

In this download you get a complete funary complex with a place of worship and nearby graveyard, complete with a building that's billed as the gravekeeper's shack. As well as a large - two posters-worth - map of the whole, there are interior plans for the temple (3 levels) and a mausoleum with crypt beneath, and the shack. (Well, you need somewhere for that creepy old fella who comes up to the characters and utters vague yet dire warnings to live, after all!)

The place of worship is built along roughly Christian lines, although of course you may dedicate it to whatever deity is appropriate for your campaign world. This has the added advantage that you could lift this clean out of fantasy and run your spooky graveyard adventure in a contemporary setting instead! There is plenty of scope for encounters and exploration within the church itself, and a few suggestions for dramatic scenes are given - and more suggest themselves as you look it over.

The mausoleum too provides ample scope for action, with a modest family tomb above ground and extensive catacombs below.

Resource-wise you get everything in several formats. Big (I mean BIG!) JPEGs to serve as posters and overviews. Map tiles in both colour and black & white. And all you need if you are running online with VTT, including an array of tokens as well as the map data. The map tiles come as PDF files to make printing to scale easy. There's an overview PDF as well, that explains all the goodies and how to use them to effect.

Oh, and did I say they're beautiful to look at as well?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
by Andrew L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/15/2011 20:29:03

In two words - buy this!

Let me explain why. First the art is good, yes good. Evocative, adequately detailed and it works when printed out on floor tiles (or at least the color version I printed did). If you were to measure the quality of the art in relation to the price it is absurdly good.

Second compared with ordinary floor tiles it is a good investment. Why, it comes enough formats that whatever fantasy game system you are using now or in the future you will be able with a little work to use this map. For example the formats include JPG, which although intended for online play I cut up and overlaid hex using ImageMagick (free) to make my floor tiles. There's even an international A4 paper size version, wonder of wonders the whole world can print it without getting either the scale slightly off or bits missing at the edges. With the relative ease with which all the formats this map comes in can be produced from a single master other publishers should consider themselves spoiling the ship for a ha'p'orth of tar.

It is nice to know that somebody still understands the good business sense of honest value for an honest product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
by Jay D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2011 10:30:56

This is a gorgeous map. Yeah sure there are a few layout choices that I think could be done differently but for $1.00 who cares!! I am using this map with some Fat Dragon Games 3-D dungeon walls to give my games that little something extra.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Rogue's Reward Prison Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2011 08:16:03

The Fighter's Barroom Brawl is the 2nd map pack of then One Dollar Dungeons collection and I like it. It's a typical medieval tavern with regulars' table, bar and kitchen on the base floor, a little cellar and spare rooms on the upper floor. Unlike the other maps the Barroom is enclosed by some other buildings with visible roofs. The map itself has a wide range of options. It is a good work again but maybe a little bit "to clean". Some lighting effects could be very nice.

With the map pack you will get a nice readme with cover, hints and previews, ready to print PDF for A4 and US Letter (fullcolor and greyscale maps), unsliced images of all parts and a VTT/Maptool package - for just one dollar.

The Fighter's Barroom Brawl is nothing special but a good map too, fitting to the other maps of D20 Cartographer.

One note: The first version of the map pack missed the unsliced map images. With the update of 2011-09-06 you get the whole package with images included. Thanks to Joshua.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2011 05:52:56

First I have to say, I like this map. It's another great work of D20 Cartographer with a stunning readme (the cover ist great again), ready to print PDFs for A4 and US Letter, unsliced fullcolor and greyscale images of the full maps and all you need for VTT/Maptool. The Watchtower is a huge map of a multi-level castle with battlement and tower. There is a wide range of situations you can use this map for - the base of the big evil, the last defense or just the home castle of the heroes.

The base map is an eye-candy and I'd like to see my gamers to explore this place on our next adventure.

But I have some issues with this map. First it was really difficult to me to understand the multi-level layout and how to play it. The base is not just the base, it's the castle as a top view. If you go inside the castle you have to use the 1st floor but if you go the tower upstairs you have to look at the base map again because it is the top view. Maybe the handling would be easier if the maps would be one per level and you can place one upon the other. The interior is nice looking again, but I miss some highlights. Beside the base map it looks a little bit dreary. I also miss some rooms I'd like to see on a map like this. If this is the warlords watchtower, where is the warlords room? I like to have fullcolor unsliced images with grid for the maps and it's a great offer, D20 Cartographer is shipping this with all products. But the Watchtower has only one image for all levels. So I had to cut it by myself.

Again, I like this map. It's an interesting location with a wide range of possible variations for your adventures. The Warlord's Watchtower is a good map pack for only 1 Dollar, but with some little changes it could be an outstandig map pack.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlord's Watchtower Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Townscapes: Blacksmith Map
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2011 03:02:53

This is my 2nd review of a D20 Cartographer product. In different to the One Dollar collection, this Townscapes series map is a lot smaller - but only in size (you only need 1 sheet to print it out). But you get the whole bunch like in all product of D20 Cartographer: A beautiful readme with cover, some hints and a preview. ready to print PDF for A4 and US letter with full color and greyscale maps. Image files of The full map with and without grid. And all files you need for VTT/Maptool, of course.

The blacksmith's shop is a nice litte map with a lot of details. You can find horseshoes, tools, bucks for the melting furnace and much more. The blacksmith has an open working room and a small tenement.

I like this map, because one of my players is playing a blacksmith. Now it's easier to imagine the house where his character is working and living. It is a good place for investigations for your roleplaying group too.

Well, I have two critical comments. The map outside the house is a little bit clean. Some litte trees or bushes or "wild object" would make it more vitalize. The background/base of the map is different to some other maps of D20 Cartographer, so it's not so nice looking if you want to place them side by side.

Beside this, the Townscapes: Blacksmith Map is another great product of D20 Cartographer. If you can imagine to use a blacksmith's shop on your adventures don't whait to buy this map.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Townscapes: Blacksmith Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2011 14:52:44

I have bought this product because I was looking for some maps I can use on my L5R pen&paper roleplaying group. Well, I think I have found a great map pack here and I will use it on my next adventure. The maps are very nice with high detail and you get 5 of them for only 1 dollar! - Take some time if you want to print them all, but it pays off.

It is a great offer you get not only the finished maps as PDF but all sources too. If you want you can resize the maps or make your very own.

You can see the artist loves his work and I only have to say: Well done and I'd like to see more from you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Ranger's Camp near the Ruins Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
by Keith (. T. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/05/2011 08:05:05

This is an incredible product for $1. If you use MapTool, you should buy this product just to see how to put together awesome MapTool effects like lighting, vision blocking, and automatic teleporting from one map to another when the characters use stairs. Other online users will have no problem importing the maps and objects into their VTT of choice.

The product also includes plenty of goodness for the face-to-face gamer including full maps in both color and toner saving black-and-white. The 110 page pdf contains the full tile set if you want to assemble the dungeon as your characters explore. The product comes complete with a set of standing doors as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Paladin's Secluded Citadel Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2011 15:43:28

I do most of my gaming online via VTT. This is an excellent product. You get not only a great map but also all the individual objects. These can be used to populate other maps or just let you rearrange things to keep the map from getting stale.

The maptools macros, object notes, VBL, etc. Are thoughtfully and tastefully done. Duplicating all the map features in maptool, even if you had the images readily available, would take many hours of effort.

I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend to others. Who doesn't need a good tavern?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Fighter's Barroom Brawl Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Cleric's Cathedral Map Pack
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/18/2011 12:00:52

It's not just beautiful, it's useful and versatile as well!

For a start, this mapset is good to look at. Better, it starts spawning ideas as soon as you start to explore a cathedral replete with back offices, nooks and crannies, a cloister in which to contemplate the teachings of your deity and even a pulpit from which to preach to the faithful! And that is just the DM's overview map... never mind when you start to enjoy the full-scale ones.

You get a whole bunch of resources here. If you have access to a large-scale printer, maybe at a copyshop, you can print out poster-sized maps in full colour or greyscale (which works well if you can get hold of parchment-effect paper...). For normal tabletop use, your home printer can churn out a 'sliced' version at A4 or letter size, which you can stick together as needed. If you play online using a virtual table-top, you not only have the map to play with in convenient sections, there are a whole collection of additional bits and pieces to place as you please, the sort of paraphenalia you might find in a fantasy/mediaeval place of worship (although purists might quibble that it's an 'altar' not an 'alter' - an easy mistake to make).

The detail, the quality of the rendering, is quite exceptional, verging on the photo-realistic. It's a pleasure just to look at, and if you are on the search for a religious centre for your game, there is considerable scope here. I can feel ideas coming on already...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Cleric's Cathedral Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Dollar Dungeon: Warlock's Wicked Warrens Map Pack
by Terry M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2011 18:35:39

PRO's: --Attention to detail --Lighting is superb! With the halls growing darker the further away from the light sources! Light overlays on the background layer where the light is cast, excellent! --Set pieces fit the ambiance of the rooms and halls. Makes the whole feel more authentic --Walls match up almost seamlessly and a great transition from outside to dungeon

CON's: --Compared to the other pieces in this series, this is small --The blue iron bands on the tables are too blue and look out of place.

Overall very good quality and will see use in my games. I can already think of a use right now. Waiting to see what comes next for the D20Cartographer label.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Dollar Dungeon: Warlock's Wicked Warrens Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 62 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates