DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
RPGPundit Presents #2: The Goetia
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2019 21:19:47

72 short write ups of Demons. Appearances & what powers they can grant those strong (foolish?) enough to summon & bind them. Great for any fantasy RPG but even better with Dark Albion, Lion & Dragon RPG.
Hopefully this great supplement and some others are put together in a print bok for Lion & dragon RPG. The Lion & Dragon Companion !
Fun stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #2: The Goetia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #68: The Cult of the Saints
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2019 17:28:14

What a great supplement for L&D or any RPG that you want to add Saints to, or give a Medieval flavor. Each Saint is given a history, what their sphere of influence is, possible holy relics and what divine aid they give. Great stuff. I sincerely hope that many of these articles find their way into one book, a Lion & Dragon Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #68: The Cult of the Saints
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #68: The Cult of the Saints
by Eric H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2019 08:16:10

Very nice product that gives a great sub-system to make Clerics in Old-School Dungeons and Dragons a little more flavorful and "Medieval Authentic". I have tried this approach myself in home-brew settings but this product does a much better job than I did.

Reminds me of the old days of my D&D experience, before Pantheon-istic Settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exiled in Eris
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2018 13:47:48

This PDF is 173 pages (169 are the content). Artwork is ok, b&w. Exiled in Eris is Sword, sorcery and blaster fantasy. P15-24: Your character concept, involves: where you came from, Family background and Profession, and why are you in Eris. Artifact hunters are the general profession. Certain weapons and armour are restricted (only available to military and Noble houses). Exiled in Eris uses a D20 for tasks; other dice are used (d4, d6, d8, d10, d12). Races: Human, Cyberdroid, Dakazi, Deru, Drudge/Brux. Myrmidon/Orix, Savant/Ix. Attributes are: Strength, Stamina, Dexterity, Agility, Intellect, Wits, Charisma, Willpower. There are 16 skills, and 6 restricted skills.

Exiled in Eris does remind me a little of Mekton (first edition).. At £5.25/$6.95, it's worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exiled in Eris
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City in the Mirage (for Exiled in Eris)
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2018 13:43:25

This PDF is 42 pages, 40 are the content. Your party guide the scholar to some 'ruins'. Some encounters, a puzzle, etc. Not too bad. There are portraits of the NPCs; also Maps (some are quite small, need enlarging). Artwork is OK. Like the rulebook, this PDF gives me the 'Mekton' feel', in style, look, etc. Not bad for $5.00/£3.18. Worth a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City in the Mirage (for Exiled in Eris)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MasterDeck Blank Cards (for MasterBook & Shatterzone)
by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2018 06:03:05

Great for when you want to add cards to tailor the Masterdeck for a specific genre or an idea you have for a campaign! The cards can easily be added or switched out for different genres or campaigns to capture a different feel. Same quality as the Masterdeck and subplot/plot development cards also sold on Drivethru. Thanks for making these available!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MasterDeck Blank Cards (for MasterBook & Shatterzone)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #26: Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2018 20:31:59

So today it wad great anticipation that I grabbed a copy of Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun.

I asked for this copy of what looks like Rpg Pundit's dip into the OSR post apocalyptic rpg scene with the Last Sun setting. Sort of a Dying Earth meets gonzo OSR rpg style game setting, Dungeon Crawl Classic or Mutant Crawl Classic players are going to feel right at home here as will Mutant Future rpg fans. There's also a good shot of Tolkein's Middle Earth playing to the strains of some weird Eighties sound track here. None of this is a bad thing for the OSR zine presentation of this setting;

" In the gonzo world of the Last Sun, human beings are an endangered species. After the Great Disaster, human numbers have steadily declined throughout the world. Although a few areas still contain a human majority (like the city of Arkhome, detailed in RPGPunditPresents #16 and #20), true humans are a very rare breed throughoutmost of the world. While humans have been hunted to near-extinction in some areas (like the Middle-Northern Wildlands, detailed in RPGPundit Presents #15), it was mostly mutation rather than depredation that has apparently doomed humanity. The time of the Great Disaster, when the Dark Ones entered the world of the Last Sun and waged war against all life, caused an enormous amount of ecological damage to the world. The disappearance of the Ancients, crash of G.O.D. into Emergency Mode, and rebellion of the AI Daemons meant that there was no central control. The loss of the Dwarven Machineholds to the servants of the Dark One also meant that all the machinery that kept strict control over the climate of the world was no longer accessible. The war of the Pythian Elves and their allies against the Dark Ones on the surface of the world created devastation, both technological (radiation and other toxic effects) and magical. As a result of all this, not only did many humans die, but many more were mutated into horrific monsters and monster-races, like the humanoids usually described as goblin-kin. A majority were changed into what are now simply referred to as mutants—they are human-like, but no longer human creatures" So basically Rpg Pundit is steadily working on an OSR post apocalyptic rpg and testing the waters of the marketplace with a slick mutant race generator with a strong eye towards the gonzo end of the spectrum. This product clocks in at eighteen pages & is full of random generators for everything from your mutant's tribal factional background, powers, type, color, & potential additional physical qualities. In addition there's a psychic powers system built into the product that can work in a wide variety of OSR products. Finally there's a random mutant quirky qualities & weirdness table. And there's actually a couple of pieces of pretty decent artwork along with the usual quality layout to the product line.
Mutant generators walk a very fine line when it comes to execution they have to have enough useful information & lots of great random tables without taking away from the tool box nature of the product. Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun succeeds in that regard. The three dollar price tag means that the dungeon master can roll up a wide variety of NPC mutants without breaking the bank. It also means that the players have addition customization tools right at their finger tips. There's enough meet on the Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun eighteen pages to give a good idea of the direction of the product without boxing the players completely and utterly into the setting. There's just enough guidance to randomly determine if your PC is a mutant, and what kind of classes he can play without strong arming the player into a corner of dead ends & penalties that many other OSR & old school post apocalyptic products have done in the past. Yes I'm looking at you Ares section of Dragon magazines of ages past. There's a lot here that can be done with Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun

from factional NPC mutant characters to full fledged psychic mutant PC's whose presence won't destroy your wastelands. The inclusion of a working psychic powers system is a nice addition for only three dollars & I can see using this generator for creating humanoid mutant alien species as well. This generator would work well for creating mutant tribes & NPC's on failed colony worlds for science fiction or science fantasy worlds. There's enough here to add mutant PC's to a wide variety of OSR games. The three dollar price tag makes this a nice & solid product for use with OSR games. I don't know if the Last Sun setting is for me but the Rpg Pundit Presents 26 Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun is a welcome addition to the post apocalyptic Dungeon master's arsenal. So this one is a five out of five in my book! Want to get more original OSR & original post apocalytic content? Then subscribe to https://darkcornersofrpging.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #26: Mutant Hordes of the Last Sun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Six-Siders
by Stuart J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2018 15:23:37

It's agood useable system, with a small amount of tweaking I've adapted it to a post apocalypse, alien invasion style game, simple but totally great basics for a mixed player age group



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Six-Siders
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2018 20:06:51

This is a super lite fantasy offering in the vein of 0-e of the original RPG. In it you will find ideas for the standard races and classes found in most fantasy games.

The games hook is that you use a single d6 for all rolls. This means attributes are generated with 1d6, tasks are performed the same way. It is a perfect way of doing things for a pick-up group or even a longer term set of sessions. It is lite enough to allow for quick play but has room to add things as you go.

Very fun and quite worth the read!

And lest I forget... there is a small group dedicated to this game forming up over on G+

https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/100500584349717966351



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2018 17:09:34

This rules-lite RPG is brilliant in its simplicity. Contained in these 60 pages is everything you need to play, gamemaster, and design your own monsters and adventures. Monster design and their tiny stat block are ingenious. Plus, I love Steve Robertson's art. It is a perfect match to his text, only detailed enough to be inspiring in its simplicity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Six-Siders
by Jerry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 21:56:24

Swords & Six-Siders is basically a 1d6 version of the original role-playing game. It is dripping with old-school goo (that's a GOOD thing), from writing to art to the feeling of nostalgia just by reading it. No other dice are used except a good ol' d6, the most convenient type that is accessible in every home, even if you have to raid a dusty old board game tucked in a closet. Your standard races are present (Dwarf, Elf, Halfling, Human) and there are three of the four familiar classes (Fighter, Thief, Wizard). No Clerics, but there is the Myrmidon class which is a compromise since they can fight and cast spells. Your level of play goes from 1-6, the equivalency of levels 1-12 in other OSR games. Monsters are handled so efficiently by the genius of using Monster Levels (ML) to determine their stats. No more extensive stat blocks followed by long-toothed descriptions. Combat's a cinch. Roll 1d6 +/- any modifiers and hit the opponent's Armor Class. Other things I like about the game is that any natural roll of "6" is a success and "1" is a failure. Yep, even the greatest heroes and foes have at least a 1-in-6 probability of flubbing, and the weakest still have a chance for success. This game is so easy to build your own adventures, races, and monsters for -- and with the forthcoming supplement license, we'll soon be creating and sharing our ideas enough to elevate this little gem of a game to new heights previously unimaginable. With enough buy-in from all of the great OSR gamers and authors (and there are a TON of you, FWIW), it should be a fun ride!

Disliked: Myrmidons instead of Clerics - easily remedied with the Supplement license... hint, hint ;) Liked: Everything else!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
by Goran E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2018 13:33:41

First, let's get rid of a common mistake. It's written diceless not rules-less. so it has rules, quite a lot in fact but they all circle the single identical idea of resource manageament. It's not that this is a bad idea at all, but for example you won't find the grand world-shattering competitive ways to roleplay that Amber introduced. Because yes you need to talk about Amber when you talk about diceless rpg.

So Active Exploits is not designed with a stable group of players in mind, there is no bidding process and all. Here you buy things, and there are quite a few to pick from: ABILITIES which are stats, there are 4 of them. ASPECTS namely luck and discipline which have base values according to game level of reality, SKILLS that you may take and a which level still according to reality level, GIMMICKS (as many as you want as long as the referee agrees) and PRINCIPLES like codes, faults and objectives. Creating a character is easy in fact, the reality level telling all you need, however it is not written in the most explicit way I've seen, but it's just my opinion. What is important is that it is quick, easy, but that players really need to be able to make the differences betwen all the differnt names given to all different possible values.

In fact the system is built upon the idea that you have a base value equals to ability + skill and that you need to burn points of bo uses (like luck etc) to get a sum that is over the target level. You can even spend XP spent on skills to get a temporary boost. It's quite crystal clear except that you need to make really sure players are aware of the many pools they can pick pints from. Especially with the advanced rules that introduces even more pools like flairs (say subskills), convictions, fields of expertise, threads linking characters.

The main problem according to me are these advanced chapters. Because you have character creation, system and combats THEN advanced versions of the same ones then others. All in all I love the way things get described with category after category enhancing game experience. But I must admit that this very depth is also the deepest flaw of the game system because it's easy to get lost and not being able to succeed because you fail at giving a reason why you could add this bonus or that one.

It is a very good game, not doubts. But there are so many resources to manage from that I wonder how far it is a playable game. You need a very committed group that will move farther, advanced option after advanced option. And that will be very difficult to introduce new players in the middle because of the sheer amount of variables to take into account when comes the moment to chose where you pick points from. I tried two games which is not a lot I admit, but each time we had to shatter that wall of "how I am supposed to do that?". In a typical dice-driven game you don't have it because you have clear values to add to a random die result. Here you never know if burning a point or a skill XP on that is useful or silly. On the first game I made all characters were quickly exhausted and succeeding difficult tasks became impossible, on the second one it was the reverse: nobody wanted to burn a dot and the story wasn't proceeding on.

I love this game but I don't know how to make it work properly in fact. How do you play a resource management system when you have no resources left or when no one does want to spend them? And it's the moment we get back to Amber...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Disposable Heroes Superhero Statix 1
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2018 10:50:42

I was looking around for superhero paper miniatures. I tried a couple on DriveThruRPG and this one is the best of the bunch. High quality images formatted for inch squares. Nice selection of generic superheros. Comes with bifold and trifold (like TSR's Marvel Superheroes Fold Ups) versions. Definitely going to look at the publishers other offerings for other genres. If your looking for generic superhero miniatures this set is a solid 5 star.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Superhero Statix 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RPGPundit Presents #13: Dragon Corpses
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2018 09:20:15

This pdf contains five half-pages of game information, plus the requisite covers and OGL statement. As befits a product supporting the OSR, mechanical rules are few.

There are subjects including what to use dragon teeth, droppings, etc., just like the cover states. There is mention of the Lion & Dragon RPG, but the information herein can easily be used for any OSR game.

I rated the supplement at 4 stars because the information is great, and spawns several potential adventure ideas as the PCs bring the dragon's corpse back to civilization. The value is well worth the $1 I spent. There seem to be a couple items missing that I would love to hear the author's take on - dragon bones and organs, such as the eyes or the heart. Granted, using this product as a guideline can get me traction in that regard, but it seems like using a femur to craft a javelin could be covered, if only to say "dragon bones are actually unsuited for crafting, being highly porous and delicate once the magical life energy of the beast dissapates upon its death." Which as I write this makes total sense, and will likely be my explaination should it ever come up in a game.

I am very happy with this purchase; it is getting printed and placed into my "GM Notebook of Miscellany" because my players don't always kill dragons, but when they do I want to have an answer for "Hey, can we collect some of it's breath acid?"



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RPGPundit Presents #13: Dragon Corpses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coyote Trail: Shady Gulch Revisited
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 05:34:50

A very solid product. Good attention to detail. Since I have to use 50 characters, I will also say I enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coyote Trail: Shady Gulch Revisited
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 316 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates