DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
How to Make a Fantasy Sandbox
by Kurt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2024 16:44:37

I can't currently, read the product because I don't do well reading PDF's, so I print them out, myself - if the product is REALLY worthy, I'll buy a hardcopy. There is a flaw in this PDF that doesn't allow it to be printed on two sides of a sheet of paper - 90 pages was already a lot, but 180 is unfeasible. I've spent over an hour, tinkering and testing with other products (they work, so not my printer). I even tried shrinking the print size down to just ten pages, but no dice. It sucks to leave this as a review, but the publisher allows no other means of contact - if it's here, on DTRPG, I couldn't find it, the web site has no "Contact" feature and their blog, likewise has no place to reach out. Yes, I looked before I wrote this - just added tot he frustration. If a fix is made, I intend to edit this, but here's where we stand, now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Make a Fantasy Sandbox
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Sorry to hear about your trouble. As for contacting me you can email at robertsconley (at) batintheattic.com. Sub in the @ symbol for (at). I will be glad to work with you through the technical issues of printing the PDF. I do booklets and double sided printing myself all the time with Adobe Acrobat. One detail that is perhaps not obvious is that the page size is digest 5.5 x 8.5 not A5 which is roughly 5-7/8 x 8-1/4 in. This can be seen by clicking the Menu and then Document Properties on Adobe Reader or Acrobat. For How to Make a Fantasy Sandbox I printed a test copy, double sided with Adobe Acrobat using digest sized paper on my Brother Laser Jet printer. Hopefully that helps. If you choose to email me, give me the details of what PDF software you are using to print, the printer, and the paper size you are trying to use, and perhaps I can figure out how to help. Thanks Rob Conley
pixel_trans.gif
Blackmarsh
by Seth T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2023 10:46:45

This is a really strong campaign setting, and it's pretty incredible how much is in it for free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words.
pixel_trans.gif
Blackmarsh
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2023 06:43:41

Amazing information in a very good work of art for players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks and appreciate the support!
pixel_trans.gif
Blackmarsh
by Tim [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2023 12:21:34

Great setting to get started in any campaign. You have some areas but most is left up to the GM/DM. Not only that but it is entirely FREE!! DMTimothy



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the compliment and glad you found it useful!
pixel_trans.gif
Blackmarsh
by Justin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2023 10:30:51

Concise, evocative setting with lots of room to accommodate GM+PC imagination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Blackmarsh
by Eugene [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2023 13:49:33

A lot without it being too detailed. I love settings like this where it's up to the DM to decide what else to include.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Glad that you enjoyed it and thanks for the review!
pixel_trans.gif
The Majestic Wilderlands
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2023 08:36:30

An interesting idea, well-executed. I don't have the same nostalgia for Judge's Guild that the author does, so I didn't end up using this, but it was an early OSR effort that was well ahead of its time and much higher quality than most home-brew campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Majestic Wilderlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Appreciate you taking the time to write this even if the Majestic Wilderlands is no longer for sale. I am working on an updated set of rules called the Majestic Fantasy RPG and the part of the setting that was my original will be repurposed for the Majestic Fantasy Realms that Blackmarsh is part of.
pixel_trans.gif
Wilderlands of the Fantastic Reaches Color Maps
by Greg K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2022 19:55:49

Purchased all 4 sets of the color maps and they look great. Nicely laminated. However, I was a bit dissapointed that one set of maps had been folded in half. I imagine these maps will hold up for a lifetime:)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of the Fantastic Reaches Color Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wilderlands of High Fantasy Guidebooks (Print) [BUNDLE]
by Jareth J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2022 21:26:48

Note: this is a review of the printed maps, not the contents of the maps themselves.

For a base price of $48.92, you get eighteen map sectors across thirty six posters. the overarching map is absolutely enormous; taking up a massive 108" by 72"(9 feet by 6 feet) total size if you laid it all end to end, thats bigger than the largest tournament supported Warhammer 40k table! Each hex is a 5 mile area which means this map is a staggering 154,440 square mile area, that's larger than the entire state of Montana! (or a little over half the size of texas) Each part of the 18 sections of the map are represented by two posters that have a 4 hex overlap to help you keep track of where you are when you are moving poster to poster which is super handy if you don't have them in a binder.

A noteable feature of these maps is to me that these are hex-crawl ready, with numerated hexes that are just begging me to play a nation sized wargame across them. couple that with the vast array of different terrains to help guide your creative mind through and the descriptions of sweeping woods covering mighty mountains and deserts that vanish into the distant horizons will keep a dungeon master from ever going bored.

I love this collection of maps, If not for the amazing illustration of this classic D&D setting, then for its sheer size and weight, i find it to be well worth the price. although i will note that for the best effect please go and get the printed versions of the guide booklets also done by Bat In The Attic Games, paired together they are truly the essence of old school D&D.

I put the entire collection of posters into an architect binder ordered from north west to south east and presented that to my players who, like me, were absolutely astounded and now want our next campaign to take place in the wilderlands.

Now if you'll excuse me, i have to go explore the Holy Cities in search of ancient treasures beneath the desert lands



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy Guidebooks (Print) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to write this and appreciate the compliments.
pixel_trans.gif
Wilderlands of High Fantasy Maps (PDF) [BUNDLE]
by Bruno P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2021 10:21:16

Great maps, great guidebooks. Yes, the latter aren't 1:1 to originals from back in the day, but are much more readable, affordable, and accessible. Grab this bundle while it is still available. Will you be able to survive the Wilderlands?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy Maps (PDF) [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Appreciate the compliments and glad you enjoyed them.
pixel_trans.gif
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
by Rom E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 09:25:31

After 950+ purchases, I believe this is the first time I've written a review for any product. It is my hope that this fact alone will inspire you to pick up a copy of this sublime title. While the author readily admits that TMFRPG was originally derived from the original version of D&D, and later updated to Swords & Wizardry, the content is fresh. Mr. Conley does an exquiste job of taking the rules we know and tweaking them just enough that the reader invariably will nod along and say "That's cool". At least I did.

While it is not my style to go into great detail about why I love this book so much, I will say the hidden gem within the pages has got to be the section entitled "Scraps from the Attic". As Rob explains at the beginning of the section:

"This chapter is a basic overview of how I designed these mechanics to remain consistent with Swords & Wizardy and the classic editions, along with the tools I used to come up with new rulings".

This short (8 pages) section is simply choke-full of 'behind the scenes' explanations describing the 'whys' of Rob's rule modifications. It is evident that Rob not only has the pragmatic experience needed to successfully integrate house-rules into a well-defined rule system, but also an artist's deft touch. At no point do his house-rules seem excessive or overbearing (with respect to the S&W ruleset).

As I read through the book, cover to cover, I felt compelled to grab a highlighter and mark up the passages of text that I wanted to share with my players. By the time I started the section "Character Backgrounds" on page 20, a campaign seed began to grow in my head. I started taking notes and by the end I had three full pages of 'my takes' on the lore of the associated setting "Majestic Wilderlands". Can there be any better endorsement for a book, that it kicks open the door to your imagination and inspires you to worldbuild during your initial reading?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed and insightful review as well as the compliments.
pixel_trans.gif
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
by Fren K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2021 17:28:24

Lovely quality maps that bring out the best of the Wilderlands!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Appreciate the compliment and the business. Thanks Rob Conley Bat in the Attic Games.
pixel_trans.gif
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2021 10:43:12

Taking a lead from earlier starter editions such the Black Box edition of D&D, which takes characters up through levels 1 to 5, The Majestic Fantasy Basic Rules, gives a full rules set to enable the players and referee to run complete and detailed campaigns whilst leaving room for higher level play later. The rules are ultimately based on Original Dungeons and Dragons and are compatible with most, if not all, clones thereof. Matt Finch's Swords and Wizardry is mentioned specifically on the cover and indeed the book describes itself as a supplement to S&W. But make no mistake, this is a complete game on it's own. But thus is not just another clone. Here, there are refinements and differences which show how Rob has modernised his rules as time and fashions tend to do. For instance, the classic six ability scores (here called Attributes) range from 3 to 23 although the normal human range is still 3-18. First level PCs get max hit points and starting cash is modified by Charisma (nice touch). In this volume we have the classic four main classes but with hints that in the Advanced(?) rules or in campaign supplements, there are more to come. For instance, although Rogue is a class, we are only presented here with the "Burglar" variant and the Cleric here is a "Cleric of Delaquain": presumably there are more cleric sects out there, each with their own specialisms and possibly, spells? (Indeed in his notes for the Kick Starter, Robert has more than hinted at this and there is another 'sect' detailed in the NPC section of the book). We have the four classic races plus Half-Elves. Here is a nod to more modern versions of the game: players of any background (race) can play any class. However, not all professions will be the best choice for each background. Hints at extra backgrounds can be found later in the book by looking at the notes on the cultures of non-human npcs. Look out for orcs, goblins and lizardmen backgrounds in future at least! Old school roots show themselves here- the backgrounds are not balanced, and are not intended to be. Elves in particular are designed to be somethin' else: "created as the shining examples of the potential of life" they are immortal beings, immune to disease and healing twice as fast as other humanoids. And now we come to more modern twists on the old school warhorse rules: abilities. In this game abilities are not your rolled attributes but a skill system used alongside attribute tests, using a d20 roll. This version of the skill system has but twenty two abilities (although several of these are multi-faceted) ranging from Athletics to Intimidation, Survival to Haggling. These abilities help define or sharpen your character's chosen class. The system is simple and straightforward with one target number. Advantage and disadvantage are handled much like in D&D5e, and there are simple rules on levels or degrees of success/failure. The whole abilities section is only nine pages and feels light and streamlined (so OSR stick-in-the-muds like me don't need to get the heebie-geebies!) Similarly lightweight, but nevertheless there, if you want them, are the combat stunts and tricksie moves that are common in the modern game. Rules for grappling, swapping weapons, dual wielding etc are also present and concisely written. Character's attribute scores can affect surprise, initiative, ranged fire, melee efficiency and more. This has the effect of giving the classes more options which might otherwise 'belong' to different classes. This also means for example the Fighters in this game are beefed up compared with the original game, gaining extra attacks and with more hit points. Being a human fighter in these rules is not a default if your attribute rolls didn't come out too well. Players will actively choose to play one! The spell casting system has a few extra twists too. Although spells are divided into Arcane and Divine magic, both Magic Users and Clerics need to have spell books to revise from. Both types of spell caster can also perform Ritual magic using their spell/prayer books and the right components etc. This enables spells to be cast without memorising them first. Scrolls therefore take on an extra dimension in the Majestic Fantasy RPG as they can take the place of spell books too precious to take adventuring. Be warned... some creatures in these lands have levels of magical immunity. This extra level of defense is used alongside a standard saving throw. This ability combined with the need to know how many hit dice your enemies might have (for fighters multi targetting purposes) means that players will need to get to know their monstrous enemies in a bit more detail than in other games. Rob justifies this by pointing out that hunters or warriors get a feel for the relative strengths and skills of their opponents as they gain experience with/of them. The final twist I want to mention is one which readers/users of the Blackmarsh setting will have come across before. The mysterious substance called "Viz". This is best described as an element of pure magic. A little like The Force in Star Wars, it suffuses everything, or perhaps more accurately- might suffuse anything. In the Blackmarsh setting it is suggested that Viz came to the world via a meteor or comet strike and became spread around the land and buried deep within it. You can actually dig it up or mine it I suppose. That isn't discussed here. But it's effects are. Viz essentially boosts magic in certain ways the most obvious is that a magic user can physically use up Viz whilst casting a spell and in doing so, the spell is not wiped from his memory. Very handy. Very expensive. Many of you will have seen the author's Bat in the Attic website and blog. A place stuffed with excellent advice on running campaigns. Rob has cherry picked some choice morsels from there and included them here in the Basic Rules. It's worth saying here something about Rob's philosophy when putting these rules together. He describes the rules as a toolbox for 'kitbashing'. Customisation to you and me. Yes, that's right, the author of the game explicitly states he wants you tear his game up and use it how you will. I can see how lots of things in the book, and especially the advice sections, can be used this way. I could easily swipe the entire Abilities section and stitch it seemlessly into Epées & Sorcellerie for example. However, I'm not sure how well you could run the rules without, say, Viz. But I'm saying that without having played it. All of the classic monsters are here, lots of treasure (including treasure assortment tables) and magical items. There are some excellent sections on NPCs and information on demi-human and goblinoid types etc which gives you scope to put together detailed tribes of goblins for example, complete with their warrior bosses, sages, shamans and so on. There ready made guards, NPC parties, the local witch, all sorts of good stuff. The book is rounded off with helpful collections of tables and quick reference guides, combat tables and so forth. Lots of which are also available as free downloads. The artwork is plentiful without getting in the way. All of it good to excellent. The cover work by Richard Luschek is especially good. There are lots more lovely little touches I could tell you about- such as rules for using your trusty staff as a vaulting pole! Rob really has done an amazing job fitting all of this into one book. I went for the hardback because that's what I like but it's available in paperback and as a pdf... so what are you waiting for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Majestic Fantasy RPG, Basic Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Appreciate that you took the time to write this and thanks for the compliments.
pixel_trans.gif
Blackmarsh
by Alessandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2020 10:18:36

This sandbox setting is clearly inspired by the super-classic Blackmoor, but it stands very well also on its own and it can provide plenty of excellent game time!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
by Wayne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2019 11:14:26

The maps are gorgeous, and a bargain. Very gameable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Fantasy, Color Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates