DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
#iHunt: The RPG
by Kate G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2019 10:28:21

This is a game of monster hunting in the cyberpunk dystopia of late stage capitalism. It is very pretty and at various points clever, funny, revealing, and distressing. The game uses a solid version of the fate core system, but I think this setting could be used pretty easily with whatever system you like for the monster hunting genre.

Game books set in the modern world, i think, tend to skip over discussing what life is like here and now. After all, we are supposed to know that for ourselves. But the modern world is changing faster and faster, and situations are not evenly distributed. This game essentially treats the present as an unfamiliar new setting and i think that approach is not just interesting, but it is a pretty good approach for a fun game.

i also like the tone of this game overall. it doesnt just feel like it is about the future we are living in, it feels like it is from there. It kind of reminds me of watching the X-Files way back. See, one day everyone in the real world got cell phones, and it changed all sorts of things about the way we lived. but the characters in TV dramas didnt have cell phones yet, for some reason. they were stuck in the past somehow. even when they got cell phones, they didnt really use them the way we were using them. When Mulder and Scully started to actually use their phones, there was a feeling that fiction was catching up with us at last. Reading iHunt gave me a similar feeling of recognition.

im looking forward to seeing this play out at my table. so more of this, please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Federico S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 11:27:59

There aren't many genres as relevant to our times as economic horror, and the TTRPG environment is severely lacking in quality and quantity in that department.

iHunt is set to change that.

This game boasts thematic strength in spades. Late stage capitalism and its woes resonate with so many of us, especially those of us coming from marginalized communities. #iHunt channels that with heaps of realness. While a lot of TTRPGs with heavy themes struggle to connect emotionally, #iHunt succeeds thanks to the relevance of its subject matter and the amazing way in which it's all conveyed.

And it ain't just the content that is easy to connect with. The no-bullshit, straight-to-the-point writing is not just refreshing, but completely apt for the current, nerve-wracking times we get to live in. Yay.

Yet #iHunt isn't some bleak misery tour of the worst face of our society. It knows when to laugh in the face of true horror, and it has your back by providing proper, violent escapism when you most need it. It understands humor is a necessary weapon against crippling monetary insecurity, and boy does it wield it good.

The use of the FATE system seems very appropriate and the system itself is really well explained. The mix of survival tips and advice, rules and fiction is expertly organized and presented; there was never a point in which I was like "oook I'm tired of this" or whatever. And I have to hammer this down again: in a time in which most TTRPGs end up being coffee table books or as glorified bookshelf filler, this being a more entertaining, engaging and overall just plain fun read than most of the big titles out there makes it an amazing purchase that I can't wait to take to the actual gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Secrets o. t. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 10:33:38

Honestly this is such a pleasure to read, it's engaging, well-worded, fun, layout and art are neat, easy to reference... A great, unapologetic engaged work that carries its message both through content and world building, but also in mechanics. Will give a full playthrough ASAP :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Eero R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2019 07:27:12

I am very much NOT the target audience. I am straight white male living comfortably middle-class life in an actually functioning welfare state.

That being said, this is the most authentic and thought-provoking roleplaying game I have read in the twenty years I have been involved in the hobby.

It is raw, somewhat unpolished, very angry but it just has so much heart and soul and it has important things to say. Ignorance is bliss as they say, and the sections describing what life is actually like for underprivileged workers struggling in gig economy is honestly disturbing and infuriating. Suddenly it makes sense why someone would try to machete a vampire in a car parking lot for cash.

I am unlikely to ever get to play this, but I have been reading it in the evening for several days in a row now. It just oozes atmosphere.

Great stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2019 20:41:48

I've said this in other places, but I want to leave a review here, too. I've played a lot of Fate games, I've run a lot of Fate games, I've written plenty of hacked material for Fate games; #iHunt is a great iteration of Fate rules. They're well explained here, in terms that should be familiar to even new players.

The book is an easy read, unlike many RPG books. It wears its heart on its sleeve, be it while giving a no-nonsense rundown of the poverty that drives people into the gig economy or while mocking the tried and true (and stilted) "here's how you make a character!" section of every RPG book ever. The layout is crisp, the colors are vivid, and the art fits the ad-copy style of the fictional app the game centers around. If a magazine, blog, twitter feed, and RPG book had a kid and that kid decided it wanted hunt monsters and punch fascists, this book would be that kid.

This game is easily in my top three iterations of Fate. I haven't run it yet, but it's going to have a solid chance at being my top iteration once I do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2019 11:47:56

A fantastic book that nails monster hunting from an angle perfect for millenial audiences. Funny, insightful and proper punching-up satire. Brilliant work all around.

Plus it explicitly bans fascists, which more games should do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
by Nikitas T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2019 14:36:06

The setting is intriguing, but a role playing game isn't its setting. The rules are confusing, sometimes inconsistent and generally speaking quite useless. The characters don't really make any sense and trying to understand and play the game is an excruciantingly pointless endeavor. It is, in brief, an unplayable game with a cute setting and a horribly sad handbook.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - HD Mix
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2017 01:11:49

The book is a mess, the style is sloppy and despite this being called the HD mix comes across as really choppy and low res but that is merely the beginning of its problems. The biggest and most unforgivable to me is asking this price and yet delivering so little in the way of content, they hint that they'll give it but then don't follow through, the factions despite so much writing, mostly form in-universe characters giving their own narrations, couldn't be less well described in a coherent fashion, the page on the mechs they say they'll give some idea of how it feels to pilot them, but then gives absolutely none not even a description of the various control interfaces, why they needed to turn the first few gens pilots into super soldier cyborgs for instance, thats completely left out despite that obviously being a big thing. I understand the need to give an open world for DMs to do their own thing but theres such a thing as taking it to far, imagine a forgotten realms boom that named no key characters, described all the factions in the vaguest terms, gave no diffinitive moments of the history, key battles or even geography of the various factions in play and so on and you have this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - HD Mix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fuck Armageddon: PunkApocalyptic Roleplaying
by Me M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 05:58:16

This game sounds awesome! A perfect beer and pretzels game if I ever saw one. I like the punk attitude of the book, and the term "punk-apocalytic" is hilariously bad-ass. Glitter is the herpes of arts and crafts! I like that everything is designed to be fun and quick. All the rules are written to be practical and fast, no chunky rules "crunch" here. Rules lawyers will be filled with despair! In fact, here's a new monster for this game: Rules Lawyer.

Rules Lawyer This guy's favorite words are "technically" and "actually", but don't fall for any of that sh**, just gird your badassium and crack his skull. He'll attack with cunning (but boring) wordplay and try to f* you up with heavy rulebooks. If you ever put the hurt on one of these losers be sure to take all their snacks, which will be mainly cheese puffs and Mount Due soda. Hardcore: 1, Kicking A: 2, Monster Die: d10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuck Armageddon: PunkApocalyptic Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZZ - Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - SD MIX
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/24/2014 01:45:39

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/05/24/rezension-apotheosis-drive-x-ein-fate-setting/

Machine Age – riesige Roboter gesteuert von auserwählten Piloten. Sind sie die letzte Hoffnung der Menschheit oder ihr unausweichliches Ende? Epische Kämpfe und sagenhafte Dramen erwarten die Spieler in dem Setting Apotheosis Drive X für Fate.

Rezension: Apotheosis Drive X – ein Fate-Setting

Als großer Anhänger des Fate-Systems habe ich bisher die Settings für meine Abenteuer immer selbst zusammengestellt oder die Variante eines sogenannten „Hacks“ gewählt. Dabei wird ein vorhandenes Setting genutzt und die Fate-Regeln daran angepasst. Apotheosis Drive X (ADX) ist das erste fertige Setting für Fate, dass mir in die Finger kam und sicher nicht das letzte. Es ist unglaublich spannend, die Interpretation eines so offenen Systems, aus der Feder von Profis zu entdecken.

Die Spielwelt

Die Erde ist die Bühne für das ADX-Setting, allerdings mehrere hundert Jahre in der Zukunft. Das früheste, spielrelevante Jahr 2397, markiert ein erschütterndes Ereignis. Die ersten Ausläufer des verheerenden vierten Weltkriegs werden erkennbar und bringen große Veränderungen mit sich. Die Akteure versammeln sich und werden später zu den vier großen Fraktionen, welche den Lauf der Geschichte mit Hilfe der Titan-Technologie zu beeinflussen suchen.

Die vier Fraktionen

Die Oya-Nation: Geklonte Elitekrieger, die einst erschaffen wurden, um die Menschen zu schützen und einen Kriegsausbruch zu verhindern. Leider hat ihre Existenz nur für noch mehr Tumult gesorgt. Sie haben die Herzfeuer-Antriebe vergraben und dadurch fruchtbares Land erschaffen. In ihrem Matriarchat werden die gefallenen Titanen-Antriebe wie Angehörige begraben. Ihre Robotertechnologie ist mit Biotechnologie verknüpft, und die Piloten bilden eine Symbiose mit ihren Oya-Klasse-Titanen.

Stratos-Commonwealth: Ehemalige Klontruppen, die auszogen im Weltall zu leben, weil Ihnen auf der Erde gleiche Rechte verwehrt wurden. Sie leben auf Raumstationen im Asteroidengürtel und fliegen vielseitige Titanen. Sie müssen sich widrigen Lebensumständen und Ressourcenknappheit anpassen und ihre General-Klasse-Titanen, später Khan-Klasse, sind (beschränkte) Transformer.

Das Eine-Erde-Abkommen: Die Gesamtregierung der Erde, ein Propaganda-„Staat“ mit seltsamer Moral, der die Klone und das Kollektiv ausnutzte oder unterdrückte. Ihre grenzenlosen Ressourcen und ihre vorteilhafte Position, sind nur mit Hilfe einer Mehrklassengesellschaft haltbar. Sie haben den ersten Titanen gebaut, und die Janus-Klasse ist in jeder Generation das Basismodell für alle anderen Titanen. Die Janus-Titanen verfügen über eine adaptive Erinnerung, die das Kampfwissen der vorigen Piloten speichern und an andere Piloten weitergeben kann.

Das Völker-Kollektiv: Die Unterdrückten und die Arbeiter der Erde erschufen sich ihre eigene Nation, welche eigentlich keine Nation, sondern mehr eine Art „Menschengewerkschaft“ darstellt. Ohne ihre Arbeitskraft kann es keine Erdregierung geben, aber bisher haben sie es nicht geschafft sich vollends zu erheben. Ihre Mythen-Klasse-Titanen sind ehemalige Ernte- und Industriemaschinen, die mit gestohlener Technologie modifiziert wurden.

Der Fokus des Settings liegt natürlich auf dem Konflikt der Fraktionen untereinander und der Bedeutung von Titanen für die Menschheit. Die Zeitlinie wird grob dargestellt und in sieben Generationen aufgeteilt. Empfohlen wird der Beginn einer Kampagne in der Generation vier, da dort die Titanen beginnen, dank Ihrer Antriebe, besondere Kräfte zu entwickeln, welche sich die Spieler zu Nutze machen können. Die Spielwelt an sich wird, wie bei Fate üblich, nur angerissen und mit wenigen Sätzen wird ein Bild der Situationen gezeichnet. Dabei bleibt dem Spielleiter, der in ADX „Director“ genannt wird, maximaler Interpretationsspielraum. Das Setting ist interessant gestaltet und man merkt deutlich, worauf Wert gelegt worden ist. Der Antrieb der Fraktionen, der Charaktere und Gruppierungen wird in den Vordergrund gestellt und jeder einzelne ist sich sicher, dass nur sein eigener Weg dazu führt, die Menschheit zu retten oder zu vernichten. Gut und Böse werden hier nicht definiert, sondern sind, so wie in der echten Welt, nur eine Frage der persönlichen Perspektive. Jedenfalls bietet sich in dem Setting einiges an Möglichkeiten, und Fans von Animeserien oder Mangas aus dem Machine Age-Genre kommen hier auf ihre Kosten. Nicht zuletzt wegen der Fairness des Fate-Systems können Charakterschwerpunkte extrem unterschiedlich sein und doch wird kein Charakter in einer Geschichte zu kurz kommen. Die zu Grunde liegende Idee ist sehr gut und wenn auch nicht vollkommen neu, dennoch eine Bereicherung für Fate. Die Sonderregeln und Ideen lassen sich auch sehr gut dazu nutzen, um beispielsweise einen Battletech- oder Mechwarrior-Hack zu bauen. Leider ist die Aufmachung des Werkes nicht sehr gut strukturiert und zuweilen extrem verwirrend. Dazu kommen haufenweise Schreibfehler und Seitenverweise der Marke „Platzhalter“, die dem Leser übel aufstoßen: „Mehr Informationen auf Seite: XX“. Am Anfang werden dem Leser zunächst die Generationen erklärt und zwar in Form eines holografischen Lehrers des Eine-Erde-Abkommens. Dabei wird die Erzählung absichtlich mit der vierten Generationen beendet, um dem Spielleiter die Entscheidung offen zu lassen, welche Fraktion den sogenannten „Aufstiegs-Antrieb“ entdeckt hat. Später im Buch jedoch wird sehr oft festgestellt, dass das Abkommen und sein Janus-Titan die ersten waren. Viele solcher Inkonsistenzen fallen während der Lektüre auf und geben dem ganzen Setting ein unfertiges Feeling. Das ist grundsätzlich kein Problem für ein narratives Rollenspiel, macht aber den Vorteil einer vorgefertigten Spielwelt doch ein wenig zunichte.

Die Regeln Die Fate-Regeln kommen in ADX zur Anwendung und werden um einige Spezialregeln erweitert. Mechanisch basiert das Setting auf Fate Core und sämtliche Regeln, die zum spielen benötigt werden, sind auch aufgeführt und kurz erklärt. ADX bedient sich einiger sehr schöner Kniffe, um dem Setting eine eigene Note und mehr Tiefe zu verleihen. Die Sonderregeln sind speziell mit einem „X“ gekennzeichnet und ersparen einem erfahrenen Fate-Spieler das Lesen der bekannten Regeln. Als besonderes Merkmal gibt es hier den sogenannten DRIVE-Würfel. Man ersetzt dabei in besonders krassen Situationen einen der FUDGE-Würfel durch einen sechsseitigen. Die Titanen werden über ihre Grenzen hinaus beansprucht und können mit diesem Würfel leicht epische Erfolge erzielen. Dies ist jedoch sowohl an einen speziellen Fertigkeit gebunden, als auch mit der Prämisse einer schweren Konsequenz belegt. Allgemein werden epische, riskante oder coole Manöver besonders belohnt. Die Fate-Punkte fließen bei ADX ebenfalls ein wenig anders. Der „Director“ ist ebenso wie die Spieler an einen festen Pool von Punkten gebunden. Dieser beginnt sogar bei null und wird nur dann aufgefüllt, wenn er die Story anhand der „Direktiven“ vorantreibt. Als Beispiel: „Ein Titan-Pilot zu sein ist geil!“ Immer, wenn der Spielleiter in der Story betont und hervorhebt, dass Titan-Pilot zu sein, mit einem Rockstar gleichzusetzen ist, bekommt er selbst einen Fate-Punkt für sich und seine Antagonisten. Fate ist bekanntermaßen ein narratives System und diese, sowie alle anderen Sonderregeln in ADX, unterstreichen das Feeling von Machine Age-Geschichten wie „Neon Genesis Evangelion“.

Charaktererschaffung Die Charaktererschaffung ist für das Setting geradezu perfekt! Jeder Spieler erschafft nicht nur den Protagonisten, sondern auch je zwei Crewmitglieder bzw. zusätzliche Charaktere. Diese können nahezu jede Art von Beruf, oder Position innehaben und finden dennoch immer einen kleinen Patz in der Geschichte. Sie bestehen am Anfang jedoch nicht aus mehr als einer groben Idee und einem Aspekt. Jeder der Pilotencharaktere muss jedoch zwei seiner drei (fünf, wenn man Konzept und Hindernis hinzuzählt) Aspekte dafür aufwenden, eine Beziehung zu zwei beliebigen Haupt-, oder Nebencharakteren zu beschreiben. Ansonsten folgt die Erschaffung weitestgehend den Fate-Core-Regeln, und jeder Protagonist hat sowohl ein Konzept, als auch ein Hindernis. Ganz besonders sticht hierbei natürlich die Mechanik der Titanen hervor und zur Steuerung der riesigen Maschinen werden sowohl spezielle Stunt- als auch Aspekt-Vorschläge gemacht. Der Titan verfügt dabei über drei Aspekte zum Angriff, zur Verteidigung und für die Panzerung. Diese werden wiederum mit einer bestimmten Wertigkeit versehen, um damit ihre Kraft zu bezeichnen. Dabei ist es durchaus auch möglich, den Titan zu vernachlässigen und sich mehr auf den Piloten zu konzentrieren, denn alles wird aus dem gleichen Fertigkeits- und Stunt-Pool gespeist. Die Fertigkeitenliste ist stabil und simpel gehalten. Für jede Fertigkeit werden, wie auch bei Fate-Core, sowohl Anwendungsbeispiele für die vier möglichen Aktionen (überwinden, Vorteil erschaffen, angreifen verteidigen), als auch Stunts geliefert. Das Powerlevel beim Start der Kampagne kann natürlich stark variieren. Je nachdem, auf welche Generation sich die Gruppe geeinigt hat, bekommt der Titan kostenlose Aufrufe seiner Aspekte, als auch zusätzliche Stunts geschenkt. Ansonsten geht man von einer Standart-Vierer-Fertigkeitenpyramide aus und hat zusätzlich zu den zwei Stunts noch drei Refreshs zur Verfügung. Eine weitere Besonderheit im Zusammenhang mit den Nebencharakteren besteht darin, dass man einen dieser Charaktere, mit Aufgabe eines Refresh-Punktes, zu einer wichtigeren Rolle anheben kann. Dann bekommt dieser ein Konzept einen Stunt und einen freien Aspekt. Wie man in dem verlinkten Spielbericht sehen kann, dauert eine Charaktererschaffung kaum mehr als eine Stunde, abhängig natürlich von der Kreativität der Anwesenden. Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht Die Möglichkeiten als Spielleiter sind natürlich unbegrenzt und es werden hervorragende Vorschläge für Geschichten aller Art gemacht. Das Buch ist durchsetzt von „Ingame“-Texten und Abenteuerhooks. Am Ende findet sich sogar ein vollständiges Abenteuer im Fate-Stil. Die vorgefertigten großen und kleinen Szenen erleichtern den Einstieg in das Setting. Nachblättern bleibt natürlich nicht aus, allerdings können sich eigene Geschichten schwierig gestalten, wenn man versucht sich völlig an die inkonsistenten Informationen zu halten. Das Gute ist natürlich, dass man dies in diesem System nicht tun muss und man kann die kleinen Geschichten und Berichte als Inspiration nutzen, anstatt sich über Zusammenhänge aufzuregen. Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht Spieler haben beinahe ebenso viele Freiheiten wie der Spielleiter, und die vorgesehene Belohnung von wahnwitzigem Spielerverhalten kann, meines Erachtens nach, nur zu noch abgefahreneren Geschichten führen. Die Spieler und der Leiter müssen sich vor einer beginnenden Kampagne drei Konflikte ausdenken, zum Beispiel:

Der unmittelbare Konflikt: Die Gruppe befindet sich in einem brennenden Raumschiff, das in die Atmosphäre eindringt und zu verglühen droht. Eine Sache, welche die Spieler gemeinsam und schnell lösen können bzw. müssen.

Der mittelfristige Konflikt: Es gilt einen weiteren Krieg zu verhindern! Eine Aufgabe, in welcher die Spieler eine große Rolle spielen, aber die sie vermutlich nicht alleine lösen können.

Der unlösbare Konflikt: Weltfrieden ermöglichen. Eine utopische Aufgabe, die eventuell am Ende einer langen Kampagne erreicht werden kann, in der die Spieler zahllose Verbündete versammelt haben.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis Für schlanke 10 EUR bekommt man zwar ein nur 144 Seiten starkes E-Book, welches allerdings mit tollen Ideen und Konzepten glänzt. Über die erwähnten Nachteile kann man deshalb getrost hinwegsehen.

Spielbericht Leider ergab sich bisher keine Möglichkeit für ein Testspiel, allerdings gibt es eine sehr inspirierende Charaktererschaffung und eine kurze Systemeinführung in einem zweistündigen Hangout auf YouTube zu sehen. Es handelt sich zwar um ein Spiel während der Alpha-Phase, allerdings sind die wichtigsten Punkte bereits vorhanden und die Gruppe ist ziemlich kreativ. Allerdings ist die Runde in Englisch, da sie vom Erschaffer von ADX geleitet wird

Erscheinungsbild Apotheosis Drive X verfügt über ein simples, aber schickes Design und ist sowohl am Rechner als auch auf dem Tablet gut lesbar. Die vorhandenen Illustrationen sind von eher mittelmäßiger Qualität und wiederholen sich stellenweise sogar. Ich hätte mir mehr Mecha-Designs und Bilder von großen Schlachten gewünscht.

Bonus/Downloadcontent Es liegen leider kein Bonusinhalte oder Downloads vor. Es wurde aber eine erweiterte Variante des Buches während des Kickstarter Prozesses angekündigt.

Fazit Das Setting wartet mit einigen innovativen Ideen auf. Gerade, was die Charaktererschaffung und das Festlegen von Kampagnenzielen angeht. Auch die DRIVE-Würfel-Mechanik verschiebt das narrative Fate-Regelwerk ein gutes Stück in Richtung episches Drama! Die Freiheiten des Regelwerks werden wunderbar genutzt, um eine lebendige Spielwelt mit nur wenigen Sätzen zu erschaffen. Getrübt wird das Ganze leider ein wenig durch die vielen Rechtschreibfehler, fehlende Seitenverweise, an deren Stelle noch Platzhalter sind und teilweise einfach mal eine leere Seite mitten im Buch. Trotz der Nachteile ist Apotheosis Drive X eine wunderbare Inspirationsquelle für den eigenen Settinghack oder -neubau. Unsere Bewertung



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZZ - Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - SD MIX
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZZ - Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - SD MIX
by Sean F. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2013 13:41:17

SEAN'S PICK OF THE DAY: Mecha is coming. It's coming in a huge way, back to gaming. This looks to be a solid entry into the Next Generation of Mecha games...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
by Raymond T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2013 18:35:29

This is very well written, and I love the setting. I can't wait to get into it more and play/run a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flatpack: Fix the Future
by brianna S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2013 19:10:02

Have you ever wanted to play a game that is different from anything you've ever played before? Do you like the idea of an apocalypse that doesn't mean the end of hope? Flatpack is probably for you! This game is super fun. It's simple to learn, great for all ages, and creates an atmosphere of giddy adventurousness in a world that really needs a fun, happy place. Build your town and meet new people - enter your mutated bug in a beauty contest, and investigate abandoned shopping centers to find flatpacks. But most of all, have fun making a difference!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flatpack: Fix the Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
by Jeremy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2013 18:58:37

This book was an absolute joy to read. The authors provide a setting that hits all the high-points you want in a setting: fleshed-out details that make the world come alive, mysteries with competing theories that the GM can make her own, and no mechanical details so that one could run Arduise in a multitude of systems. Part of the charm is that the writers chose to have multiple, in-setting characters speaking and interacting with the material and each other.

The theme of the game is progressive post-fantasy, and this theme emanates from every page. I would describe it as a fantasy game with modern sensibilities when it comes to cultural issues. In fact, it's one of a few games that tackles these concepts head-on.

The system itself shines in the second part of the book. The mechanics are innovative and intuitive, revolving around creative problem-solving based on how your character views the world and what's important to her. The thrust of the game is that the characters are seeking to make the world a better place in some way.

I have been unable to play as of the writing of this review, but I'm looking forward to the opportunity.

The book did have some minor typos and a few editorial fixes that needed to be made, but these detract very little from the overall experience of reading the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZZ - Farewell to Foie Gras: The Food and Drink of Arduise
by Quynh N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2012 00:25:20

Whimsical and delightful. Imagine, if you will, setting foot in Patrick Rothfuss's The Name of the Wind or Tolkien's Lord of the Rings. What kind of cuisine do they eat? How do they make it using a woodburning stove? What kind of things do salt-of-the-earth dwarves like to eat? Wouldn't it be neat if you could make Butterbeer at home? Enter Farewell to Foie Gras.

FFG is set in the fantasy realm of Arduise (for some reason my brain tends to default to Middle Earth when I picture it) and is told from the perspective of Pandan Valdon, a scholar of epicure. He's like the Andrew Zimmerman of the world of Arduise and is documenting "intelligible kitchen practice." Amen. Valdon meanders to the four corners of the world and samples the cuisines, then shares recipes.

I have to admit, I am a nitpicker of the Tolkien variety for detail when it comes to world building. And FFG delivers in spades. Even better, it reads like a fantasy cookbook but is actually a real cookbook in disguise, with recipes ready for the kitchen. So far I've tried making the Effervescent Ginger Brew, Spiced Chicken Parcels in red sauce, and yes, the Dwarven Frycoating. My favorite recipes are from the mythic land of Waarhuise, especially the Spoon Cream with Cinnamon. I can't get over the D&D-fication of recipes. Freaking fun. If all cookbooks had quirky stories describing the origin of the dish, an amusing rundown of how to cook it with both primitive and modern kitchens, as well as a taster's impression of it, I would actually cook more. As a lazy nerd, I am often heavy on the food porn ogling and less so of the actual execution of recipes in the kitchen. These I actually went out and tried. The food was quirky and tasty just like any new cuisine would be, but geek-friendly enough for a lazy nerd to make. I still can't get over how very fun it is to combine a fantasy setting with a cookbook and see what you get. A cookbook that you can read like a novel!

My hangup with this book is largely from a design perspective. The cover you see here previewed is not on the actual PDF book itself. I had a sad because I love ink illustrations and was sorely surprised to see copyright page as the cover instead. Then again, I ended up getting food stains on said copyright page so it's all good. At times Pandan Valdon sounds a little too formal and uses a lot of buffer words, making the text a bit denser than your average cookbook, but lighter than your D&D Player's Handbook. When I get bogged down by the details I make a quick flip to the "modern recipe," make the dish, then read the back story and smile to myself while I eat.

I swear, I'm dead pleased to have a cookbook that features a dish called "Roasted Wyvern" with instructions to "Scale, gut and clean a wyvern chick or simply scale and clean a wyvern flank." The modern recipe follows, "while wyerns are a bit hard to track down in the real world, one can approximate the experience of the exotic meat by using this turkey treated with special brine." I can't get over how fun and imaginative this nerdy cookbook is.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZZ - Farewell to Foie Gras: The Food and Drink of Arduise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates