DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2020 20:01:09
iHunt Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy by Olivia Hill (@machineiv)

I've been ridiculously excited to get a taste of Hill's #iHunt world since I first saw previews for the #iHunt roleplaying game, which has been on my play and review list, the Spreadsheet of Many, which has taken some serious knocks over the past year, for too long, but I'm hoping to get to play soon! So, when I saw Hill's #iHunt Pandemic Free offer I could not download this novel fast enough or be more thankful now than I did!

Unfortunately, my partner and I are both in the at-risk group for Corvid, so when they developed a cough after visiting family not a few weeks before the UK lockdown it meant solo isolation. Solo isolation for two disabled people who are each other's carer fucking sucks. My partner was in the bedroom and I was sleeping on couch cushions with a sleeping bag in the spare room, doing everything around the house to keep us going and seriously worrying about their health. It was hell, but I was so incredibly grateful to have this book to look forward to every night. Every night I would read until I could not stay awake, unwilling and unable to stop reading until my body made the decision for me. I was given countless contusions from dropping my tablet on my face because I was absolutely captivated and could not put it down until it dropped from my hands. I am sure I would have broken my nose and lost teeth if not for the protection afforded by my sleep apnoea mask!

The point I am making is this book actually helped me through a genuinely awful time. I will always be unbelievably thankful to Hill for that.

Despite being about hunting vampires and the wider supernatural world adjacent to our own, this is the most honest and true reflection of the life as I know it and you are almost certainly living. Hill’s writing style is infectious, Lana is a captivating character painted with warts and all, and I genuinely felt every emotion on this wild ride. I cannot express how vindicating and heartening (and depressing, but that’s the world’s fault not Hill’s) it was to see the world I live in and see it discussed so candidly.

The tea here is absolutely scalding and I am here for it!

In a world filled with countless vampire properties, it is so refreshing to have a story that is not trying to take the monster away from the abusive and…well monstrous things vampires are and represent. The vampires for the most part are adjacent to the story anyway. This is Lana’s story. This is her world and her difficult job she has trained for and dedicated her life to. It comes with huge risks, expenditures and uncertainty, which I see many parallels to the life of a creator in this age of the gig economy and the lack of support for the arts. I know a book is something special when I have already ordered the next one less than halfway through! I cannot express how excited this makes me to play the roleplaying game and devoured the novel series!

While comparison’s can be drawn to True Blood, Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer (more on that in The Chosen One), I believe that is only seeing the set dressing and supernatural markers, doing an incredible disservice to the world Hill has created with #iHunt. I think the core of Lana’s tale is far more akin to Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul and The Wire; brutally honest, if extreme, stories of the lives many are forced or feel the need to lead in our absurd and cruel society.

This truly was not like anything I had read before and, honestly, I was not expecting it of a novel tied to a roleplaying game, but I am absolutely thrilled to be wrong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: Killing Monsters in the Gig Economy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/19/2020 20:44:07

A very well produced present day monster hunter setting for FATE. My group is having a lot of fun in our ongoing playtests. iHunt makes some clever additions to the system - an Edge mechanic makes enemies more lethal until the PCs wrest it away from them, for example, and characters are advanced with Selfies.

I found the layout a bit distracting, but I'm a grognard who grew up with much drier and less colorful/dynamic RPG books, so consider the source. There's also no Index at the end, which I always look for. The writing is conversational and occasionally fierce, and takes a hard look at our present day world through the filter of hunters struggling to survive the monster of capitalism. More conservative players won't appreciate it. I did.

Overall I think it's a fine example of art imitating life. I'm not exactly the target audience for it, but I feel I can appreciate what it sets out to accomplish, and recognize that it does so.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flatpack: Fix the Future
by Sandro G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2020 07:29:48

Besides this game brings a innovative proposal to the gametable, seems to me his system has very little or no playtest at all. I GMed the introdutory adventure yesterday to a group of friends and at passing the third scene we decided to end the game. Not because of the proposal or the setting, we had a lot of fun with those, but the idea of the game system seems to be "fail, fail, fail to have any chance of success" and so much fails got boring real quick. I don't recommend this game, sadly.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Flatpack: Fix the Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2020 21:23:21

If you played Chronicles of Darkness's game, Hunter: the Vigil, this is the 2019 update to it. This game takes a very hard look at the working lives of millenials, late stage capitalism and adds the supernatural into the mix. The game is all about the class of overworked, underpaid individuals who barely scraping by (if at all). They do their day job(s) and take out contracts to kill monsters.

What I do like about it is, how it focuses on the story, rather than the dice rolls. It's all about 'living on the edge' in the worst conditions. It's not a matter of if your character 'retires' from #iHunt. More accurately, it's a matter of when your character finally encounters a 'fair fight.' The monster always wins in a 'fair fight.'

Well worth trying something radically different from many urban fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#iHunt: The RPG
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2020 08:38:26

"iHunt makes Fate work for horror ... the core mechanics that enable character competencies allow characters to get to where the horror is taking place, instead of letting them bypass it. I’d recommend this game to anyone interested in horror RPGs, not just because it’s good (it is), but because it’s modern. In a medium where Call of Cthulhu gets rehashed every Tuesday, we need a game based on dread from the 2020s instead of dread from the 1920s."

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/01/22/ihunt-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Jose L. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2019 04:50:20

This game makes me laugh and shiver at the same time: the writing is both funny and so sadly real about the world we live in...

You need to read #iHunt, seriously. Interesting premise, funny writing and the achievement of being super-realistic even with vampires, werewolves and such in stage. Just thanks for making this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Kate G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2019 10:28:21

This is a game of monster hunting in the cyberpunk dystopia of late stage capitalism. It is very pretty and at various points clever, funny, revealing, and distressing. The game uses a solid version of the fate core system, but I think this setting could be used pretty easily with whatever system you like for the monster hunting genre.

Game books set in the modern world, i think, tend to skip over discussing what life is like here and now. After all, we are supposed to know that for ourselves. But the modern world is changing faster and faster, and situations are not evenly distributed. This game essentially treats the present as an unfamiliar new setting and i think that approach is not just interesting, but it is a pretty good approach for a fun game.

i also like the tone of this game overall. it doesnt just feel like it is about the future we are living in, it feels like it is from there. It kind of reminds me of watching the X-Files way back. See, one day everyone in the real world got cell phones, and it changed all sorts of things about the way we lived. but the characters in TV dramas didnt have cell phones yet, for some reason. they were stuck in the past somehow. even when they got cell phones, they didnt really use them the way we were using them. When Mulder and Scully started to actually use their phones, there was a feeling that fiction was catching up with us at last. Reading iHunt gave me a similar feeling of recognition.

im looking forward to seeing this play out at my table. so more of this, please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Federico S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 11:27:59

There aren't many genres as relevant to our times as economic horror, and the TTRPG environment is severely lacking in quality and quantity in that department.

iHunt is set to change that.

This game boasts thematic strength in spades. Late stage capitalism and its woes resonate with so many of us, especially those of us coming from marginalized communities. #iHunt channels that with heaps of realness. While a lot of TTRPGs with heavy themes struggle to connect emotionally, #iHunt succeeds thanks to the relevance of its subject matter and the amazing way in which it's all conveyed.

And it ain't just the content that is easy to connect with. The no-bullshit, straight-to-the-point writing is not just refreshing, but completely apt for the current, nerve-wracking times we get to live in. Yay.

Yet #iHunt isn't some bleak misery tour of the worst face of our society. It knows when to laugh in the face of true horror, and it has your back by providing proper, violent escapism when you most need it. It understands humor is a necessary weapon against crippling monetary insecurity, and boy does it wield it good.

The use of the FATE system seems very appropriate and the system itself is really well explained. The mix of survival tips and advice, rules and fiction is expertly organized and presented; there was never a point in which I was like "oook I'm tired of this" or whatever. And I have to hammer this down again: in a time in which most TTRPGs end up being coffee table books or as glorified bookshelf filler, this being a more entertaining, engaging and overall just plain fun read than most of the big titles out there makes it an amazing purchase that I can't wait to take to the actual gaming table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Secrets o. t. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2019 10:33:38

Honestly this is such a pleasure to read, it's engaging, well-worded, fun, layout and art are neat, easy to reference... A great, unapologetic engaged work that carries its message both through content and world building, but also in mechanics. Will give a full playthrough ASAP :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Eero R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2019 07:27:12

I am very much NOT the target audience. I am straight white male living comfortably middle-class life in an actually functioning welfare state.

That being said, this is the most authentic and thought-provoking roleplaying game I have read in the twenty years I have been involved in the hobby.

It is raw, somewhat unpolished, very angry but it just has so much heart and soul and it has important things to say. Ignorance is bliss as they say, and the sections describing what life is actually like for underprivileged workers struggling in gig economy is honestly disturbing and infuriating. Suddenly it makes sense why someone would try to machete a vampire in a car parking lot for cash.

I am unlikely to ever get to play this, but I have been reading it in the evening for several days in a row now. It just oozes atmosphere.

Great stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2019 20:41:48

I've said this in other places, but I want to leave a review here, too. I've played a lot of Fate games, I've run a lot of Fate games, I've written plenty of hacked material for Fate games; #iHunt is a great iteration of Fate rules. They're well explained here, in terms that should be familiar to even new players.

The book is an easy read, unlike many RPG books. It wears its heart on its sleeve, be it while giving a no-nonsense rundown of the poverty that drives people into the gig economy or while mocking the tried and true (and stilted) "here's how you make a character!" section of every RPG book ever. The layout is crisp, the colors are vivid, and the art fits the ad-copy style of the fictional app the game centers around. If a magazine, blog, twitter feed, and RPG book had a kid and that kid decided it wanted hunt monsters and punch fascists, this book would be that kid.

This game is easily in my top three iterations of Fate. I haven't run it yet, but it's going to have a solid chance at being my top iteration once I do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#iHunt: The RPG
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2019 11:47:56

A fantastic book that nails monster hunting from an angle perfect for millenial audiences. Funny, insightful and proper punching-up satire. Brilliant work all around.

Plus it explicitly bans fascists, which more games should do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
by Nikitas T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2019 14:36:06

The setting is intriguing, but a role playing game isn't its setting. The rules are confusing, sometimes inconsistent and generally speaking quite useless. The characters don't really make any sense and trying to understand and play the game is an excruciantingly pointless endeavor. It is, in brief, an unplayable game with a cute setting and a horribly sad handbook.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Farewell to Fear: A Progressive Post-Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - HD Mix
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2017 01:11:49

The book is a mess, the style is sloppy and despite this being called the HD mix comes across as really choppy and low res but that is merely the beginning of its problems. The biggest and most unforgivable to me is asking this price and yet delivering so little in the way of content, they hint that they'll give it but then don't follow through, the factions despite so much writing, mostly form in-universe characters giving their own narrations, couldn't be less well described in a coherent fashion, the page on the mechs they say they'll give some idea of how it feels to pilot them, but then gives absolutely none not even a description of the various control interfaces, why they needed to turn the first few gens pilots into super soldier cyborgs for instance, thats completely left out despite that obviously being a big thing. I understand the need to give an open world for DMs to do their own thing but theres such a thing as taking it to far, imagine a forgotten realms boom that named no key characters, described all the factions in the vaguest terms, gave no diffinitive moments of the history, key battles or even geography of the various factions in play and so on and you have this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Apotheosis Drive X - Fate-Powered Mecha RPG - HD Mix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fuck Armageddon: PunkApocalyptic Roleplaying
by Me M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 05:58:16

This game sounds awesome! A perfect beer and pretzels game if I ever saw one. I like the punk attitude of the book, and the term "punk-apocalytic" is hilariously bad-ass. Glitter is the herpes of arts and crafts! I like that everything is designed to be fun and quick. All the rules are written to be practical and fast, no chunky rules "crunch" here. Rules lawyers will be filled with despair! In fact, here's a new monster for this game: Rules Lawyer.

Rules Lawyer This guy's favorite words are "technically" and "actually", but don't fall for any of that sh**, just gird your badassium and crack his skull. He'll attack with cunning (but boring) wordplay and try to f* you up with heavy rulebooks. If you ever put the hurt on one of these losers be sure to take all their snacks, which will be mainly cheese puffs and Mount Due soda. Hardcore: 1, Kicking A: 2, Monster Die: d10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fuck Armageddon: PunkApocalyptic Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates