DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure
by Ian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2018 04:47:24

Just finished reading Hudson and Brand and very much looking forward to running it! Great setting and lore full of adventure hooks all throughout. Beautifully presented, with a tolerable amount of spelling and grammatical errors.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles
by Tracy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2018 09:35:31

This is a great collection of scenarios, with something for everyone. A Ouiji board, cultists, a body in a trunk, marine biology...and more! Short scenarios for a taste of horror and a full-length scenario for a full meal. Can't wait to run these - and just in time for Halloween!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear's Sharp Little Needles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles
by Mattias G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2018 13:53:58

High quality production but rather short and not particularly frightening scenarios The artwork/ design/ lay-out is very good. My problem is the content. Of the 26 modern day scenarios, the only one that is scary would be "Bone Deep" (in which a serial killer makes off with the victims' bodies, onto whose bones esoteric secrets are etched).

The other 25 scenarios suffer from a "curse of Cthulhu"; you're already acquainted to the concisive Mythos cosmology so no cryptic mysteries remains to be sprung upon the PC:s. This exhaustive canon inevitably tilts the board towards pulp rather than horror; you'll end up with too many iterations of medical experiments conducted upon shoggoths and deep one hybrids in military labs. Which calls for a boring SWAT team mission to wipe out an al too familiar foe rather than investigative horror against an Unknown assailant. Sure, it may well be exciting, but certainly not frightening, and the intellectual level drops from psychological suspense to barbed tentacles, gore and entrails. Cue lame attempts to isolate the Investigators, and instead of the Exorcist you end up with the Thing. And when one of the scenarios throws a huge killer whale in the path of the Investigators, you almost expect Godzilla to show up in the next; when employees at a fast food joint kill off their customers in one scenario you almost expect the next scenario to feature brain-starved zombies.

I love horror as a genre, but this collection of adventures illustrates how the heritage of Call of Cthulhu has become a burden in terms of expectations. In order to experience the world of Lovecraft, I appreciate that 1920's Cthulhu still has a place in the RPG world. But for contemporary horror, there are so many other systems today that frees the imagination of the author and are more conduicive of modern investigative methods. As such, I would recommend a GM to try out a different system to escape the body horrors, the latin chant rituals and the Elder Signs epidemics of Cthulhu. And to create a horror experience more in line with the truly horrifying flicks of today.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Puncture Wounds
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 01:56:54

A good cosmic horror antho that offers 12 stories are short, punchy and fast paced. Standout for me was Adam Gauntlett's 'Change of Perspective'. Great read. Definitely give this collection a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Puncture Wounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2018 13:53:18

I would totally love this product if the printing of the hardcover which was 40 dollars didnt look like it came off my 10 year old printer. Another reviewer said to just get the pdf and print it yourself, which I agree with completely. They could offer a premium paper option for this book and I suppose that would help, but it's not offered yet as of July 2018. I guess for 40 dollars I expect a quality printing. I don't think that's too much to expect in 2018. I do really like the adventures so far. My review is really aimed at the quality of the printing and not the content.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Nathan, Thank you for your kind comments. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the print quality. The version you have is an earlier print and largely out of our control. Happily, since then DriveThruRPG has upped its game in terms of print quality and copies now ship with better production values. This doesn't help in your case, of course, but it will hopefully reassure you as to the quality of our books going forward. If you'd like to contact me via our messaging options here on DriveThru I'll happily send you a PDF of our first fiction anthology as recompense. Stephanie
The Things We Leave Behind
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2018 05:38:57

This book contains great stories than can easiliy be modified for other systems. I used 3 of the stories for my WoD campaign for example...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 16:30:26

A brilliant colelction of unnerving CoC scenarios. I just ran Forget Me Not after being inspired by the How We Roll podcast. First time I've run anything other than D&D and it was an outstanding success. Everyone had a great time and it was probably my single most satisfying GM'ing experience. The coherence and impact of the story are admirable and the atmosphere created really inspires deep role playing. Brilliant stuff. Only improvement would be to structure the information a bit better inside the text so you dont have to scan through paragraphs to find the germane information inside the narrative. Maybe some kind of schematic way of showing the speciifc details on how to run each scene would be good, like a little flow chart or something. Otherwise impeccable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Lens of Darkness
by Henrik R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2018 01:30:51

A must for every GM of Call of Cthulhu. A real pice of art so beautiful



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Lens of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Lens of Darkness
by Steve T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 11:13:54

This is one of those products that can be reused time and time again. The content gives a number of locations that offer further possibilities for adventure. The more I see of the products that Stygian Fox produce the more they deserve a Gaming equivalent of a michelin star.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 09:38:59

Excellent!

Joe has done a fantastic job on this scenario.

It is a fun, compact well written story. But beyond that it has been very well layed out and produced/published.

Highly Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Life Worth Living
by Peterson, K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 11:03:27

I had high hopes for this adventure, but was unfortunately disappointed.

The layout and artwork is fantastic - easily deserving a 5-star rating. But the adventure itself is an awkward railroad with tenuous links; it relies too much on its scripted backstory as a guide. And, as a result, the backstory bypasses - or leaves to the GM - what could be the potential for some exciting scenarios. For example: a mercenary unit breaking up a miner's union. Instead, the adventure feels like cursory planet-hopping down a space railroad.

I'd consider buying another Stygian Fox release, based on the quality of the art and their 'production values'. But I'd pay close attention to the writer of the material before I threw down some cash. In the end, this adventure gets a 3-star rating from me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Life Worth Living
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Contemporary Magical Things
by Dennis S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2017 16:14:27

I was one of the Kickstarter backers and I just wanted to say that I am beyond pleased with the product and would recommend the book to anyone conducting a campaign using contemporary items.

Having a scale from minor to cosmic rated items really helps with the item placement as well as the descriptions provide a good idea of gameset rules impact you can put in as DM for whatever game system you use the book for.

I would definitely recommend this together with the future book from Stygian Fox - Book of Contemporary Magical Places (still currently running a campaign in KS as of Dec 1, 2017).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Contemporary Magical Things
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Dennis! I'm ever so pleased you like your book! Stephanie
The Things We Leave Behind
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 13:10:40

I'll just start off by throwing right out there why I gave this a three star: print quality. I'm new to Drive Thru RPG, and I acknowledge that there are some ins and outs in understanding how this works. I feel like I got burned on my first go. I now understand that there is a difference between standard quality printing and other varieties like "standard heavyweight" and that I now need to look for that when I order physical copies from this site, since that is important to me.

I purchased this at the hardcover sale 29.99 price point around Halloween 2017. It has now returned to the standard price of 39.99. I understand that smaller publishers have higher costs, but the hardcover version of this is simply not worth that price. I'm not even sure it is worth the 29.99 price I paid, but I don't have the desire to go through the effort of a return for content that I like. The print quality and paper of the printing is not worth that price point, in my opinion. When you pay considerably more for print copies, you expect it to be something better than what this is. The binding is great and maybe that is where the cost is? A glossy, full-color hardback. Great. The paper just doesn't match this same level of quality. It is a hair above photocopy paper on a basic photocopier. I feel there was just a major compromise made that will make me think twice about not doing investigation into print quality before I order on here again. I understand that it is cheaper to print things in bulk in China. I simply would not have invested in a hardcover had I understood the quality ahead of time.

The module itself is very good for a newly started company. Even if you were not to run these scenarios as is, there is plenty of great mineable material for crafting your own games and scenarios from the bits and pieces. They all have compelling premises. The content is challenging from an ethical standpoint, which I think the Intro does a good job of addressing respectfully up front. Yet, some of the interior content choices then break this respect. (Indian Burial Ground? Really? Published 2016. Come on.) The style of the writing of several of the adventures comes from a clearly inexperienced pen (repetition of phrasing and sentences starters being most common) , but the real meat of this is the ideas, and the ideas are strong. The ideas can be, with some working, be dropped into any era, but especially easily into 1920s. So, don't let the Modern tag scare you away, unless you are a "run the adventure as is" style of Keeper and want to do 1920s. The very excellent first scenario will not work if just grafted into the 1920s. Technology plays a big role. The scenarios get shorter and shorter as you go through the book, but I think it is worth noting that the word count per page is very high. An adventure of 12 pages is not a typical twelve pages of huge font size and watered down. It's 12 pages of depth.

My only other criticism of the content is the art. Many of the portraits are subpar and look like they are drawn with some weird mismash of hand-drawing and computer graphics. Proportions of many of the faces just don't make sense and look odd. But ideas are more important to me than art for a module of this nature.

In conclusion, I highly recommend that any Call of Cthulhu player or Keeper pick up this product as a PDF, even if you do not normally run Modern. I cannot recommend the print versions of this for the price. You may feel differently from me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Michael, I'm sorry you found the paper quality a letdown, I'd have to disagree with you regarding it being a little above 'photocopy level quality'. That said, this book was produced when there was only one choice of a hardback. Since then, DriveThru has brought in Premium Heavyweight paper which is a marked improvement (a lot of complaining by publishers has paid off!) Since this book, we now make a PDF, softcover in standard paper, and a hardcover in Heavyweight. All our books are also now colour with the exception of TTWLB. I anticipate a future edition will be in colour. You're right about the cost, the colour heavyweight version costs a small fortune as they printed one at a time and on demand in the US, UK, and (IIRC) Australia. They don't come from China. For example, a premium colour version of TTWLB would cost £18. With authors, artists, and an editor to pay, this leaves little for me and the company. I wish it were different but you go with what you can. Thanks for the feedback on the scenarios, I'll keep it in mind when our other books are being created. In terms of art, I enjoyed Davide's interpretations but as we've moved into colour we've gone in a different artistic direction. I'm really glad you found the book had depth and can use the scenarios to create new scenarios if the scenarios as-is prove unsuitable. I hope you'll keep an eye out for our other titles and consider buying our books in the future. Stephanie
The Things We Leave Behind
by mark w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2017 13:00:35

The pdf is well worth the price for the scenario titled "Forget Me Not." The writing for Forget Me Not was fantastic and you can tell that the author spent a lot of time on it. It would be a great scenario to establish a group of investigators in any campaign you decide to run. The other noteworthy scenario was Ladybug. Ladybug was well thought out and has a good amount of detail. If the book only had these two scenarios in it, I'd give it 5 stars.

The scenario "Roots" was very hard to read through because of the terrible grammar and somewhat silly approach to the scenario. I really didn't care for the Hell In Texas scenario. It was a bit too edge lord for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Mark of Evil
by OneMean T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2017 02:25:36

Todd here couldn't have said it better. A great collection of props and play aids for the outstanding Things We Leave Behind. Whats not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mark of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates