DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
I Want To Play - A Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenario
by Christian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 12:52:27

I've yet to run this scenario, but really enjoyed reading it. Like other Stygian Fox titles, it hits my weak point of combining real world mythology with the Cthulhu Mythos. The adversary is one that will challenge and surprise even veteran players. There will be many "wtf" moments as they slowly piece together what is happening.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I Want To Play - A Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nightmare on the Necropolis Express - A Gaslight Scenario for Call of Cthulhu
by Christian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 13:57:48
I just finished running this as part of the Hudson and Brand campaign I'm running. I have players that are new to Call of Cthulhu, and this scenario is exactly the kind they need. It's self contained, with enough investigtion and menace for one or two nights of play depending on the length of your sessions. The climax is very worthwhile. Best if used with the Hudson and Brand book, but it can easily stand on its own.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nightmare on the Necropolis Express - A Gaslight Scenario for Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Christian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 13:50:58

An excellent basis upon which to build a very satisfying gaslight era campaign. The included adventures are expose the players to juat what they got themselves into when they decided to continue the detective agency and the loose ends from Hudson and Brands investigtions provide enough material for several campaigns. Plus the ghost of the matchstick girl is just chilling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dark Forest - A Call of Cthulhu Scenario Set in the Modern Day
by Christian G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 13:47:24

This is an excellent scenario, something I've come to expect from Stygian Fox. It is an example of the best sort of Call of Cthulhu scenario; one which presents a mythos twist on authentic mythology that veteran players will not pick up on while also presenting us with real world horror in the form of very human greed and selfishness.

I strongly reccomend it, but please please take the publishers advice and discuss its themes with your players before hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark Forest - A Call of Cthulhu Scenario Set in the Modern Day
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks, Christian. Writing this scenario was, at times, a lot of fun...hiking Hiawatha National Forest, delving deep into the Kalevala for inspiration with Finnish Folklore, and touring local dairy farms to understand the unique challenges these farmers face are just a few of the highlights. And then, at times...it wan't nearly so much fun. The 'School for Boys,' for example, and the politics behind the privatization of prisons is based on a real juvenile detention center, and, if anything, I reined it in a bit. Perhaps one day we'll release supplemental materials for this scenario as so much was left on the cutting room floor. Anyways, we're glad that you liked it and we look forward to getting more horrifying (yet excellent) material out into the world!
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:20:42

This was a great collection of scenarios for modern day Call of Cthulhu investigators. I enjoyed running all with very little modification. You must read them before you run, but I could do it with a 30 read through and some notes. My group got 2-4 games off of each adventure. Great value for the price, in my mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:13:00

This was a fun splat book for a Cthulhu adventure set in great Britian in the 1800's. It has a lot of great matterial for weapons, tools, and life notes for the period. The assumption of this book is that you are a detective in a Sherlock Holmes era of detective. I enjoyed it, and my home group has had a great time with it.

Players get more miles out of this than a keeper, but it is useful for a keeper for setting up adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley - An Anthology of Call of Cthulhu Scenarios set in the 1920s
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 12:42:04

This is a great supplement. Every scenario is workable, and there are several which are just phenominal. The updated layout is worderful and intuitive, and the new module "A Mother's Love" has some great potential. The attention to detail is profound. All the scenarios tie into characters, locations, and events from HP Lovecraft's Arkham, Dunwich, and Kingsport, and a myriad of other modules taking place around Lovecraft Country.

I have run Wasted Youth to great effect, and I am planning to run Spirit of Industry very soon. I am preparing to run nearly every other scenario in the near future.

If, like me, you are always on the lookout for a good collection of short modules to run in one or two sessions, New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley 2nd Ed. is a great pick up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley - An Anthology of Call of Cthulhu Scenarios set in the 1920s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by marco f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2020 03:56:16

Extra thanks to Youtuber Seth Skorkowsky for the recommendation

The product that I purchased was the watermarked PDF for $14.95.

Rarely do I as a dungeon master feel disgusted or scared as I read through notes for a scenario that I am going to run, this, however, managed to chill me to the bone.

A lot of love and care went into creating these modules and they are well detailed for keepers, so we can run these scenarios with ease. Some scenarios state that they can be completed within 1-2 sessions, which I do not see possible as there is so much going on in almost every scenario. I mean this book is PACKED with stuff!

Rarely do we see CoC adventures that work well in a modern setting, because usually, we, the keepers would have to say "there's no reception on your phone out here" to make sure the PC's can't use their phones for various reasons. In these scenarios, thas is not an issue. The scenarios are made so that whether or not an investigator has a smartphone or not, will not cripple the elements of horror that this module has to offer. It is fantastic.

The things that prevent me from giving this product a 5/5 are two points:

The artwork. The artwork in this book is sub-par at best. I do not mean to take a mean jab at the illustrator, but I do expect a certain kind of art style that does not make me feel like a normal 5-year old girl's face is "out of proportion. None of the "real", normal human characters look a bit too much uncanny valley.

Colour. This module is in black and white, which is a shame. Colour really helps to set the tone for keepers and players (when it comes to handouts.)

There's a keepers guide (for free) on DriveThru RPG called "The Mark of Evil" which gives you these handouts with colour and the maps are updated as well!

Get this module! It is really good! :)

Edit: As a respond to the reply:

Take notes ladies and gents. This is real service! Thank you for getting back to me <3



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review, Marco, and we're glad to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the scenarios. As for the artwork and black and white book...well, it was our first. All of our books since this one has been in full-colour and we even have plans to release a second edition of "The Things We Leave Behind" at some point in the future, just to be able to update it to full-colour as well. We'll be sure to let you know when that happens (might be a few years yet) as it will contain a new scenario as well.
Cartomancy 20: Sol & Her Colonies
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2019 10:52:01

2 files are included: 1 Tif file (6698x4984), and 1 JPG file (1607x1196).

The Tif file gives much greater clarity when zoomed in.

The 'key boxes' on the left and bottom left, give information on locations and facilities, and Earth and her colonial possessions.

Quite handy for a sci-fi theme, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 20: Sol & Her Colonies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles - 26 Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2019 00:54:19

This is a really great collection of scenarios for Call of Cthulhu. It has a lot of scenarios in it, and they are really short and to the point compared to a lot of scenarios I have seen for the system. I say this as a pro, not a con. There is little wasted text and I am hard pressed to think of anything they talk about that is not directly useful for running or planning the scenario out.

Almost all scenarios are well thought out, and when I ran them they took about 2-3 sessions per scenario. I found all scenarios require about an hour's prep on average, but individual experiance might vary in that area. It still requires the keeper to read through them once or twice and think them through to keep fit them into a campaign clearly without problems, but it is easily done in my oppinion.

Odviously, this is a product for Keepers, not players.

The art was sparce, but I am not that big of a fan of RPG art books. I do not consider this a detraction as it is extreemly readable. It does have maps that are great for player handouts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear's Sharp Little Needles - 26 Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Ryan, thanks for the review! And that's exactly what we were aiming for - minimal Keeper prep-time required yet plenty of Modern-Day material for your Call of Cthulhu games - so I'm glad to see we pulled it off well for you.
A Life Worth Living
by Darin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2018 19:32:33

A beautifully illustrated and produced work.

While some what "Setting specific", changing the names somewhat would allow the adventure to fit into most Traveller games.

An interesting plot, though of 'Limited' scope. There's possibly enough 'other' material in the adventure that a DM could tweak things to suit.

Some small typo's but otherwise very slick production.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Life Worth Living
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cartomancy 13: SS Hannu
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 16:21:49

3 files: JPG, TIF and PDF (all B&W), good detail. A NASA exploratory ship. Detailed stats similar to the Philadelphia ship. Cost: £0.78/$1.00.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 13: SS Hannu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cartomancy 6: USS Philadelphia Heavy Cruiser
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 15:50:21

3 files: JPG, TIFF & PDF formats of the Philadelphia Heavy Cruiser. Good detailed stats for those who like them (Length, width, crew, support staff, marines, displacements, armaments, etc). Includes a bow view. B&W picture, which prints well. Cost £0.78/$1.00



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 6: USS Philadelphia Heavy Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles - 26 Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Louis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2018 06:46:15

This is a great collection of modern day one shot scenarios that covers a really wide range of different styles. All of these are short enough (4-6 pages) to read and probably run on the same day, certainly required prep time is absolutely minimal. Themes are definitely mature and I wouldn't run some of these for all of my players but when I want something that will truly horrify a group this is my first call.

My personal favourite is Walter's Final Wish which puts the characters in a bizarre situation and slowly reveals to them that not all is as it seems. I've run it several times for different groups, always with dramatically different approaches from the players and always with great results. Several of my players were genuinely freaked out at the end of what seemed early on to be a fairly light hearted game. At the time of typing I'm preparing Dissociation which is another brilliant adventure that one of my friends playtested at Dragonmeet last year and raved about.

Some of the scenarios are absolutely not to my personal taste (The Great and Terrible Awto for example leaves me completely cold) but even then these are far from bad, just not what lights my fire for Call of Cthulhu and will still give me ideas for scenarios of my own. Call of Cthulhu having such a wide spectrum of play styles I view this as a strength of the collection and I'd expect almost everyone to find something in here that they really enjoy. This is definitely a fitting successor to the excellent The Things We Leave Behind and thoroughly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear's Sharp Little Needles - 26 Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
by Ian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2018 04:47:24

Just finished reading Hudson and Brand and very much looking forward to running it! Great setting and lore full of adventure hooks all throughout. Beautifully presented, with a tolerable amount of spelling and grammatical errors.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure - A Call of Cthulhu Setting for Cthulhu by Gaslight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates