DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Life Worth Living
by Darin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2018 19:32:33

A beautifully illustrated and produced work.

While some what "Setting specific", changing the names somewhat would allow the adventure to fit into most Traveller games.

An interesting plot, though of 'Limited' scope. There's possibly enough 'other' material in the adventure that a DM could tweak things to suit.

Some small typo's but otherwise very slick production.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Life Worth Living
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cartomancy 13: SS Hannu
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 16:21:49

3 files: JPG, TIF and PDF (all B&W), good detail. A NASA exploratory ship. Detailed stats similar to the Philadelphia ship. Cost: £0.78/$1.00.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 13: SS Hannu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cartomancy 6:USS Philadelphia Heavy Cruiser
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 15:50:21

3 files: JPG, TIFF & PDF formats of the Philadelphia Heavy Cruiser. Good detailed stats for those who like them (Length, width, crew, support staff, marines, displacements, armaments, etc). Includes a bow view. B&W picture, which prints well. Cost £0.78/$1.00



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 6:USS Philadelphia Heavy Cruiser
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles
by Louis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2018 06:46:15

This is a great collection of modern day one shot scenarios that covers a really wide range of different styles. All of these are short enough (4-6 pages) to read and probably run on the same day, certainly required prep time is absolutely minimal. Themes are definitely mature and I wouldn't run some of these for all of my players but when I want something that will truly horrify a group this is my first call.

My personal favourite is Walter's Final Wish which puts the characters in a bizarre situation and slowly reveals to them that not all is as it seems. I've run it several times for different groups, always with dramatically different approaches from the players and always with great results. Several of my players were genuinely freaked out at the end of what seemed early on to be a fairly light hearted game. At the time of typing I'm preparing Dissociation which is another brilliant adventure that one of my friends playtested at Dragonmeet last year and raved about.

Some of the scenarios are absolutely not to my personal taste (The Great and Terrible Awto for example leaves me completely cold) but even then these are far from bad, just not what lights my fire for Call of Cthulhu and will still give me ideas for scenarios of my own. Call of Cthulhu having such a wide spectrum of play styles I view this as a strength of the collection and I'd expect almost everyone to find something in here that they really enjoy. This is definitely a fitting successor to the excellent The Things We Leave Behind and thoroughly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear's Sharp Little Needles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure
by Ian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2018 04:47:24

Just finished reading Hudson and Brand and very much looking forward to running it! Great setting and lore full of adventure hooks all throughout. Beautifully presented, with a tolerable amount of spelling and grammatical errors.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hudson & Brand, Inquiry Agents of the Obscure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles
by Tracy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2018 09:35:31

This is a great collection of scenarios, with something for everyone. A Ouiji board, cultists, a body in a trunk, marine biology...and more! Short scenarios for a taste of horror and a full-length scenario for a full meal. Can't wait to run these - and just in time for Halloween!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear's Sharp Little Needles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear's Sharp Little Needles
by Mattias G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2018 13:53:58

High quality production but rather short and not particularly frightening scenarios The artwork/ design/ lay-out is very good. My problem is the content. Of the 26 modern day scenarios, the only one that is scary would be "Bone Deep" (in which a serial killer makes off with the victims' bodies, onto whose bones esoteric secrets are etched).

The other 25 scenarios suffer from a "curse of Cthulhu"; you're already acquainted to the concisive Mythos cosmology so no cryptic mysteries remains to be sprung upon the PC:s. This exhaustive canon inevitably tilts the board towards pulp rather than horror; you'll end up with too many iterations of medical experiments conducted upon shoggoths and deep one hybrids in military labs. Which calls for a boring SWAT team mission to wipe out an al too familiar foe rather than investigative horror against an Unknown assailant. Sure, it may well be exciting, but certainly not frightening, and the intellectual level drops from psychological suspense to barbed tentacles, gore and entrails. Cue lame attempts to isolate the Investigators, and instead of the Exorcist you end up with the Thing. And when one of the scenarios throws a huge killer whale in the path of the Investigators, you almost expect Godzilla to show up in the next; when employees at a fast food joint kill off their customers in one scenario you almost expect the next scenario to feature brain-starved zombies.

I love horror as a genre, but this collection of adventures illustrates how the heritage of Call of Cthulhu has become a burden in terms of expectations. In order to experience the world of Lovecraft, I appreciate that 1920's Cthulhu still has a place in the RPG world. But for contemporary horror, there are so many other systems today that frees the imagination of the author and are more conduicive of modern investigative methods. As such, I would recommend a GM to try out a different system to escape the body horrors, the latin chant rituals and the Elder Signs epidemics of Cthulhu. And to create a horror experience more in line with the truly horrifying flicks of today.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Puncture Wounds
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 01:56:54

A good cosmic horror antho that offers 12 stories are short, punchy and fast paced. Standout for me was Adam Gauntlett's 'Change of Perspective'. Great read. Definitely give this collection a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Puncture Wounds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2018 13:53:18

I would totally love this product if the printing of the hardcover which was 40 dollars didnt look like it came off my 10 year old printer. Another reviewer said to just get the pdf and print it yourself, which I agree with completely. They could offer a premium paper option for this book and I suppose that would help, but it's not offered yet as of July 2018. I guess for 40 dollars I expect a quality printing. I don't think that's too much to expect in 2018. I do really like the adventures so far. My review is really aimed at the quality of the printing and not the content.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Nathan, Thank you for your kind comments. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the print quality. The version you have is an earlier print and largely out of our control. Happily, since then DriveThruRPG has upped its game in terms of print quality and copies now ship with better production values. This doesn't help in your case, of course, but it will hopefully reassure you as to the quality of our books going forward. If you'd like to contact me via our messaging options here on DriveThru I'll happily send you a PDF of our first fiction anthology as recompense. Stephanie
The Things We Leave Behind
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2018 05:38:57

This book contains great stories than can easiliy be modified for other systems. I used 3 of the stories for my WoD campaign for example...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2018 16:30:26

A brilliant colelction of unnerving CoC scenarios. I just ran Forget Me Not after being inspired by the How We Roll podcast. First time I've run anything other than D&D and it was an outstanding success. Everyone had a great time and it was probably my single most satisfying GM'ing experience. The coherence and impact of the story are admirable and the atmosphere created really inspires deep role playing. Brilliant stuff. Only improvement would be to structure the information a bit better inside the text so you dont have to scan through paragraphs to find the germane information inside the narrative. Maybe some kind of schematic way of showing the speciifc details on how to run each scene would be good, like a little flow chart or something. Otherwise impeccable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Lens of Darkness
by Henrik R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2018 01:30:51

A must for every GM of Call of Cthulhu. A real pice of art so beautiful



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Lens of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Lens of Darkness
by Steve T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 11:13:54

This is one of those products that can be reused time and time again. The content gives a number of locations that offer further possibilities for adventure. The more I see of the products that Stygian Fox produce the more they deserve a Gaming equivalent of a michelin star.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2018 09:38:59

Excellent!

Joe has done a fantastic job on this scenario.

It is a fun, compact well written story. But beyond that it has been very well layed out and produced/published.

Highly Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Idol of Thoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Life Worth Living
by Peterson, K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 11:03:27

I had high hopes for this adventure, but was unfortunately disappointed.

The layout and artwork is fantastic - easily deserving a 5-star rating. But the adventure itself is an awkward railroad with tenuous links; it relies too much on its scripted backstory as a guide. And, as a result, the backstory bypasses - or leaves to the GM - what could be the potential for some exciting scenarios. For example: a mercenary unit breaking up a miner's union. Instead, the adventure feels like cursory planet-hopping down a space railroad.

I'd consider buying another Stygian Fox release, based on the quality of the art and their 'production values'. But I'd pay close attention to the writer of the material before I threw down some cash. In the end, this adventure gets a 3-star rating from me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Life Worth Living
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates