DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fear's Sharp Little Needles - 26 Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Genevieve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2022 03:01:59

Never has there been such a wickedly delightful little set of tiny modern terrors for the discerning Keeper to employ at a moment's notice. Every single one just... gets under my skin. Definitely a recommended title for anyone running any modern day CoC game, who really wants to up the terror factor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear's Sharp Little Needles - 26 Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nakuko - A 1990's Scenario for Call of Cthulhu, Set in Japan
by Atsushi S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2022 02:18:13

I'm Japanese. I played Nakuko with my Japanese friends. It is a good reproduction of traditional Japanese culture of the 1990s. It is interesting for players to experience the world of Japanese horror. It's fun to have a mixture of horror and funny developments during the scenario.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nakuko - A 1990's Scenario for Call of Cthulhu, Set in Japan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nakuko - A 1990's Scenario for Call of Cthulhu, Set in Japan
by Olivier A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2022 15:40:35

This scenario is quite good overall, but there's one or two things that bothered me which are going to dampen players' enjoyment a little if any of them know even a little bit of Japanese. Most notably, the Japanese word "nakuko" (泣く子, the type of monster in this scenario) is made up of two extremely common kanji, that would literally be elementary-school-level knowledge to the investigators as well as most people who have taken beginner-level Japanese classes. It means "crying child' and is about as difficult to decipher as those two words are for an English-speaker. Yet they need to go see an eminent folklorist to decipher it! Any player who's taken entry-level Japanese classes has a decent shot at realizing this is ridiculous, probably embarrassing a Keeper with no knowledge of Japanese. This is fairly easily fixed, since the investigators don't just have to decipher the word, they have to find out what kind of creature it is, and the folklorist also helps them with that, so it's only a slight adaptation to make it so that all the invetigators understand the literal meaning of the word just fine with no roll; they still need to find out what it really refers to. I'm not sure why the author didn't write that part of the scenario that way in the first place, since it seems like they must have known it's a perfectly ordinary Japanese word that anyone would know. Of course, this is pretty minor since most players are not expected to have any knowledge of Japanese; then again, if they're interested in a scenario set in Japan, your players might be more likely than average to catch on to this issue!

The scenario itself seems very good otherwise. I don't remember any other egregious mistakes (that I would catch, anyway), the horror elements are quite good with many unnerving suggestions to slowly ratchet up the scares, and the scenario is much more about discovering the very personal story behind the monster to get out alive before it closes in on them, rather than just "defeating" it. All of the NPCs presented have hidden depths along with ways for the investigators to find out about them, giving the Keeper all the tools for some pretty good psychological horror.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2022 11:48:40

Overall, I think this is a decent collection of modern CoC scenarios. I was a little worried when I only really saw most actual play groups playing through the first two scenarios that those would be the only two good scenarios in the book, and unfortunately to some extent that’s true. But I’ll go through them one at a time:

Ladybug, Ladybug, Fly Away Home: A little girl is abducted from a big box store under strange circumstances. Moments later, a man walks into the store and commits suicide. The investigators are left to find the girl and piece together why she was taken. This is probably the second best scenario in the book. There’s a lot of layers to the mystery here and a lot of investigating for the players to do. And while there’s a lot of room for the investigators to travel down many different paths, the bloody showdown at the end is all but inevitable. I think there’s maybe a bit too much Christian mythology here (in general, I’m not a big fan of scenarios that mix Christianity with the Cthulhu mythos), the memorable NPCs and setpieces make this a really solid entry.

Forget me not: The investigators wake up inside a crashed van in rural Michigan, and slowly piece together how they got there and what happened to their missing colleague. This is the standout scenario in the book, and is really the most compelling reason to purchase TTWLB. The amnesia trope is used really well here and adds another element of terror to the proceedings. There’s some great body horror and a confrontation with a lesser-used mythos entity. You also get some good old fashioned haunted house exploration, and some compelling clues for your investigators to sift through. There’s a lot of different ways this scenario could go, but no matter what this seems all but guaranteed to be a fun and horrific time at the table.

Roots: A young woman goes missing during a camping trip, and her adoptive parents fear that she has gone off in search of her birth mother. The search for this young woman brings the investigators to an isolated small town surrounded by deep, dark woods. There’s a lot of really interesting ideas here, and I can see what the author was going for with this scenario, but overall it doesn’t really work for me. It’s one of those RPG scenarios that would work much better as a short story. The initial investigation is interesting, but once everyone figures out what’s really going on, I think this one is going to fizzle out a bit.

Hell in Texas: In small-town Texas, a young woman commits suicide inside of a “Hell House” being run by a local church. I had never heard of a Hell House (and strangely, the scenario doesn’t really explain exactly what it is), but from what I gather it’s sort of like a Halloween haunted house attraction but with strict Christian messaging instead of light-hearted scares. The idea of the investigators looking into a haunted house attraction that is actually haunted is fun, but from what’s written on the page it’s almost impossible for the players to actually “solve” this mystery. Instead, this scenario will most likely involve the players witnessing a bunch of horrific events before throwing up their hands and saying “Well, I don’t know what to do here” and just leaving. As written, it’s pretty anticlimactic and if you’re going to run it, it will need a bit of an overhaul to give it a better ending.

The Night Season: In Achorage, Alaska, a young man commits suicide in an unusual manner, and the clues point towards the involvement of a strange, gifted young woman. I really, really don’t like this scenario, for a number of reasons that I won’t get into because it’s impossible to talk about without spoiling the entire thing. Suffice it to say, It mixes the Cthulhu mythos with pop culture in a way that I really dislike. A lot of that is personal preference; some people might actually like the unique premise of this scenario, but I was flat-out repulsed by it. This one might as well not even be in the book because it’s completely unsalvageable as far as I’m concerned.

Intimate Encounters: A serial murderer known as the “liposuction killer” is prowling the internet for victims. Can the investigators stop him before he kills again? I actually really liked this scenario. It has an “X-Files monster of the week” feel to it that I really dug. It’s a bit simple and straightforward, but it’s still good fun. I think some of the clues don’t connect together as neatly as they could, but that would be an easy fix for the keeper.

So, a pretty mixed bag overall. I don’t think TTWLB is quite worth $20, because half the scenarios are not really worth running, but the three that are good are pretty solid, so this collection gets a tentative recommendation from me.

One other thing that bothered me is the way that some of these scenarios use adult themes. I’m all for tons of gore and sex and body horror, but a few of the scenarios throw in some pretty heavy themes for almost no reason (abortion, HIV/AIDs, sexual abuse, etc). I’m all good with using these themes to invoke horror, but here it kind of feels like they are thrown in as an afterthought that has no impact on the story. It sort of feels like the authors felt like they had to include some “mature” stuff just because this book has a “for mature gamers” disclaimer on the cover.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Kailan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2022 10:20:45

I ran two adventures in this book: "Ladybug Ladybug, Fly Away Home" ("Ladybug" from here on in) and "Intimate Encounters" ("Intimate" from here on in). I also read the other adventures in the book with a skim, and had a deep read into "Roots".

Now, let me say, Ladybug is an astounding adventure from beginning to end. I was recommended by Seth Skorkowsky's review on Youtube and had high hopes that I was sure would not be matched due to the nature of boundless optimism. However, my expectations were somehow exceeded. The adventure hook is a girl is abducted and there's a time limit based on a medical condition she has where if she doesn't take medicine within 3 days she'll potentially pass away. Your cast should be private investigators or, preferably, federal police assisting in the matter. My players easily latched onto the case with a clear hook of being from the FBI assisting in the case, and enjoyed delving into all the evidence trying to work out where to go to continue the trail. Slowly and surely, without spoiling it, starting to get the feeling there is something else going on. The encounter with the hostage taker sent two agents absolutely insane, one hiding in a subway scared of open spaces and another waking up in the reptile section of a local zoo in a frog costume with a fear of insects and an affinity for frogs. Said second character has yet to stop wearing a frog costume in future Call of Cthulhu and Delta Green scenarios, and if anything has taken this madness further by saying her character now does a children's TV show where she informs children about the police while still dressed like a frog. With the conclusion of the case feeling satisfying and, maybe a bit silly in a farcical way as they managed to stop proceedings before the grand finale even started. It was a total blast, and still memorable to my group.

Intimate, on the other hand, just did not work for my group. There's a case where someone has been brutally murderered in a hotel room and police are trying to work out what happened. Unlike Ladybird, the clues and expected path through the adventure felt immensely tight and specific, to the point where my players nearly (but not quite) got a good idea of how to proceed and it went a bit awkwardly? The final showdown with the creature, because it was caught outside its home base, also was an awkward affair where my players could not quite work out how to deal with it despite what I hoped would be obvious. So, it led to a lot of "you shoot it, 1 point of damage" and just... Going nowhere fast. It just ended on an unsatisfying dud note, and I'd totally blame myself for it but the adventure never really gave any obvious clues of how to kill it if you never went to its home base (which you have to track down yourself). I also just found the style of investigation restrictive.

I also read Roots as a potential adventure to run for my group, so without playing it I don't have much to say. My impression is it was a great idea presented, but with a very harsh and brutal ending that would be very hard for any PCs to survive afterwards. I would have actually kinda preferred a bit more of a True Detective style of ending where the reality is a little more mundane and harsh, or at least room for approaching the situation and a clear way to get out alive. Everything outside of the ending seems great, but that ending put my off running it for the group.

The other adventures, based on a skim, just didn't seem my cup of tea honestly to run for my group.

Honestly, if I was rating the book purely on Ladybug, then a 5/5 would be actually harsh as it exceeds a perfect score and is a total must play for any Call of Cthulhu group. Just a total classic that really gives The Haunting a run for its money. However, I settled on a 4/5 as you are paying $20 for what is 1 astounding excellent adventure and at least a few duds (one reviewer said Forget Me Not is good, but as someone who doesn't like the style of story it's seeking to tell it might be great but just not my thing). I found Intimate just a dud and Roots just an excellent idea that falls apart at the end into a total TPK fest. I still really recommend the book for Ladybug though, it's just amazing, but just be aware of how much you're paying for as few as one great scenario if the others don't pan out for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Occam's Razor - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by karl l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2022 08:27:00

Very happy with this- I did the kickstarter, it was a very long wait but definitely worth it. I like the way the scenarios are presented and the overall quality of the product.

This really is one of the better anthologies out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Occam's Razor - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Never Meet Again - A Cthulhu Dark Ages Scenario
by Pierre-Philippe D. S. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2021 09:57:41

A very good adventure. I transposed it in the thirteenth century, in the south of the kingdom of France and it worked very well. Just one remark, when my players discovered the two bodies in the church, their first instinct was to want to behead them and burn them. I had to invoke the holiness of the place and the salvation of their souls to avoid it! We need more medieval adventures Stygian Fox !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Meet Again - A Cthulhu Dark Ages Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2021 12:02:26

So I'll admit, I only ran a very truncated version of Forget Me Not, but MAN, this had to be one of my favorite scenarios I've ever run for CoC. Just tons of opportunites to mess with the players in a fun, engaging way. And a climax that was truly upsetting. My apologies for this just being a short, fairly useless review, but I was so impressed I had to at least put a note here. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nakuko - A 1990's Scenario for Call of Cthulhu, Set in Japan
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2021 08:50:16

I actually love this story, but somehow a large block of important text is entirely omitted between pages 11 and 12. Inexplicable that this got past the editing process. Great otherwise!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nakuko - A 1990's Scenario for Call of Cthulhu, Set in Japan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley - An Anthology of Call of Cthulhu Scenarios set in the 1920s
by Kieren O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2021 08:09:59

I am happy I bought this. Good book, heaps of details, great scenarios that are well written.

As a Keeper this is an excellent addition to any bookshelf



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley - An Anthology of Call of Cthulhu Scenarios set in the 1920s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Occam's Razor - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2021 15:03:14

Pretty solid over all, one clunker and one that needed more work but had a solid premise, your mileage may very.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Occam's Razor - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Station S
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2021 11:41:08

Having picked this up on a Deal of the Day on the strength of the premise, I was really impressed at how much was condensed into this scenario.

Written for 7th Edition Call of Cthulhu and set during WWII, I repurposed Station S for a Delta Green one-shot set at the height of the Cold War with very little work required. Obviously I wouldn't want to give too much away here but with a sand-box nature, there isn't the same risk of investigators missing a clue and bumbling around. The NPCs and locations are detailed enough to give you the core to work with but more than enough room to add your own particular flavour. I also like that instead of being overly prescriptive, the scenario presents suggestions of what could be occuring or how to answer questions posed by the players.

For me this product was nearly perfect for my purposes. A premise I could run with for a one shot (although easily enough in here for a couple of games depending on timing and the pacing of your own group) and more than enough structure and detail to act as a foundation. As with any scenario, it will require a good comprehension and plenty of pre-reading and digestion. It doesn't take you by the hand and guide you step by step so may not be ideal for new or inexperienced Keepers (there's the potential for a bit of movement between locations in the vacinity), but there are plenty of notes to help. I like the inclusion of some lines regarding what happened during playtests which gives a far better expectation of the likely things players may do as they inevitably go off piste.

I've only ran this once, but on the strength of feedback from the group regarding the scenario, I'd happily run it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Station S
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Lens of Darkness
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2021 08:26:27

HIgh-quality work. Good to see a designer who isn't just trying to squeeze out an extra buck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Lens of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cartomancy 23: Lovecraft Country Map Pack for Call of Cthulhu
by Zach P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2021 10:12:17

This is a fairly nice looking set of maps with a few problems. Most of the maps are decent resolution, about 2550x3300, but for some reason the Trolley Routes map is only 612x792. The bigger problem though is that the maps only sort of match the Lovecraft Country maps from Chaosium. Streets and major features are the same, but the buildings don't match up. Arkham Sanitarium, for instance, is a small house. Given the obvious work that went into it and how closely it follows Chaosium's Arkham map in most details, the random changes don't seem to serve any purpose.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cartomancy 23: Lovecraft Country Map Pack for Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley - An Anthology of Call of Cthulhu Scenarios set in the 1920s
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2021 11:51:04

This book is a good, solid collection of CoC scenarios. I bought it mostly for Seth Skorkowsky's A Mother's Love, which is one of the better scenarios in the book, though it does have some typos and it's a bit shorter than I would have hoped. The two Kingsport scenarios, Malice Everlasting and The Night War, are both fantastic, with The Night War in particular being one of the most unique and interesting CoC scenarios I've ever read. The remaining scenarios all average out to be pretty good, except for Spirit of Industry, which I just plain didn't like. It's just too slow-paced and relies too much on NPCs accompanying the investigators everywhere for my taste.

I really appreciate how all of the scenarios explore the history and details of the towns in which they take place, almost treating the town as a character in the story. There's definitely a healthy respect for and knowledge of Lovecraft's work on display here. If you need some more 1-3 session scenarios for CoC, this book is definitely worth considering.

It's worth noting though that Proof of Life and The Night War contain some pretty intense and graphic scenes, so you probably shouldn't run those two with younger players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Tales of the Miskatonic Valley - An Anthology of Call of Cthulhu Scenarios set in the 1920s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates