DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Carnival of Lost Souls
by Devon K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2010 13:13:37

The music is very good and seems to fit a "carnival horror" or an "elegant horror" setting. I only found a couple songs I could use to set the mood for a modern horror game. It's all creepy music with good sound quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carnival of Lost Souls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Carnival of Lost Souls
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/08/2010 12:35:32

Nice atmospheric music. A lot of it is pretty good, and it'd set the feel. My only gripes are that there are a lot of shorter songs, which wouldn't always last for terribly long in terms of play time, so if you were running a campaign, you would have to constantly fiddle with the music player. My second gripe is that a lot of the music is pretty much carnival-only. Some could be applied more liberally to other creepy mood based settings, but a GM would have to get players to a carnival, and looking through the mass of settings I have, the only ones that work with that are Spycraft (gimmicky), Shadowrun, d20 Modern, and maybe (very gimmicky) Heavy Gear or MechWarrior as a side-plot (though this may be somewhat due to my lack of knowledge of carnivals and how to work them into other settings).

Oh yeah, I have another gripe: The laughing samples: No subtlety. It's like the music is saying "Be scared!" rather than "Big bad things lurk here!".



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Carnival of Lost Souls
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/08/2010 04:04:40

The Good: Some really nice tracks on this album with some very atmospheric music. The Bad: A few of the tracks kinda ran together on me, and not in the good, thematically connected way. Still, some of the better game atmosphere music I've heard.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2009 07:21:36

This excellent album isn't as purely nautically-themed as you might expect from the title. Yes, it can definitely be used for any maritime campaign, with the expected haunting hornpipes and ghostly gallows jigs, but it can also be used as atmosphere for more than just that.

An excellent long (total running time 1:07:12) compilation for DMs who want to add a little salty sea-dog to dockside or oceanic encounters, this also includes tracks of epic or suspenseful music, "Racing the Wind" can be used for epic chases, and "Lords of the Deep" for the advance of a huge enemy army, for example. "Maelstrom" is probably my favourite of the sound-effect tracks that Nox Arcana puts on each of their CDs, being an eerily perfect rendition of a sailing ship fighting through a storm at sea (I know, I've been there!).

I often complain about Nox Arcana's vocal tracks, but these are perfectly suited to the material, being ballads about ghostly pirate ships lost at sea; think "Pirates of the Caribbean" for grown-ups...

Liked: High-quality recordings, great epic music, powerful nautical themes without being narrowly restrictive to sea imagery. Disliked: Lack of downloadable/printable cover art orCD notes. Value for money: excellent. Rating: 1/2 stars



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2009 06:57:25

Nox Arcana have done it again, producing another of their excellent albums. The music is creepy, brooding, suspenseful and powerful by turns, and manages to combine some instruments you wouldn't expect to work so well together; music boxes, pipe organs, pianos, church bells, violins, cellos and choirs all make appearances singly and together, combining to produce an album that manages both listening pleasure and usefulness as atmosphere. My players will shortly come to dread the sound of a softly playing music box...

The album can be listened to from beginning to end, although "The Hollow" seems somewhat out of place until you remember Nox Arcana's habit of including a single purely sound-effect track on each CD. It's difficult for me to pick a favourite track, although "Twilight", "Forgotten Path", "Fairly Tale" and "Rise to Destiny" are all contenders for the top spot.

Liked: High-quality recording, excellent atmospheric music, great listening pleasure. Disliked: Lack of downloadable/printable cover art or CD notes. Value for money: Excellent. Rating: 1/2 stars



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2009 06:19:31

This album is my favourite of Nox Arcana's productions to date, and it's making repeated appearances in my MP3 queue, both on my computer and MP3 player. It's definitely going to be playing a role in my next D&D campaign, and I'm already writing a scenario where my players will have to follow the minstrel's clues in 'Treasure of the Four Crowns'! Now all I need to do is find some way to work in 'The Mystic's Keep', another favourite track, and I'll be ecstatic. My biggest problem is going to be resisting turning the music up too loud while the players are deliberating...

The music is atmospheric and perfectly suited to the typical D&D game, or indeed any that features powerful battle sequences, epic themes or great victories. In fact, if you include the tracks like "Mist Loch", "Underworld" and "Rogue's Hollow", you have theme music for pretty much any given moment of a dungeon crawl.

In case you haven't guessed, I like this album and can thoroughly recommend it to anybody...

Liked: High-quality recordings, epic music, wide-ranging suitability to virtually any point of a D&D adventure. Disliked: Lack of downloadable/printable cover art or CD notes. Value for money: Superb! Rating: 1/2 stars



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2009 06:04:48

This album (total running time 50:05) is composed of Nox Arcana's usual high-quality music. However, it is probably my least favourite of their albums, although that doesn't mean I actually dislike it. The lyric/narrative pieces are... odd, for lack of a better word, and mostly utterly unsuited as atmosphere for any type of campaign other than Cthulhu or possibly Ravenloft.

That said, the purely instrumental pieces are uniformly excellent, and can be used for suspense, drama and fear in a wide variety of situations; or simply for listening pleasure! Probably the most outright gothic/dark of Nox Arcana's music, it definitely can find a niche in the well-equipped DM's arsenal.

Liked: High-quality recordings, excellent atmospheric music. Disliked: Vocal tracks of limited use as atmospheric music, lack of downloadable/printable cover art or CD notes. Rating: * 1/2 stars



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2009 09:44:17

This is very high-quality gothic music, perfect for a Cthulhu campaign, a dark-horror-style supernatural campaign (Vampire: Masquerade, Werewolf, or anything similar) or even a supernatural-D&D campaign. Just listening to it and reading the descriptive info for the tracks has given me several ideas for the D&D-horror campaign I'm planning.

However, while the tracks including lyrics are okay to listen to purely for entertainment, I'm not sure they'd be useable as an accompaniment to DMing; they'd likely be too distracting for the players.

Like: High-quality recordings of the tracks, atmospheric music and plenty of it (total running time for this bundle 51:10).

Dislike: Vocal tracks not so useful as atmospheric music, lack of downloadable cover art (other than the small image on this site) and lack of downloadable descriptions of the tracks (a PDF with the colour text that appears on the bundle page would have been great).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
REMOVE THIS [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I'm new to this uploading of tracks thing (normally a distributor does all this stuff), so I hadn't considered the cover art or the track description as a PDF, but those are really good suggestions. Just as soon as I get a few more albums up here, I'll look into making your suggestions a reality. I might also point out that you could print a screen shot of the track descriptions in the meantime, and possibly do a 'Print As PDF' to save it for future, depending on your computer's print settings. -- Christine
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 23 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates