DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Rifts® Deception's Web™
by M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2022 10:07:51

The author's writing in this trilogy feels like somewhat amateurish writing. Stylistically, it often feels like a redundant style. Confusingly, I was often confused, often having to reread sentences, feeling like I read them before, then discovering I didn't after having reread them, which was confusing.

If the prior paragraph grates on you, I caution against these works: You're in a for a long night. This and Sonic Boom could have been richer and more concise. I don't yet know if I can bring myself to read Treacherous Awakenings, but I suspect the entire trilogy could have been a single novel and be better for it. Characters are copious and unidimensional. They tend to remain that way throughout, serving largely as banal vehicles to expose major plot points and catalog hot-or-not style flash judgments of attraction. As such, these works' biggest accomplishment could be to offer the reader a simulation of life in modern Junior High School, but they tragically obscur the post-cataclysmic world over which they are clumsily lain. What development those characters do experience is hackneyed and torturously protracted. This is sad, because the context provides ample opportunity for them to more thoroughly wrestle with issues like the nature of corruption, integrity versus incentives, love versus prejudice, tradition versus morality, etc.

So far, I put these somewhere beneath the TORG Possibility Wars trilogy, which suffers from similiar character development and intertwining plot complexity, but which is stylistically superior and offers better pacing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Deception's Web™
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rifts® Sonic Boom™
by M. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2022 10:07:33

The author's writing in this trilogy feels like somewhat amateurish writing. Stylistically, it often feels like a redundant style. Confusingly, I was often confused, often having to reread sentences, feeling like I read them before, then discovering I didn't after having reread them, which was confusing.

If the prior paragraph grates on you, I caution against these works: You're in a for a long night. This and Deception's Web could have been richer and more concise. I don't yet know if I can bring myself to read Treacherous Awakenings, but I suspect the entire trilogy could have been a single novel and be better for it. Characters are copious and unidimensional. They tend to remain that way throughout, serving largely as banal vehicles to expose major plot points and catalog hot-or-not style flash judgments of attraction. As such, these works' biggest accomplishment could be to offer the reader a simulation of life in modern Junior High School, but they tragically obscur the post-cataclysmic world over which they are clumsily lain. What development those characters do experience is hackneyed and torturously protracted. This is sad, because the context provides ample opportunity for them to more thoroughly wrestle with issues like the nature of corruption, integrity versus incentives, love versus prejudice, tradition versus morality, etc.

So far, I put these somewhere beneath the TORG Possibility Wars trilogy, which suffers from similiar character development and intertwining plot complexity, but which is stylistically superior and offers better pacing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Sonic Boom™
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Monsters and Animals™, for Palladium Fantasy RPG® 2nd Edition
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2022 16:32:14

A great resource for a slew of common animals, as well as a host of the iconic creatures from the PFRPG that's easily adapted to any of their Megaversal games. A solid, reliable book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters and Animals™, for Palladium Fantasy RPG® 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Rifter® #85 Annual
by Glen E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2022 11:12:09

Great to have the Palladium Books Rifter's Back. The Colony of Gonarn has material in it that was originally supposed to be included in the Island of Lopan but it needed to be seperated and made to stand on it own. Do enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Rifter® #85 Annual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Compendium of Weapons, Armour & Castles
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2022 15:46:21

This is a wonderful reference book for gamers and writers who want to add real weapons andand wonderous diversity of weapons and Armour to their own stories. I highly recommend it for an eye opening look at history too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Compendium of Weapons, Armour & Castles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rifts® World Book 16: Federation of Magic™, Revised
by michael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2022 01:53:28

The first 125 pages are exactly the same as the original. Including the the mis prints. Such as earth thunders conflicting mana, and mana regeneration. What they cut from the original book is spells. There were 30 pages of new exceptional spells in the old federation of magic book.

The update replaces the spells with an expansion on shops in Dweomer city, and the update after Tolkien. This creates another mis print related to dragon, and other populations in Dweomer .



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® World Book 16: Federation of Magic™, Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
PFRPG 19: Garden of the Gods™, for Palladium Fantasy RPG® 2nd Edition
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2022 18:39:53

This might be one of the 'warmest' books in the Palladium Fantasy line. It sets up a great big scary surprise with one portion of the middle Lopan area, and adds a bunch of new and interesting deities to the setting that'll see some use. Pretty clean editing and incredibly evocative artwork makes it a real treat to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PFRPG 19: Garden of the Gods™, for Palladium Fantasy RPG® 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Compendium of Contemporary Weapons
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2022 21:25:43

It obviously needs a review to bring it into slightly more current times, but that's a problem that can be rectified in the future. Very useful for games in the system with less ample weapon descriptions/options or for getting some period inspiration. Fun book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Compendium of Contemporary Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Powers Unlimited® Three for Heroes Unlimited™ 2nd Edition
by Anthony O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2022 19:31:01

For Heroes Unlimited fans, the Powers series is utterly essential. With perspective, I can say against systems like 'MASKS' (PBTA) this game is overly crunchy. I however love the extra classes and options, which double my materials for Rifts (which includes a HU2 class element.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Powers Unlimited® Three for Heroes Unlimited™ 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rifts® World Book 28: Arzno™
by Anthony O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2022 19:26:56

This is one of my favorite New West/ Vampire Mexico settings. The Demon/Devil War has only enhanced my pleasure. This setting is just large enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® World Book 28: Arzno™
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Palladium RPG Book III: Adventures on the High Seas - 1st Edition Rules
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2021 11:50:11

Virtually every type of ship imaginable and a few I couldn't. Adventures all round the world. New OCC's for waterborne adventures.

Beware the Deomon ships!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Palladium RPG Book III: Adventures on the High Seas - 1st Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Palladium Fantasy® Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2021 12:58:40

Purchased as i have happy memories of playing this system. It is massively complicated with 8 stats to D&D's 6 and a mass of classes, which were expanded in each supplement. However, characters seemed more realistic and battle even more so with armour taking damage and needing repair nd replacement.

A hugely detailed world as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Palladium Fantasy® Role-Playing Game Revised Edition - 1st Edition Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Rifts® Automated Character Sheet
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2021 09:43:00

Creater is very responsive and continues to improve the product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rifts® Automated Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Splicers®
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2021 21:26:37

Great scan, really enjoyed this book to the point where I felt compelled to buy a physical copy. Presents a great, gross dystopia where humanity struggles to survive against a monster that was created by politicking and private interests. Very interested in picking up the I Am Legion supplement at some point in the future and exploring the setting further. Excellent get!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Splicers®
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chaos Earth® Resurrection™
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2021 21:25:02

The book presents a really fun zombie apocalypse scenario that transpires during a bevy of other crapsack scenarios that take place as the world is being reshaped by magical energy and the rampant supernatural forces it has unleashed. Has some really fun ideas for different zombie types that work great in any of the M.D.C. settings. Very fun read overall, really enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chaos Earth® Resurrection™
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 165 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates