DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
by Marc C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 18:37:57

I have enjoyed reading and getting to know Gunframe better. It's a great buy and the Youtube demonstration video is much appreciated. Big thanks to the publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GunFrame: Anime Mecha Battle Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review! I really appreciate the comments.
Neon City Overdrive
by David F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2020 12:53:06

This is a great game and the print copy is perfect. Small, light, storytelling game with a dice pool mechanic that resolves conflict nicely.

Cyberpunk like Steampunk is more a "color palette" than an actual rule system; however, the rules in this game are tight and fun. This is a very minimalist crunch system with all objects in game having a “tag” that can be either good or bad. I relate these “tags” to “aspects” used in the Fate System. Each tag (both good and bad) add dice to a dice pool, but only the highest good dice counts toward a success.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review - it is much appreciated!
Neon City Overdrive
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2020 07:48:14

The rules are so perfect for cyberpunk. My group loved it and we were up and running in no time. In a genre burdened with extreme crunch, this game is a refreshing change.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for this review!
Neon City Overdrive
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 23:19:06

Fast, simple, and versitile! This game presents the world and the options with tremendous clarity and the system is fast and allows for creativity and improvisation at the table. The book is well presented as well, with good layput and excellent selection of evocative art. The GM is free to tailor the sandbox setting to fit the exact tone of cyberpunk they are trying to create or model. The die mechanic is very simple, but creates tension in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for this review! It is appreciated. :)
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2020 11:29:40

If you are looking for a game with well written rules and one that is engaging, then this is the book/game to get! This Is the perfect game to lose yourself in for an hour or so. You won’t be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
by Valdemar G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2020 04:47:55

I had better luck explaining this game than Risus to non-RPG gamers! The game plays well for modern city exploration and haunted houses horror. These are the settings we used, but of course, it's universal so you can try anything. We created normal playable characters who could exaggerate how they attack and protected each other, giving them Super-Hero-Like Traits. it only uses 1 to 3 6d which everyone in my playing group had at home. It was very versatile and had quick action scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform/Universal RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psions
by Gabriel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 11:55:27

This is a must have if you love the core rules.

So on my review for Skinjobs, the other supplement for NCO, I've said it was a bit short and a logical extension of the core rules. What Psions brings, however, is a whole new realm of possibilities. It brings supernatural powers, new options for the gear roll, mini-settings, and other options that I think really positively add to the core rules, and sometimes clarify questions lingering at the back of my head.

You want to play a shadowrun type game? You got it. You want a campaign where your overall goal is to bring down a psion-hunting agency? The book got you covered. Hell, you want to play a high-fantasy game? The rules are so universal you just need to make up a couple of trademarks and voilà!

As usual, the art is gorgeous and the colors really pop on the printed book.

So, really, get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for writing a review of Psions! I really appreciate it.
Skinjobs
by Gabriel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 11:45:12

This supplement is what I would call a logical extension of the main game. It adds more trademarks, more advantages and flaws and expands the possibilities for human characters in fully robotic bodies. It also provides us with a more fleshed out adventure, which is welcome.

The art is also really cool. It really plays well with the 'Neon' part of the title and the printed book looks awesome.

However, the book is on the short side, at only 23 pages, and a bit costy for what it adds. I feel it could easily be integrated within the core rules without much trouble.

Overall, I really like what I got, but I wish there was more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skinjobs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psions
by Jacek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2020 01:57:56

A very nice addition to a great game. If you would like to add Psions, magic or any other supernatural mambo jumbo. Then there's no need to wonder and catch this Neon City expansion pack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Neon City Overdrive
by Jacek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2020 01:55:01

Neon City is just great! Fast and efficient mechanics, outline of a cool world. I really recommend it to everyone (not only cyperpunk fans) because the mechanics will be suitable for other settings.

Thanks a lot for this great product and I look forward to new additions to Neon and settings on this mechanic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Neon City Overdrive
by John-Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2020 01:24:57

Neon City Overdrive is spectacular. It's resolution system can do in a small booklet what some systems can't manage with a weighty tome. And it is infinitely hackable.

The rules system is what you would get if FATE and Blades in the Dark had a brilliant love child. The basic mechanic is simple: roll a pool of six-siders called action dice, and take the highest die. When there is a challenge, you roll a number of "danger dice." Each danger die that matches an action die removes both, and then you look for the highest action die. It is elegant, yes, but it is just plain fun to roll a big handful of dice and look for matches.

The number of dice you can roll is based on a tag system, similar to FATE. The more relevant tags you have, the more dice you get. The more relevant tags the opposition has, the more danger dice you roll. Easy peasy.

Now, I must admit that some of the rules did not meet my preferences. This isn't a flaw in the game, this is just a matter of the game I want to run. NCO actually shines here. The rules have a simplicity that allowed them to be changed with little effort; my group LOVES my Shadowrun hack.

This is pure and simple a game you will love to play, no matter what kind of setting you can imagine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for this great review! I am so glad you enjoy the game and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Cheers!
Neon City Overdrive
by Gabriel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2020 10:41:55

This game is great:

  • Only players roll dice.
  • Following the previous point, action is mainly player driven.
  • It follows a dice pool mechanic and no math is required at all.
  • Difficulty influences the number of dice rolled.
  • Failure leads to interesting outcomes.

Granted, none of these points is unique to Neon City Overdrive's system (Freeform Universal), but it's simple, elegant and allows for much to be done. Plus the hardbook is friggin' gorgeous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review! I am so happy that you like Neon City Overdrive and really appreciate you taking the time to write this review.
Neon City Overdrive
by bugtest b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2020 19:10:05

yaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaayaaaaaaaaaahi



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Psions
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2020 17:42:04

Great adition to great system. Let you pick up whatever form of psionic powers or magic you want to include in cyberpunk and propose many backgrounds for them. I wait for next expansion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Psions. Cheers!
Skinjobs
by Judd G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2020 22:50:58

More candy for the excellent core game, this supplement focus on the various options you have when you have a Ghost Chip. There is also some more job tables to get the creative juices flowing and some notes of vehicles and chase scenes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skinjobs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates