DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
by Frank C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2022 10:19:42

It's rare to see such well-crafted products born out of a short game jam. This manual (for which the author is preparing a second edition) is easy, short, concise and clear. I admit that I personally like systems that use "concepts" instead of "stats" to define characters (e.g. Neverwhere and Not The End). Freedom Universal builds on it an interesting system with a well-defined and functional structure. Easy to use and, by its nature, very versatile and easily usable in different settings. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2022 22:36:09

This game is great. The system is wonderful and I will likely use it as my go-to system. There are only a few games I have ever read that out of the box are so streamlined and are ready for solo or group play w/o have to make any real changes. The system is the same as Freeform Universal 2e, but I can tell that some great playtesting went into the system. Threats are so easy to make you can do it on the fly. I am unsure if the math around the mechanic holds together at higher dice pools. With it being so simple I am unsure if it even matters. Huge fun, quick read, great expansions with Skins, Grid, and Psions. If you are interested in a game that just gives you what you need, this one is wonderful. We are using it for a game based on the Arcane TV show, while we did have to make some new Trademarks there were no changes needed for the mechanics. I cannot wait to see what else the folks at Peril Planet inspire with us next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate it. :) I am so glad you are enjoying the game and having fun adding to it for your own enjoyment. Thanks for sharing what you are doing!
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Fergus H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2022 20:58:47

Tag based, fast, the mechanics tie directly into the narrative, really feels like cyberpunk.

Strong Forged in the Dark influences, and DNA shared with Technoir and Lady Blackbird.

Excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2022 09:45:11

While I have not run this yet (so my review is based on reading the game) I have not been this excited by a rules lite system in years The game is beautiful, the dice mechanics elegant and the system just makes my mind spin with creative ideas. So good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Marco G. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2022 00:58:59

an absolute jewel of a rpg.

in a few pages, the book gives all that you need to run a cyberpunk-themed game, from a oneshot session to a long campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Andy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2022 12:21:04

Straightforward tag-based rules with plenty of give in them. I'm playing in a game right now and it is a whole lot of fun, enough so that I picked up the rules. Very setting light - but leaves plenty of space to create your own cyberpunk city. The supplements have a little more worldbuilding but again the emphasis is on making the game your own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2022 17:02:57

Thank you Nathan for this game. I love what you did with the system, it's a slick mash-up of good things, with an original identity. I can see Fate and BitD inspired bits, lot of elements that are tags, and that you can easily reskin. I mean, you can play a high fantasy campaign with this small book, just changing the names of the Trademarks, Cyberware, or Vehicles... :D I like the vibrant layout and art too.

Also, I strongly suggest to get the inexpensive auxilliary book, in particular Skinjobs, fantastic to play Eclipse Phase campaigns using this cool system, and not the overcomplicated, crunchy, stale d100 official one, and Psion, so you can do Shadowrun, or other urban fantasy (or any fantasy, indeed :D).

I hope you'll evolve the original F.U. RpG too, using the elements you put in this NCO.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
by Yann k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2022 10:29:44

Great system, with a very good resolution method. Ideal for quickly building a game or a one-shot session. It's also light and. good to introduce new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FU: The Freeform Universal RPG (Classic rules)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2022 06:37:15

A very simple system with scope to be used in a variert of manners. For me a combination of other system dice mechanics, but all fit together neatly. Took a while (I am slow) to realise that triggers are like known skills, Edges are like specialisations and flaws...well flaws are good ways of building out a plot.

Very easy to apply to any genre (recommend buying the additional source books to see how diverse the rules can be) and our group is spending time building a sci fi game from the rule basis and building out an entire lore that matches with the rules. Need a new race/culture - simply build out the Trademarks and triggers to suit.

I do think a few additional mission/plot/source books will pull more people into using the world, for those that prefer having something pre-built and available. But as the author indicates...this is the framework for you to fit anything you want around it. So similar to Shadowrun Anarachy (in many ways) its possible to start with these rules and then use other source books to add that flavour. Personally i would like to see more from the author in world building/mission building as i am a fan of having a little more structure...but that is more of my own personal preference.

In summary good combination of other dice mechanics all brought together for a very fluid system. System is very flexible. Bring your own lore to ensure you start with the depth needed for an ongoing game. if you want just quick 1 shot missions then you have all you need in one very neat little package.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Den of Goblins: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2021 12:08:23

For the last few days, I have soloed my way through Den of Goblins: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game. In this fun adventure, you create a character and undertake an exciting and dangerous dungeon crawl with little more than your trusty weapon and wits. All you need is some paper, a pencil and three six-sided dice. The dungeon is random and could have up to 36 rooms.

For my first attempt, I used the RPG system Motif Action Engine. I found the boss in the second room I explored. I did win with that playthrough.

For my second attempt, I used four characters with the RPG system Tunnels & Trolls Classic 5th edition (1979). I used OSR Solo as the solo engine. On the first day, they killed six goblins, but Zach the wizard and Darius the elf took some damage. The group went back to Twilight Inn to spend the night and most of their money. They next day, they killed two orcs, two wolves, and the hobgoblin chief. They did win the adventure and only had to explore four rooms. Give this fun adventure a try!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Den of Goblins: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2021 19:53:06

For the last two days, I have soloed my way through Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game (24 pages). In this fun adventure, you create a character and undertake an exciting and dangerous dungeon crawl with little more than your trusty weapon and wits. All you need is some paper, a pencil and three six-sided dice. The dungeon is random and could have up to 36 rooms. When I did it, I explored 35 rooms and I killed 58 monsters. In the cistern room, I lost my balance, fell, and my treasure key bounced out of my pocket and fell into a crack never to be seen again. The boss battle was a real nail biter. It was so close, but yet, I died. Oh well, I will have to do this again sometime. Maybe you will have better luck. - - The attached image is of the castle during its glory years. The artist is at danielsmaps.com.(pinterist).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blood Castle: A Dungeon Blitz Adventure Game
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 08:12:14

Such an exciting game! Combat is engaging, and treasure drops are helpful. I Love creating rooms and the text descriptions, that accompany them. SUPERB PRODUCT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2021 09:21:41

This is a fantastic game, even from people that comes from more traditional Games.Its simplicity coupled with its smoothness and non-binary results allows you to create interesting stories. I really recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neon City Overdrive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2021 19:21:52

Best modern cyberpunk game, no doubts about it. Funny, easy, quick: it uses some of the well known storytelling game staples in a completely revamped "classic" style language. The book is nicely written and laid out, the PDF is perfect and the sheet is clean. Absolutely evocative and full of inspirational material, it stays on the lower end of the spectrum in terms of word / page count and that's an IMMENSE plus! Highly reccommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review - I really appreciate it!
pixel_trans.gif
Neon City Overdrive
by Andrea L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2021 04:28:05

For years i try to find a game that can give me the same feelins of the good and old CP2020 but without all the crunchyness and the systemic issues. NCO is the only game that really satisfied me after years of searches.

Is a fast game that you can set up potentially with zero prep, with a easy but great resolution system that trasmits the feel and the mood of a CP world.

This is a must have if you love the genre and TRPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 60 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates