DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
GOD CANCER
by Gregg W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2020 21:01:36

I usually write about one review a year (because procrastination), but I jumped to writing this immediately. When you buy anything on Kickstarter (which is where I bought God Cancer), you never know what you're going to get—and often, you're disappointed. This was definitely not the case here.

I was impressed by the craft and quality of everything in this book. Greg Stolze knows how to write! His prose is smooth and polished, and he makes countless right choices in what to choose (or omit) and where the story needs to go next. I found the Cthulhu plot more interesting than the Cancer plot. Both build slowly, but the payoff in both subplots is both sudden and brutal, and I could not have anticipated either one. An added bonus is that the Cthulhu plot ends in a more decisive and satisfying way, unlike 99.9% of all the other Lovecraft stories and stories with a Lovecraftian bent from countless other writers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GOD CANCER
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mask of the Other
by JOHN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2020 14:53:01

Great book. The mythos aspect is tantalizingly slow to develop through a series of entertaining episodes, mostly military missions, and across four decades. The "plot" is not a direct shot from incitement to conclusion, which is good. You don't know what's coming. And the strong characters keep you invested in the story.

Compared to Stolze's other novels, there's a lot of military fetishism, i.e. acronyms and hardware names.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GOD CANCER
by JOHN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2020 17:05:36

Do you like your Mythos horror repleat with the gods and creatures of the traditional canon, or do you like the author to discover all-new existential terrors to blight your sleepless nights? This great book gives you both! With two distinct stories, paced out in alternating chapters and linked only thematically, it's an unconventional format. But it works really well.

Stolze has taken two big risks with this offering: the unusual structure, and making cancer one of its bogeymen, even splashing the chilling word on the cover in all caps. We humans read about fictional horrors like vampires and shoggoths to exorcise our fears of real tragedies over which we have no control. A title promising the horrors of cancer may turn away some potential readers.

As always, Stolze's writing is completely engaging. I never felt fatigued or impatient while reading this book. His gift for witty banter is mainly displayed in the narration this time, rather than in dialogue. The ironic word choices and call-backs are there, buoying us along between the tense, dramatic and occasionally dire moments.

But I don't read a book like this for the laughs. I want fresh revelations: new, plausible, self-consistent and awful truths about the universe and the monsters that inhabit it. This volume delivers in spades. Stolze's contributions to the genre, including this one, are of high literary value, and make original and fascinating additions to the Mythos canon. What does cancer and an Antarctic expedition have to do with alien gods and our own cosmic insignificance? Gentle horror fan, read this book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GOD CANCER
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godwalker
by JOHN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2020 14:02:55

This amazing book brings the world of the Unknown Armies RPG to life. Totally original concept, relatable characters, a twisty, thrilling plot, and entertaining prose. There aren't many books that I hold onto and re-read, but this is one of them. Highly recommended if you like tales of occult magic use in a modern setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godwalker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mask of the Other
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 17:25:50

The A Team via Delta Green - thoroughly enjoyable, creepy and excellently paced. Felt a bit rushed at the end given the long scope of the narrative but hey, fits the themes of what happens when you look too deeply into the Things Man Was Not Meant To Know. Want More.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mask of the Other
by Mateusz C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2017 05:23:02

Book is interesting, but kindle version could have been made better - it lacks bookmarks, table on contents or even cover art.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
YOU: A Fiction
by Justin U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2017 13:05:02

YOU: A Fiction is a second-person narrator story about you, a guy named Leo Evans who does your best to be a good servant. A necessary one. The story starts with you getting a library book stolen from you and then things escalate. There are weapons and photographers that use film (ptui digital!) to stop time and destroy bodies, love is commodified and there's a weird doppelganger made of mint. It's full of weirdness and relationships and weird relationships. I liked it.

Greg Stolze is one of the creators of my favourite roleplaying game, Unknown Armies and You is set in that world. That gives the reader a bit of a grounding in the thoughts motivating some of the characters, but I think as a story it works better for a person who doesn't know the universe (I found some of the explanations a bit on the nose and would have appreciated a bit more vagueness about how things work since I know the rules, but whatevs).

Good weird book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
YOU: A Fiction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

YOU: A Fiction
by Timothy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2017 10:51:56

This book hates you. You, personally, the reader. And yet, you will find yourself amused and engaged while the book insults your morals, your tastes, and your life choices. You will let the book indulge itself while it tells you a story of a fiasco about a collection of strange people doing ordinary things for unfathomable reasons, and sometimes doing extraordinary things for all-too-human reasons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
YOU: A Fiction
by James I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2017 10:28:42

A fun, twisting dive into the Unknown Armies world that's a great mystery too. If you're new to the setting it neatly drips in the information you need, and if you're experienced there's lots of 'aha' moments as you spot references to systems and figures in the books. Unlike 'Godwalker' it's a very personal and interior story, and for me shows where UA really shines - at the messy interactions between flawed people, ramped up to 11 by the existance of magick and obsessions. Not that you shouldn't read Godwalker too!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
"A Dirty World" Cover Poster
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2015 12:30:02

Great cover. Evocative and true to genre without being a throwback.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
"A Dirty World" Cover Poster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

"A Dirty World" Cover Poster
by Hubert W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2015 02:55:03

Das "A Dirty World" Setting lässt sich gut spielen und ist eine gute Grundlage für Indi und ARG Spieler.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sinner
by Jean-Michel G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

A very good novel. I like it a lot, really makes me think of Watchmen spirit: dark, adult superpower entities.

For the bad things very few things: images in head of chapters are to big to be readable on a 5" or 6" e-ink reader. Publisher must cut these press images so as to let them readable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sinner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sinner
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2013 13:06:23

I was absolutely blown away. Couldn't put it down. Amazing. A shockingly good deal at five bucks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2013 05:55:11

Mask of the Other is a well written and engaging story dealing with the aspects of the Cthulhu mythos in a modern setting. As with a lot of mythos fiction there is some examination of the price that is paid for power and if you have read and enjoyed any of the Delta Green fiction then this is probably going to be your kind of thing. I thought the characters and the organisations where presented in a convincing way and the supernatural elements were dealt with well, both in terms of reinterpreting the mythos and as stand alone descriptions of alien (in the broad sense) creatures. I'd recommend the book to pretty much anybody who likes modern horror.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mask of the Other
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reign
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2013 21:14:16

Great game, fun idea. Can't wait to steal components for other things. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates