DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Four Against Darkness
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 12:07:03

I needed something to scratch my dice rolling itch. Four Against Darkness more than did the trick. My youngest watched me play the first game and wanted to join, we had a blast. So much so, I bought a few more materials to expand our games. More than worth the cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2020 18:18:26

Edit: I gave it another chance, and had a lot of fun. I still say Invisible Goblins are heavy handed, and not very thematic, so in the future I'm house ruling them like a trap. If a party member detects them, nothing is stolen, they harmlessly run away, and the party gets an XP roll. Theives and halflings get +1 on the detect roll vs. a 5. After all, invisibility does not also grant complete silence, and if the characters are alerted, there's no way they're going to steal everything and escape. A) The item they are holding is not invisible, even if they are. B) If the characters can see their items floating through the air, they can attack, and chase the goblins. I think this is more fair than the rule as written.

Upgrading from a 2 to a 4.

Downloaded, and read the rules, sat down to play the first game. Invisible Goblins stole all weapons from the party in the 3rd room. It's not possible to fight the Invisible Goblins, or avoid them. I did not find this very enjoyable, by I may play again some day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
by Courtney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2019 13:19:50

There was a negative review on this product complaining about how this is a storytelling game. This is a storytelling game. It's silly to rate it lower because it does what it says it will do. "High Stakes is a simple, fast set of rules to create awesome stories with your friends." I really like the dice system for this game. It turns simple encounters into surprising scenes. It keeps players involved with really simple rules. I've played Dungeons & Dragons since AD&D. Sometimes you just want to sit down with a friend and make up a story instead. This game is perfect for that. However, it is not D&D. So, don't expect it to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
by Courtney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 23:49:56

This game is fantastic! It puts the fun back into tabletop miniature gaming without eating a hole in your pocket. You don't have to buy miniatures. You can use any fantasy miniatures you already have from boardgames or playing Dungeons & Dragons. The rules are easy to learn and even easier to teach without being too simple. There is a lot to remember, but you can look up rules at the table during your first games. This would be a great game to teach to your kids. I could see this being a great way to get friends interested in the hobby too. I played a game tonight with my wife. That said, there's enough game here to keep the hardcore gamer interested too. I was actually surprised by how robust the rules were. The designer Andrea was kind enough to answer my question about his game quickly. So great customer service. It's too early to tell, but this might end up being my favorite game. I haven't been this happy with a product in years. The inksaving PDF is great too. So many products here are impossible to print because their authors refuse to make a print-friendly file available. I really hope Andrea continues to put out great content for this game. It's really something special.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 07:17:21

This is the best of the solo rpg systems. It is quite simple to grasp and is quite robust in handling multiple adventures. The flexibility of the rooms means that the graph paper gets filled in a balanced and believable way. The ability to level up and go on an over-arching campaign that embraces multiple adventures, makes this compelling. The pocket forms of the rules and tables means it is perfect for long train journeys!

When we consider how the system has so many expansions and published adventures, this is a winner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Damien F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2019 17:23:55

Sellswords and spellslingers is the game I was looking for, a good generic ruleset for solo/coop fantasy miniature game. I have now a large quantity of fantasy miniaures from various range and SS&SS offers me the possibility to use all of them in the same game. The big difference with other games lies in its activation mechanism that makes the game unpredictable. In a classic game the activations are often heroes activates first then it's the turn of the foes, but in SS&SS, players have to make a test for each activation (players choose the number of activation : between 1 and 3) and for each failure, players have to draw an event card that will determine the way the foes react, before the player could act. Players could see their well tought strategy completely ruined in 2 seconds with only a misluck rolled dice, wich makes the game more challenging and funnier. The rules are quite simple, making the game fast (1-2 hours a game) and reachable to any kind of player. It also leaves room for some roleplaying and for character evolution as it provides a system of XP points and traits to buy or upgrade. The random event deck allows a good replayability if you intend to play the same scenario a few times. The game provides rules, various cards (event cards for the IA, monster cards, spells,...) and 10 scenarii that you can play separately or in a campaign. After it’s up to you to define the way you want to play this game : with miniatures or with counters or paper miniatures; with 3D decors or only on a 2D map; with the scenarii of the book or with your homemade scenarii; solo or coop with friends...

The game is still under developpement as it seems that there are some extensions in progress.

In conclusion, I think that it’s a good investment, especially for people who already owns fantasy miniatures from other games and look for a game where they could develop their own stories and adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against the Abyss
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 22:31:26

In my opinion, this is the first supplement of Four Against Darkness that a player should buy, after picking up the basic game. I personally consider it essential, given how much it adds.

The process of turning your character into an Expert is well-laid out, fairly simple and definitely feels significant. And, of course, as the heroes grow in power, the challenges become more formidable.

The Expert Skills add a lot of customization to your character, fleshing out their style and abilities. I actually have a house rule that's worked very well in my own play: every character gains an Expert Skill at first level BUT, the tradeoff is that Bosses and Weird Monsters do not drop a level at half health. Certain monsters are more of a challenge but the heroes can leverage their skill throughout the campaign.

I liked most of the Expert Spells, with the minor exception of Lifeforce Control, which seems underwhelming in comparison to the others.

I'm also a fan of the rules for hiring Professionals and Hirelings- it's a new and useful way to spend your treasure between adventures and can be very useful to the party.

All in all, top marks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2019 21:10:13

This really is an excellent game. The system is simple but also very customizable- it's fairly easy to create new classes, new monsters and new spells with a bit of tinkering. I recommend checking out the supplements as well, especially "Four Against the Abyss," which offers options for higher level adventures.

I have thoroughly enjoyed playing this game and eagerly await the next supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2019 14:07:11

Recently I played a game of Sellswords and Spellslingers at a friend. We already scheduled more sessions. I really liked the simple and versatile rules. Therefore I had to get a copy of my own. I'm already working on a short campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by JM H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2018 10:59:49

This game solves one of the perennial problems of pen-and-paper RPGs: finding people to play with. OK, technically it's not an RPG but a dungeon crawl simulator, but the game is so well designed, that it really feels like you are playing an old school RPG solo. That said, I have also managed to keep my kids amused with it in co-operative mode, and I think it could be used to introduce people to the idea of pen and paper RPGs, with zero GM prep. Although I am blessed with a regular gaming group, they don't all love dungeon crawls as much as me. So if - like me - you're looking for a way to scratch the dungeon crawl itch more often, this is a great way to do it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Waters
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2018 23:12:11

Good supplement for 4AD. Nice to have a little bit of background story for the party! One mission features a premade level in remote hideout, which is well balanced for a low level party. The second mission used the randomized generator in 4AD for the rooms, but using new tables for what you will encounter. If the same old encounters are starting to get stale, you will find plenty of new foes, events, features, and traps in this supplement. The new class is fun to play and has interesting abilities unlike any of the standard fantasy classes. I also learned a new word playing the swashbuckler, panache. In addition to all this, you may just be lucky enough to find a magic conch shell! All hail the magic conch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Waters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Kirk C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2018 22:07:41

After finding out about this game via a YouTube video, I decided to give it a go, and I must say I'm impressed! At first glance, I wasn't sure how complex it would be, since everything seemed pretty simple. However, after spending the evening playing the game solo, I've realized there's a suprising amount of depth as well as actual tension. I can't wait to sit down again and continue on my adventure to see what's through the next door, and whether or not my Elf will once again whiff every single attack she makes. Absolutely worth the asking price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Courtship of the Flower Demons
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2018 17:43:20

Honestly, this book is essential if you have 4 Against Darkness. The setting and premise of the Flower Demesne is highly original and wonderfully evocative. You even have to forgoe a certain amount of combat and instead find yourself involved in weird courtship encounters!

The new classes are great too but the real winner (apart from the setting) here is the section on potions. Its incredible!

This book could completely change the way you play 4AD. Hunting for ingredients for potions is now a fascinating and lucrative objective that will see you seeking throughout many of the other books in the line already published.

I highly rate this supplement. Buy it immediately!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Courtship of the Flower Demons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2018 10:28:04

Sellsword and Spellslingers, aka a simulator of how many miniatures a kitchen table can carry! I tried the game yesterday with a friend, 2 characters each and playing the first mission (crossing the table in a orc infested area): game started with our heroes slaying some of the deployed enemies and ended with a mass combat with something like 30 orcs turning up and chasing our guys from all directions! The game is quite unpredictable but like all games from Ganesha it is very well designed and we never felt we were at the mercy of pure randomness. The rules are close enough to SoBH so if you play it you will find yourself confortable with the system; the game is strongly story-driven and you can really pick up a miniature you like and make him/her act exactly like its look and attitude suggest. SaS will find a special place in your heart if you are looking for lite rpg/heroic skirmish game with great rules, simple to both understand and explain, giving a sense of exploration and adventure. And the fact heroes can face and (hopefully) dispatch hordes of enemies really make them badass. The only problem I had is that the game needs TONS of minis of a specific kind… I have just six orcs so we played with 24+ “impostors”. As you can imagine the sight was kind of strange, still the idea of hordes is something that makes SaS shine and I just love it. And the game does include counters for all monsters so you are not forced to buy minis if you don’t want to. The enemies deployment works well, still l will probably test an alternative way to the one proposed, which consists in rolling distance on x and y axis. Another mental note for the next time: life will be easier if I print and use the included counters to remember specific conditions.

So, to conclude, we both had great fun and we’ll definitely play the full campaign (probably 1-2 friends will join too) and create our own scenarios. I am extremely happy with this game and I hope Ganesha Games will release soon some kind of expansion – and make a PDF version of the new monster cards Andrea created!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2018 16:16:29

Era il gioco che cercavo da tanto tempo! Sono appassionato del genere Fantasy rpg ma, non volendone sapere il mio gruppo di giocarlo, perlomeno con 4AD ho ritrovato la possibilità di giocare e gustare le atmosfere Old School dei bei tempi andati di D&D. Il bot del gioco, grazie all'uso ricorrente e continuo di tabelle casuali, genera sempre nuove scene, situazioni, scontri, colpi di scena che rendono ogni giocata unica. Il total party kill è sempre dietro l'angolo ma nel complesso lo si accetta perchè si vive una bella storia dall'inizio alla fine. Il gioco è supportato dall'autore Andrea Sfiligoi e da un ricco fandom presente su Facebook. Il manuale base contempla la possibilità di fare avanzare i personaggi fino al 3° livello dopodichè, se si vogliono provare sfide nuove e avvincenti, sono disponibili espansioni al regolamento con possibilità di livellare oltre il 9° livello e anche avventure pre-generate. Insomma, la giocabilità di Four Against Darkness è lunga e dà soddisfazione. A differenza di altri solo game presenti sul mercato, qui il giocatore porta avanti un gruppo di quattro personaggi scelti fra un pool disponibile sul manuale e ciascuno di loro ha le sue peculiarità di razza e di classe. Il sistema è semplice ed intuitivo ma, al tempo stesso, abbastanza profondo da contemplare molte situazioni di combattimento e di esplorazione tipiche dell'rpg fantasy. Vivamente consigliato!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 83 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates