DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Career Book 1
by Steve K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2021 12:40:42

The alternate and expanded Mishap and Career Event tables for Agent, Drifter, Entertainer, Merchant, Nobility, Psion, Rogue and Scholar are appreciated. There are TWO d66 Life and Unusual Event tables providing many new twists on Travel, Relationships, Good Fortune, Betrayals, etc. I've mined Career Book 1 considerably for my home-brew universe (which is akin to 2300 AD and High Colonies.) I find the Colonists, Corporate Citizens and Workers detailed here more to my tastes and millieu than Book 10 Cosmopolite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Field Manual
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2021 14:09:53

If you want to play a mercenary or run a mercenary company in Travller this is the book for you.

There is a ton of information anout mercenaries, equipment, tickets and units. Six or so Mercenary Companies are detailed.

There is a section on Foreven and mercenary units found there and a sample ticket. I would have preferred something a little more general.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Field Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 1
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2021 12:07:47

This is an aid for Mongoose Traaveller which you will need for it to be of use. It contains expanded tables for mishaps, life and unusual events for the non military traveller careers. There follows the reason I purchased the book details of 8 new career paths broken down into the customary 3 roles. This is followed by 48 pregenerated characters which are a useful bonus.

There are a few illustrations in back & white rather than colour, which is why this is a 4 and not a 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nemesis Class Pursuit Ship
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2021 13:17:48

This is difficult to rate. The book containing the background and other materiel is excellent, but the single page black & white deckplan is terrible, so I have compromised and given a 3.

The book details a conversion of the Traveller 100 ton Type S Scout/Courier that appeared in an old issue of White Dwarf Magazine from the late 70's or 80's. I've long since lost the magazine, but remember it clearly, so I have concerns for copyright as well. This book is far more detailed with a breakdown of all 10 spaces.

Then we have 3 crews for different roles the ship might play in a campaign. More excellent materiel follows with edscription of 3 vehicles. Then there is information on possible uses in your campaign. I love it.

The second 'book' contains a single sheet black & white deckplan. It is so disapointing in contrast.

Price is OK assuming they own the copyright.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Nemesis Class Pursuit Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

System Book 1: Katringa
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2021 11:34:46

This details the entire system as well as the planet, all of which I found fascinating and more importantly usable.

Great job well done



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
System Book 1: Katringa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nemesis Class Pursuit Ship
by Jeffrey Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2021 14:50:37

This article originally appeared in the May 2013 issue of Freelance Traveller.

This Ship Book does a reasonable job of presenting the material, but it doesn’t feel like it’s the best it could be.

On the Shelf

Face on, you see a black cover with a rendering of the ship with a planet in the background, but no other space-scape, in a light-blue-bordered box. Above this box is a matching blue stripe displaying Spica’s name/logo, and below is a similar blue stripe displaying the name of the product. Below that is the Traveller Compatible Product logo.

Impressions

The cover rendering (repeated in greyscale on the title page) looks incomplete; the artist seems not to have applied any textures to the basic shape, giving an image that looks like glossy injection-molded plastic rather than painted metal. The rest of the artwork is better, ink drawings with good detail.

The description of the ship takes up a quarter of this volume, and one might reasonably argue with the order in which the material is presented; the author placed the room-by-room descriptions before the stat block and deck plan. The numbers on the room descriptions do not match the room numbers on the plan, and some areas marked on the plan are not described. There is a brief “in-character” sidebar focusing on the three crews profiled in this book, but it’s too brief to give a good picture of any of them, and the ship doesn’t actually appear in any useful fashion.

Following the ship description are the profiles of three different crews, each using the Nemesis in a different role: system patrol, bounty hunting, and criminal organizational enforcement. The crew descriptions also include some comments indicating variation in the use, maintenance, or equipping of the basic Nemesis. The ‘ship personality’ will be heavily influenced by the crew and usage, but in all cases, it’s clear that the premium performance (100t, J2, 6G) comes at the expense of comfort; the ship can only be described as ‘cramped’.

The following two pages profile three different ship’s vehicles: An ATV, a ‘spinner’ (basically an enclosed air/raft), and an armed and armored open air/raft. None of them are presented with enough detail to really establish a ‘vehicle personality’, but it does show the range of possibilities.

Two more pages present adventure seeds using the Nemesis, either as the PCs’ ship, or as opposition.

The remainder of the book is credits, introductory material, and the Open Game License.

Conclusion

Future Ship Books could be improved by ensuring that the description matches the deck plan and putting the stat block and deck plan before the description; by expanding on extra equipment such as vehicles; and by including adventure material where the ship is a focal point of the adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Nemesis Class Pursuit Ship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 1
by Jeffrey Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2021 16:08:22

This review originally appeared in the September 2013 issue of Freelance Traveller.

On the Shelf

Forty pages isn’t very large, so shelving this volume spine-out will cause it to be lost among other books. The cover is black, with a central panel about two-fifth of the cover in height, and extending almost edge-to-edge, depicting three characters in a desert landscape. Above the picture is a medium-blue (New Yorkers will recognize the color as “Con Ed blue”) stripe extending from the left edge almost to the right edge, with Spica’s logo on it; below the picture is a similar stripe bearing the title. At the bottom, lined up with the right edge of the lower stripe, but on the black area below, is the Traveller Compatible logo. The stock is good quality, with a finish that could be considered glossy, but not high-gloss.

On Inspection

There is very little explanatory text; most of what exists is in the one-page Introduction, which basically explains that you need the Traveller Main Book (TMB) from Mongoose, and why. Following the Introduction is a section of alternative Mishap and Event tables for several of the TMB careers. The revised Mishap tables are 2d6 rather than TMB’s 1d6, and the Event tables are d66 rather than 2d6, thus offering more choice—though there is no discussion of why the author felt the standard tables to be inadequate. Each career’s revised tables fits on a single page. Following the career event tables are two pages of Life and Unusual Events tables, each of which is d66 rather than the single 2d6 table in TMB; again, there is no discussion of why these should be preferred over Mongoose’s. I am generally in the camp that says that “more choice is better”, but I also acknowledge the possibility of too much choice and the potential that dithering over such choice might lead to wasting time. In this case, I don’t disapprove of the new tables; I disapprove only of the lack of discussion of why.

The following section should be considered the real meat of the book; each of eight new careers is presented on two pages, similar to the TMB presentation of a career. Each career follows the pattern set by Mongoose in the TMB—three career paths, each with specific skills, supplementing three general tables open to all characters in the career. The Mishap and Events tables are the expanded 2d6/d66 versions. An experienced referee could probably come up with ways to use these careers in a campaign; it’s less clear whether a less-experienced (or rookie) referee could do so. I could thus wish that an extra page had been devoted to each new career, providing a character overview, adventure seed ideas, and/or suggestions for integrating a character from the career into a campaign.

The remainder of the book is some pre-generated characters; these are just raw data—stats, skills, and equipment (which includes Contacts/Rivals/Allies/Enemies). No suggestion of career-ending mishaps or life events has been included, and no personality profile—really, nothing to inspire the referee or the players to “get into” the characters.

Conclusion

I can’t really be more than lukewarm about this; there’s just too much that could have—and, in my opinion, should have—been included to really make the idea behind this book ‘pop’. On the other hand, accepting the limitations, the author has done a credible job, though the proofreader could have used a bit more practice. For those reasons, I’d rate the PDF a better value than the print-on-demand edition.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 3
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 18:45:53

The final career book from Spica focuses on "job" paths more in line with the classic works of Sword and Planet sci-fi, with swashbuckling fun abounding. Inheritors, mariners, privateers, renaissancers and wastelanders are not only fun to play but also fill up slots in the party beyond the standard worker/merchant/armed forces mix common to the game. Business and professional jobs are also present, and the Alternative Benefits Tables (great for avoiding Monty Hall money and ship acquisitions right out of the gate), Physical Features and Family Background tables are well-worth it. My players loved these books when making their characters for my most recent game. For the price of a Mongoose 1st edition splatbook, you can have a dynamic series that will give you hours of fun even when you aren't bellying up to the gaming table with your friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 2
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 18:37:16

More crunchy career choices from the friendly folks at Spica Publications. The alternative academic career paths and new skills are much appreciated, and the Puppetteer and Mystic Warrior paths will help with Hiver and Ithklur character generation, given that Mongoose has rather badly dropped the ball on developing the trailing major and minor races. This volume gives the career events for the NPCs, making an already great suppliment even better!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 1
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 18:26:58

There is little that I can add to the general chorus of highly justified praise for this suppliment. Spica Publications has outdone themselves with their Career Books, the alternate events table with d66 resolutions alone are almost worth the price by themselves. Honestly squaring up to the fact that career-based character creation is a mini-game itself in Traveller, the authors have devised interesting and relevant paths that will be appropriate in almost any sci-fi setting, even if you don't favor the Third Imperium. From Adventurer to Space Patrol member, they kick their series off with a winner and include several excellent NPCs as both examples and quick-start figures for your game. The one quibble I had is that they do not give the career events for them in Book 1, an oversight that they happily correct in their subsequent volumes. Worth it at full price, but extra so during sale time. If you are a Traveller grognard, snatch this up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Allies, Contacts, Enemies & Rivals
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2018 12:28:54

A truly excellent resource for the Traveller GM, this suppliment is professionally produced and well-organized. The NPC characters are well-thought out and provide plenty of adventure hooks and plot points. It is well-worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Allies, Contacts, Enemies & Rivals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Astral Splendour
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 13:29:07

Does a great service to Traveller referees by giving a system for passengers for Tramp frighters and Larger liners.

I really liked the easy to use charts detailing the expected passenger traffic, laid out by UWP code.

Nice examples throughout the text.

In addition, there are plentiful potential passenger encpunters laid out in the nuggets / options format so that these give great ideas for a one off encounter, ranging to a mini scenario, in case you wish to spice up what might be a boring routine of Left planet X arrived at planet Y debarked the passengers.

This does a lot more. Worth the price. Plus an adventure, description of a few worlds. Spica, as always, good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Astral Splendour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Career Book 1
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 18:22:10

Picked up this along with a few other Spica books. I really thought they did a great job with the new careers and felt they offered some fun shifts for players without becoming munchkinish. I loved the d66 charts as well. I thought the layout was nice, the information was presented clearly and was easy to use. In fact the only thing I didn't like was having to deside which of the new careers to play first. LOL

I am glad I bought this book and will be picking up the 2nd and 3rd books as well for my collection. I would recomend this for any GM or player looking to try some new careers without ruining th egame balance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Career Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 1
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 03:21:43

Downloaded all the other parts of this adventure. Contains a lot of interesting material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Veil Part 9
by Jon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2016 01:50:04

The whole series has a refreshing set, it's not space aliens - or pirates and bang, it is just surviving in space and a lot of roleplaying opportunities. Something I was looking for a long time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Veil Part 9
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 59 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates