DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Demi-God Race
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2015 10:30:09

This product has all kinds of connotations beyond the usual pale of playing semi Greece or Roman style adventures set in a pseudo old school campaign. The demi god PC class can be applied to a wide variety of science fantasy and science fictional campaigns especially for Labyrinth Lord and Mutant Future post apocalyptic campaigns. The author does a fine job of presenting exactly what's needed in a concise and well thought-out package. The clocking in at only eight pages the ranges and everything is here and easily applied across the board in a complete range of stats and options right down the line. This product has all kinds of connotations beyond the usual pale of playing semi Greece or Roman style adventures set in a pseudo old school campaign. The demi god PC class can be applied to a wide variety of science fantasy and science fictional campaigns especially for Labyrinth Lord and Mutant Future post apocalyptic campaigns. The author does a fine job of presenting exactly what's needed in a concise and well thought-out package. The clocking in at only eight pages the ranges and everything is here and easily applied across the board in a complete range of stats and options right down the line. Everything is right in the eight pages that your going to need to adapt these bastions of myth and legend into your games. Complete and solid this is a really well done PC option but as with all things use this race with responsiblity or not the choice is yours. This download presents all of the bells and whistles to get you started in the way into legend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demi-God Race
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Castle Adlerstein and Environs Map Pack
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2014 15:54:10

8 maps. Pay What You Want The maps are all hires PNG files. Features the hex area around Castle Adlerstein which is to be detailed in the future. Again at present it is avery sandboxy and can be used with anything. 8 maps (7 maps and a grid) and PWYW make this a great deal. It will be a better deal when the rest of it comes out too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Adlerstein and Environs Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chronicles of Mhoriedh Map 00 Olden Lands Continent
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2014 15:51:21

7 maps and a guidebook. Pay What You Want. The maps are all hires PNG files. The guidebook lists various monsters and resources of the areas. No descriptions of the lands or anything else. That is all coming in the in the Gazetteer of the Olden Lands. But it works as a huge sandbox and I was already mentally placing it in my own world. Easily worth the price of a look and throwing a few bucks into James' hat. Easily more things to do here than I can put down on paper (pixels?) now. IT really recalls that feel that getting the original Expert Set box and seeing the maps.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Mhoriedh Map 00 Olden Lands Continent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ogres of the Olden Lands
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2014 15:40:54

Ogres are the boogeymen of the Olden Lands. Or at least that is how they are depicted here. I love what James is trying to do with the ogres here. Give them something more of the supernatural. It works to be honest and for how little this book costs you have no excuse not to be using this to spice up the ogres in your own game. Ok though, I do plan on using this information for goblins instead! The random ogre feature tables for both Ogre and Ogre Magi is just great.

Though the STAR of this book is the Half-Ogre as a player character. Gamers of A Certain Age (like James and myself) grew up on a steady diet of fantasy and the half-ogre is the result of that. Either from the pages of Dragon magazine or the pages of Piers Anothony, the half-ogre was something that was sure to show up in someone's game in the early 80s. This half-ogre does that memory justice.

As a bonus we get the lands of the ogre and full color maps!

This book is designed to be used with any Old-School game. It is overtly labeled for Labyrinth Lord and dual-stated for Castles & Crusades, but really you could pick up anything from the *D&D family and play these.

The look of the books is certainly Old-school with the Souvenir/Soutane font. The layout is crisp, clean and easy to read. Like other books from this publisher it lacks art (save for the maps), but I don't think it is lessened because of it.

All in all a great addition to my game library and something I plan on using in my own game world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres of the Olden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hercynian Grimoire #1
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2014 15:31:53

46 pages (cover, OGL, 44 pages). The first of hopefully more books in this series as well. This is also the first of the Olden Lands and the Chronicles of Mhoriedh line. The book is divided into a recognizable "Men & Magic", "Monsters & Treasure", "Underworld & Wilderness" and a newer, but still recognizable "Gods & Demi-gods". So needless to say I am hooked so far.

First up a great few of pages on Gnolls and their human-half breed kin the Gnoles. I never gave gnolls a second thought but this is some good stuff.

Another feature that you see the d66 table. Roll two d6s like percentile dice and get 36 outcomes. Like Traveler used to do. Next up is a section on spells. What I love about this and can get 100% behind is that Magic-user/Wizard spells are also labeled as "Intelligence", Cleric spells as "Wisdom" and Witchcraft spells as "Charisma". It is like it is custom made for my Witch class! There is a Gnoll encounter table, a random faerie table.

The next section is a collection of new magic items.

About half-way we get to a monster manual like section. Plenty of new hyena types and more. All monsters are dual stated. Following some more tables we talk about some of the Olden Lands. Up first, the Realm of Alspadia and it's major settlements. This is a pretty packed book at 46 pages. Lots of things to use to be honest and all can be added to your current game with no troubles.

This book is designed to be used with any Old-School game. It is overtly labeled for Labyrinth Lord and dual-stated for Castles & Crusades, but really you could pick up anything from the *D&D family and play these.

The look of the books is certainly Old-school with the Souvenir/Soutane font. The layout is crisp, clean and easy to read. Like other books from this publisher it lacks art, but I don't think it is lessened because of it.

All in all a great addition to my game library and something I plan on using in my own game world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hercynian Grimoire #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gods, Demi-Gods, and Cults #1: Chaos Queen of Ants
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/22/2014 15:03:08

This 21 page (cover, OGL, and 19 pages) book is the first of the GODS,DEMI-GODS, AND CULTS series. This one features Khraliche Karinkhamür the Chaos Queen of Ants. Presented here is plenty of detail about the cult, the sub cults and the important figures. Worshipers are detailed and discussed. We also get some new spells for both Wizards and Clerics and some new monsters.
What I like most about this is that it can be easily added to any game world. The feel is overwhelming old-school and sandbox, but that is great.

This book is designed to be used with any Old-School game. It is overtly labeled for Labyrinth Lord and dual-stated for Castles & Crusades, but really you could pick up anything from the *D&D family and play these.

The look of the books is certainly Old-school with the Souvenir/Soutane font. The layout is crisp, clean and easy to read. Like other books from this publisher it lacks art, but I don't think it is lessened because of it.

All in all a great addition to my game library and something I plan on using in my own game world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods, Demi-Gods, and Cults #1: Chaos Queen of Ants
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Barbarian Class
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2014 05:27:11

This is basically an improved, expanded, and fixed (IMHO) version of the AD&D barbarian from UA/Dragon. You get a write up of the class, all the powers and skills (of which there are a lot), and relevant tables.

Although meant for Labyrinth Lord, it should work pretty well in OSRIC/1E, though you'd need to tweak the XP tables somewhat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarian Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chronicles of Mhoriedh Map 00 Olden Lands Continent
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/19/2014 09:05:47

This is a rather fun collection of maps reminiscent of a school geography atlas. You know the ones, where you can see all manner of different information about the same bit of land - political boundaries, topology, population density, produce and so on. Having this sort of information about a campaign world helps to bring it to life on so many levels.

Here there are some seven maps of the same area - Mhoriedh - to examine. The first is a plain geographical one, the second is the same but with the features labelled. The third has the regions marked out and named. Then there's one with all the settlements marked and named.

The next one is labelled The Great Plague. I'm not sure what this shows, is it which bit was affected in which year, or numbers of people who died? That's followed by one which shows the paths of three 'nomad invasions' each spreading out from a different origin to assault different parts of the region.

The final map shows sub-divisions into different areas - possibly a pre-cursor to some more detailed maps of each.

It's interesting to see these different maps of the same region, but slightly hard to determine how to use them. If you know the names and locations of settlements, you probably are in a position to name the rivers (and other features) and the regions as well. Both the plague and the nomad invasions maps are probably best for the GM's use, he can use them to describe the spread of plague or invaders over the course of time, working out how they affect wherever the characters are. But it's an interesting concept and one worth exploring further.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Mhoriedh Map 00 Olden Lands Continent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Vampires of the Olden Lands
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/14/2013 10:06:26

The Olden Lands is James' in house campaign the Chronicles of Mhoriedh. All the books in this series are dual stated with Labyrinth Lord and Castles & Crusades stats. This appeals to me on a number of levels. I like that he went through the effort to do this and the nice effect is that between these two sets of stats you can play this under any old school version of D&D you like. There is also plenty in this book that work with any other game as well. We start out with some common protections against vampires. We follow with 8 very different sorts of vampires including living, dead and spirit. All dual stated. There is a new race to play, The Dhamphir. I have seen a lot of "Dhampirs" over the years, but this one is one of the best so far just in terms of simplicity. All in all a really nice take and these vampires are not like the Dracula-Lestat-Edward clones that can populate so many other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampires of the Olden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Vampires of the Olden Lands
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2013 16:17:49

Outstanding! Lots of interesting variations on the classic vampire, guaranteed to keep your players on their toes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Ogres of the Olden Lands
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2013 16:15:13

Wow, this may be my favorite JMG product yet. Ogres always had so much more potential than they were ever afforded - so many old D&D modules treated them like nothing more than big orcs or small giants. Once again, James' background in anthropology shines through, as he builds a rich cultural background for ogres that gives them real depth and motivation. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres of the Olden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Hercynian Grimoire #1
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2013 16:11:35

Another winner from James. I especially love the write-ups on the gnoll culture - it really breathes life into an oft overlooked monster species, and makes them much more than mere cannon-fodder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hercynian Grimoire #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Gods, Demi-Gods, and Cults #1: Chaos Queen of Ants
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2013 16:09:14

An excellent product, whether you're interested in James' new "Olden Lands" setting, or just looking for some new spells and monsters for your existing LL or C&C game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods, Demi-Gods, and Cults #1: Chaos Queen of Ants
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chronicles of Mhoriedh Map 00 Olden Lands Continent
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2013 16:06:37

This is the world map (including all the aforementioned variations) for James Mishler's new "Olden Lands" campaign setting, which looks to be very much an old-school setting in the spirit of those such as Greyhawk, Forgotten Realms, and Wilderlands (to which James has also contributed). The map is very well done, not to mention evocative - even just the place names suggest an intriguing setting. I'm very much looking forward to seeing it fleshed out via upcoming products - it may even replace my Greyhawk campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Mhoriedh Map 00 Olden Lands Continent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ogres of the Olden Lands
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/08/2013 05:44:51

Are there ogres in your game?

If there are, and you view them as anything more than mere cannon-fodder to be mown down in swathes by brave adventurers this product is worth a look, especially if you play Labyrinth Lords or Castles & Crusades. (Even if you don't, a lot of the ideas could be used to effect in any fantasy game.)

It begins with a discussion of what ogres actually are. Whilst based in the Olden Lands and with some references to that setting, it would be a trivial matter to locate them in your own campaign world. There's material about various ogre cultures, just like any other race there are more than one and ogres from one community will be quite different in outlook and behaviour from those who come from the other side of the world.

Then it gets more mechanical (game mechanics, I mean) with notes and tables on ogre magi and their powers. This will aid you in creating truly individual ogre magi rather than having every single one encountered being exactly the same, with the same powers and abilities. They can be just as individual and distinctive as any player-character wizard... and the tables are well-ordered and systematic so that it is not massively time-consuming to create them.

Next comes a system for generating ogre encounters. Using this you can design a whole group, determining just who is in it and where they come from as well as what they are doing when encountered. That's nice - makes it feel as if the characters are interacting with a living world in which there are other folks going about their own business when encountered, rather than a job-lot of ogres doing nothing but waiting for the party to come along so that an encounter can take place.

If interest in ogres as 'people' has been whetted by now (and if you've studied the material so far thoroughly it probably has been) the next section explains how to create ogre characters. Finally, there's a preview to one of the places that ogres come from in the Olden Lands, the Gorge of Ogroth. Sounds fascinating, and ought to be well worth a visit...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ogres of the Olden Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates