DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
QUERP - Sample
by Billiam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2010 20:36:13

This is a very nice little sample of the QUERP game. I've just downloaded the 2nd Ed rulebook, and would like to point out and it appears that there's just enough material here taken from the rules to start role-playing with the QUERP system using the Sample (or at least get a good idea what it's all about). It reminds me greatly of Fighting Fantasy and simpler game book systems which got me into to role-playing (Incidentally, in the full rule book there is a solo game, as well as the adventure contained here in the Sample). Other players may be reminded of the fastplay fun of Heroquest, AHQ and WHQ.

The QUERP Sample lets you play a Warrior and Sage (2 of the 6 six classes), but you may have to improvise around Defence and armour rules which don't appear to be here (but the weapons are!). The presentation of the Sample resembles the actual rulebook - which is professionally laid out, with stylish b/w images, except that the pages in the rule book proper are a gorgeous parchment beige (but you still have the option use a printer-friendly copy which has no parchment backgrounds).

A high quality sample of a good quality product. A must for the curious player, considering a fun "beer and pretzels" dungeon crawl (as the Americans say).

(The QUERP Sample was free at the time of writing this review.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Sample
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Tiles - Volume 1
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/23/2010 02:11:07

With its new Dungeon Tiles line, Greywood Publishing seeks to enter a fairly crowded market, and Volume 1 makes for a somewhat disappointing initial foray. When a new product comes into a market space that's already filled with choices, the new product needs to offer some genuine added value in order to attract customers. This volume fails to do that. The layouts themselves are rather basic, uninspiring shapes on 5x5 tiles, unadorned except for cracked stone floors and thick black walls. In many ways, they remind me of 5x5 versions of some of SkeletonKey Games's earliest and most basic tile sets. What moves them from "unexciting" to "unusable" is their scale. At 20mm per square, they're noticeably smaller than the vast majority of tile sets, which run 25mm/1 inch per square, perfect for 25mm/28mm miniatures. Greywood's tiles are too small to work comfortably with miniatures on 25mm bases, and too small to connect to tile sets from other publishers. For the reasons cited here, I won't be using Greywood's tile sets at my table, and can't recommend them at yours.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Tiles - Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP MODERN - Heroes
by Vernon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2010 23:02:57

What a fun addition to the QUERP rules system! While maintaining the rules simplicity that makes QUERP my rpg of choice, HEROES delivers a solid rules set for playing costumed heroes. The mechanics (2d6 + modifiers vs. target difficulty) will be familiar to anyone who has played either QUERP Modern or QUERP Fantasy but they have been tweeked a bit to handle the power levels of a four-color comics game. The system is flexible enough to handle just about any style of super hero gaming from gritty dark knights to god-like paragons. Complements, also, on the choice of art which looks like it came from classic comics and make HEROES one of the nicest looking QUERP books to date.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP MODERN - Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fighting Fantasy - Forest Of Doom
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2010 15:02:31

I can’t really say why it’s happened, but all of a sudden it seems like sandbox-style adventures are back in vogue. Rather than following along (or rather, being “railroaded” along) a series of pre-determined plot points, the current zeitgeist of good adventure design seems to be that PCs should be given some minimal plot structure which grants them a large amount of freedom to wander around a map of a given area, exploring and basically making their own way through an adventure.

As with so many things that are suddenly popular, it’s not too hard to find examples where someone was already there, doing it before it became big. Case in point, Fighting Fantasy – Forest of Doom, by Greywood Publishing.

I never had the pleasure of reading the original Fighting Fantasy novels, so I can’t say how well this adventure holds up compared to them. However, what I did find interesting was the cover’s assertion that this is an adventure for a single character of 3rd-level, or a party of 1st-level characters. Solo adventures have always been much too rare.

From a technical standpoint, the book does a pretty good job for itself. The entire book is searchable, allowing for easy copy-and-paste, and there are full bookmarks throughout. One minor thing here was that the bookmarks aren’t nested – so the bookmark to a heading has the bookmarks for all of its sub-headings appearing right under it; it could have been done better.

Notwithstanding the covers, and one initial two-page map (actually the same map, presented with numbers and again without), there’s no color artwork here. The black and white art is fairly plentiful, however, and looks pretty good. Certainly, there’s room for improvement (quite a bit of it seemed like suspiciously clean pencil drawings), but nothing that was cringe-worthy.

My big problem with the book’s presentation is that the maps don’t have anything save for a loose scale between various numbered locations. Having only recently discovered the whole idea of hex-crawling (that is, exploring the individual hexes on an overland map), it seems like a great idea that wasn’t implemented here. Certainly, there’s no reason why the DM can’t deal with a looser interpretation of the distance between places, and relative travel times, but it seems like it could have been done more neatly.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Forest of doom is a sandbox “dungeon” set in the eponymous forest. The initial adventure setup can basically be summarized that a local dwarven kingdom has lost the magic item that’s a national symbol of pride and strength, and they want someone to go get it back for them – there’s a bit more to it than that, but that’s the gist of it. Hence, the player is basically wandering throughout the forest, looking for clues and dealing with whatever situations he stumbles upon until he can find it.

The individual encounters are listed corresponding to the numbers on the DM’s map. Most are singular encounters, though some are detailed to the point of having a tactical map (with the one-inch squares) included. Likewise, most of these are self-contained, but some refer to each other and/or the overarching meta-plot of the adventure. It’s the essence of a sandbox game, though I personally would have included something along the lines of a random encounter table (given how much wandering through that forest the player-character is going to do), or at least a listing of what the major NPCs will do subsequent to meeting/fighting the PC (if they survive).

It should be noted that, before the adventure begins, there’s a section on a new ability score, called Luck. This seventh ability score, meant for PCs only, basically functions similarly to action points; characters can make a luck check to grant themselves bonuses, reduce damage, and several other things. Of course, every time you use a luck ability, successful or not, your luck score goes down by 1, a la temporary ability damage. It’s really quite simple for how it’s presented, and functions just as well as the more popular action point alternative.

The book is rounded out with three appendices. The first covers a menagerie of new monsters. Most of them seem fairly mundane, but interestingly several of these creatures seem to be re-imaginings of existing fantasy archetypes, such as the “titan cavetroll” compared to a normal troll. The second appendix covers new magic items and a new spell (though disappointingly, a spell to boost Luck, mentioned in the initial Luck section, isn’t to be found here), before finally concluding with a third appendix covering scaling the adventure, using it for a lower-level party instead of a single higher-level character, and a series of example PCs for use.

At fort-five pages long, Forest of Doom is a fairly good adventure for introducing low-level characters to sandbox adventuring (or indeed, to introduce them to adventuring altogether). While there were certainly things that I’d have introduced or done differently (primarily to make it easier to explore the huge forest, and adding random encounters instead of waiting for them to stumble across static ones), this is still very good in what it offers. The basic premise is sound, the three dozen or so encounters are interesting and varied, and the Luck mechanics help to cushion the PC from bad luck or wrong decisions being fatal. Conquering the Forest of Doom is a great way for a character to start a heroes’ journey.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fighting Fantasy - Forest Of Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HAMMERAX - The Ancient World
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2010 09:21:24

Please note that this is an updated review based on the current updated version of "Hammerax - The Ancient World" with an improved layout. This layout change was made to resolve a title font legibility concern I had raised in my original review which is no longer available since it no longer reflects the currently available version of this product. It is also worth mentioning that any publisher who is this responsive to customer feedback is sure to keep me as a loyal customer.

Now onto the review...

"Hammerax - The Ancient World" is another excellent product from the folks at Greywood Publishing. This is a complete roleplaying game powered by Greywood's excellent QUERP game engine paired with a classic fantasy world setting that covers all of the bases for a long campaign. At around 175 pages it is almost three times the size of the original QUERP rulebook and those extra pages are filled with lots of fantasy goodness. After a generic introductory chapter we are thrust into a lengthy chapter on the history of the Ancient World followed by an enjoyable gazetteer of the lands of "Hammerax - the Ancient World" as seen through the eyes of a professional explorer named Jarn the Wanderer (who reminds me of Volo). Now, my favourite part of reading any fantasy RPG are the pages dedicated to the various kingdoms & lands that make up the fantasy setting, and "Hammerax - The Ancient World" does a nice job of giving flavour to each land without being too detailed as to limit the imagination of the gamemaster who plans to run adventures in these lands. However, I was a bit disappointed to find that no world map was provided so I really can't visualize where all these wonderful lands are "supposed" to be in relation to each other although that can be seen as an opportunity to fit things in where you need them. Hopefully a Hammerax world map is forthcoming for those who really need to know where everything "officially" belongs. One kingdom named Aralor does get more detailed treatment (and a map) as the main campaign area to get the dice rolling as it were. The kingdom of Aralor looks to be a thinly veiled Arthurian Camelot/Albion type of place so anyone with even the most basic knowledge of Arthurian lore will feel right at home. All of the things I have mentioned thus far gets us through the first third of the book.

The next third of the book presents a decidedly "Hammerax" flavour of the QUERP roleplaying rules including some character types (classes) tailored to adventuring in the kingdom of Aralor. The QUERP rules are quick, flexible, and easy to learn without being incomplete so no complaints here. These Aralorian(?) character types seem to be evenly matched with the existing QUERP character types so mixing & matching will not be a problem for those who want to play their favourites from the original QUERP rulebook or the very useful QUERP Player's Companion.

The final third of the book covers monsters, magic items, and 2-part adventure to kickstart a campaign in the kingdom of Aralor. Once again the monsters are on par with existing QUERP critters from the QUERP rulebook and the QUERP Bestiary (another great product) so all is good. It is also worth mentioning that I found the starter adventure to be a good read and it's theme fits in very well with the "Arthurian feel" of the land of Aralor so its inclusion was a welcome choice to close out this product.

Once again the folks at Greywood Publishing have cranked out some great content for a nice price so I have to rate "Hammerax - The Ancient World" a solid 5 out of 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HAMMERAX - The Ancient World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP: The Gamemaster's Companion
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2010 23:42:15

This product continues the good work done by Greywood with a solid approach to giving usful advice to GMs (for any system really). I beleive it is mainly aimed at newer players (though it is worth the read even for us older players) and it does a good job of providing a useful information in a practical and easily understood manner.

One thing that I particulary liked was the generator for communities which is I beleive is usful for GM.

Added to this there is a complete collection of spells, a selection of new magic items and another adventure (bonus!!) along with some tables for character traits and advice on handing out XP.

Throw in a handful (9) of new monsters and you have a well rounded product which is usful to the full range of gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP: The Gamemaster's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - Bestiary
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2010 23:34:10

The beastiary is an excellent purchase and covers a wide selection of your common monsters (around 100 of them).

While there is nothing new here the stats make sense, the descriptions are excellent and they provide excellent templates for creating your own.

This is one area where the simplicity of QUERP shines through as it is easy to scale the creatures to your players by simply tweaking their stats. The special abilities certain monsters have is also well done and adds that vital flavour to any encounter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - Player's Companion
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2010 23:31:23

I grabbed the Player Companion after my first game with QUERP and was not disappointed. The rules for custom characters look to be fun and once my children (12 & 15) are better aquainted with the game I will use those rules.

That said the selection of character types (14 classes) is huge and gives a wide variety of choices. My son is changing his warrior to a Knight as I type.

The selection of non-human races (9) and how they work is well done and provides enough that you can cover most of the races you might want.

This is rounded out with new equipment and new spells. On the whole an excllent buy and well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Player's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - 2nd Edition
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2010 23:25:20

I have to say that this is one of the better rules light systems I have played. Very easy to get into and easy to GM. It has everything you need to get into the game and play and allows you to concentrate on the fun side of the game, the story telling.

I introduced my 12 year old son and 15 year old daughter to the game and after an hour of reading the rules I made them up a character and we played the intro adventure. They are now hooked and are clamouring for more. I thoughly enjoyed the game as well.

The rules are easy to house rule to a bit more depth - both my children wanted Fighting and Stealth broken down into different categories (eg Melee, Missile, Thrown / Locks&Traps, Hide, Search&Track) which was eays to do without breaking the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP: The Gamemaster's Companion
by Vernon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2009 23:29:26

Chock full of practical advice and tools for the beginning game master, the QUERP Gamemaster's Companion delivers excellent value to anyone starting a campaign. Written in a conversational style, the book dispenses all manner of useful tips on designing and maintaining a campaign, handling players, and awarding experience. It also expands the spell lists, adds new potions for alchemists, and reorganizes the game's magic items tables, including new items. QUERP gamemasters will certainly want this book, and even gamemasters of other systems will find it useful for the common sense advice on running a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP: The Gamemaster's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP: The Gamemaster's Companion
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2009 19:51:16

The QUERP Gamemaster's Companion is an excellent addition to the QUERP line. Primarily aimed at new (er) players or experienced players looking for something less rules bulky the Gamemaster's Companion does a good job of providing a lot of information and knowledge that is very useful for the beginner. This does not mean that experienced gamers are left out of the loop as there is a generator for communities, complete collection of spells, some new magic items, a few new monsters and a starter adventure. The advice and information is solid for begining gamers, experienced gamers will have most likely already read or know most of the information, but they should be buying this for the spells, creatures and magic items. The only thing that I would've liked to see more is magic items.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Player's Companion
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2009 09:10:35

The QUERP Player's Companion is a mixed bag of goodness for the QUERP system. If this book was published 20 years ago I would have given it a solid 5 out of 5 without second thought but I guess my gaming desires have changed quite a bit since those days. Back in the 80's & 90's I was always looking for more detail & options in my quest for the perfect RPG but nowadays I am looking for simplicity & flexibility without too many rules or com plications. The QUERP Player's Companion adds 14 new character classes and 9 non-human races to the game and all are fitting additions to the game but the book also includes an "Advanced Characters" chapter which I can't really buy into (but still well worth the purchase price). Now to be completely fair this chapter does contain a clear warning that these advanced character options are not quick & easy so there is no reason to even read it if you want to keep things simple (like me). It is also worth mentioning that the advanced characters chapter is well done and keeps to the simple jargon-free wording that is present in the rest of the QUERP product line so if you really want to add some complexity & options to the game you can do it with these tools without breaking the system. For me, that "red box" feel I often babble about faded a bit as I read the advanced characters chapter but it did not keep me from enjoying the product as a whole. All in all, the QUERP Player's Companion serves up a nice set of additional options for the QUERP game without any of it being required reading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Player's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - Bestiary
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2009 16:22:00

That classic "red box" feeling that QUERP instills in me continues with QUERP Bestiary. Within it's pages you will find close to 100 familiar fantasy foes for your adventuring pleasure with simple stats and decent descriptions. You won't find anything overly original in this creature collection but then again I think we all know what to expect from a RPG monster book by now. Overall, it's a worthy addition to the QUERP product line at a reasonable price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - 2nd Edition
by Trevor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2009 00:36:50

QUERP is a truly surprising little RPG. It has all of the basics that you need to have a fun fantasy romp without bogging down gameplay with needless complications. The game system is simple but complete enough to cover all of the classic fantasy adventure you can throw a goblin at. The provided character classes do an excellent job of giving special abilities to each class to provide each an iconic feel without getting complicated. This game really captures that classic "red box" feeling without being a retro-clone by being both classic & original. Now admittedly QUERP does not do anything revolutionary with it's ruleset but it definitely delivers on it's promise of being quick & easy while also managing to be a lot of fun. Another thing worth mentioning is that since the game system is built on such an easy to digest & logical set of rules, it practically invites custom character classes if for some reason the 6 provided classes aren't good enough for you. This is one game that is worth a lot more than the $5 asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUERP - 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QUERP - 2nd Edition
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2009 09:59:58

Just as it says, QUERP is light rules system that catches all the feel of old school gaming but in a much simpler, straight-forward package. I think there are just not enough spells to make the magic-users happy, but that's somehow compensate by the fact that beginning wizards are much more powerful than its classic counterparts.

A recommended product for older gamers who want to introduce their children to the hobby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates