DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Four-Color Heroics Core Rulebook
by Raymond C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2023 21:52:51

In an age where everyone is pulling out "Light Rules" that are "less filling but same taste" just like light beer of the '80s... This one hits the target.

Which, considering the topic of question, the old comic books of old, is also a hit on the target! These aren't from the eras of high thought, high concept, high discomfort characters on either side. Good guys were good, bad guys were bad, and Hitler got punched in the face almost as many times as he deserved.

...

OK, not even close to that, but that's a different issue and controversial these days. Which is why we need more WWII FPSes where you can't play the German side.

Anyhow, simple rules that allow you to make a character that can still be semi-human, having faults and problems, while still being the Hero that everyone cheers when the ticker-tape parade back home happens after the war is over (and they've punched Hitler in the face more times than I can count, and I know chaos mathematics!).

With a wealth of public domain (or close enough, stupid IP laws!) characters to pull from, along with characters of your own imagination, you, too, can have a character that predates the Comic Code and kills the hell out of their enemies rather than sends them to a paper-bag prison like Arkham same as Batman in the... Well, after the Golden Age.

So, if you love villains like the Ant-Agnoizer and The Mechanist, Anti-Heroes like The Mysteress Of Mystery, or Heroes like The Silver Shroud (which a much younger audience is far more likely to recognize), this is very much the game for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color Heroics Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review. I'm happy that you like the game.
pixel_trans.gif
Four-Color Heroics Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2023 10:46:33

What a wonderful game! Fast, simple, very evocative of the Golden Age Comics it is based on. The freeform power creation system is amazing! i have already built some great characters for it. The combat system looks fun! Contains write-ups for public domain characters, 4 heroes and 4 villains. The cover of has a great illustration of a hero (Captain Courageous) punching a Nazi! This is very well worth the cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you like it.
pixel_trans.gif
Four-Color Heroics Core Rulebook
by Chris N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2023 12:04:36

This game is exactly what it says it is, and does that job brilliantly. It's light weight, fun, exciting, and a wonderful emulation of its material. The art, writing, etc. are all spot on. Congratulations on another home run!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you. I hope you get many hours of enjoyment from it.
pixel_trans.gif
Urban Manhunt: the Miniatures Game
by Troy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2022 12:53:37

Played this game with a friend, and then I had to pick it up. It is the funnest thing I've played in a long time. We just threw one liners out the whole game! if you're a child of the 80's and know a few Arnold quotes, then you'll love this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Manhunt: the Miniatures Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Halloween Genre Emulation Pack [BUNDLE]
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2022 13:18:23

I got it on the sale; 15 dollars and it's totally worth. Slasher Slick game doesn't just let us to play the slasher genre game but gives bunch of idea to make slasher scenario for other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halloween Genre Emulation Pack [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Slasher Flick: The Director's Cut
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2022 15:16:21

I've been looking for any horror themed rpg that's fresh, different from CoC and ToC then found Slasher Flick in DTRPG somehow. System's quite easy and the system's well focused on Slasher genre. This game explains nicely how to build a gritty slasher story at home with friends.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slasher Flick: The Director's Cut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Slasher Flick -- Bloodbath Hotel
by Olive P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2022 08:24:30

I loved the 'urban decay' set-up; trapped in a crumbling building in a bad part of town. The characters, the map lay-out and all the backstory. All top notch.

But I also loved the suggestions for setting the hotel in 3 or 4 different locations with accompanying suggestions. Means I could re-use this 3 or 4 times, which is supurb value for money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slasher Flick -- Bloodbath Hotel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Slasher Flick -- Horror Island
by Olive P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2022 08:20:29

Solid, original slasher-style set-up. Not as good as some that Slasher Flick has producted but its probably simpler to run. The maps are high quality and reuseable (especially the asylum) and the killer is unique.

The only things against it are the art (minoi quibble) and the decision to 'limit' the number of characters to 6 because of, presumably, the size of the boat.

Personally I'd just stick 8 to 12 on a yacht or a flying boat to get to the island and then let loose with that body count; the more the bloodier. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Slasher Flick -- Horror Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Slasher Flick
by Alexander B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2022 01:10:03

Was looking for a table top RPG that could truley capture the esscence of being in a horror film. I'm so glad i found Slasher Flick!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slasher Flick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wild West Cinema rulebook
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2022 10:07:35

I’ve played and enjoyed Wild West RPGs and hope to do so again. I own a ridiculous amount of western role-playing games for someone who’s never run one (Ace & Eights, Western Hero, Coyote Trails, Boot Hill, GURPS Old West, Westhedge, etc.) so it took me a long time to finally buy Wild West Cinema.

And boy I’m glad I did. This has to be not only the best Western RPG I’ve ever read but also the best RPG rule set that Spectrum Games has (and I have nearly every one of those as well).

And thank god they didn’t try to find some awkward way to use poker cards because…”It’s a Western!”.

Slightly irked that there aren’t more (than 1) of the Western Archetypes that are female, though of course, there is no reason you couldn’t play a female Drifter, Gunslinger, Indian Outcast, Outlaw and even Preacher Man. Still I think there’s a Soiled Dove or Homestead Protector archetype that could have added to the fun.

Some great writing and the dip into “Alternity” style character definitions is well done and an very appropriate.

Even the skill definitions were interesting to read! Including an insightful treatise on how to deal with ‘charisma’ in relation to role-playing.

So in addition to being a fine rule set (not perfect, it has some too-fiddly bits, but very few), it’s also a blast to read. I couldn’t recommend it more highly.

The NPC example list is staggeringly good and complete and ought to be emulated by every RPG.

In so many other ways it’s an amazingly well written description of how RPGs should be played and GM’d. It’s a template I’ll use for all my games.

Top if off with a clever and fun starting adventure that includes a ‘home base’ location and the game practically plays itself.

Pound for pound this is the best Western Game I own and if they had a hard-copy version I would buy it instantly. This is a game I could run tomorrow with as close to zero preparation as any game — granted westerns are easier than most - but these rules make a breeze.

I’ve got to say this is the best RPG system put out by Spectrum Games - and that’s saying something! (I have most of them!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild West Cinema rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2022 16:27:33

Still one of the best genre emulator games for one of the best genres ever.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Retrostar Rulebook
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 23:20:14

OMG - where have you been all my life?? So good. Disco, lycra, lots of flesh on display. Weird manly rituals like jogging, dancing and moustaches. Strong, competent, gorgeous women who out perform the men.

Intro chapter is good, helps get in the mood and solidifies the idea that the 1970s-08s never went away, they just slept. Chapter two is about creating scenarios, and this is where game theory should diverge from TV plot creation. It works well, not sure how. Start with a idea for a game scenario, with a background, theme, helpers, opponents and difficulties. Then rate that for how strong each of these will be: theme, plot, recurrence, cheese, special FX. (not critical but makes sense eventually)

Chapter Three shows how we sketch out PCs traits to match those things from Chapter two - not too much detail yet. And finally each Player gets to add in the details, signature moves or sayings, quirks etc that make them stand out and yet still meet the needs of the team and the scenario.

Chapter Four - the rules The Intention system is great - how did we not do this before? The Benefits and Obstacles section is really good - these act as Advantage and Disadvantage die - GM hardly gets to roll as NPC activities are taken into account when deciding what the PLayers need to roll. The only issue i have is that PCs with more Obstacles than Benefits has an almost zero chance of succeeding (without a complication, although i like the complications). I think some sort of DM, like +1 to the die total (or minimum roll of 2 per die), is needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retrostar Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Urban Manhunt Companion
by Markus K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 06:02:50

I really, really like this system. The setting, the pre-generated hunters and crims and the rule fit together. The rules for hunter creation offer great room for creative implementation of self thought out hunters. The companion adds more of this really good stuff. Blind buy for fans of the core game...Cynthia, keep up your great work - I am really looking forward to the career mode add on.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Manhunt Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Markus. There's a lot more Urban Manhunt coming up, so stick around. We keep fans updated on the official Urban Manhunt Facebook group, so feel free to stop by and check it out.
pixel_trans.gif
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
by Tim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 01:39:35

First, this game is fun and imaginative. And I wish that was where I could leave this.

But, business practices matter. Spectrum produced this game using a kickstarter, where with the help of 474 backers, they raised $18,654. About 300 of those backers were owed physical rewards. At my best calculations, less than half received those rewards. The Kickstarter was over 7 years ago, the last update was in 2019. Yet, this book is a best platinum seller. They are still producing and selling new games. But the hundreds of people who paid into the kickstarter and never got their rewards? Forgotten.

I personally pledged $110 for this book in pdf and print, some add-ons, and cause I loved the project. Everything I actually got would cost you $29.95 in their current bundle sale, and $65 normally.

How a business handles itself and its finances matters. And a company that betrays the fans who helped them make their product is not a company that deserves your support.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cartoon Action Hour: Season 3 rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Retrostar Rulebook
by James K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2020 15:55:13

It's got a great premise, well laid out, and they clearly laboured over it...but I think there's a huge conflict here between rules density (as in, how seriously I have to know the rules to get the system up and running) and player investment (as in, how much they're going to care to play it given how seriously the setting asks to be taken.)

Fun zany 70s sci-fi is something I convince my table to do once, maybe twice. It's a bit of a joke, a bit of a celebration of genre content. I can't see them taking it seriously enough to want to do more. But, the rules are just too extensive (in interesting ways) for that kind of play pay-off, which is a shame.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Retrostar Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 126 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates