DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
City Builder: A Guide to Designing Communities
by Derek B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2020 15:27:40

This book is meant to be a resource, and it does that job excellently. There is a wealth of information in this book about all aspects of the life and functioning of various sized settlements in the pre-industrial world, and most of this information is going to be applicable whether you are creating something in a fantasy setting or working on a historical fiction setting.

The primary function here is to help make realistic and seemingly alive settlements for a game setting. As such it details the kinds of things that adventurers are going to interact with, and it does so in a rules agnostic way so that the information is usable in most any game system. Found here are various adventure hooks, for those times that your party inevitably wanders off from the thing you were planning on them doing and finds themselves befriending the random shop keeper you had to name gen during the drink break.

This is the kind of resource for a GM that is not happy with their towns being an inn and a ‘general store’ that totally has whatever cross section of the item list they decide they want the party to have access to. Here you will find loads of material aimed at fleshing out everything from that hamlet that the party stumbles into on the way to the mountain dungeons that are their true goal, to making the capital city of your setting feel grand, and gritty all at the same time.

Don’t think that this is a resource soley useful for a GM though, if you are doing any sort of worldbuilding in a fantasy or pre-industrial setting this will be something that will be useful to you. With the wealth of information in this book it will take a lot of the guesswork away about what types of goods, services, and personnel should be present and available in a settlement of any given size.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Builder: A Guide to Designing Communities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City Builder: A Guide to Designing Communities
by Xorn X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2020 06:23:51

Well, if you have never read a book about how to flesh out a city, this book is for you. It has 238 pages that describe that a city has different quarters and that you will find several craftsmen, government-buildings and so on in a city. BUT it does not do more than describe each of these craftsmen/buildings on one or two pages. So if you need help by imagining how the shop of a blacksmith or a clothier or a brothel would look like, this book is for you. However, if that is not enough for you, you will find (like me) that this book could have been trimmed down to ten pages (at most), consisting of a list of craftsmen, government-buildings and so on. You will not find much on a cities economy, military, demographics, disease, sanitation, water supply, population size of at typical city in pre-modern times, the ruling classes or the role of a city in the middle-ages (or any other period of time). You also will not find much on typical city adventures or the like. In my opinion, this book is just a bloated list! I would not buy this again!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Xorn, we are sad that you are having issues with “City Builder” and very much hope the following will help you to get the most out of it. This edition of the book was a labor of love for our team and we spared no effort to create something that would have immeasurable ongoing value to storytellers and game designers of all sorts. First, please ensure that you have downloaded the correct file for the most recent version of this book, titled “City_Builder(03-05-2020).pdf”. Around April 7-8 there was a file download problem with this title in which customers could not access the correct file and, even worse, were being prompted to download ones that were not even associated with this book. DriveThruRPG helped us to sort that out very quickly but we want to make sure this is not accounting for the problems you are experiencing. Second, we would like to direct you to the specific topics, as per your comments, for which you were unable to find information in “City Builder”: * We address the economies of communities throughout this book, to include a brief section on Availability of Goods & Services (p 23); an entire large chapter on Mercantile Places that looks at the role of 10 different sorts of institutions, including Banks, Brokerages, and Trade Fairs (pp 125-143); and entries on Guildhouses (pp 87-90) and Guilds (pp 95-99). Most of the 85 entries devoted to types of places also describe their roles in the local economy. * We address military matters throughout the book, a few notable examples being a discussion of military bases (pp 20-21), the section on Law & Order (pp 23-24), the section on Community Defenseworks (pp 26-28), and in entries devoted to Barracks (212-214) and Guardhouses (pp 215-216). * We address demographics in general on pages 13-15 and almost every one of the 85 entries devoted to types of places includes at least one paragraph that addresses how it might be used by members of various socioeconomic groups or be differentiated by members of specific races (e.g., Dwarves, Goblinoids). We explicitly use the word “demographic” five times throughout the book. * We address the topic of disease in the section on Disasters (pp 28-34) and several other places throughout the book, including in the entry on Hospitals (pp 90-92) and on pages 17, 106, 122, 178, and 205. * We address the population sizes of Small Communities, Towns, and Cities on pp 15-18. * We address sanitation and water supply extensively in this book, some notable examples being throughout the entirety of the Introduction and in entries devoted to Hospitals (pp 90-92), Bathhouses (pp 147-148), Laundries (157-160), and Watering Points (pp 170-172). * We address the ruling classes of communities throughout the book, notably throughout the Introduction and in an entire 10-entry chapter on Governmental Places (pp 209-227). * Finally, every one of the 85 types of places covered in this book includes two or three adventure hooks and most have a paragraph on activities characters might do at them, meaning about 20,000 words of this book are specifically devoted to the topic of adventures. Beyond that, of course, the entirety of this c. 120,000-word book is designed to show how communities and places within them can serve as venues for adventure.
In the Footsteps of Hercules
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 20:02:52

A Travelogue with adventure hooks, terrific detail and narration. I had never thought of a pilgrimage as a campaign, but this book puts it all there for you, as well as open ended to add your own, including, but nor limited to olympic level competition, mysteries, votive acts, and like any vacation, souvenirs. Reading this would make anyone want to travel the real life journey in present day Greece, but for the moment I'll just roll up my own demi-god.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In the Footsteps of Hercules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skirmish!
by Penny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2020 09:59:18

Very easy to follow, quick to learn and set up. All in all a good game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skirmish!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Prop Room
by Ed M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2020 18:56:17

Nothing takes a roleplaying session from a system of numbers and dice rolls and brings it into the realm of high adventure like the willingness to believe, just for a moment, that you are the person described on your character sheet. And few things can assist in that process like a few well-placed props. This handy guide is a great way to get your feet wet into the wide world of propmaking. It is an easy to follow guide for making some common gaming props without spending a lot of money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Prop Room
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Göatter Dämmerung (Cardstock CharactersTM)
by Heretica A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2020 01:25:51

Well, for a dollar its definitely a five stars. I wish it had thick black borders allowing it to be cut out, rather than just as a standee. The goats themselves look good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Göatter Dämmerung (Cardstock CharactersTM)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mastering a Challenge (A Primer & Tips for Skills in 4th Edition D&D)
by Paul U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/09/2020 11:05:39

I was excited to see a new article for 4th Edition D&D. Part of the reason for my purchase is to support the creation of further articles.I love skill challenges for some of the same reasons as the writers. The concept revolutionized my approach to non-combat situations in my games.

This is a decent summary of the rules, and of some of the common approaches to them. It also contains some advice I don't recall seeing elsewhere. I don't agree with all of it, but it seems clear that it works for the writers and could work for others.

The cover art is beautiful, but I believe it's just a public domain image. There are a few inside illustrations that are pretty good and have a clear 4th Edition influence; they're not just generic fantasy pictures.

There are also two example skill challenges.The actual text is about 3 and a half of the 10 pages.I hope these writers produce more and post them to DriveThruRPG. I'll be on the lookout.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mastering a Challenge (A Primer & Tips for Skills in 4th Edition D&D)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gebb 00 – Intro to Gebb
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2020 09:29:22

The expanded Gebb intro is great! It does a great job introducing the basic premise and characers; the concept and setting sketches of the base are a really fun addition. I always love to see the full, pulled back view of settings we normally only get glimpses of during the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 00 – Intro to Gebb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gebb 81 – Green is the Most Righteous Color
by Amanda K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2020 09:24:56

Oh, poor Steve! As usual KMO has made him the most endearing character with his misguided cheer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gebb 81 – Green is the Most Righteous Color
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jinshu Shu, the Metal Rat: A Monster for 5th Edition
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2020 00:31:23

Very clever, well defined. I like the Antipathy as Horses are the opposing or rival of the rat. Really want to use these as a red herring in a game, especially the swarm, coupled with the unexpected weight of metal rats. Great write up and stat blocks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jinshu Shu, the Metal Rat: A Monster for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Göatter Dämmerung (Cardstock CharactersTM)
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2020 00:21:55

Didn't know I needed Goats in my game this bad, but a great addition to my cardstock library Great art and posing, Im a fan of this artist



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Göatter Dämmerung (Cardstock CharactersTM)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Starry Night (Cthulhu Live)
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2020 17:50:51

Cool, well written. I made a review on my role-play YouTube channel "Dethstrok9", but I will say it was rather dissapointingly "just okay" as opposed to the other products I have read from this line. However, if you need a quick scenario for either Cthulhu LIVE or Call of Cthulhu, you can't beat the price of this product. 8/10



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Starry Night (Cthulhu Live)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cthulhu Live 3rd Edition (LARP)
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2020 19:42:33

All I can say is... WOW!

If you want a more detailed review, check out my YouTube review of the PDF at my channel (who's link I can't put here) "Dethstrok9".

10/10 Must Buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Live 3rd Edition (LARP)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords of Kos: Pateon Fnordseeker and the Day He Gave Up Drinking
by Darin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 14:07:54

Gunna be honest. I love all the Swords of Kos stories. This one is no exception. If you like this one they have more! (No, I dont work for them. Lol)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords of Kos: Pateon Fnordseeker and the Day He Gave Up Drinking
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Oddities for a Pilgrimage Trail
by Diana P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2020 07:08:23

I bought this as an idea generator, as it's on the surface a simple list of things you might encounter while travelling. It's mostly system-agnostic, which I needed, because the systems I run and write for don't always meet normal gaming assumptions.

It had a few things that borrowed from myths I knew, but never too many to clutter out the story part. Some of the suggestions were short and descriptive, some were scene seeds, and some were scenario seeds, which I felt I could easily make into a game. About 5% had me considering HOW I would write that game, and pausing before scrolling further.

It's a good thing to reach for when a trail or road lacks interest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Pilgrimage Trail
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 470 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates