DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Hobomancer
by Steven K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 15:48:38

This is an awesome book, brimming full of fresh roleplaying ideas to sink your nasty wooden hobo teeth into as you roll around in a filthy 1930s railyard. The rich setting is fleshed out pretty well for jumping in without anything feeling tedious or over-explained. The idea of "the songlines" sets up an appropriately fantastical trip by train through a magically corrupted dustbowl, populated by a healthy smattering of cool and unique monsters. I haven't gotten a chance to start playing yet but I'm impressed with how inspiring and fresh the setting is. Hobomancers do everything normal hobos do, plus they practice a special kind of hobo magic, and each PC also gets to choose from a nice list of special gimmicks and powers, as well as character weaknesses. The QAGS ruleset itself feels a little backwards at first but I imagine with time it gels nicely. A little bit more info on how the actual mechanics of the rolls would have been helpful, but Hex made the quickstart and the full QAGS2e rules free, so no compaints there. If you're itching for a break from classic fantasy or other common rpg tropes, take a swig on some bad hooch, throw on some Blind Willie Johnson, and enjoy Hobomancer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tell Me About Your Character
by Brad F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2020 21:59:45

The most important think to grab me (I wanted to shout a recommendation to all my gaming groups) was that I was inspired at first read to reflect upon myself (the player) what responses I would note if someone were playing me-as-a-character. Just exactly, what is important/essential to me?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tell Me About Your Character
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deep Space Rescue
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2018 20:56:17

Moderately hard-SF mini-setting and an adventure for this system looks like a solid start for a short campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deep Space Rescue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QAGS Second Edition Qik-Start Rules
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2016 19:01:59

A first rate rules lite game usable in most, if not all genres. Uses the actual attibute number, for all rolls. You just roll under the attribute plus or minus modifiers on a d20 to succeed. And thank goodness they got rid of the gratuitous curse words and foul language of the first edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QAGS Second Edition Qik-Start Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hobomancer
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2016 21:16:35

Without question or doubt, this is the best RP suppliment ever written. It does what no other suppliment does: I inspires the imagination with a whole new realm to role play in. The idea of 1930s hobos secretly being magical defenders of the realm is innovative but the idea that players would want to have a hobo for a character is totally unique. What I see in reading this, is that the author knows role players and understands them well enough to craft a world that you wouldn't even think is worth playing it. I actually took the world ideas and played them using D20 modern, but there is nothing wrong with the system the game comes with. When I urchase a product, I am usually looking for idea, in this book, I found them and the game that followed was fun for everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Self-Made Space Marine
by Larry F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2015 10:11:03

The setting and information is amazing, the game is a very fun and comical. The layout of the game was not the best but it was not completely unusable.

I am not the biggest fan of the QAGS system though, that would be one of my main complaint of the game. Though that is something that is my personal opinion some of my group love the system.

I was easily able to convert this to other systems.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Self-Made Space Marine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GILGAMESH!: The Lost Tablets
by Jerry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 22:29:18

If you purchased GILGAMESH! but have not bought this supplement, you're missing out on some serious fun...

GILGAMESH! The Lost Tablets takes you back to the beginning of the epic. This means you can re-live the initial brawl between Enkidu and Gilgamesh, take out Anzu (the lion-avian monstrosity), face and defeat the mighty Humbaba, and even bring down the destructive bull of Heaven!

Enkidu and Shamhat are introduced in this supplement as characters you can use in a prequel-type adventure, or alternately, they can join Gilgamesh and Izdubar as you re-write the epic! Oh, did I mention stats for Ishtar appear inside as well?(!)

Leighton Connor really outdid himself on this supplement, IMHO. The Humbaba write-up is better than I've seen done in ANY system to date, offering details down to its protective auras and how they work in game terms. His knowledge of all things Gilgamesh is so impressive that I recommend both this and HEX Games' Gilgamesh! to anyone wanting to learn more about the epic of Gilgamesh!

LIKED: Everything! DISLIKED: Nothing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GILGAMESH!: The Lost Tablets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Happilyeverafter
by Bob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2013 20:44:22

Fair Tale characters in a noir 1940's Vegas . I for one like that indeed enough information contained within to act as a springboard for much more adventures .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Happilyeverafter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Edison Force
by Matt B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2013 20:45:42

Edison Force presents a cool, adventurous setting that is an alternate to the standard Victorian-era "steam-punk" genre. Set in the Edwardian era, it's more "electro-punk" than "steam," with heroes battling giant robots using electrical rifles and aeroplanes.

Note: I bought the Edison Force PDF and POD copy. This review is based on the PDF.

Edison Force is a tightly packed 37 pages from stem to stern.

Contents consist of cover (1 pg), credits (1 pg), table of contents (1 pg), introductory story (1 pg), setting (4 pgs, including 1908 timeline), character creation (3 pgs), sample characters (1 pg, including Edison himself and three PCs), resources/equipment (3 pgs), vehicle rules (2 pgs, including three sample vehicles), GM section (4 pgs, including four possible evil geniuses and their stats: Luther Burbank, Marie Curie, Robert Goddard and .... Nicola Tesla!), sample adventure (13 pgs, Edison Force vs. the Martians), reference/inspirational material (1 pg), charcter sheet (1 pg and it's pretty cool) and an advert for Hobomancer (1 pg).

The layout is clean and easily readable. I appreciate the page numbers superimposed on Edison lightbulbs at the bottom of each page. The mass'o'gears borders are a nice touch for side-bars, timelines and character stat blocks. There are less than a half-dozen illustrations scattered throughout the text and their quality varies.

The cover is a fairly good illustration of Edison, holding a robotic hand, surrounded by members of his team: a boy genius, an Annie Oakley-esque woman sharpshooter, a big guy with what appears to be an electric mace and robotic glove, and a pilot with hat and goggles holding a mechanically-enhanced hawk. It reminds me of the style of Rick Geary.

The Introduction sets the feel of the game, heroic action and a nemesis defeated, without spending too much of the text on it. I'm happy it's short and to the point, so it is well-written enough for my tastes. Though the sentence "Lee turned a strange-looking rifle attached by a cable to his backpack towards the wicked machine" was the most stand-out clunky one in the story.

The Setting provides the basics and it well written. It starts with the 1907 invasion of south western Florida by technologically-advanced Marshovians, using Gatling guns, flame-throwers and a tank, all supplied by the mysterious Master. The baddies are defeated by the combined efforts of Edison's inventions and Henry Ford's vehicles.

A month later, President Roosevelt calls on Edison to create Edison Force to further combat any threats to America and the world by The Master. A nice touch was Roosevelt using this incident as the reason for The Great White Fleet's trip around the world.

The 1908 timeline gives some great events like the 1908 New York to Paris car race (the film The Great Race was inspired by this race), Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid's supposed death in Bolivia, and the Tunguska Event. If you can't look at this timeline and create a series of adventures based off of these events, you're losing your GM props.

A section on the world and Menlo Park is also included. There's a short aside on Edison and Tesla (and that Tesla was never proven to be The Master). In addition to the timeline, I came up with a half-dozen adventure ideas from the Setting text alone.

The Character Creation section was straight-forward, giving great ideas specifically for QAGS 2nd edition but written in a way that easily applies to other game systems. Fifteen archetypes are discussed and sample gimmicks, jobs, skill and weaknesses are provided. Characters also have a piece of signature equipment, that may or may not be Edisontech, which I thought was a nice touch.

As someone slightly knowledgeable about QAGS 2nd edition (I've yet to play the system), I found the rules understandable. I'm still not sure whether I'll use the game as written or my go-to game, Savage Worlds, but I thought up a few character concepts from the archetypes and attributes presented. The stat blocks of Edison and the three PCs were well done, and in the case of Edison, didn't pull any punches as to his "quirky" nature.

The Edison Force Resources section covered electric guns (of course!), electric trains and other vehicles, and communication. The best bit about this section is that the QAGS 2nd rules are minimal, so translating specifics to your favorite system presents few problems. There's even a side-bar on making up your own Edisontech.

The Vehicles section is much like the Character Creation section. The rules are fairly similar to character creation, so it seemed to me a way to make a robotic vehicle character, if modified enough. I'll have to mull that a bit more.

The GMing Edison Force section presents four diabolical geniuses, Luther Burbank, Marie Curie, Robert Goddard and Nicola Tesla. Each genius has a short history and a character stat block. This section alone is my favorite since there are many adventure possibilities. Other, fictional or real, diabolical geniuses are easily incorporated into the game, so don't take these four as an end but a beginning.

And, although the setting clearly states that Tesla is The Master, a clever GM can eschew that option and instead use the other three in a myriad of ways so that the blame falls on an innocent Tesla! He makes the perfect "fall guy" for whoever the real Master is!

Unfortunately, the sample adventure, Edison Force vs. the Martians, takes up 13 pages, fully a third of the text. I would have much preferred an adventure at half that size or less (removing the main Martian base), with the remaining pages used to further flesh out the Setting, Edison Force Resources and GMing Edison Force sections.

However, with that said, the adventure is pretty good. It provides some excellent NPCs, some historical (Perceval Lowell). The adventure starts with reports of giant robots in Arizona. Once there, the characters travel into the wilds and observe several Martian war machines, following them back to a training base. Clues in that base point them to a larger Martian base near Flagstaff. Venusian agents, Martian warriors and Edison Force mix it up, in a finale that could lead to The War of the Worlds!

In addition to NPC histories and stat blocks, and info on the Martian war machines, there is also a 1 page addendum to the Edison Force timeline. It proves to be a handy bit of information that I recommend repeating for any future adventures GMs come up with.

The remaining three pages of the text are the Inspirational Materials, the character sheet and the Hobomancer advert. I plan on checking out the reference texts listed on that page, as I'm sure my local library as some in their system. (I'm not sure how I feel about the whole Hobomancer concept as an RPG, so I'll ignore the advert for now.)

But I must say that the character sheet is beautiful, invoking the right mix of Edison Force feel (attributes are recorded in Edison lightbulbs!) and readability. Compared to the standard QAGS 2nd edition character sheet, this is the obvious winner for style and appearance.

On the whole, I am pleased with the purchase and, as I mentioned, while I would have been happier with a shorter adventure and more on the setting material, I think that this is a game that I'll run, hopefully soon, for one of my game groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edison Force
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rocket Jocks
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2013 21:30:30

This game was a lot of fun to play. We even ran a small 4 session campaign and enjoyed every minute.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rocket Jocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hobomancer First Session Actual Play
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2013 20:03:56

I'm really glad I got this and listened to it. It was like being in the room for that amazing inaugural game of Hobomancer. It was even more fun to listen to it while reading the preview of Hobomancer available on this site.
Vengeance is sweet, but poetic justice is so much better! Our heroes find their way to a perfectly clean town, and they instinctively know that something is desperately wrong.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer First Session Actual Play
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hobomancer Preview
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2013 00:07:22

A really neat preview you could just almost run the game with! The notes on the cultural significance of the Hobos of the 1930s and their place in the American psyche alongside Pirates, Cowboys, Knights and Ninjas is a really insightful look at the whole idea of the traveling independent and the American dream. I love the way this was written, and I think it just might sneak its way unobtrusively on my table.

The Qags system is not complicated beyond a couple more stat words to bring the men of the rails to life, and a bit of a magic system. The background fluff fits together well and holds up to my tired scrutiny anyway. The opening comic sets up the whole feel of the book, and the story in bits and pieces throughout of a Hobomancer's introduction and initiation makes me want to read the novel.

I can really see why this got an Ennie nomination!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

QAGS Second Edition
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2013 14:00:47

Witty and sharp, and everything it purports to be. QAGS is for those who don't want to be bogged down with complex mechanics, endless tables, charts, or lists, or any of that other impedimentia.

If you want straight-ahead gaming at a fast pace without all that unnecessary detail, give QAGS a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QAGS Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aces & Apes
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/30/2013 10:43:11

So, a game of World War I flying aces, with the key ingredient that's been lacking from other aerial combat games: intelligent apes... now, I cannot say that I've ever felt the lack of apes, intelligent or otherwise, in any aerial combat game I've played but... now I've read this, there's a certained warped corner of my mind that sees that they could be an asset!

The premise is simple. Back in the 17th and 18th century, human explorers from Europe found civilisations in distant jungles built not by primitive men but by apes. Urang utans swarming over the Indies. Chimpanzees in West Africa. The apes took advantage of the encounters every much as humans did, and by the beginning of the 20th century, they lived in the west enjoying all the benefits of civilisation in harmony with their hairless cousins, human beings. Five ape species have stepped up to take their place in society: Orangutans, Gorillas, Bili Apes, Chimpanzees and Bonobos.

After this swift yet comprehensive history we move on to Character Creation, which uses the QAGS ruleset (which you will need to make the most of this game). Characters may be humans or one of the ape species and details of the 'ape modifier' that you apply to any ape character are spelled out here. Given the original premise of the game, characters are intended to be pilots... but there is plenty of material if you intend a more general early 20th-century alternate history game where aerial action is not quite so important.

The next section discusses the Great War, weaving actual and alternate history into a seamless whole to set the scene for the game. Positing a date of 1916 when combat had settled into trench warfare with biplanes buzzing about overhead, the next section looks at the Flying Squadrons and how aerial combat was conducted. Aircraft, the nascent art of war in the air, even uniforms and squadron life are covered. The section ends with game details for several different aircraft.

And then... Flying Monkeys. It doesn't matter if you are human or ape, you need to be aware of certain details - and the rules that will model them. The effects of altitude, even frostbite, must be survived. A system for aerial combat itself is then presented, which a few die rolls and prangs later can be reported to be mostly workable, although a knack for abstracting and presenting the combat in narrative form improves things greatly. It's not about rolling dice, it's about adventure and derring-do, after all!

Finally some notes on the sort of adventure that ought to work well are followed by a fully-developed one, Masque of the Black Death. There's plenty there to get a good flavour of the game. A whole raft of appendices deal with the timeline of the alternate history, pre-1916 aircraft, the major nations, other theatres of war, speaking ape (common ape slang), a Great War glossary and (of course) some dumb tables to exercise your die-rolling skills upon. There's even a page of Inspirations, a GM cheat sheet and a character sheet - everything you need, really.

All jolly good fun, what? Gentlemen, gentleapes, start your engines!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aces & Apes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magic Rules!
by Ryan Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2013 14:19:40

The only product I've seen from Hex Games prior to this book was QAGS, but the two are worlds apart. QAGS is a silly if well-constructed system for rapid, rules-light role-play. Magic rules is a comprehensive, in depth look at a fluid and infinitely adaptable magic system for any style of play. If you are looking for a magic supplement to any Hex Games product, this book is for you. If you want a solid resource for modifying the magic system of any other game, Magic Rules has something for you too.

For the low price of "free" there's really no reason not to look it over!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic Rules!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates