DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 09:21:44

Call of Cthulhu is and has always been a fantastic RPG. The newest 7th edition is a nearly perfect RPG. I could not give this 5 stars for two reasons. There are two updates to the rules that I absolutely abhor and I wish they had not done in 7e.

Bonus/Penalty Dice: This is clearly a D&D5e ripoff of the advantage/disadvantage system. Chaosium's implementation is overly convoluted. "Roll percentile dice then reroll only the 10's die, choosing higher/lower 10's". Ridiculous. Why not just reroll the percentile dice? Or, better yet, lets not even use this dumb rule at all. If an investigator deserves an advantage or disadvantage merely award a +/- 10% to the roll. I absolutely hate the Bonus/Penalty dice mechanic. It takes an otherwise a great game system and makes it clunky. I wish at the very least that this had been made an OPTIONAL rule.

Stats changed to percentiles: Whats wrong with a STR score of 3 to 18? After 6 editions why change it be 01 to 100? This seems like an arbitrary change made to create the illusion of an "overhaul" of a system that worked great before. This change was completely unnecessary.

Other than those two things, its a fantastic game. Heres to hoping they fix those garbage changes in the 8th edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition - Keeper's Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Berlin - The Wicked City
by Mike O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2021 12:13:27

Ich mag den Quellenteil sehr. Die Abenteuer sind.... Die Karte die der englischen Druck-Ausgabe beiliegt ist sehr nützlich.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Berlin - The Wicked City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Cold Fire Within
by Kalle P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2021 10:29:28

This is a nicely pre-prepared campaign to run. But since I'm running it online the really only gripe I've got is that there are no player versions of the maps provided without numbers or pointers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Cold Fire Within
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cthulhu Maps - Masks of Nyarlathotep - ch4 - Kenya Pack
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2021 10:14:22

I was excited to see these maps for sale, as I have been running Masks for the last year and my players were looking to move to the Kenya chapter soon. However, once I purchased these, I realized that the maps just aren't very well done. The assets are used multiple times across maps in the same configuration (e.g. water towers facing the exact same way on multiple maps) or even on the same map (oxen copied and pasted all facing the same direction). There are a few good ones that I may use in my game, but only a few.

Also, I found that in some cases the maps didn't really mesh with the decriptions in the 7th Edition version of Masks, so I assume these might have been created using the old version of Masks as a guide.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Masks of Nyarlathotep - ch4 - Kenya Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Adam, Thank you for your comments! You are right on several points. When I create a map, I have to think realism, playability and consistency with the scenario. And you address all 3 points. In my opinion, playability is the most important thing, but also the one you don't see. Playability is sometimes about not making places too big, or too complicated. And that clashes with the realism and the descriptions in the script. You have to find the right balance between these 3 parameters. So, most of the time, the buildings are oriented in the same direction. Often, because it is more "natural" from the bottom to the top. But not all the time either (Nairobi Star, Tandoor Singh, Boyovu Village...) For consistency, yes I used another version of Chaosium's 7th. And I mostly wanted to make my own imagination. I realize today that it was not my best idea ^^. And I work, to get closer to the Chaosium version. So I make from time to time patches to get closer to this official version (I work on Egypt now). For the animals, or other assets, I work precisely so that the whole is realistic. So yes, I do copy and paste but I try to create small variations to make it less obvious. And for the anecdote, the oxen are oriented globally in the direction of the train, but they have all been rotated slightly by hand. Finally, the Masks are the first campaign I've designed. I'm getting a lot of positive feedback in PM, and also messages like yours which are very important as I take note of all of them to improve my work, so thank you! I am making a lot of progress for the next campaigns. And I think one day I'll rework the Masks from scratch in a "fully remastered" version. Because it's my favorite campaign ;) I wish you the best with your players! Damien - Lovemaps
Night in the Meadow
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2021 09:57:07

Good stuff at decent price. Easy to slot into a running game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night in the Meadow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Polish] Promień Śmierci - Nieopisane lata ’20
by Karol P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2021 06:31:50

Autor poświęcił wiele czasu na przygotowanie scenariusza - plik wykonany jest bardzo porządnie, materiały dodatkowe uderzają w historyczne nuty, stworzenie różnych wersji pdfów to ogromny plus, a sam pomysł na scenariusz jest naprawdę niezły.

Ale według mnie na tym pomyśle się kończy - mistrz gry dostaje zdecydowanie zbyt dużą swobodę w działaniu jak na gotowy scenariusz. Gracze bardzo szybko mogą się udać w docelowe miejsce rozwiązania zagadki, a mając na uwadze znikomy wpływ materiałów dodatkowych na scenariusz trudno nie wręczyć większości z nich jako pakietu notatek, które na szybko przejrzą i zapomną o ich istnieniu.

W dodatku, nie jest to przygoda do przeczytania na szybko przed sesją, bo wymaga od mistrza gry dopasowania do własnej grupy - i takiej informacji mi brakuje, o braku liniowości tej historii. Dopiero w środku scenariusza poznajemy też miejsce oraz przybliżony rok akcji. Wymyślenie nagród w postaci punktów poczytalności nie jest problematyczne, ale przyzwyczajony z innych scenariuszy także niemiło zaskoczyłem się ich brakiem.

Jeżeli ktoś szuka inspiracji do własnej przygody, którą zamierza zbudować na podstawie zasłyszanego motywu gorąco polecam Promień Śmierci. Jeżeli ktoś szuka gotowej przygody na szybkie spotkanie ze znajomymi albo jest początkującym Mistrzem Gry - musi szukać dalej.

Na stronie 22 wkardł się błąd i zamiast słuch mamy słych, ale to oczywiście nie wpływa na ocenę



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish] Promień Śmierci - Nieopisane lata ’20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Citizens of the Lunar Empire
by Diana P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 02:55:01

I liked this book enough to get it in hardback when I already had it in PDF to make sure I got all the glory of it.

It's a solid, well-built, incredibly detailed build of a single area within Glamour, the sort of place that adventurers might stay. If you've got call to be in Glamour, you're going to want it a LOT. If you don't, a lot of the work is easily convertible to other larger cities, and the plot hooks and connections between people are an education for a GM. You should still get it if you want to look at how to put together a community, or want to see a good bit of world-building. Chris Gidlow has pulled off a fabulous piece of work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Citizens of the Lunar Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2021 12:47:13

This is a well-thought out scenario that leads to great paranoia among the PCs. The artwork is fantastic, the handouts are great, and the opportunities for role-playing abound. I ran it as a one-off for my regular (rotating GMs, rotating games/systems) group. It took us about 4 hours with 5 players. Afterward, all the players appreciated how different it is from other Cthulhu games. I highly recommend this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Duel at Dangerford
by Antony R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2021 14:05:02

All I can say is that it's a very good exciting scenario that enables the players to participate in a bit of Gloranthan history.

The scenariiio is written in a really clever way that creates a real sense of occasion (even adapting the opening verses of Horatius from Lord Macauly's Lays of Ancient Rome) and all delivered with real panache......

This supplement has obviously been created with real love and care and I really appreciate the fact that options and advice are given to GM's at various stages.

Bloody Good and simple to run.

What's not to Love?

Bravo!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Duel at Dangerford
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treasures of Glorantha: V1 — Dragon Pass
by shawn b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2021 15:35:59

glorantha is a land rife with magic and this supplement is a great way to add some interesting magic items and artifacts to your 'runequest' game (and most of the items can easily be converted to other games and settings.) the entries are well written (and copy the style of the old 'plunder' supplement) and evocative and very few of them could be considered 'overpowered' (and those few could make for great bits to center an entire campaign around. some really nice art rounds out the package and, overall, well worth yr time and money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treasures of Glorantha: V1 — Dragon Pass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
by THUBASA N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2021 08:26:05

This is an interesting scenario set in a special environment. The map is clean and easy to read, and the pre-rolled characters are attractive. A long but worthwhile scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cups of Clearwine
by Nick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2021 05:49:10

In "Cups of Clearwine," the Beer With Teeth collective details a more up-market corner of the Colymar tribal capital, fleshing out the everyday lives of the residents of Sandy Corner (or “Elisanda’s Grove,” as older and more aspirational locals still call it). Every household comes with a big box of plot-hooks, profiles inc. RQG stat-blocks for the more interesting residents, and insights into what makes these people tick and how they all get along (or not). A wonderfully-imagined community for your adventurers to visit, complete with price lists, bronze age crafting tips, and gorgeous illustrations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cups of Clearwine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Grand Grimoire of Cthulhu Mythos Magic
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 01:58:06

The Grand Grimoire is exactly the right name.

A Keeper may not literally need this book to run CoC magic well, but it makes it so much more likely, easy and fun. For Investigators its more of a list of even more things to worry about...

A compilation of 550+ spells from a 40 year back catalogue of CoC games; this really is as close to a real grimoire as you are likely to get. The spells are presented with variants, alternatives and twists already baked in - making it easy to individualise each one, just the way Cthulhu magic should be - unique, mysterious, individual, unknowable. This is not your grandfather´s spell list.

And horrific? Some of the spell features gave me actual shudders reading them, which is exactly what you want in this game. Not "oh this is an evil spell that needs a sacrafice" but "oh... that ... is a gruesome and nasty concept". Don´t give to anyone with trouble distingushing gaming fantasy from reality.

Word of warning - this is an encyclopedic volume of information, you will not absorb it all in one sitting. Far better to dip in from time to time and browse or look for something specific.

One thing that makes that a lot easier is the use of Spell categories - these list out all the spells with effects in a given field like "Making Monsters" so pick roughly what you want you villan to be interested in for example and then read through how they could accomplish it ... I defy anybody to do so without having a some ideas how they could use something from what follows in their campaign. The "Extending Life" list for example has given me long lived villans with vulnerabilities, perils of disloyal henchmen, complex preparations to interfer with, locked-room murder mysteries, vampiric red herrings, mulityear memory loss victims... in short plenty to investigate.

If pressed to find a flaw - its only that there isn´t a category for Gathering, Storing and Manipulating Magical Power ... those are included in Other Spells category. Might just not be enough spells written for that yet. And a Keeper doesn´t really need a "mechanically canon" explanation for high cost plot critical magic being cast anyway.

One thing on the wish list ... as the glyph/rune font pastes out to text ... could it be made available? Or even as a text "translation" website.

Anything else? Three very different but plausible NPC magicians to tailor into your game; a smattering of magical minions with statistics like Spectral Hunters and Hybrid Tindalosians; the normal high quality art work expected from 7e; and mystic diagram line art that would be frankly wasteful not to copy out for use in your own handouts.

In short, a wothwhile addition to any CoC bookshelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grand Grimoire of Cthulhu Mythos Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

LEGION
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 04:24:31

This book is great fun to read and I'm looking forward to use it in my next game. Thanks for the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Denarius the Minter
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2021 09:55:29

i found this to be very useful since my GM started using some of these cults, especially Lawbringer. Also glad that they updated the cover to color.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Denarius the Minter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 106 to 120 (of 1162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates