DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Into a Dark Heart
by kylie w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2021 02:26:11

Into the heart of darkness consists of 30 pages of material, including both story and the pre-gen characters. It is well laid out and very easy to follow, and therefore suitable for both experienced and new keepers alike. The story provides a good balance of play styles. There are opportunities for social interactions with NPC's and typical investigative activities. The author has put thought into skill use; who thought that combining fishing and cooking could give you back HPs! The story is interesting, and structurally similar to the "Heart of Darkness". It has a twisted back ground story that is novel and provides appropriately high stakes. I also appreciated that the author had thought through different endings based on the players actions. I think this is a story that any group can enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into a Dark Heart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sermon of Sludge
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2021 20:01:43

Everything about this scenario is top notch. All the little touches to make it look like it came out of the era it takes place in go above and beyond what I would expect from this sort of product. The NPC's are all interesting and well thought out. I'm looking forward to a chance to run this if I can ever scrounge together a group of players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sermon of Sludge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Evil on the East River
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2021 11:38:44

This is such a well thought out and rather saucy looking scenario. I can see how it would fit as suggested into Masks of Nyarlathotep. However, it is not essential and is a great standalone too. The pregens have been well thought out (With great names too!) and appear to be 'Pulp-able' (is that a word?) The layout is professional and nice on the eye. It does lean toward more adult content (let's just throw the car keys in a bowl and see what happens!!!) but as ever everything is at the keeper's discretion. All in all a really great investigation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil on the East River
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sermon of Sludge
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2021 11:03:43

My goodness this is a beautiful thing!!! Original and a little bit daring! The production of 'Sermon of Sludge' is spot on (I can't imagine the effort put into making it look exactly like a cheap 70's counterculture pulp comic). There is more than a nod to the work of Gilbert Shelton (think Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers) and executed flawlessly. However, don't be fooled into thinking that Sermon of Sludge is a throwaway scenario with a gimmicky design, it is far from it! The scenario is solid as &@£%!!! and can be played straight or ramped up to the pulpy, stoner, freak-fest the amazing imagery provided suggests. The handouts are excellent of which I counted 18 (18!!! I struggled to come up with three for my own offering!) all of which look effortlessly of the era. But the piece de resistance (is that how you spell it?) are the character Sheets, a true work of genius and further proof this is a real passion project! 

Where do I sign up for more from 'Bored Stiffs' productions???



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sermon of Sludge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, Clym. We’re thrilled that you’re picking up what we’re putting down. More than that, though, thanks for feeding our already massive egos! Please let us return the favor by sending your address to: contact@boredstiffs.com
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
by Clive M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2021 20:40:19

Fantastic toolbox for an extended scenario of mythos horrors and gore in a setting and era which feel like they should be used for way more material!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unremembered
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2021 07:57:02

I had the privilege of being GMed by Heinrich himself for this scenario at JacksCon 2020. What an experience! The scenario is very well put together, with a well balanced and mutually dependent cast of pregens. There are enough clues to keep the investigation moving forward, and at no point did we feel short of something to do. The horror builds nicely from some initial feelings of, "something's really not right here" to a cataclysmic finale. HM writes great scenarios. Check out also "The Great Trap" on this site.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unremembered
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trouble in Pinewood
by Philip G. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2021 09:17:25

Reviewing as a Keeper who is preparing this adventure to run with a group of 4. This is an excellent scenario and an enjoyable read.

Plot: excellent, simple, effective, and very easy to implement in a campaign. NPC: two very well constructed characters with defined purpose, easy to handle. Prep: excellently organized material for two locations, easy to prepare. Feel: very good descriptions and notes.

Looking forward to seeing my players enjoy a good night’s rest at Mrs. Jones’ impromptu hotel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trouble in Pinewood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

THE COMPANY OF THE DRAGON
by Darren S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2021 09:56:13

After 40 years, the Classic RQ supplement 'Griffin Mountain' finally loses its crown as the best RQ sandbox to 'Company of the Dragon'. I didn’t think it would ever happen, but it has, and to such a worthy successor. If you play RQG you need Company of the Dragon. Simple as that.

It is well written, easy to read, and has just the right amount of background information without ever becoming too dense. Episodes are cleverly constructed to allow you to tailor your own campaign to suit, and flexible enough to allow your players maximum agency in telling the story of The Company of the Dragon. And, as if that isn't enough, the essays on Draconic Consciousness, Initiation Quests, and further development of the 'Character Rating' system first seen in Six Seasons, are worth the cover price alone!

Five stars are not enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
THE COMPANY OF THE DRAGON
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Spanish] Calima
by Chinoese c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2021 09:54:35

Oneshot "real" perfecto para 2 jugadores y muy exigente para 1 jugador pero igual de satisfactorio o más. Formalmente lo tiene todo: es una historia original, absorbente, claustrofóbica por momentos, exigente a veces, juega con tu mente y te hace plantearte la salida más difícil. Se intuyen cosas si has jugado mucho a la llamada, pero no es previsible. La maquetación es PRO. Las ayudas, pjs, pnjs MUY completas. ¿BSO de la aventura? un gustazo y un plus. Espero que sea la primera de muchas de este autor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Spanish] Calima
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
¡Muchísimas gracias! Pero, ¿te ha gustado o no? ;D
[Spanish] Calima
by Juan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2021 03:37:38

Aventura escrita con cariño y que fluye en mesa.

Totalmente recomendada, tanto si vas a jugarla con CoC 7th u otro sistema.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
¡Muchas gracias! Me alegro de que te haya gustado. Espero que la juegues mucho y que cada vez sea una experiencia genial.
Six Seasons in Sartar
by Jason F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2021 14:48:39

Fully deserves its status as one of the best RQ products in the JC.

The author has been playing and thinking Glorantha for decades, and it shows. There is a richness to the material that makes it evocative to read, and I would imagine, to run or play. The metatextual quotations from fictional scholars are an excellent way to show how the material can be adapted to the GM's group's own needs. The story episodes have excellent variety, being a mix of moral decisions, combat, skill use, heroquesting, and experiencing what it means to belong to the Haraborn community. An "episodes" chapter sketches out several useful but more generic events, also full of solid details but easily used in this or another campaign.

Minor quibble: The writing is good throughout, and as I've said, the material itself is excellent, so it's a bit unfortunate that its marred by some distracting typos. It could use another proofreading pass.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thrown Voices
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2021 13:23:06

My unnerving fear of old puppets aside, this is a great adventure that would serve as a way to introduce new players to horror role-playing games with the possibility of the Chtulhu mythos being introduced in more detail later on in a campaign. The setting is perfect, if plays up the isolated and claustrophobic atmosphere where the antagonists and... the other guest make this more than just a simple survival horror session but one which puts the investigators against the living and the animated where they must tread carefully. The NPCs are well written and offer a good background piece that can play up the human and horror element. It certainly fits with the 1920s, but it could work in almost any era with a little tweaking by the Keeper The puppet is my favorite element of this adventure, but also the one that I would have liked a little bit more detail on as a keeper. I appreciate that there is openness to the origin and truth of the character, and it could easily be multiple mythos entities like the King in Yellow or a gift from the Crawling Chaos, this gives a suitable template that can be expanded upon as needed depending on how the Investigators follow up. His interactions and motivation seem appropriately ghastly as a horror and mythos creature, but there were some parts that made me crook an eyebrow at the plausibility and feasibility of his abilities and durability. The unnatural strength and damage this puppet can do, especially at the beginning before the changes begin, seems unusual and I would have appreciated a small breadcrumb trail building up to the thing being able to take on humans rather than doing so right out of the start. The broken hand also has me wondering how it could deal the damage if it is made of wood and it is hard to cut with wood. While the page and a bit of how to deal with the creature is a great tool, I know that the investigators and keeper would like more guidance on dealing with the puppet (such as how large does a ‘limb’ have to be in one piece for it to be controlled, how far detached can limbs still be controlled by the puppet, and how would the puppet survive in the ocean as nothing corrodes like saltwater for example) and how a possible combination of the disposal methods would work. As a keeper, I can make judgments but I would have appreciated more outlines so I wouldn’t have to improvise too much when the Investigators propose a solution that falls into a gray area. Small qualms, but I think that the puppet is a great creature that could prove to be a challenge for even seasoned investigators. Overall, a great oneshot shot adventure that is well written and has the opportunity to play with another common fear after the dark and clowns. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrown Voices
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Of Wrath and Blood
by Haden S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2021 09:38:45

The first half of this scenario, where investigators search for the Macario twins in Baltimore, is a solid start to a sequel for The Haunting, promising Children of the Corn/The Omen-style antics as one of the boys is possessed by the spirit of Corbitt. Unfortunately, the second half of this scenario does not live up to that promise, entirely shifting focus to a ghoul’s lair in the LaCroix family crypt with barely any connection to Corbitt at all.

There is a lot of information about the history of the LaCroix family and its ghoul, but as this scenario is written, there’s no reason for your investigators to ever ask about them in the first place. I started rewriting sections to beef up those connections, but once I started revising, I ended-up throwing out 2/3 of this scenario, since I found the conclusion weak as well.

The confrontation of the ghoul at the end is underwhelming and takes away from the potential creepiness of the Macario twins themselves. The only thread connecting LaCroix and Corbitt is the Chapel of Contemplation, but they are invoked in name only, there’s no further information on their motivations or functions to further that plot for investigators unless the Keeper adds them. Exorcising Corbitt out of one of the Macarios should be the crux of the finale, but instead it feels more like an afterthought.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Of Wrath and Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pop Goes the Weasel
by Philip G. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2021 09:17:30

Reviewing as a Keeper who is preparing this adventure to run with a group of 4.

This is an excellent scenario and an enjoyable read. Plot: excellent take on the technical aspect of interaction with the Mythos. NPC: very well constructed characters with traits and hooks. Prep: very well-organized material, easy to prepare, checkpoints are very helpful. Feel: excellent descriptions and notes to support the “70s computer science gone wrong” setting.

Looking forward to seeing my players struggle through the drastic show down.

-- press y to accept --

y



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pop Goes the Weasel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review Philip! Please let me know what your players thought of it, and what their outcome is
Sorrow in Tsavo
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2021 03:35:46

Love the core concept, The Ghost & The Darkness is a favourite movie of mine, so be able to play it is fantastic The module is well layed out & easy to follow, a keeper's dream. Very nice work Bridgett, love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sorrow in Tsavo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 1162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates