DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Starchild from Afar
by Graham [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2024 03:59:57

A splendidly fun scenario: a missing girl, a famous author and an isolated island full of myths and legends. Axel does a great job portraying Härön, which is a fabulous location for a mysterious and unsettling adventure.

The cover art is just perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starchild from Afar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Armies and Enemies of Dragon Pass
by Benn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2024 17:26:39

This is an amazing book - especially for those who are interested in the types of troops and forces in "Your Glorantha", and how warfare is conducted in and around the Dragon Pass. With wonderful illustrations of different troop types - including their trappings and weapons (as well as mounts) - this really helps bring out the way warfare would be conducted from the smaller settlements up to the massive cities and nations across Glorantha.

Even if you don't play RQG, you can still use this book to help establish fantasy or Bronze Age style warfare in your own fantasy campaign world. I was completely blown away by the quality of the product and the effort put into making this a solid RQG product. Buy anything from this author and you will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Armies and Enemies of Dragon Pass
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Benn, Thank you for your comments. Pleased you liked the book.
pixel_trans.gif
52 Hz
by Kyle [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2024 04:42:42

A fun one shot, can be run in one session. Took my players on some unexpected turns, and ended with them crushed by the walls of the submersible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
52 Hz
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
DuckPac - Book 3: Redfeather Dreaming
by Philip [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2024 09:27:55

Great fun! Very well designed, atmospheric, and entertaining. A rough ride if you don't have decent combat skills and armour though. Don't let that put you off - take advantage of any "run away" options that are presented. And it does say "If you do get lost you can always turn to 325", so just... you know... lose your place and do that...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DuckPac - Book 3: Redfeather Dreaming
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Codex Alchemica
by Dave [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2024 14:43:36

I'm sure we're familiar with Herbert West, The Case of Charles Dexter Ward......and various other mentions of the speculative philosophy of Alchemy across Lovecraft's work....and as a fan of more pro-active PCs, I've often wondered how best to incorporate it into campaigns.

Mr. Charron takes great pains to develop the art and science for CoC 7th edition more fully and I'm happy to report that if, like me, you are looking to add further depth to your games, without having to incorporate many new rules, or slightly overbalanced conventions, this is absolutely for you.

A brief overview of contents:

Alchemy – An introduction to historical alchemy, alchemical concepts and an overview of alchemy through the ages. Game Mechanics – A complete system of nuts and bolts Alchemy from research (deciphering incomprehensible code) the interaction of player statistics, skill increases, rules for creating alchemical potions. This, by far, supersedes anything I’ve seen presented for CoC previously Formulary – creations from canon, and a nice selection of the author’s ideas to provide players (and NPCs) with options to heal, zombify and explore other dimensions. Alchemists – notable alchemical voyagers and savants throughout history Codices and Tomes – a selection of reviled and sought-after tomes for the CoC setting…..from the usual somewhat benign to the awful. The Indigo Resin is an excellent sample scenario to incorporate into an existing campaign or use as a springboard to propel your investigators into new adventures. Appendices – Symbols, lexicon and equipment. A fascinating and useful look into alchemical literature and it’s various nuances…often designed to obfuscate meaning and enlighten only the knowledgeable. The section on equipment covers both 1920s and Dark Ages, giving you a fantastic resource to add more depth into your narration and descriptions.

Overall, a thoroughly recommended addition to your Keeper’s arsenal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex Alchemica
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Night at the Opera
by Jazmin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2024 13:08:10

I ran this over 2 sessions with five characters (the duchess and her servants; the doctor and his wife). There were a lot of leads for investigations from the players (and a lot of red herrings for them).

On a minor note-there is A LOT of NPCs to keep track of so had condensed a list written out with a short blurb to refer to.

This is a good introduction to Regency.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night at the Opera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Without Warning
by Zara [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2024 04:17:26

Of my many years of running coc and hundreds of adventures I've read, this is one of the best and is the opening of my new campaign. The adventure is simple. Maps are so simple they are not needed. The setting is a canon: -27 below zero F, players stuck in a situation beyond their control, molested by an unseen force, disgusting climax, terror, desperation, the elements against them. This adventure is much like "the thing" with its setting, but different. Man vs nature, man vs the creature, man vs technology, man vs his fear...its all there in this scenerio. For any keeper who has appreciated the isolation and setting of John carpenter's film: THIS is your adventure....but better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Without Warning
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Call of Cthulhu: Horror at El Dorado Royale
by Thomas [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2024 19:09:23

I was first introduced to Ben Burns' adventures when they released A Time for Sacrifice. Having lived in Mexico and studied Mesoamerican cultures, I was immediately attracted to the idea of fusing their mythos with the Cthulhu deities. Shortly after I finished running players through that, this adventure came out, so I immediately snatched it up. Last night I ran it for the first time. I ran if for a group of six players which matched the number of pre-gens. This is a fairly low-risk adventure for players so you could run it with as few as three players but you will need to redistribute the belongings and skills that go with the unused pre-gens. The adventure is very linear so you should have no trouble completing it in 4-6 hours. My players picked up on the clues quickly enough that they were able to shave one day off of the game time and finished it in four hours. Plusses: Good pre-generated characters and an interesting mystery on a luxurious resort on an island off the coast of the Mayan Riviera. (Okay, I actually moved the resort from the mainland to an island because I was familiar with Isla Mujeres. It was an easy move, though and it made the isolation easier when the party is subjected to a lockdown midway through the adventure.) I also liked that the players are actually encouraged to use their cellphones to research clues. On the downside, there were no stats at all for NPCs so GMs need to be prepared with some generic stat sheets for police, soldiers and resort employees, in case they are needed. Also, the maps provided are pretty, but they don't match the written description of the resort in the adventure. Neither of these issues were much of a problem but the GM needs to be prepared for that. All-in all, it's not a bad adventure for inexperienced adventurers and GM's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu: Horror at El Dorado Royale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Storm From A Teacup
by Dorthe [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2024 01:42:12

I thoroughly enjoyed the scenario. It was my first time as a GM, and I admittedly over-prepared. The scenario proved to be flexible, easy to expand, and even more adaptable to the style of game I wanted to run (more detective than plain horror). I played with just one Investigator (adding a few NPC sidekicks to befriend if needed for companionship), and we had a blast. I've got my eyes on 'Beyond the Stars' for the next time I’ll GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storm From A Teacup
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Million Flavoured Ones
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2024 03:27:57

I had the great pleasure of playtesting this scenario. David has constructed a splendidly nasty little encounter with the mythos in The Million Flavoured Ones. The student investigators begin having a pleasant evening enjoying a tasty takeaway from a local restaurant but things quickly devolve into a nightmarish experience where they discover that there may be more to their favourite dish than they thought. An excellent debut publication, I'm looking forward to seeing what David brings us next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Million Flavoured Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Long Day's Night
by Matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2024 13:29:45

A rapid-fire quick hit scenario that goes from 1 - 100 real fast! The investigators, members of a criminal organization, are tasked to find a missing person when nothing is as it seems.

This scenario plays out well in a three-act structure, complete with descriptions of imagery that send a chill down my spine reading them. It presents a well-fleshed out investigation in which a missing person turns into a deep-dive into the weird with repeated clues that culminate in a terrifying final confrontation. I appreciate the inclusion of a prologue and optional scenes, which give a single session much more depth where time permits.

I applaud the author for including a specific Bout of Madness table that ties in central themes to the scenario itself instead of relying on generic ones from the Keeper's Handbook.

The entire scenario is a refreshing take on the mobster genre that hits you hard fast, and leaves you staring back at yourself, wondering if you're the same person.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Long Day's Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
In Darkness We Wait
by Matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2024 13:22:37

I really enjoy that this scenario has a unique spin on the typical "someone goes missing" trope and does so in a way that really twists things into an unpredictable way (at least to the players). Providing a list of "Clues" and "Key Events" really makes the scenario easier to run from a Keeper perspective.

Inclusion of audio clues really creates an immersive experience that dials up the creepy (even reading it and listening, I felt unsettled in a good way).

I appreciate that the investigators can take on different life between players (as evidenced by both a playtest I was a part of and the How We Roll playthrough of the scenario), which gives a high replayability to this scenario. And really, the investigators feel "real" (not every group has a retired Marine among them to shoot the bad guy!).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Darkness We Wait
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Draconic Enlightenment
by Peter [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2024 12:37:23

A comprehensive look at Draconic Enlightenment and many things dragon/dragonewt related. Includes a discussion of dragonewt passions. Also has a bunch of great looking scenarios.

Really enjoyed reading through this. At once informative and entertaining.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Draconic Enlightenment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ships & Shores of Southern Genertela
by Scott [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2024 07:51:24

Probably the most interesting and well thought through piece of community content I have ever seen. Amazing art, detailed information on ships, seafaring, the myths & religion of seafaring and wonderful fiction. If you are interested in Glorantha this is an invaluable addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ships & Shores of Southern Genertela
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hi Scott, Thank you for your comment. I'm pleased you like the book.
pixel_trans.gif
Korolstead: Secrets of the Smoking Ruin
by Gary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2024 15:22:46

I'm finding this a very difficult review to write. I want to provide a fair review, even while I'm very unhappy with my purchase. The other reviewers were really pleased with the product, I was not.

The Good Stuff: There are a number of maps that you can use to import into your games. The location key includes minimal descriptions of rooms. For RuneQuest GMs, there's a large number of stat blocks and magic items that you can use.

I bought this product with the intent of augmenting the main adventure from The Smoking Ruin (TSR). I spent some time trying to figure out what to do with the material, but I ended up using none of Korolstead.

Problem #1: There's no description of how to use this adventure with respect to running TSR. My best inclination is that this adventure is best used by having the PCs return after they accomplish TSR adventure.

Problem #1a: It would have been really useful if this product included tactical maps of the locations from the TSR (since Chaosium didn't include them in their release). In particular, a map (or maps) of Ernalda's Courtyard would have been a treasure.

Problem #1b: It would have been really useful to have a home base for Vamargic and his minions. That could be a fantastic high-level assault intended to remove his presence forever.

Problem #2: This product includes two scenarios. I didn't find either of these scenarios to be compelling. They largely provide some rationale for exploring other parts of the ruins.

Problem #3: This product relies extensively on random elements, especially for treasure. Some large areas don't have fixed encounters; instead, the GM is supposed to use random encounters from minions or gangs.

I can only recommend this product for someone interested in running a very 1970s type of dungeon crawl. If you do run it as a dungeon crawl, there is a lot of material here. You'll have many hours of exploration for your players.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Korolstead: Secrets of the Smoking Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 2365 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates