DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Cults of RuneQuest: The Lunar Way
by Hannu [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2024 03:49:58

The long wait is over. It was worth the wait. The book also looks beautiful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of RuneQuest: The Lunar Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Highways & Byways - A Wayfarer's Companion
by Torbjörn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2024 14:50:14

As a long-time fan of RuneQuest and Glorantha, "Highways and Byways" is a remarkable addition that stands out for its meticulous detail and dedication to enhancing travel experiences in the game. This supplement offers an extensive guide to the roads, paths, and travel routes of Sartar and surrounding regions, making it an invaluable resource for both players and game masters.

The document starts with essential travel mechanics, covering speed, distance, and time calculations, which provide a solid framework for planning journeys. This ensures that travel in the game feels realistic and engaging. The array of routes covered is impressive, from major highways like the Boldhome-Dangerford road to vital paths such as the Goodale Path. Each route is described with precision, offering insights into terrain, travel times, and potential encounters, making it easy to plan both long treks and short journeys.

Its integration of historical and cultural context sets "Highways and Byways" apart. The authors have woven the lore and history of Glorantha into the travel routes, enriching the gaming experience and helping players immerse themselves in the setting. Practical tools, such as pre-calculated distances and travel times for different terrains, streamline game preparation and allow game masters to focus on creating engaging narratives.

The visual presentation is also commendable, with beautifully rendered maps that capture the imagination and enhance the sense of adventure. The layout is clean and user-friendly, making it easy to find information quickly during a session. The level of detail and effort put into this publication is evident and deserves extra credit. This supplement not only makes the game more enjoyable but also showcases the authors' deep love and understanding of Glorantha.

"Highways and Byways" transforms travel into an exciting and integral part of the RuneQuest experience. Its thoroughness, attention to detail, and beautiful presentation make it a must-have for anyone seeking to explore the highways and byways of Sartar and beyond. It enriches the world of Glorantha, setting a high standard for future publications and enhancing the adventure for all who venture into it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Highways & Byways - A Wayfarer's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Gate of Dusk
by Torbjörn [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2024 07:01:15

"The Gate of Dusk" is an exemplary scenario for RuneQuest: Roleplaying in Glorantha, seamlessly integrating the history and culture of the Locaem tribe from [CHA 4038] Pegasus Plateau. This scenario offers a rich blend of combat, intrigue, and cultural exploration set in the Gate of Dusk's ancient, historically significant ruins.

Players are drawn into the quest for kingship amidst the Locaem's internal crisis post-Dragonrise. The scenario features balanced encounters with scalable difficulty and non-lethal options, enhancing gameplay flexibility. It deepens the political dynamics and continuity of the Locaem tribe, focusing on clans like the Richberry and Zethnoring, aligning well with Pegasus Plateau’s narrative.

Overall, "The Gate of Dusk" enriches Locaem lore and offers a compelling narrative, making it a valuable addition to any Gloranthan campaign, noted for its detailed structure, engaging plot, and memorable NPCs.

"The Gate of Dusk" excels in storytelling, character development, and enriching existing Gloranthan lore, reflecting the depth and richness of the RuneQuest universe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Gate of Dusk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Black Pyramid
by Ari H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2024 05:12:46

I had a lot of fun as a player when the author ran this a while ago. Following a healthy pace, there's a few really good twists, fun characters, and a good mechanic to keep everyone involved in the game throughout. Nyarlathotep as the Keeper's primary force seemed to be like a sick enablism, encouraging the Investigators to unfurl their strings, and ultimately get worse. Terrific fun. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Black Pyramid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Jonstown Compendium Index [2024]
by Diana [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2024 03:12:50

Nick consistently gives information on the whole Jonstown Compendium ecosphere, for a low price. The Index is the best buy on the Compendium, because it makes understanding the rest of your decisions easier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jonstown Compendium Index [2024]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Black Pyramid
by Rachel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2024 21:04:09

As a fan of anything in an Ancient Egypt setting and hordes of bugs, this campaign was so much fun to play! just the right amount of intrigue, suspense, and maggots for my taste. Hugely recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Black Pyramid
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blind Date - A Valentine's Day Special for Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition
by Frank [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2024 07:53:36

Fun little scenario. Best part is probably the speed dating sections which allows for some great little roleplaying moments. Easily playable in one session as the final moments can be ramped up whenever.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blind Date - A Valentine's Day Special for Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Echoes in the Mist: A Regency Cthulhu Story Guide
by Chris [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2024 14:27:29

Brilliant New Concept for Background Material - The Story Guide

Really love this idea of a Story Guide rather than a fixed scenario, as it means games keepers like me can feel less guilty about running the scenario my own way. Part way between a full heavy weight sourcebook and a scenario with a fixed arc this gives a lot of material but no fixed track to use it.

For improvised keepers like me this becomes much more friendly and usable and at the same time i can feel less guilty at taking only what i want to use and ignoring parts as they won't be useful or needed. This is refreshing for me as i often struggle to find scenario's that keep me fully engaged and even those written by great writers i want to change and adapt.

The sheer amount of material here does make up massively for no single tale or structured path being offered. This is truly a mini sourcebook as it gives plenty of background, locations and characters but is not a full sourcebook either and so does not overwhelm with the level of detail.

Its like a very well formed sketch book - like a Da Vinci notebook page - crammed with ideas to spark your imagination but not so bare as to leave you wanting.

I would like to see ,ore in this format and may even try to write in this style myself. I think the format has legs and will be a useful intermediary between the sourcebooks of the publisher and the single tales of many writers.

Overall a 4 out of 5 because i feel that the layout does flit back and forth a little and seems to me that it needed a tad more structure in order of the info presented, but in the whole this is superb and great value for money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes in the Mist: A Regency Cthulhu Story Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Alone Against Nyarlathotep
by Harry [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2024 11:45:14

A simple 5 star review doesn't do this title justice. It's a monumental work and the best solo title for Call of Cthulhu that exists out there in my opinion. It emulates amazingly what a normal Call of Cthulhu session feels for a single player.

I spent 17+ hours in this game and I could have spent way more. The world of this title is full of rabbit holes and leads which you can chase, giving you a perfect sandbox experience. Everything feels alive in this game and the story is not spoon-fed to you. Timekeeping was one my favorite aspects of the game. Sure you can explore every single lead but you need to think smart in order to save time. This brings to my favorite part of the game.

If you spend the time to think logically and smart you get rewarded for it. It doesn't depend on luck to get the best outcomes (besides the usual dice-rolling in battles). Meticulous investigators will reach the best ending and it will feel like they fought their way through hell to reach it. This makes it so much more rewarding.

After finishing this game, I gained so many epic memories from certain scenes in this game that will stay with me for a long time. Being a forever-keeper is amazing but you usually you miss out on such memories.

Do yourself a favor and take the time to play this game properly. Journal, sketch and listen to the recommended music while playing to increase your experience. After you're done, you have the knowledge to run the author's other title " The Legacy of the Lombard House" with minimal prep-work which is a huge plus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against Nyarlathotep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
To Hunt a God
by Gary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2024 15:26:38

This is an excellent scenario. My players and I enjoyed playing it very much. I look forward to other adventures from this author.

The good stuff: The author evokes a strong sense of Glorantha; the voices of the NPCs are well written and evocative of their backgrounds. I particularly enjoyed the concept of bring the PCs into a HeroQuest that isn't tied into their own cults. I appreciated the art for the major characters to display to the players in the VTT.

The author provides a lot of additional details that aren't required for the main storyline. The temple has several interesting places for the PCs to visit. There's a lot of room for the GM to tailor the adventure to their tastes.

Areas for Improvement (some minor spoilers):

Something is weird with the way the text and pictures are pasted into the PDF. That made extracting text and pictures much more difficult than it should be. I ended up retyping more text than I would like and I needed to use another tool to extract the pictures.

Encounter maps for fight scenes would be nice, especially for the encounter with Hrunda. Fortunately, VTT maps for forest areas are easy to obtain.

The author clearly loved developing the rivals. He spends a significant effort detailing their journey through the adventure. Unfortunately, that effort seems wasted after the PCs enter the HeroQuest. The difficulty is that the PCs are traveling in parallel with the rivals; thus, the rival's storyline doesn't really impact the journey of the PCs. The author mentions that the confrontation with the Rivals is the core of the story, but he doesn't really bring that home. Imagine if the PCs have the opportunity during the HeroQuest to rescue Finstaval; do they aid or hinder him?

Is the HeroQuest supposed to be a race between the PCs and the Rivals? It sort of seems like it's a race. I'm thinking that only one sacrifice is necessary. But the adventure doesn't really feel like a race; we simply expect the PCs are the first (or only) group to defeat Hrunda.

The oath of The Talking Tree felt too loose. It would have been much better for The Talking Tree to insist on a specific oath that then has consequences further into the HeroQuest. Then give the PCs the opportunity to take the easy way out and violate their oath or do things the harder way?

There's a lot of nice ideas for additional encounters during the HeroQuest. I would have better appreciated only have a few of these encounters that were worked more tightly into the narrative.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
To Hunt a God
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Million Flavoured Ones
by Lee [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2024 11:08:24

I was lucky enough to be included in the original playtest of The Million Flavoured Ones. This debut adventure from David incorporates some well known but under utilised aspects of the Cthulhu Mythos in an inventive manner which makes for a very enjoyable scenario, one with a culinary bent. The start is fairly low key, a group of students share a take away meal and soon become embroiled in a situation that will seer their very souls. If you like a taste of horror then this modern Call of Cthulhu scenario will tickle your taste buds. Now, what's for desert?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Million Flavoured Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Sironomandidi: Hero Wars in the East Isles - Vol 4
by Nick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2024 04:45:33

"Sironomandidi" is a sandbox setting for the Hero Wars in the East Isles campaign, detailing the large island of Sironomandidi, famous for its cave cities and rival factions of humans and Elder Races. Like "Griffin Mountain," the book introduces an exotic setting providing everything a game master needs to run an extended campaign here, with extensive rumour tables and encounter charts (for the Korolan Islands as well as Sironomandidi) and dozens of pages of more-or-less fleshed-out adventure ideas. Every NPC encounter has tips that could set up a session or more of play. The book is integrated with previous volumes in the series, cross-referencing each NPC’s previous appearances and statblocks. If you’ve followed the Hero Wars in the East Isles campaign so far, you won’t want to miss this latest instalment, which also serves as a great model for creating a character-led sandbox. It’s a remarkable achievement!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sironomandidi: Hero Wars in the East Isles - Vol 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Nochet: Adventurer's Guide (RuneQuest)
by Jerzy [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2024 16:20:51

This is a wonderful labour of love! The fantastic level of detail just brings the city to life!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nochet: Adventurer's Guide (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cults of RuneQuest: The Lunar Way
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2024 08:43:34

Been waiting for this book for a while and it is certainly worth the wait. Excellent expanded write up on the Lunar cults as well as detailed information on (Lunar) Illumination. The artwork is amazing!!!! Thank you very much. I would have liked to see a couple of minor Lunar spirit cults write ups, but lack of them is by no means a lessening the overall product, but keeps me begging for MORE!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of RuneQuest: The Lunar Way
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cthulhu Through the Ages
by Seth [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2024 06:37:44

I have a video doing a quick overview of Cthulhu Through the Ages, which can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7pA3v69wYg



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Through the Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 2365 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates