DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Operation Foxglove
by Mr N. !. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 02:16:17

NB This is a readthrough only review

It's free! Of course I'm going to download it! Should it be free? No, I don't think so! This scenario is really nicely presented and now has the bragging rights to being the first Call of Cthulhu title I have read through set in WW2. Do you want to play around in the snow, blow up trains, kill Nazis and take on a troll? (of course you do, who wouldn't?) then this is the fella for you. So much attention to detail has been put into this scenario that it suggests (along with the zero price tag) that this is a bit of a passion project. It's literally The Heros of Telemark meets Troll Hunter and I love it all the more for it!!! It'a also proof that a great Call of Cthulhu scenario does not need to rely on any of the Cthulhu Mythos (or Yog Sothothery if you will) to still be a punchy, tense and exciting adventure. Although secretly O'le Nyarlathotep is there. I'm always there!!!

Hey Chad! Maybe tick the 'Pay What You Like' box off so people can throw some finacial gratitude your way. (Not me though! The Crawling Chaos pays for nothing!!!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation Foxglove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Catalan] Teixint onades
by Marc M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 01:46:19

Una partida que manté la tensió i l'intriga des del minut zero! Un one-shot ràpid per poder disfrutar amb una tarda! Molt bona feina! Feu-hi una ullada i ja veureu com us vindran ganes de dirigir-la!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Catalan] Teixint onades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Manor
by Kyle T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 14:25:11

A very useful collection of options for helping players distinguish their Manor. It's superseded by Book of the Estate but still perfectly usable in its own right if you don't want to get the other book.

Some options for manorial improvement have been no-brainers; in my group makes a point to get an apiary because its benefits are obvious and apart from the costs and risks of construction has no real downside.

The expanded harvest system works well and gives a considerable number of events to alter a character's adventuring year, and it's given lots of unexpected turns to my players as their choices and the world around them have given them good and bad results accordingly.

If you don't already have Book of the Estate or don't want to get it for one reason or another then this is a good purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fogbound
by Joe H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 09:21:14

I recently ran Fogbound for my group and it was a blast, we took three, three hour sessions to finish. We really enjoyed the investigative aspects and setting. The fact that it's partially inspired by the Goonies was icing on the cake for me.
Fogbound has a spooky atmosphere, and a bunch of interesting NPCs to work with, not to mention all of the cool handouts. As things start to unfold it's easy to get caught up in the old legends of the place they're investigating. I highly recommend Fogbound to anyone considering buying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fogbound
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[French] Malheur sur l’East River
by Pierre-Olivier G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 02:25:02

Malheur sur l’East River est la version française de « The Evil on the East River ». Il s’agit d’un scénario qui se lit comme un film d’action, opposant les investigateurs à un bon nombre de cultistes et à de puissantes entités du Mythe.

Thèmes adultes :

D’emblée, il s’agit d’un scénario pour un public adulte. Le Gardien est prévenu : le modus operandi du Culte de la Graine Épandue est sexuel. Charme, manipulation, expérimentations non consensuelles et usage de drogue peignent le tableau d’un culte débridé et orgiastique. Les descriptions des membres de l’équipage du New England inclus de plus des références au sadisme, au cannibalisme et à la profanation de cadavres.

Je recommande fortement au Gardien qui envisage de présenter ce scénario à sa table d’avoir préalablement discuté et évalué les zones de confort des joueurs. Bien qu’il soit possible d’atténuer certains aspects descriptifs, cette avenue risque d’être difficile : le thème sexuel fait partie intégrante de l’intrigue. Les motivations des adversaires ainsi que la nature de leurs rituels expliquent ce choix thématique de la part de l’auteur.

Superbe présentation :

Dès l’ouverture du scénario, on reconnait d’emblée la qualité de la mise en page. Les filigranes d’images historiques, les illustrations du navire sont au point. On y retrouve deux cartes, celle du New England et celle de North Brother Island. Les deux cartes présentent beaucoup plus d’éléments que le scénario n’en utilise. Ceci offre au Gardien l’opportunité d’improviser si quelque chose déraille.

Le choix des portraits des PNJs en fin de document est peut-être le maillon le plus faible de l’impressionnant travail graphique. Les visages présentés ne semblent pas correspondre à l’âge de leurs descriptions, mais il est facile d’en faire abstraction.

Trois documents sont disponibles pour présentation aux joueurs. Ils sont présentés dans leur langue originale avec un encadré comprenant la traduction française. Ceci a pour avantage de maintenir le cachet d’origine des preuves, tout en permettant aux joueurs non anglophones de comprendre leur teneur.

Jouabilité :

Le scénario est fortement guidé par des évènements provoquant des scènes d’action et d’autres les interrompant. Bien que rédigé selon les règles classiques, je crois qu’il plaira aux amateurs du genre Pulp avec quelques petites modifications. Il vaut la peine de lire la section PNJs au fur et à mesure qu’ils apparaissent dans le scénario afin de comprendre les enjeux et spécificités des différentes rencontres.

Au final :

Malheur sur l’East River est fidèle au Mythe de Cthulhu, et fait référence à quelques gros scénarios new-yorkais, incluant Les masques de Nyarlathotep et Harlem Unbound. Ces références sont bien gérées et ne requièrent aucun achat supplémentaire. Ces références permettent au Gardien d’intégrer facilement ce scénario dans une campagne de plus grande envergure, pour un interlude débridé et plein d’action. Ce scénario est à même de plaire aux adeptes de thèmes adultes avec une tournure « Mythe de Cthulhu ».



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[French] Malheur sur l’East River
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpaca in the Sheep Field
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2021 13:32:47

Ran this last night with 3 of my regulars. They had a fantastic time with this and they loved the ending. They also loved the alpaca (which I named "Tiny" for the group). They're not convinced that it's not a tall sheep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpaca in the Sheep Field
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Horror at Right Hook
by Charles P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 19:41:05

Absolutely fantastic adventure! Great characters, intriguing storyline, and plenty of hooks to help draw your players into the action. Definitely a treat for any GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Horror at Right Hook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storm From A Teacup
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2021 09:30:01

NB this is a readthrough and not a playthrough review.

Here is proof that a great cover can 'stir' your interest (excuse the pun). Also, being an Englishman anything featuring the word 'Tea' is going to draw me in like a moth to a flame! This is a very solid scenario jam packed with Keeper advise and possible outcomes. In some cases it is so well backed up that it could prove difficult for a keeper to stamp their own mark on it, however, that is a minor gripe. It is cerebral in it's devising so has the feel of a more sedate crime procedural. So if you like your adventures to be more Columbo-esque then this is a great scenario for you. In fact I'm pretty sure you can 'think' your way throughout 'Storm From a Teacup' without throwing a single fist or firing a single shot. That's not to say you have to! There is a great little epilogue at the end that gives me the impression this may well continue into another scenario.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storm From A Teacup
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Catalan] Teixint onades
by Adrià P. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 17:15:36

L'aventura està molt ben explicada i és original. El misteri és de la terra i això dona punts extres. Molt bona feina!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Catalan] Teixint onades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Horror at Right Hook
by Robin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 09:21:46

This short, fun story is the perfect length for a one-session adventure. The built-in hooks, well-crafted NPCs, and interesting set pieces will keep you thoroughly engaged. It's well-written to stand by itself as a one-shot, but the author has given good instructions on how to slip it into your existing camapaign, maybe as an interlude between adventures, or as the prologue to a much longer campaign. It is set in the classic Cthulhu 1920s NYC, but has potential to be adapted to other Call of Cthulhu eras, and other urban centers, wherever and whenever you need a mysterious fight club and secret society to appear in your game. And if you just want to use it as a one time break between other games, it has several unique investigators that you can just hand out to your group and hit the ground running.

Don't be a heel or get caught with your gloves off, get The Horror at Right Hook for your group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Horror at Right Hook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four-Bit Characters, Volume 1
by Warren G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2021 12:08:02

Theses are amazing they have their own theme and look great so happy I picked theses up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Bit Characters, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Autopsy
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2021 20:45:20

With the right group, I think this could be a heck of a memorable scenario. It deals with some profoundly upsetting stuff, though, so it's not going to be to every group's tastes. You should definitely know your group and maybe check in with them about their comfort levels with certain stuff. I don't want to get into spoilers, so I'm not getting into specifics. The scenario does give you options for keeping it from getting too nasty.
Though likely best as a one-shot, I'd be curious to see what direction characters who survive it might go in. Good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Autopsy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

La Recette
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2021 08:17:13

$1.75! I mean come on what are you expecting to get for $1.75? The answer is, rather surprisingly, a hell of a lot. The premise is a great one, nice and dark too, not far removed from a Coen brothers movie. For those of you who love some Deep South Voodoo action then this is definately the one for you. La Recette by the way is French for the recipe (I had to look it up!) and within a few paragraphs it was clear to see what needed to be done and why the author chose the title. This is a really well thought out adventure but also open enough to enable the keeper to stamp their own mark on the scenario. There are a few issues that could be ironed out, but that is me just nit picking! The pulp magazine layout works a treat too. Top work!

This is a scenario that needs to be played and I am keen to try it out. I will return later to detail just how it plays out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Recette
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carousel of Fears
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2021 03:34:00

Disclaimer: I have had a few conversations with the author of this work prior to reviewing 'Carousel of Fears'. So imagine my concern when I finally gave her scenario a thorough read through and discovered just what a dark, twisted and depraved mind this seemingly encouraging and kindly individual harbours!!! This scenario is DARK wow! Obviously this is a good thing. We don't want to be playing a horror roll playing game where the closest thing to horror is a lacklustre Scooby Doo reject. Not here! No siree! What you do get though is an indepth foray into psychological horror. It is easy to visualise, and for me the visualisation was in broad day light, which is something of a feat in itself. The post apocalyptic setting does not detract from the scenario but if it wasn't your bag then you could easily place this carnival just about anywhere in a Lovecraftian (technically Chambersian!) setting, Carnivals move from town to town right? (Something wicked this way comes indeed!). I love the advice on how to shorten the scenario and it's so simple 'This Attraction is Currently out of Order. We Apologise for the Inconvenience!' Great stuff and especially great for those looking for something a little more visceral in gameplay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carousel of Fears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I cannot thank you enough for such a glowing review. Thank you for your support, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I really, really appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy it!
I cannot thank you enough for such a glowing review. Thank you for your support, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback. I really, really appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy it!
The Prisoner's Dilemma
by Pierre-Olivier G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2021 20:33:04

T. A. Newman's first published scenario, 'The Prisoner's Dilemma' is a testament to its author's dedication. It is a juicy piece of reading, greatly complemented by Holly Chadwick's apt horror illustrations. The props, created by PropsWithInkDrops are on point, and Eon Images' work makes the plans of the HMP Dartmoor look like the work of a professional architect's office.

Newman's writing style is evocative and has an horrific flair that will help players and Keepers alike in depicting their environment. If you are fond of 'boxed' text, you will find that most of the map entries come with an abundance of them. As a Keeper, I'm more of the 'paraphrase it' school, but I still have to tip my hat to the work and love that went into it.

There are some very strong horror scenes, notably the original and varied depiction of creatures, and these made me shudder deliciously.

I'd have liked a page-by-page layout instead of a double-page one, however. It would have greatly improved PDF readability for me. Mind you, the map folio probably explains the author's choice of layout.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Prisoner's Dilemma
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 1162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates