DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
St. Dymphna's Orphanage: Azathoth's Children
by Mr N. !. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2021 05:47:50

NB This is a readthrough only review

A delightfully delicious, foray into the sinister world of 1920's orphanages. I loved the whole set-up for this adventure, and what an adventure it is! Feeling like a story that has jumped out of the pages of a classic 'Boys Own Magazine'. A bunch of orphans set against a cult of Azathoth led by the wicked Matron Gray. A kind of gothic noir not unlike 'A series of Unfortunate Events' 'The devil's Backbone etc etc. The Cover art is spot on and easily draws the eye towards it. Unfortunately, this cover is a little let down by the lack of styling within, however, I'm tempted to believe this styling could possibly be deliberate, the bland beige and no-nonsense text fit the feel of the scenario as if it was an official document of St. Dymphna’s Orphanage. Still, a few more photos or pieces of art may help to encourage a reader to stick around. Another minor gripe is the requirement to play entirely as boys (or at least a strong leaning towards) I think most keepers could handle running investigators in separate locations. I would suggest either biting the bullet and calling St. Dymphna’s Orphanage an orphanage for boys or trust in the keeper's ability and throw in some female orphan pregen investigators.  Once again these are minor gripes.  St. Dymphna’s Orphanage has a great little Mcguffin in the form of Azathoths Music Box, a music box used to put the orphans to sleep with maddening consequences.

All of these features, including a well laid out map of the orphanage and in-depth room descriptions, helped assert the cinematic scope (I found myself visualising it's movie trailer in my head!) of St. Dymphna's Orphanage: Azathoth's Children. (I look forward to part 2!)

In all this is a great scenario and an ideal way to encourage young players into the maddening world of Call of Cthulhu, and because of this, it gets the Ole' Crawling Chaos's seal of approval!!! 



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
St. Dymphna's Orphanage: Azathoth's Children
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Cheers for the review and the feedback! I'm delighted that you enjoyed the scenario. Playing the game as all girls is also encouraged! Players can choose their genders as the pregen investigators are androgynous. The same goes for the NPC orphans, who's gender should be determined by the Keeper. *Although I will admit, the chosen names that can be used for both boys and girls are more commonly used for boys.
Carousel of Fears
by damon l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2021 17:21:33

Recently had a chance to read through the scenario in preparation to running it the upcoming weeks. I really enjoyed the color coded tips to help keep all the information together. It has a great feel for how the game should feel, but also leaves enough room to add in your ideas. I would highly recomend this scenario to anyone looking for something a little off the beaten path of CoC scenarios.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carousel of Fears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2021 02:11:15

Six Seasons in Sartar, for Runequest, really is an excellent quality book, and im not just talking about the bindings [which are great], but also the writing, design layout and organisation of this book. Honestly, this is absolutely the best way to introduce a new group of players [and/or a new group of player characters] to Runquest, and especially to the world of Glorantha.

frankly this book is mesmerising. the inclusion of heroquesting themes and preludes to world changing [Glorantha] events, shown here had me, as a gm just reading through the materials, completely absorbed.

one of the best adventures i have ever read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Houses of Teshnos
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2021 10:57:19

This is a really good supplement which is much needed as there is little published material for this area of Glorantha. With this a GM can really get down and plan out a campaign. I would like to see some sample scenarios and perhaps some sample NPCs, but one heck of an effort. Looking forward to more similar material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Houses of Teshnos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 18:56:29

Quick review of the softcover. Fun scenario, well laid out with a lot of great art, maps and handouts. The added environmental rules are great and can easily be ported to any other scenario (homebrew or otherwise) that takes place in an extreme cold environment. That aside, I do have a couple of nitpicks.

1) The book could have used another pass at proofreading. There are a number of typos and random odd characters here and there, a few in the middle of the boxed text the keeper reads out to the players. All easy to work around however. 2) There are a number of NPCs included that can be used as pregenerated characters, which is a great thing, but the stats are a small box that is a little odd to print out and use at the table. It would be great if they were full size character sheets. (Just a personal preference.)

Again, these are minor nitpicks, this is an overall fun scenario, it took my table about 12 hours to run and they had a blast.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Pipeline: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1980s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Operation Foxglove
by Mr N. !. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 02:16:17

NB This is a readthrough only review

It's free! Of course I'm going to download it! Should it be free? No, I don't think so! This scenario is really nicely presented and now has the bragging rights to being the first Call of Cthulhu title I have read through set in WW2. Do you want to play around in the snow, blow up trains, kill Nazis and take on a troll? (of course you do, who wouldn't?) then this is the fella for you. So much attention to detail has been put into this scenario that it suggests (along with the zero price tag) that this is a bit of a passion project. It's literally The Heros of Telemark meets Troll Hunter and I love it all the more for it!!! It'a also proof that a great Call of Cthulhu scenario does not need to rely on any of the Cthulhu Mythos (or Yog Sothothery if you will) to still be a punchy, tense and exciting adventure. Although secretly O'le Nyarlathotep is there. I'm always there!!!

Hey Chad! Maybe tick the 'Pay What You Like' box off so people can throw some finacial gratitude your way. (Not me though! The Crawling Chaos pays for nothing!!!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Operation Foxglove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Catalan] Teixint onades
by Marc M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 01:46:19

Una partida que manté la tensió i l'intriga des del minut zero! Un one-shot ràpid per poder disfrutar amb una tarda! Molt bona feina! Feu-hi una ullada i ja veureu com us vindran ganes de dirigir-la!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Catalan] Teixint onades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book of the Manor
by Kyle T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 14:25:11

A very useful collection of options for helping players distinguish their Manor. It's superseded by Book of the Estate but still perfectly usable in its own right if you don't want to get the other book.

Some options for manorial improvement have been no-brainers; in my group makes a point to get an apiary because its benefits are obvious and apart from the costs and risks of construction has no real downside.

The expanded harvest system works well and gives a considerable number of events to alter a character's adventuring year, and it's given lots of unexpected turns to my players as their choices and the world around them have given them good and bad results accordingly.

If you don't already have Book of the Estate or don't want to get it for one reason or another then this is a good purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of the Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fogbound
by Joe H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 09:21:14

I recently ran Fogbound for my group and it was a blast, we took three, three hour sessions to finish. We really enjoyed the investigative aspects and setting. The fact that it's partially inspired by the Goonies was icing on the cake for me.
Fogbound has a spooky atmosphere, and a bunch of interesting NPCs to work with, not to mention all of the cool handouts. As things start to unfold it's easy to get caught up in the old legends of the place they're investigating. I highly recommend Fogbound to anyone considering buying it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fogbound
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[French] Malheur sur l’East River
by Pierre-Olivier G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2021 02:25:02

Malheur sur l’East River est la version française de « The Evil on the East River ». Il s’agit d’un scénario qui se lit comme un film d’action, opposant les investigateurs à un bon nombre de cultistes et à de puissantes entités du Mythe.

Thèmes adultes :

D’emblée, il s’agit d’un scénario pour un public adulte. Le Gardien est prévenu : le modus operandi du Culte de la Graine Épandue est sexuel. Charme, manipulation, expérimentations non consensuelles et usage de drogue peignent le tableau d’un culte débridé et orgiastique. Les descriptions des membres de l’équipage du New England inclus de plus des références au sadisme, au cannibalisme et à la profanation de cadavres.

Je recommande fortement au Gardien qui envisage de présenter ce scénario à sa table d’avoir préalablement discuté et évalué les zones de confort des joueurs. Bien qu’il soit possible d’atténuer certains aspects descriptifs, cette avenue risque d’être difficile : le thème sexuel fait partie intégrante de l’intrigue. Les motivations des adversaires ainsi que la nature de leurs rituels expliquent ce choix thématique de la part de l’auteur.

Superbe présentation :

Dès l’ouverture du scénario, on reconnait d’emblée la qualité de la mise en page. Les filigranes d’images historiques, les illustrations du navire sont au point. On y retrouve deux cartes, celle du New England et celle de North Brother Island. Les deux cartes présentent beaucoup plus d’éléments que le scénario n’en utilise. Ceci offre au Gardien l’opportunité d’improviser si quelque chose déraille.

Le choix des portraits des PNJs en fin de document est peut-être le maillon le plus faible de l’impressionnant travail graphique. Les visages présentés ne semblent pas correspondre à l’âge de leurs descriptions, mais il est facile d’en faire abstraction.

Trois documents sont disponibles pour présentation aux joueurs. Ils sont présentés dans leur langue originale avec un encadré comprenant la traduction française. Ceci a pour avantage de maintenir le cachet d’origine des preuves, tout en permettant aux joueurs non anglophones de comprendre leur teneur.

Jouabilité :

Le scénario est fortement guidé par des évènements provoquant des scènes d’action et d’autres les interrompant. Bien que rédigé selon les règles classiques, je crois qu’il plaira aux amateurs du genre Pulp avec quelques petites modifications. Il vaut la peine de lire la section PNJs au fur et à mesure qu’ils apparaissent dans le scénario afin de comprendre les enjeux et spécificités des différentes rencontres.

Au final :

Malheur sur l’East River est fidèle au Mythe de Cthulhu, et fait référence à quelques gros scénarios new-yorkais, incluant Les masques de Nyarlathotep et Harlem Unbound. Ces références sont bien gérées et ne requièrent aucun achat supplémentaire. Ces références permettent au Gardien d’intégrer facilement ce scénario dans une campagne de plus grande envergure, pour un interlude débridé et plein d’action. Ce scénario est à même de plaire aux adeptes de thèmes adultes avec une tournure « Mythe de Cthulhu ».



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[French] Malheur sur l’East River
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpaca in the Sheep Field
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2021 13:32:47

Ran this last night with 3 of my regulars. They had a fantastic time with this and they loved the ending. They also loved the alpaca (which I named "Tiny" for the group). They're not convinced that it's not a tall sheep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpaca in the Sheep Field
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Horror at Right Hook
by Charles P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 19:41:05

Absolutely fantastic adventure! Great characters, intriguing storyline, and plenty of hooks to help draw your players into the action. Definitely a treat for any GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Horror at Right Hook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storm From A Teacup
by Clym A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2021 09:30:01

NB this is a readthrough and not a playthrough review.

Here is proof that a great cover can 'stir' your interest (excuse the pun). Also, being an Englishman anything featuring the word 'Tea' is going to draw me in like a moth to a flame! This is a very solid scenario jam packed with Keeper advise and possible outcomes. In some cases it is so well backed up that it could prove difficult for a keeper to stamp their own mark on it, however, that is a minor gripe. It is cerebral in it's devising so has the feel of a more sedate crime procedural. So if you like your adventures to be more Columbo-esque then this is a great scenario for you. In fact I'm pretty sure you can 'think' your way throughout 'Storm From a Teacup' without throwing a single fist or firing a single shot. That's not to say you have to! There is a great little epilogue at the end that gives me the impression this may well continue into another scenario.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storm From A Teacup
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Catalan] Teixint onades
by Adrià P. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 17:15:36

L'aventura està molt ben explicada i és original. El misteri és de la terra i això dona punts extres. Molt bona feina!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Catalan] Teixint onades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Horror at Right Hook
by Robin H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 09:21:46

This short, fun story is the perfect length for a one-session adventure. The built-in hooks, well-crafted NPCs, and interesting set pieces will keep you thoroughly engaged. It's well-written to stand by itself as a one-shot, but the author has given good instructions on how to slip it into your existing camapaign, maybe as an interlude between adventures, or as the prologue to a much longer campaign. It is set in the classic Cthulhu 1920s NYC, but has potential to be adapted to other Call of Cthulhu eras, and other urban centers, wherever and whenever you need a mysterious fight club and secret society to appear in your game. And if you just want to use it as a one time break between other games, it has several unique investigators that you can just hand out to your group and hit the ground running.

Don't be a heel or get caught with your gloves off, get The Horror at Right Hook for your group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Horror at Right Hook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 46 to 60 (of 1152 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates