DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2021 01:31:18

What a marvellous book. I have been priviledged enough to experience this mini-campaign as it was being sculpted by Nick Brooke. Sculpted from an amalgam of deep, deep Gorthantha lore and a scattering of popular sculture. But on reading the book, I am so pleased to discover Nick's customary foot-notes which are like his asides at the game table. This adventure may not be for every table - if your group resent a Moonson that looks like Elvis they may not relish Bowie as Argath, and some tables might feel railroaded once or twice - but it should be for every GM. It is an obeject lesson in making myth in Glorantha, and particulary for GMs new to the world (hello starter kit) it works as an insight into the complex history of Glorantha, the history if Runequest the game, and a primer on handling surreal heroquests in your bronze age world. If you are a new GM who wants to look like a seasoned pro, this is your vade mecum.

As a playester, I also got a preview of some of the art by Mike o'Connor. but the full PDF has much much more. Its great, in a style that fits the heroquesting vibe - very different from the "archeological illustration" of much recent RQ content, but which i feel might well suit the glaze of actual Gloranthan pots and mosaics.

A must for every GM's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Harald S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2021 18:11:05

Hang onto your chariot! And get ready for one wild ride over the rainbow into a technicolor wonderland and the heart of darkness. This extended RuneQuest adventure puts the characters front-and-center in a far-flung heroquest engaging with movers-and-shakers at a seminal moment in the world of Glorantha. My first reactions were: "brilliantly mad", "wickedly delightful", and "gloriously illustrated" (in no particular order).

For the gamemaster, the Black Spear demonstrates how to get an epic quest underway and bring the adventurers right into the mythic events that drive the world. It maintains a well-thought-out flow yet is filled with useful advice, thoughts, and humor on how to run each session - even musical recommendations to get players into the right frame-of-mind! The wonderful illustrations with their graphic novel feel feed right into this and provide plenty of possible handouts to help players envision what they've landed in.

For the players, it's an opportunity to step out of a hard-and-fast rules mentality and into a seriously entertaining and memorable story. This is the Yellow Submarine, Neil Gaiman's Sandman, Apocalypse Now, Mad Max, and more rolled into one non-stop adventure. By the end, they'll be ready to dive head-first into the Hero Wars (or frantically trying to stop it!).

For newcomers to Glorantha, the Black Spear plunges you right into the magic of a world that have kept many engaged with it for years. For old-timers, it's a wonderful homage to favorite RuneQuest settings done over in new and intriguing ways that will get you out and boogieing big-time with the newtlings.

A wildly delightful plunge into RuneQuest and Glorantha. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2021 17:00:06

I was sadly unable to be part of any of the play testing of 'Black Spear' but nevertheless, was enjoying regular generous updates from Nick as the work progessed, contributing honestly not much beyond the occassional guffaw and "this is -expletive removed- amazing ". And it kept getting better.

So though the final finished product is, in the words of Thomas Jefferson, "too many damn pages for any man to understand" that's mainly due to they're being jam-packed to overflowing with sweet, sweet Gloranthan goodness. But for those of you mythological diabetics out there or the functionally illiterate just buy this product for the reality altering, simpy stupendous Mike O'Connor art alone. Buy it now. There you've been told.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Chris G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2021 15:51:17

I was one of the playtesters of this scenario, so had the privilege of experiencing its wonder, excitement and adventure at first hand. From my adventurer’s limited perspective, it was everything I could possibly want – high-stakes quest, travelogue, dungeon-bash, wargame and heroquest taking us from Dragon Pass to Pavis by the scenic route, encountering diverse Gloranthan cultures and playing my part in the unfolding Hero Wars. However, now I get to see the whole pack laid out, the paths not taken , the vast mythic vistas and the depth of imagination and research, I am truly awestruck. This really is the Gloranthan scenario you are looking for. We agreed to follow a relatively simple railroad in our approach to this scenario, and the others which appear in Smoking Ruins and Pegasus Plateau, because our group is limited to about a game a month and we don’t have the time to sandbox. Played this way, ‘Black Spear’ is an exciting way to bring standard Colymar tribe Sartarite adventurers like the pre-gens in the core book or the starter set, or from Six Seasons and the Company of the Dragon, out to Prax, the River of Cradles, Sun County and Pavis. But it is so much more than that. Nick presents a palimpsest of novelties overlaid across familiar locations from Runequest’s past and vibrant present. A group using a freer, sand box style, will find themselves treading in the footsteps of Borderlands, Pavis and Big Rubble of RQ2, Shadows, River of Cradles and Sun County of RQ3, not to mention the Sandheart series and the Nomad Gods Board game! All of which is held together with a heroquest around a central myth of Glorantha, rather than minor obscure cults prepared for a scenario. If you have played the standard RQG character creation and scenarios, or followed the Six Seasons route, or found your way into Glorantha via the reprinted Classics, or (dare I say it) Nick’s earlier scenario, ‘Duel at Danger Ford’, this is absolutely the next scenario you have to get! Your adventurers are in for an utter treat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Greta G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2021 11:18:14

Black Spear is a triumph. This adventure synthesizes together many of the more forbidding, obscure, or occultated aspects of Glorantha, a setting notorious for all three of those things, and does so in a way that's directly approachable, with the author explaining his reasoning as he goes, offering alternate pathways at each juncture. This takes the form of a symbolic journey through the ruins of older Gloranthan games and scenarios, right into the heart of darkness, all held together by a collage of cultural references- here a reference to first-person shooter video games and especially Half-Life, there a reference to classic folk horror, and over here is a reminder that classic cartoons have their place in Glorantha.

The overall result is something that I think could be run for a group of newbies or grizzled veterans of the Hero Wars with equal ease, something which allows players to engage in a bit of psychological role-play, and something that allows you to perform a lingual, or linguistic, or at any rate cunning act on a frog woman. (You can also have regular fights if you like, elsewhere in the adventure.) Strongly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Masks of Nyarlathotep - Prologue - Peru Pack
by Petermartin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2021 21:52:52

Excellent selection, well detailed. I have not run through them yet, but everything has a good, authentic aestheic. Really helps set the tone. For reference I am using it with Foundry VTT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthulhu Maps - Masks of Nyarlathotep - Prologue - Peru Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bearwalkers
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2021 20:47:17

Very good stuff. This is exactly what is needed, information that can be used in a Gloranthan setting as well as for those who do not play in Glorantha.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bearwalkers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Argan Argar Atlas
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2021 09:02:17

While the maps are comprehensive and exhaustive in this product, I deducted a star because there are no roads shown. On a scale of eight miles per hex there is no excuse for displaying major roads.

I also deducted a star because the key is only printed on the large-scale overview maps, and are unreadable; a comprehensive map is of little use without a key.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Argan Argar Atlas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Grindhouse: Volume 1
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2021 11:06:36

Very happy with the two senarios, well written and good handout print quality. Have played the Crimson King last night and it was enjoyed by the group. Perfect little one-shot or a jumping of point for a larger senario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grindhouse: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dregs of Clearwine
by Greta G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2021 18:20:26

If there is any setting for a fantasy role-playing game that benefits from a deep dive into a tiny section of a single, relatively small urban area, it is Glorantha. And Dregs of Clearwine is a fantastic book in that genre, because it allows you to construct your own webs of relationships between people for your own cities. Much like Gidlow's Citizens of the Lunar Empire, an essential product in my library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dregs of Clearwine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Grindhouse: Volume 1
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2021 18:04:57

From the cover with the Double Feature to the core material... it drips with timeline flavors. Layout is clean with alternating text to steer GMs from setting and ruling data. Cram packed with goodness... ok, evilness. A steal at twice the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grindhouse: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Casket Girls
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2021 19:37:11

Recently, I soloed my way through Tales of the Casket Girls (1$ at DriveThruRPG). It is an investigative adventure for Call of Cthulhu 7E, but I used the older 5th edition ruleset. I used the Solo Investigator’s Handbook as the solo engine. I did use the six characters which are included in the module. They are on a quest to find a missing person in the French Quarter of New Orleans in the 1920s.

I was planning on following the module, but the solo engine took things in a different direction when a secret door was found at the very first location (a home with a study). So, it turns out that the villain has the power to turn an ordinary hardback book into a Portal Tome. In the study, Elijah touched an odd book that had a smeared title name on the spine of the book. He did not make his saving throw. He opened it up, looked at the moving symbols, and then he knew there was a secret door nearby. He found it, walked through it, and then discovered a portal. The others could not follow him through the portal. It was a bizarre place, The Dimension of Portals. He did lose some sanity, he did get “infected”, and he did find a portal to bring him back. The bookstore was their second location. They found another portal book and they did not touch it. It was at the third location that all hell broke lose and yes Elijah eventually attacked the party. He was no longer human. So, they completed the mission, but only three characters survived, and they became members of The Order of the Daughters of the Temple Knights. Maybe you will have better luck. Great fun! Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Casket Girls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome!!! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! And thank you for the review! It is greatly appreciated! Sorry, I didn't know I could reply to reviews. Otherwise, I would have replied a lot sooner.
The Grindhouse: Volume 1
by Connor W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 17:06:08

Fantastic stuff and a great price. Grindhouse Volume 1 is very no-nonsense, it knows what its doing and it gives it to you straight. The intro (trailers?) section does a tremendous job to map out how everything is put together, which is really appreciated by the busy/lazy Keeper, who just wants to get to putting their players through the grinder. The preamble also does well to show an awareness that everything below can and should be plundered, pillaged, ripped apart and put back together for your own use, which is an absolute foundation to good module writing. The content warning is comprehensive and mature. No spoilers but the scenarios themselves are very nice, with clear inspiration coming from The Things We Leave Behind, and Fear’s Sharp Little Needles, but with a tremendous amount of time, care, and Devil’s details that ‘Fear’s’ scenarios could not supply for obvious reasons. A really nice job has been done to differentiate between two games (in terms of style and mood) that otherwise have a lot of commonality. The design is simple but effective, the almost modern-day but not quite time-period is a nice niche, and the book certainly reaffirms all the worst things I have heard about the 70s and 80s. This is just a reader’s review, but the read being so quick and easy has been all the more encouraging for me to arrange my own Double -Feature screening as soon as I can.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Grindhouse: Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Grindhouse: Volume 1
by Matthew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 10:14:11

This is a great buy for the price. You get a Grindhouse double feature that is well-written, immersive, and perfectly caputures the grindhouse horror of the 1970s. It is a refreshing take on Call of Cthulhu games as, it seems, players/Loremasters are limited to the 1920s, or maybe the late 1800s via Cthulhu by Gaslight. Having a setting option that is a tad more contemporary is great, especially if you just want to run one-shots for your gaming group. The modules are organized well and are quite helpful for Loremasters who may be new to running Call of Cthulhu games. This product is a steal at this price. Buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bootleg Whiskey, Liquor, Champagne & Wine
by James O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 02:37:29

A fantastic scenario! I had a blast (as the Keeper) playing through this and the group loved it too. There is a great variety of vivid set pieces and I really enjoyed the nods to the Evil Dead movies (the trees in the woods) which were a lot of fun. The written presentation is excellent - really evocative with a fantastic selection of pictures and photos that evoke some great characters for the DM to roleplay; the map helps with instantly giving a sense of the overall geography of the story and the flow chart really helped me to attain a quick grasp of the material. Character sheets are all ready to go and are built into the narrative in satisfying ways! One of my favourite things about this module is it's use of Lovecraft's mythos - the nightmares and use of The Colour Out of Space (which is a personal favourite story) give it a sense of doom and the otherworldly which is lacking from some scenarios (that just feel regular horror scenarios). I can't wait for the next release!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bootleg Whiskey, Liquor, Champagne & Wine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates