DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Boss: A Tale of Dark, Distilled Secrets in a Bottle
by Kieren O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2024 18:41:45

This is a very solid scenario. Has mafia connections, cults, moonshine, most things I like having in my stories as a keeper. The players enjoyed it, which is the main thing, and we ginished the sequal last session.

It took us maybe 2ish sessions to play and set up a bunch of other hooks. I am glad i bought and ran this scenario, I would recommend it to anyone



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Boss: A Tale of Dark, Distilled Secrets in a Bottle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Back to Balazar- A Griffin Mountain Companion for 1625
by Angus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2024 16:41:09

It's odd, but I have never actually run a game in Glorantha set in Dragon Pass.

On the other hand, Balazar is like an old friend to me. This volume expands upon and updates the timeline of Griffin Mountain in such a way that it fits in with RQG, including backgrounds and current rules. But in so many ways it is old Balazar, but just a bit better.

If you love this land as much as I do, take a look at this excellent volume!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Back to Balazar- A Griffin Mountain Companion for 1625
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Back to Balazar- A Griffin Mountain Companion for 1625
by Jeffrey [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2024 14:48:32

Back to Balazar makes the classic sandbox Griffin Mountain (by the legendary late Jenelle Jaquays) shine anew for the new RQG ruleset, and updates things for the almost decade that followed. This book nicely complements Harald Smith's Edge of Empire, by the way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Daniel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2024 02:20:20

This is not a Core Rulebook - the description in store is straightforward lie and be aware of that before you buy this book.

There is NO setting description - only one chapter about being the knight but nothin about lands, country - anything. Nothing about religions, magic - why such things should be in CORE Rulebook Also as a GM I don't know how should I run this game - no NPC, no stats, no guidelines how to prepare adventures etc.

At best it is Player's Handbook and even if treated like that it is incomplete. You can create characters from ONE castle (yes one, it is not a joke) from one region - and there is no description of it

And there are lot of references to other books (seriously?) which are not even published.

So it is a money scam not a game ready to play. I don't know why it was published and advertised that way and frankly I don't care. Im going to call it what it is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lost and Found: a travel scenario for Call of Cthulhu
by Peter [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2024 05:25:38

A cracking little scenario that can be played on its own or as part of a larger campaign (for which advice is given). I had the pleasure of playtesting it with the author and it was a blast!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost and Found: a travel scenario for Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Pavel Date Added: 06/16/2024 01:21:29

Lots of typos and the fillable character sheets are fundamentally broken. This wasn't proofread or checked for bugs.

Otherwise, I like it. I just wish it wasn't released haphazardly and without all of the books that it references in its text.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ruins of Bonn Kanach
by Gary [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 19:19:08

This scenario is on the lower end of acceptability. I was able to use it without too much difficulty and the players enjoyed the session.

The Good: The opening is strong. The map of Stone Cross is well appreciated; especially since the follow-on scenarios use the village. Lauren Whitemane is an interesting enough character. The initial encounter is very clever and plays well to the man-beast dynamic in the valley.

The maps of the ruin interiors are functionally useful, but are lacking in detail. These maps would reasonably fit into an adventure written in the 1970s or 1980s, but are lacking for a modern audience. Most of the tactical maps fit well into the VTT environment and the scaling was reasonable. The map for the citadel, however, is way too big.

The area descriptions underneath the arena are boring. The GM is supposed to randomly generate the contents of the room and any treasures that can be found. The randomly generated room contents are mostly one-line entries like "Large pile of firewood." This might have been acceptable in the 1970s, but I expect far more from a scenario writer in the 2020s.

Spoilers Follow:

There's a dangerous predator that lairs inside the arena. However, the location of the lair is not specified. There is no description of the lair and no associated treasure with the lair. There are several areas specifically detailed within the arena, but strangely this area isn't detailed.

The cliff tombs are boring. Each tomb has a small random chance of an encounter and minor treasure. It's way too repetitive and seems to exist simply to chew up time. Only one of the tombs is interesting. On the other hand, it did seem realistic that the tombs were looted by other adventurers long before the PCs show up. It makes sense, but it's not interesting.

The bugheads were an interesting inclusion in the scenario. There are some interesting non-combat options available here.

I chose not to present the aquifer to my PCs. While there are some room descriptions, the entire area is essentially bereft of interesting content.

The citadel is another large area similar to the arena. It has several areas described in some detail. But the rest is randomly rolled room contents, creatures, and treasure. This is very disappointing.

Finally, the scenario indicates the canopic jars are a key element to some master plot in Beast Valley. But no reference is made in part 2 of the campaign (Velhara's Mirror). The promised part 3 has never been released (as of June 2024).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Bonn Kanach
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Chimes in the Dark: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario
by Kat [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 17:39:07

Very interesting concept with a lot less of a known creature of the mythos. I run for a very seasoned group of players who know a lot about the mythos, so this definitely kept them on their toes! fantastic game, definitely a fun thing to run in the Old West setting! Only thing I would say is to TW your players for possible eye horror!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chimes in the Dark: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blight at Gold Bluff
by Kat [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 17:34:43

It's a super great book! This has a lot of interesting content, and comes with a few handouts! It comes with some good world-building that allows for a really well-thought-out environment! My group had a great time playing through this and they enjoyed it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blight at Gold Bluff
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Blair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2024 15:50:09

I found that the reboot of the setting in 7th Sea 2nd edition was very well done and interesting. The inclusion of more inspirations from other regions of the world was nicely done as was the rebalancing of how magic works in setting. The mechanics of the 2nd edition, however, just did not click with the group that I play with. We found that it the framework of the gameplay and rules was too light in places we wanted more structure and that it involved a lot of additional work for the person running the game. I know that many people have enjoyed the system, so I would just suggest that you do a little research about it before buying the game if your intent is to run the game with its own system.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Alain [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 14:10:32
  • Nice theme, well covered<br />
  • Nice quotes<br />
  • Very nice character sheets.<br />
  • d20 systems are not my cup of tea (5% skill increment is not a good idea in RPG IMO)<br />
  • Horrible layout eg. outlines and also the annoying third columns which is sometimes on the left, sometimes on the middle and sometimes on the right.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pendragon: Core Rulebook
by Chris [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2024 09:09:11

I was greatly looking forward this but I'm now greatly disappointed. The book should not be called "core rulebook' it should be called a player's handbook. It constantly tells you about something at a high level only to pull the rug out from under you and then say you need a completely different book that isn't even published yet. It's frustrating as heck.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Haunting Sequels [BUNDLE]
by Poul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2024 14:52:05

If you like The Haunting getting this bundle is a no-brainer. There is so much potential for using the scenarios as is or with small modification to chain it into the beginning of a campaign centered around the events in The original and the dark secrets it hints at.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunting Sequels [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Echoes in the Mist: A Regency Cthulhu Story Guide
by Matt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2024 12:03:49

This is a unique approach to Regency Cthulhu and horror in general. Instead of providing a set of railroad tracks for players to go with, this creates a sort of "story sandbox". More bones than a standard setting guide, but more freedom than a typical scenario.

And that's where this story guide shines.

The entire experience is written to become deeply personal to the players, creating relationships, bonds to be broken, playing on their fears, and instead of having a giant finale where you fight a giant mythos entity in a guns-blazing, smoke-filled room, the players have ultimate agency in their fates. It feels incredibly Lovecraftian that things are happening without the requirement of staring some eldritch horror in the face.

This not only has the power to be a new way of writing settings/historical backdrop pieces, but will excite your table with strong character interactions instead of forced railroads and required scenes. Let the world fall as it may.

All hail the Silent Shouter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes in the Mist: A Regency Cthulhu Story Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Carousel of Fears
by Poul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2024 13:06:59

Where to start? This scenario is dark, twisted and evil and I love it. Its quite brutal and perfect for a one-shot experience. Buy it, read it and torture your players with it!

The pre-gens are fantastic and the SPOILERSHIELD DONT READ FURTHER IF YOU ARE A PLAYER

Imaginary friend is a stroke of genous.

11/10 would buy again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carousel of Fears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 2365 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates