DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 11:18:59

Outstanding scenario for CoC 7thEd in the tradition of Hills Have eyes/Texas Chainsaw. Starts in media res with a high speed chase that creates immediate edge-of-your seat excitement to escape and descends into gruesome horror from there. Well designed. Has a soundtrack you can pick up and even a youtube trailer teaser for context. Another solid scenario from Ian Christiansen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bad Day at Duck Rock
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 07:05:08

A 'Western' Runequest adventure! Loosely based on a classic movie, Bad Day at Duck Rock is a great adventure and solid place to start a campaign! The story and setting reminded me of the old Spaghetti westerns: A one armed duck comes into town, looking for the varmints that done killed his buddy's parents and torched their farm. The adventure includes memorable characters, fantastic art, and over thirty pages of stats for the adventurers to encounter! The Village of Duck Rock is detailed and rich, making it a perfect place for adventurers to use as a base to explore the nearby area in further adventurers. I for one liked that it wasn't set in Prax. I love Prax, but it was nice to see another side of Glorantha. Looking forward to future releases!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bad Day at Duck Rock
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Nicolò M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 05:28:07

This adventure is fun and psychedelic. Illustrations fit perfectly with the writing, which is easy to read yet deep in Gloranthan lore and customs.

As a noob RQ DM, Black Spear is very easy to use and it perfectly helps you feeling the Gloranthan vibe.

As a non-native English speaker, the writing feels smooth and easy enough to follow.

Be aware the adventure presents very few combats, so of your players like those, you'll have to add them by yourself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Nicolò! Prompted by a discussion on Reddit, I've added a one-page bonus download, "Violence is Always an Option," suggesting extra combat scenes you can add to every Act of the scenario (if your players are into that sort of thing). No statblocks, because I don't know whether your adventurers are trollkin-victims or Harrek-murderers. You'll find it in your DriveThruRPG Library or on the product page if you log in before visiting. Hope this helps!
LEGION
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 02:34:54

The art and layout of this supplement are first rate. The Broo literally leap out of the page at you (p.11 and p.25 anyone!). Any one of these monsters would make a great arch-enemy for a band of PC's. The pack is rounded out with some fun (?!) new diseases and a simple Apple Lane-like scenario. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LEGION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Simon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2021 01:59:34

This is a glorious piece of work is full of heroism, fun and creativity. Nick weaves an unforgettable story, which I am dying to run. The artwork by Mike "The O'Connor" is a 1970's Moorcockian psychedelic delight, but also utterly Gloranthan. This bundle of wonders reminded me why I love Glorantha and Runequest. It is top of my gaming to do list. Bravo to the creators!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Jacques v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2021 07:34:14

Not a fan of how the rules are structured, especially not the inclusion of two bulleted lists that contradict each other. The ruels as written don't appear to make much sense, honestly. The artwork is great, but that's pretty much the only thing I liked about this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Tom S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 21:12:28

One of the most epic adventure packages ever put together by anyone. It may take you awhile to get to running it, because just reading it is to be savored. My previous benchmark for a campaign pack was Griffin Mountain. Then came Six Seasons In Sartar/Company of the Dragon. Now we have Black Spear. What a time to play RuneQuest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Michael O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 18:39:45

Greg Stafford memorably said Glorantha is the "technicolour cure for bland pseudo-medieval generic fantasy" and Nick Brooke's Black Spear is that dictum written in letters larger than The Block!

The sheer audaciousness of Nick's plot makes my head spin. His deep dive into Gloranthan mythology both respects the sources, and is so, so gameable and fun. Here your player characters get a chance to directly interact with the RQG Hero Wars metaplot: no danger of standing idly by while the great and the good do heroic deeds, the PCs are right in the thick of it and can influence events in ways that still have me blinking in wonder.

Longstanding fans of the setting will get a chance to revisit familiar places with entirely fresh eyes, and lucky newcomers to Glorantha are going to quickly discover they're not fantasy roleplaying in yet another pseudo-Middle Earth. On a personal note, I'm delighted that Black Spear is the most detailed source yet published for the recent history of Sun County (1625-7).

'The Cradle' (from 1983's Pavis: Threshold to Danger) is an adventure of such epic scope that RuneQuest gamers continue to talk about it for decades after playing through it. That scenario takes the player characters down the River of Cradles, whereas Nick's Black Spear takes them on a journey up the same river (and, via the Five Eyes Temple newtling disco, through a mythological progression into the very heart of darkness). But, just like 'The Cradle', I'm certain players of Black Spear are going to be excitedly sharing stories about it for years to come too. It's that good. In fact I'm calling it now: in the game's 40+ year history this is one of the greatest scenarios ever written for RuneQuest and the world of Glorantha. And it's certainly one of the most beautifully illustrated, thanks to Mike O'Connor's radiant colour art!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 08:39:02

By Page 3 I'm listening to the suggested music, by Page 5 I'm itching to run the adventure The writing is evocative and has the right amount of Gonzo for the setting for example “which has been sitting there like Chekhov’s phaser” Nick passes on lots of handy advice on how to run the adventure; “I appreciate that this may not work for every group, and urge gamemasters to use a degree of maturity and sophistiction calibrated to their own gaming group.” It is filled with wonderful artwork by Mike O’Connor.

By the PDF and hope a physical copy appears



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 07:55:02

There's already 64 very good critics ! I just want to say, once again, that this campaign is awesome. Just because of the very nature of it ! I think this is for the players and the GM one of the best way to discover an orlanthi clan, together, and for the GM to understand what "Your Glorantha will vary" means. Really and in depth. "Old" RQ players/GM will be extremely pleased and new ones will discover Glorantha, certainly, in one of the best way you could imagine. As some kind of a special mention, I will highly recommand it as a starting campaign for new RQ players/GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Taliesin a. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 07:50:18

Wow!

That's really the thing that comes to mind - especially as this adventure goes further and further along. It actually reads much more like a novel than an adventure -but a novel in which the reader (the PCs/players) are actively involved.

I'm not sure that it's going to be the best intoduction to Glorantha (and, by extension, G:RiG), because it's packed full of lore, as well as hints and snippets to a LOT of other material out there (and, I'd suggest, GMs should be well aware of this before diving in). But if you've already done Six Seasons in Sartar, then getting into this won't be so hard. But, even if it's still a bit challenging, there's plenty of friendly people (and me) over at BRPCentral who'd be more than happy to point people in the right direction, or answer questions.

If you're moire into hack'n'slash, this isn't your book. While there's certainly a bit of that here, that's not the main purpose.

For the grognards, it's awesome! This is a real labour of a lot of long-time love of Glorantha and all that Greg was aiming at! Seriously Nick - Greg would be uber-proud/happy!

I really like some of the consequences of decisions made, and the justificastions for them (no spoilers!) - they cut to the heart of Glorantha and Orlanthi culture.. I also like some of the alternatives offered, especially at the end of the book, for those who find it too trippy.

One suggestion I may offer - a few more alternative options in various places for those not Orlanthi.

Also, I did find that towards the end (Act 7), that it was much harder to follow... what's part of the scenario? What's just fluff? What's the GM supposed to be doing with it all? It's definitely not a play by the numbers adventure at this point.... (NB: I'm a bit of a literalist and pedant...)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cups of Clearwine
by Austin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 01:13:42

Cups of Clearwine is a delightful volume. Well-presented with Kristi Jones's lively portraits, and dozens of smaller graphic touches, this RuneQuest supplement illuminates Clearwine Fort's "middle class" with crystal clarity. It builds upon BWT's previous Clearwine volume, while still welcoming readers unfamiliar with that work.

My favorite part is probably the short adventure, in the appendix. Delightfully strange, it serves as a great way to introduce players to the community with a truly "Gloranthan" plot. I also love the sidebars describing work and daily life in Clearwine Fort. These details—including glassmaking, waste management, and even a troll-friendly snack recipe—bring the setting to life.

Cups of Clearwine is an inspiration for myself as gamemaster and writer. An absolute gem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cups of Clearwine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Nick U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 15:13:05

It's beautiful, it's brilliant... it's bloody bonkers. More than a game supplement, Black Spear is a literary event and the reinvention of a genre. Something special just happened here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Titan Incident
by Alexander T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 01:17:17

I ran this scenario for my group a couple of yeara ago. They had a great time although the pregen characters led to more than a few double crosses at the climax! I've been playing a fair bit of Mothership lately, and with a bit of adaptation this could be run pretty well with that system. The author might even consider republishing it for Mothership and sell some more copies!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Titan Incident
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Alexander! I've spent the last week or so reading through Mothership myself and am eager to spend some time running it and producing content for the game. I'm not sure I'll translate this scenario over but I've got some scifi material I've been working on in bursts that I think would be ideal for Mothership.
The Folly of Ponsonby-Wild
by Raymond I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2021 17:29:09

The scenario theme is British horror set in a green and pleasant land. The principle location is a bucolic downtown Abbey style hotel facing a dark Cuthuloid menace but interlaced with shades of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and Poirot (if you are not familiar, Christie wrote Murder on the Orient Express along with many other whodunnit novels) plus a touch of Jeeves and Wooster. One minute the investigators may be eating a delicious cream tea in idyllic rural surroundings, the next they are dealing with a grisly murder. This is all rather fun and my players found it highly entertaining while their characters found it terrifying. The action and the clues are all set in one location with not very many NPCs, so it is very suitable for beginner investigators. It could also easily be adapted for pulp Cthulhu if you wanted to ham up the English period characters.

The scenario is an entertaining and well written read well worth the purchase price - even if you never run it. However after the first read through my immediate reaction was “this is fantastic and I have to run it!”.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Folly of Ponsonby-Wild
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 1162 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates