DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Death is the Final Escape
by Cedric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 12:26:37

Brilliant! The chase scene was definitely thrilling and I'll rememeber it forever! The detective work done by players is also a change of pace from what I'm used to but really fullfilling and mentally stimulating! All in all a great module to create wonderful memories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death is the Final Escape
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tradition: Sandheart Volume Three
by Diana P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 09:39:48

This is a well built book which goes with the beginnings in the first two, although it's got adventures which will stand alone. I loved running it, and building up to the Main Big Problem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tradition: Sandheart Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest: Weapons & Equipment
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 12:03:12

Wow. I have owned RuneQuest products for three decades, since the Avalon Hill boxed set. That game came with a mythic version of Europe I used- I just couldn't get the hang of Glorantha. I've read many books since, but nothing has immersed me in what the world of Glorantha would be quite like this book did. Seeing the armor and equipment was one thing, but reading about regional foods, currencies, trade, and even seeing examples of shelters and an idea of what I can do with my ill-gotten loot helped me switch gears from bog-standard D&D-style fantasy into the Mythical bronze-age fantasy of Glorantha. It's not just a gear guide, it really does help wrap your head around Glorantha. Well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest: Weapons & Equipment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storm From A Teacup
by Craig P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 12:55:34

The use of tea as a central theme in this scenario is a great idea! I also appreciated the generic location which gave me the flexibility to slot this into my ongoing campaign set in 1929 Chicago. I simply popped my investigator on a bus out to a more rural location. It's refreshing to see a scenario which isn't pinned to Arkham or the surrounding area. I also ran this as a single-player game and it worked, though I'm using Pulp, and I did rewrite somewhat heavily.

There are a few proofing and editing issues but nothing major. The Table of Contents includes an incorrectly named NPC: Charlie/George the bouncer. This error repeats on p.9 in the boxed skill section. It looks like an edited change of name to avoid duplication with the Chief of Police which wasn't quite changed throughout but I could be wrong. There's a partial sentence on p.6: "and get a better idea for..." I'd love to know what that was going to say!

I made some fairly major changes before I ran it. I dropped the final cult reveal as unnecessary. I combined the two Bad Guys into one and the two rituals into one (and the two goats). I held back on the tea reveal for my investigator to uncover at the speakeasy. I was a bit confused about the location of the Tea Factory...separate building, I guess? I produced a map for Pineview as well as plans for the Barn, the Tea Emporium and the ruins. I gender-flipped Freddy and Tommy to female bootleggers to bring some balance to the all-male cast.

Formatting is spot on. The Miskatonic Repository publishes a standard which a lot of scenarios seem to ignore! This scenario also features a great spread of skills with ample choice to go through scenes via different skilled routes. It's again refreshing to see this.

From this tea-drinking Englishman, I'd like to say: Cheers! And thank you!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storm From A Teacup
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hammersmith Haunting
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 06:24:07

A tightly written scenario with memorable NPCs (Shotgun Granny!) and an interesting premise. The interior layout and artwork is superb. This is a great example of the power of Call of Cthulhu for learning history as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hammersmith Haunting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carousel of Fears
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 07:52:02

A very well written and presented scenario. Have neither played nor run it, but definitely worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carousel of Fears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Six Paths
by Niamh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 04:32:06

Ok after talking to the creative team this is a full edit and repointing of my original review.

I have adjusted my score from 1 to 4, I did consider scoring it a 3, but the book is essential very good, the artwork is excellent, and there are good ideas running through it. I'm not 100% behind this book, that one paragraph still annoys me, but knowing what the author is trying to get across has calmed my rage as it were.

I still have issues with the text of the one paragraph explaining if vindan and nandai are trans. I would prefere it to say yes they are (to the most part), but with differences to mordern trans people mainly because of being brought up the heortling culture. This would be a more inclusive statement and build upon peoples exisiting assumptions and relatable frames of refference. By saying they arent, (this still feels somewhat exclusionary) and then trying to explain what they are after removing any common ground the reader might have, is making more work and in this case I dont think enough space was given to explain what the author was trying to convey. This is where I saw a differnent way to interpret the words than the authour had intended...which lead to the book upsetting me enough to write the one star review.

As goes the two rune spells I have issue with, a small amout of flavour text justifying their place in the book and world would be all thats needed for that gripe to be brushed under the carpet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Six Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Catcott Collection
by Tomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2022 11:02:27

Great idea to make a 1 Keeper/1 Player adventure. Excellent psychological adventure that really has a sense of the rwality-bending disorienting horror akin to the Yellow King within in! Recomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Catcott Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Six Paths
by Greta G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 18:27:15

Full disclosure: I am credited as a sensitivity reader on this book.

The Six Paths goes a long way towards opening up the space of possibilities implied by the six genders enumerated in the Runequest core book, and does so in a very charming and delightful way that's truly beautifully illustrated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Six Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Carl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 02:51:50

A great scenario that is so huge that it can also be described as a mini-campaign. Its great but I would recommend that you read it at least 2-3 times before you run it. Its not the easiest scenario to run. But well worth the effort.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Duel at Dangerford
by Carl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 02:50:02

A great scenario that puts the PCs into great action.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Duel at Dangerford
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Carl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 02:49:16

Probably one of the best roleplaying campaigns ever written and a great introduction to the Glorantha setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cut to the Chase: Dramatic Chase Sequences
by Colin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2022 15:32:06

A fantastic addition to my regular 7th Sea game! The new mechanics enhance dramatic scenes seamlessly without adding unnecessary rules or slowing down the fun! I'd love to see a variant for naval chases!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cut to the Chase: Dramatic Chase Sequences
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'm really glad you like Cut to the Chase. In Bloody Misadventures, my naval combat supplement for 7S2, I devoted a sidebar to using these rules for sea chases. I'll reprint the pertinent below, but the short(er) version is: don't do it. :D "Chases at sea are long, tedious affairs. Barring a chase weaving between the scattered islands of an archipelago, high seas pursuits have no Obstacles. Depending on the prevailing winds, a determined pursuit can take hours, even days! Playing out a seafaring chase over several rounds just draws out the inevitable." But Bloody Misadventures has a whole bunch of other things to worry about with sea battles. The chase is the least of your worries.
[Chinese] Levenfish Variation-列文菲舍变例
by Sparrow F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2022 10:45:20

关于下棋:

因为我对国际象棋一窍不通所以就不对模组里的规则是否适用于现实象棋相关进行赘述了。仅作为游戏规则来评价,我认为作者在阐述规则时应当以易于理解为目的进行引导与概述,而非需要读者通篇阅读完毕后才能在脑海中形成一个大致轮廓。比如胜负的判定方法应当在开头给出,读者才好由其中各项指标去具体阅读其规则,就好像模组一开始给出的模组真相一样,只有知道了它守密人才能对模组整体有大概的把握。其次,这个游戏规则本质上是一种数值与骰点的比拼,当然如何分配具体数值是需要pl自己的策略,但总体来说因为kp的工作量会比pl大很多,容易造成kp本身觉得还挺有意思时pl已经颇感枯燥的情况。特别是在模组前期每日对局是必要流程时,如何平衡这种游戏体验不对等是给守密人出的一道难题。

关于模组主体:

首先,既然作者已经基本设定好pc背景与可能的行动方式了,不如把秘密身份完全改为预设卡。之所以这样说是因为我考虑到模组设置的一个重大难点,即达成HE要求士兵或骑士其中一方叛国。即便是如今的世界依然在因为意识形态不同而纷争不断,更不用说冷战俊峰,一个苏联人民与美国间谍能说是完全水火不容了。在这样的情况下,如果pl将pc设置为完全忠于信仰,那么达成HE非常艰难。譬如若士兵是一个坚定的唯物主义布尔什维克,要让他短时间内相信超自然事件并愿意以此为基准将情报交给美方间谍几乎不可能;同样,作为美国间谍的骑士,在政治宣传下坚信苏联是背离人性的恐怖帝国时是不可能愿意在牺牲CIA同事的前提下与苏方妥协的。而除了HE之外作者给出的只有核战争和单人逃脱路线,可以说是将自由度限定得非常死。那么不如从一开始就给出设定好背景的预设卡,给士兵和骑士一个可能摇摆信念的空间,这样更能让pl有达成HE路线的可能。

其次,是秘密身份设置不均衡的问题。尽管我能看到作者在描述中将城堡的路线阐述得尽量有趣的努力,但这依然改变不了拿到“城堡”这一身份的玩家和其他玩家的游戏体验不处于同一水平的事实。他在模组中的作用更像是一个npc,而不将他变为npc的唯一理由便是象棋游戏,但象棋游戏正如我前文所说如果把握不好pl很容易感到枯燥。然后是主教,虽然看似他掌握着关键信息,能通过与士兵或骑士的交流引导结局走向,但模组前中期基本靠回忆拿情报的方式过于机械化,同样容易让玩家感到无聊。纵观模组,士兵与骑士的游戏体验是高于主教的,而主教后期的体验又比城堡好得多,所以如果守密人和玩家都对象棋游戏不算太感兴趣,那不如简化下棋部分并将城堡的位置变更为单纯的npc。

最后,关于自由度问题,这个模组乍一看比大部分线性模组自由度高,但如前文所说,要达成阻止核战这一路线调查员们的行动实际上被卡得很死,究其原因到底是因为模组难度高还是因为自由度低见仁见智,只是对更偏爱沙盘的人来说,本模组可玩性并不算太高。当然,如果玩家都是那种愿意遵从作者思维,本着演一场惊险刺激的谍战片的心态来游玩的,也许效果会不错吧。

接下来是作为一个稍微有点历史和科学常识的人的大量黑泥

关于世界观:

就平行世界是低人一等吗非要扯进量子力学?日本人喜欢滥用这个理论作者也要跟着乱用?何况大部分日本作者还知道扯个薛定谔的猫出来,知道本质是用宏观尺度来试图阐述微观尺度的‘一个封闭系统中因为引入外部观测所产生的能量让处于叠加状态的量子确定形态(常见于确定电子所处位置)’的一种假说,本模组作者倒好举的邻居小孩踢球这个例子和这些八竿子打不着关系。真的不必强行扯上科学理论来验证世界观的合理性,因为错误应用只会闹个大笑话!

关于时代背景:

冷战是一个严肃的时代背景,而作者既然选择了这样一个背景就要接受来自读者的严密审视。比如调查员手册里“双方均处于疯狂发展科技及军备,但显少发展为荷枪实弹武装冲突的状态之下”这句话个人就不敢苟同,不说别的就拿中国人最熟悉的抗美援朝举例,这不就是冷战格局之下局部武装冲突的典型例子?还有越南战争,这个可以说是极大影响了美国社会的事不配被列入重大事件表里?都提到嬉皮士了,为什么不去查查嬉皮士的起源是什么,不去查查‘反战潮’、黑人运动、‘垮掉的一代’、越战士兵安置问题?还有,模组里只提到种族隔离政策的结束,怎么不提提3K党第三次崛起,哦轻描淡写的‘激烈抗议’就够了?至于苏联那边的背景,我认为新蝙蝠侠里一句‘为什么上世纪共产运动失败?因为太艰苦朴素了。’都比作者给出的信息更深刻客观。顺便针对和模组一起下下来的log:作者有什么资格看不起赫鲁晓夫火柴盒?看看纽约冻死的流浪汉,看看高价挤在鸽子笼里的小市民,自带家具的公租房就是厉害啊?还有士兵那个一股小乔布尔亚味道的背景给我整笑了,算过时间吗?当时赫鲁晓夫才上台几年?斯大林统治下士兵卡还能搞个这样的背景出来作者还给过了只能说离离原上谱。 当你没有真的去看过自己列出的参考书目而写就的这个背景下的模组。只会让对这段历史了解过的人感到这个模组是真的在搞笑。麻烦不要装中立,直接说出你的想法可比模组里让我无时无刻不在感受到你实际的意见要好,毕竟我可以选择不购买不看。调查员手册也好,模组内列举的例子也好,让人不由感叹一句只要我在这里避重就轻一下,在那里浓墨重笔一下,这样我就是最强的春秋笔法人了! 顺带一提,看到资本主义社会生活的我:还不是被苏联衬托连夜补课,咋不说苏联解体后待遇连夜缩水

最后:

本来还在好奇作者列出那么多参考书籍怎么历史背景还能写成这样,在看到冷酷游戏的那一刻我就懂了,行吧,整个模组创意就是对于电影的拿来主义,那我也没什么好说的,半星。 *希望作者明白语病问题会导致装逼失败。(同时也不利于kp阅读)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
[Chinese] Levenfish Variation-列文菲舍变例
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Six Paths
by Jape V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2022 11:12:46

Very interesting content about myths, cults and the society of the Heortlings, and all gorgeously illustrated. One of the best ways to show why Glorantha is so unique.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Six Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1356 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates