DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Viral: A Modern Call of Cthulhu Scenario
by Debbie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2022 03:56:25

I was lucky enough to play this with Bud as Keeper during one of the pre-release playtests. I played Corrina, who was a lot of fun to play and it's nice to see that my feedback from the session was taken on board, in the form of an additional handout in the released version.

The scenario is presented as a live streamed episode from "Spektral Krew" an esablished team of ghost-hunters with a reasonable following on You-Tube and comes with the pre-gens for the Krew.

There is suggested back ground watching for Keepers/Krews new to Ghost Hunting shows to get an idea of the feel of the "show", tips for how to use other investigators if pre-gens aren't your thing and some pointers for how to come at the scenario from a completely different angle if a You-Tube show doesn't do it for you.

We'll stick with the Spektral Krew who are:

Marco Proudfoot, the founder, boss and lead investigator Corrina, the psychic Enoch, the muscle Peter, the camera guy Hyun, the sound guy and Maya (an NPC) the editor and producer who coralles the team from her home in London

Each of the Krew has a secret that works as a roleplaying hook and leads to some very interesting game play at the table.

For this episode Marco is taking the team to a pair of islands off the coast of Italy which have never been investigated by ghost-hunters before in a bid to increase subscribers to the channel and 'Go Viral' by hitting the magic million followers. The islands are shown as completely bare on most maps, but Maya has discovered that there are several buildings on the islands and that the larger of the two was previously home to an order of monks who cared for the sick in the days of the plague. With that kind of history there's bound to be residual energy left over from all the suffering and death caused by such a disease, where better to look for ghosts right?

The main island has several locations to explore with a couple on the smaller island, where the Krew land for their investigation. Each location is richly detailed from the outside giving an atmospheric view of the place with further descriptions for internal exploration where appropriate. It is not necessary for your Krew to investigate all of the locations to reach the finale of the scenario. In fact it can be played over 1 to 3 sessions, with suggested show itineries and locations to investigate depending on the amount of time your Krew want to commit to play.

There is plenty of guidance for Keepers and two unique ways to keep the scenario moving, the first being Maya, who encourages the Krew to keep to the show's agreed itinery as she has VTs queued up to mix in when they need to break to set up the next scene etc and is also keeping an eye on the time, the second being the comments from the viewers who let the Krew know what they're finding interesting, point out things the Krew may have missed and maybe draw on their own knowledge to explain things they're seeing to the Krew, they can also donate money via the "Super-Chat" to urge the Krew into interacting with the scenery.

Some new rules, the Sight, the Taint, Paranormal Phenomena and a adapted "Insanity and Bouts of Madness" results, are included. These are well explained and suit the scenario beautifully. Three sets of encounter tables are presented with advice on working them into the scenario depending on the "show" time. The player handouts are well thought out and will work well for both printing and VTT use.

One of the best bits of Keeper advice comes in the form of a hints from Bud section. A nice addition that makes it feel very personal (in a good way).

All in all a great little scenario, which I intend to run for my home group next time they agree to take a break from fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Viral: A Modern Call of Cthulhu Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[Polish, 18+] Zgrozy: Dyabelarium — Dłonie Nyarlathotepa
by Piotr N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2022 16:14:04

"Dłonie" zapowiadają się niesamowicie, bardzo ciekawe rozwiązanie zarówno pod kątem wykorzystania mechanik Zewu, jak i samego "lore". W ramach PDFa dostajemy dokładnie to co zostało opisane w "About" - opis czym/kim jest tytułowa Dłoń, kilka tabel do losowania bóstwa i ich woli oraz parę przykładowych postaci, które zostały Dłonią. Bardzo dobra ilość przykładów użycia (oraz sugestii) pod kątem pisania własnych scenariuszy. Na pewno wykorzystam jak w końcu będę pisał coś własnego dla moich graczy



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish, 18+] Zgrozy: Dyabelarium — Dłonie Nyarlathotepa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of the East Isles Vol. I
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 11:11:27

An excelent source work on an area which could use a lot more detail than what was available before. Love the adventures and looking forward to volume 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of the East Isles Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bog Struggles
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 15:04:11

Another nice one shot adventure by Ludovic that can be inserted literally anywhere. Pop it in a bog in Prax along the Zola Fel if you want. Anywhere in Dragon Pass will do. And Ludo's artwork is great. For $3 it's a steal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bog Struggles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 09:39:47

Paul Fricker delivers a great scenario, and John Sumrow's cover art completely captures the essence of this highly lethal and dreadful adventure on a whaling boat in the South Pacific.

We've run this three times, including two times at Origins. It's a great convention scenario, and will remain a go-to in our repetroire. We offer a full review and our notes about running at cons over at our blog, Prospero House Publishing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bog Struggles
by José V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 11:25:59

A nice liitle setup and adventure, with a little twist.

It will be nice to know what will the author original setting for this adventure. We know it's generic, but, I always love to know the context of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bog Struggles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpaca in the Sheep Field
by Stuart S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 05:39:54

A wonderfully well thought out scenario with a great twist at the end. Alpaca is short enough for a single evening session. Would highly recommend!A wonderfully well thought out scenario with a great twist at the end



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpaca in the Sheep Field
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Annals of Flint's Detective Agency: The Case of the Stolen Golf Clubs
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 04:13:33

Has the feel of an amature product. A REALLY GOOD amature production. It is not quite a polished as I would like, and could use a good editor, but there is a interesting story here. For a while I thought it was a bit predictable, but it subverted my expectations, and ended up a very origional story. And you can't beat the price.

I hope the author publishes more works.

Warm regards, Rick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Annals of Flint's Detective Agency: The Case of the Stolen Golf Clubs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Brothers
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 04:08:56

Non-mythos adventures based on B Horror Movies. 13 short adventures, I would say 8 are excellent, 3 are good, and 2 are dull. (Looking at you zombie apocolyse.) Also several adventures felt like they were playing it for laughs more than I was happy with. (Tho, you don't have to GM it that way of course.) I don't feel that this is quite a 5 star product, I would rate it 4.5 stars. If you like the idea of low-budget-movies horror, this is a must buy. Even if you are looking for some non-Cthulhu adventures to mix things up a bit, I would suggest you consider this.

Warm regards, Rick.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Brothers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alone Against the Flames
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 04:00:49

I was very impressed with this product, it was a nasty puzzle and I felt a real frizzion of horror playing it. There were a few errors in my copy, but nothing big enough to derail the adventure.

Warm regards, Rick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against the Flames
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alpaca in the Sheep Field
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2022 16:13:19

I had the unique pleasure of playing this scenario with the writer acting as Keeper. This is an immensely fun little scenario with a great setting and fantastic twist towards the end, which will keep your players on their toes. Stop messing about and just buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpaca in the Sheep Field
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu Investigator Handbook 7th Edition
by Edward N. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2022 15:44:22

Chaosium delivering an exception product, again. Beautifully designed and laid out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu Investigator Handbook 7th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heinrich's Call of Cthulhu Guide to Character Creation
by Stuart S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2022 03:52:10

Used this for rolling characters for a one-shot. Very intuitive with so much detail. Especially pleased to see options for non-binary characters too. A highly recommended addition to any Keeper's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heinrich's Call of Cthulhu Guide to Character Creation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Premiere of the King
by oliver b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2022 22:48:56

This is a nice easy to run adventure which keeps it simple and is in a great location, seedy Hollywood! There are not enough scenarios around LA IMO. Can I ask though? Why do so many Miskatonic Repository scenarios have opium dens?? Ah the good old days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Premiere of the King
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2022 22:16:23

A phenomenal piece of raw 70's grindhouse adventure from a bunch of incredible writers that ties all together into an incredible romp. Would absolutely recommend making use of the Pulp Cthulhu ruleset in conjunction with this if you don't want a real, REAL gritty experience, but hey, I'm not your boss or a cop, do what you want! Bought this and the handout pdf for it as well and got a great handful of sessions out of it, which could've been expanded even more, but the adventure very felt it'd run its course for the group of players I was putting through it. Very, very pleased with this product and I've bought a number of the other offerings from the authors as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Highway of Blood: A Call of Cthulhu Scenario for the 1970s
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1378 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates