DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Nightmare in the Moonlight
by Phaedra F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2022 11:08:36

"Nightmare in the Moonlight is a prime example of a scenario faithful and representative of the life and works of HP Lovecraft himself in a way unlike most other adventures I’ve seen (it even includes an NPC heavily modelled after the man himself!). The scenario PDF contains a fun, fast-paced and Sanity-driven adventure, but is also an encyclopaedia of information on Providence and Lovecraft’s life and work taking place there. It includes timelines, maps, photographs and illustrations to make any game you set in Providence come to life!"

Read the rest of the review here: https://www.starsareright.com/post/nightmare-in-the-moonlight-review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nightmare in the Moonlight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DuckPac - Book 1: Myths, Lore and Legends
by Taliesin a. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2022 00:40:59

Definitely a good introduction and summary to the Ducks of Dragon Pass in one easy to read book! If you're going to be using any of the duck areas around the Upland Marsh, a new GM (and even more experienced ones) really should have this.

I really like this book, and in particular the fact that the authors took the stance that the Durulz should be sesen as serious, real, legitimate people in the world of Glorantha - and not some silly comic-relief as has been seen in the past. Only the occasional puns are included (which were clearly intended).

The writing is quite clear and fairly logically ordered (although, I would have put the general personality traits higher up to make more sense of some other sections that come before it). As the introduction to a 4-part series, it very good!

There's a good history of the Durulz in the DP area, as well as some mention of ducks across the lozenge. Anatomy of ducks, culture and society, timelines of their movements, and especially more recent events, as well as some theorising of politics. Local geography is handy with some good explanations and examples. Useful maps included (although, a bit more detail of ducks in the Marsh would be a good addition).

The artwork is great! Some are very simple, and yet have a very evocative feel to them that is so appropriate. I want to give special mention to those on pp. 8-11, 16, and 47, and the duck shaman at the end. Also, 27 & 33 (other than the anatomy). And, of course, the duck Vinci is a great addition. This is not to say that any of the others are bad - not in anyway. Just htat those are the ones that grabbed me! However, in saying that, there are other pictures that are out of place. Many of the images of the ducks don't actually conform to their stated physiology, lacking the rump and tail-feathers (where appropriate) that ducks are supposed to have, and are thus more like a human with a duck's head and feet (not unlike a minotaur). I will say, howerver, that Balin Balmyr seems just like a random pic insertion.

One other reason for taking of that 5th star - it really needs another proof-reading, especially in the second half of the book. The 'Fassur' is particularly grating to me, as well as a couple of other misspellings of relevant names ("a ferry across the Steam"). I'm sure these will be quickly corrected though.

Some readers should be aware that the strange duck magics of KoDP and other sources is not even hinted at here - which is fine, unless you were expecting/requiring it.

I'm eagerly awaiting the 2nd (and following) books!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DuckPac - Book 1: Myths, Lore and Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to review and provide some valuable feedback. Errata While we endeavour to catch all errors before publishing some will inevitably slip through. The beauty of a digital format is that we can amend and refine as we go. This is what we've done, and you'll find a newly updated version against your purchase. We fully intend to add/edit the publications as we continue to get feedback. Publication Art Thanks for your praise regarding the art. We consciously decided to commit to a larger art budget as I know that's something we both enjoy in other publications. Balmyr Balin was particularly hurt in relation to your comments that he was merely a 'random insertion'. We were very lucky to be able use incredibly talented artists, some of whom provided art 'for the love of the genre'. Strange Magics King of Dragon Pass was not a source we decided to use when compiling information about the Durulz. Since there were no other references to 'strange magic' we didn't think it was particularly relevant. Dream magic is hinted at in The Keet Migration Epic, but we chose to focus on ducks alone. Creating an entirely new system of magic was not something we thought would be appropriate. Thanks again for the feedback. I hope we can do better and gain that missing star for Books 2, 3 & 4
Cat's Cradle
by Lief D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 16:27:43

Cat's Cradle is a thoroughly fleshed-out and satisfying continuation of the classic Haunting scenario, utilizing the interesting setting and with notable callbacks, but with its own clear personality and flow. Having no prior knowledge or just vague memories of the Haunting is no issue, the story stands on its own. The investigation and story are well paced, progressing at an engaging rate but with plentiful suspense and detective work required throughout. If you liked the Haunting, or if you just like a well-written mystery, give it a try! (Full disclosure–though I wasn't involved with any of the production I did take part in a playtest before its release.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cat's Cradle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Romanian Contract
by Harald H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 10:52:28

This is a scenario, as the review will tell you, that considers dynamite a common tool of surveyors, and expects a mixed group of people checking a buisiness interest to dig a tunnel with said explosives. That is not even a spoiler: that is the job description that the players get.

The rest of the "review" are spoilers, of course.

The adventure is an idea with a peculiar implementation. As an idea to work with this is nice, and the writing is good. I am not, however sold on either the concept nor the adventure itself. I have no idea what the target of these explosive is supposed to be -the Secrets of Kenya would suggest something, but that is not even alluded to- and I am under the impression that the success hinges on blowing something up with a single skill roll of a 40% skill. Besides all other questions (and there are some): that means that the character fail in 60% of all attempts.

I really think that the writer can do much better: what few descriptions there are read well.

Offering male and female characters (same characters with different names) is certainly nice, but fits in the period like a gatling gun into Cthulhu Invictus. If one really likes pulp action and explosives, this is a fine adventure. Otherwise it needs some remodelling in my opinion.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Romanian Contract
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthulhu: Hometown Horrors, Vol. 1
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 10:24:18

This is a fantastic book, well laid out and beautifully designed to allow keepers to find a new locale filled with ideas, people or events to either start a new adventure or to add road trips to existing stories. Each of the contributions from the creators describes their own town or favourite location as a place to set your tales. Truly amazing and I will look forward to future volumvolumesvolumvolumesvolumes



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthulhu: Hometown Horrors, Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cat's Cradle
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2022 08:29:04

Cat’s Cradle is a “sequel” in one of the best ways, taking on the underlying theme of occult fascination in eternal life, and the inevitable consequences of seeking and achieving it, in a more robust and expansive direction.

The scenario does an excellent job keeping the story grounded in its “history” while building upon and up from this foundation. Don’t expect to retread the halls of the Corbitt House or to find answers in the Chapel of Contemplation, this is a new story with new mysteries and dangers. The details offered to tie to The Haunting fall into the categories of demonstrating that the world of the supernatural is much much wider and dangerous than the investigators were introduced to, or as amusing “easter eggs” for those who remember specifics from the scenario. I would say that a mixed group of investigators, one or two who had solved the Corbitt mystery and several either unfamiliar with the scenario or new to the world of Call of Cthulhu entirely, would be a great group to complete Cat’s Cradle.

The mystery itself aligns with the description perfectly: a slow burn, embracing both the surface level normalcy of the world as well as the deep and almost subconscious feeling of unease that defines the specific parts of it that Call of Cthulhu investigators inevitably find themselves mired in. This lets competent Keepers to “ramp up” the tension and feeling of threat. As the investigators naturally follow the leads from clue to clue, by the time they realize they may be in danger they’ve already taken their first few steps entangled in the web of intrigue. One of the scenarios greatest strengths is its versatility to handling investigators' activities, who never need to feel confined to where the story “wants” them to go, until they’re running pelmel that direction. And the handouts, the handouts are stellar, ranging from the classic letters and news clippings to a star chart “puzzle” and the genuinely unnerving dream sequences.

I highly recommend this scenario for new and experienced Keepers, as well as for just about any group of Investigators!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cat's Cradle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Overdue
by Lara Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2022 11:45:28

This was a really fun scenario! I usually play in 1920s to 30s style games, so the modern era theme was a really fresh change. The characters are interesting and varied, and the story flows smoothly even with the craziest player antics.

The book itself is great. The art is unique and it would make an excellent hard copy because it has a stylish and dynamic layout.

The writing is what makes it shine. It is extremely well written and has obviously been carefully proofed, and the PDF at $2.00 is a great price. I really hope it hits hard copy, because I'm definitely investing when that happens!

I can't say much more about why I love this scenario so much without giving away story points, so I'll stop there. I recommend this title for anyone who wants a great one-shot for less than a cup of coffee!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Overdue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heinrich's Call of Cthulhu Guide to Character Creation
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 13:03:51

Remarkable resource for players wanting ideas to fully flesh out every aspect of a new character, throw character generation to the whims of the dice (often resulting in some fascinating combinations of traits), or take a look at a flood of ingenius possibilities of characteristics, backgrounds, past tragedies or events, or physical attributes to apply to your existing characters. The depth of thought that went into making this is geniunely impressive, and the book itself is gorgeous. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heinrich's Call of Cthulhu Guide to Character Creation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Viral: A Modern Call of Cthulhu Scenario
by Tristan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2022 05:27:28

I had a blast playing in this scenario over a couple of sessions during playtesting. I was quite fortunate to join as a number of waiting list sign-ups dropped out at the last minute. The concept for the group gives great character motivations for all the players to interact with one another irrespective of the encounters they may have. The use of technology to give glimpses into the mystery was really innovative and just as fun for the party members not equipped with such gear. The additional game mechanics were subtle and tonally suited to the scenario. The only thing I missed compared to campaign play was a vast cast of NPCs, but I realize any additional people on the island setting would not have enabled the ramping up of the tension throughout the game. The rich back story will make it a really fun scenario to run as a keeper, and all the handouts, artwork, maps, and pre-generated characters are well thought out and cohesive throughout. If you or your group need a modern day Mediterranean island experience as a group of live-broadcasting paranormal investigators, this is the scenario for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Viral: A Modern Call of Cthulhu Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Viral: A Modern Call of Cthulhu Scenario
by Debbie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2022 03:56:25

I was lucky enough to play this with Bud as Keeper during one of the pre-release playtests. I played Corrina, who was a lot of fun to play and it's nice to see that my feedback from the session was taken on board, in the form of an additional handout in the released version.

The scenario is presented as a live streamed episode from "Spektral Krew" an esablished team of ghost-hunters with a reasonable following on You-Tube and comes with the pre-gens for the Krew.

There is suggested back ground watching for Keepers/Krews new to Ghost Hunting shows to get an idea of the feel of the "show", tips for how to use other investigators if pre-gens aren't your thing and some pointers for how to come at the scenario from a completely different angle if a You-Tube show doesn't do it for you.

We'll stick with the Spektral Krew who are:

Marco Proudfoot, the founder, boss and lead investigator Corrina, the psychic Enoch, the muscle Peter, the camera guy Hyun, the sound guy and Maya (an NPC) the editor and producer who coralles the team from her home in London

Each of the Krew has a secret that works as a roleplaying hook and leads to some very interesting game play at the table.

For this episode Marco is taking the team to a pair of islands off the coast of Italy which have never been investigated by ghost-hunters before in a bid to increase subscribers to the channel and 'Go Viral' by hitting the magic million followers. The islands are shown as completely bare on most maps, but Maya has discovered that there are several buildings on the islands and that the larger of the two was previously home to an order of monks who cared for the sick in the days of the plague. With that kind of history there's bound to be residual energy left over from all the suffering and death caused by such a disease, where better to look for ghosts right?

The main island has several locations to explore with a couple on the smaller island, where the Krew land for their investigation. Each location is richly detailed from the outside giving an atmospheric view of the place with further descriptions for internal exploration where appropriate. It is not necessary for your Krew to investigate all of the locations to reach the finale of the scenario. In fact it can be played over 1 to 3 sessions, with suggested show itineries and locations to investigate depending on the amount of time your Krew want to commit to play.

There is plenty of guidance for Keepers and two unique ways to keep the scenario moving, the first being Maya, who encourages the Krew to keep to the show's agreed itinery as she has VTs queued up to mix in when they need to break to set up the next scene etc and is also keeping an eye on the time, the second being the comments from the viewers who let the Krew know what they're finding interesting, point out things the Krew may have missed and maybe draw on their own knowledge to explain things they're seeing to the Krew, they can also donate money via the "Super-Chat" to urge the Krew into interacting with the scenery.

Some new rules, the Sight, the Taint, Paranormal Phenomena and a adapted "Insanity and Bouts of Madness" results, are included. These are well explained and suit the scenario beautifully. Three sets of encounter tables are presented with advice on working them into the scenario depending on the "show" time. The player handouts are well thought out and will work well for both printing and VTT use.

One of the best bits of Keeper advice comes in the form of a hints from Bud section. A nice addition that makes it feel very personal (in a good way).

All in all a great little scenario, which I intend to run for my home group next time they agree to take a break from fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish, 18+] Zgrozy: Dyabelarium — Dłonie Nyarlathotepa
by Piotr N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2022 16:14:04

"Dłonie" zapowiadają się niesamowicie, bardzo ciekawe rozwiązanie zarówno pod kątem wykorzystania mechanik Zewu, jak i samego "lore". W ramach PDFa dostajemy dokładnie to co zostało opisane w "About" - opis czym/kim jest tytułowa Dłoń, kilka tabel do losowania bóstwa i ich woli oraz parę przykładowych postaci, które zostały Dłonią. Bardzo dobra ilość przykładów użycia (oraz sugestii) pod kątem pisania własnych scenariuszy. Na pewno wykorzystam jak w końcu będę pisał coś własnego dla moich graczy



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[Polish, 18+] Zgrozy: Dyabelarium — Dłonie Nyarlathotepa
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of the East Isles Vol. I
by Leon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 11:11:27

An excelent source work on an area which could use a lot more detail than what was available before. Love the adventures and looking forward to volume 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of the East Isles Vol. I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bog Struggles
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 15:04:11

Another nice one shot adventure by Ludovic that can be inserted literally anywhere. Pop it in a bog in Prax along the Zola Fel if you want. Anywhere in Dragon Pass will do. And Ludo's artwork is great. For $3 it's a steal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bog Struggles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2022 09:39:47

Paul Fricker delivers a great scenario, and John Sumrow's cover art completely captures the essence of this highly lethal and dreadful adventure on a whaling boat in the South Pacific.

We've run this three times, including two times at Origins. It's a great convention scenario, and will remain a go-to in our repetroire. We offer a full review and our notes about running at cons over at our blog, Prospero House Publishing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Full Fathom Five: Call of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bog Struggles
by José V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 11:25:59

A nice liitle setup and adventure, with a little twist.

It will be nice to know what will the author original setting for this adventure. We know it's generic, but, I always love to know the context of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bog Struggles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1387 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates