DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Children of Fear
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2022 04:01:46

I really think the campaign is much to railroady. I on the other hand like the historical und cultural information. Regarding the railroad part and the comments of users denying it, since there are different solutions for the scenarios: Yes there are and imho the single scenarios are really ok but how they are stringed together is ,to be frank, not good. Visions to pester the playerrs, penalities for not following the plot and if the players fail, the plot always moves on as intended. These are gamemaster tools right from the early 90s. As I like the scenario and the ideas and details of the authors work I have to admit I am really disappointet of the whole campaign, because it could have been really great.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Children of Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alone Against the Flames
by Joanna L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2022 17:00:35

I played this as a newcomer to Chaosium Inc. and Call of Cthulhu. I enjoyed the clarity and simplicity in the writing and instructions. You can build your character as you begin the adventure, so this is a great tool to learn how to make a character in this RPG system. I enjoyed the vivid descriptions, as these helped me paint a mental picture of the story, characters, and actions while I played. Growing up on choose you own adventure stories, Alone Against The Flames was a real treat for me. Depending on whether or not you take notes as you play (and anything else, such as agonizing over what you want your character to do), you should be able to enjoy completing this solo adventure under 2 hours. I recommend this to new players wanting to learn more about Chaosium Inc.'s Call of Cthulhu RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against the Flames
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death is the Final Escape
by Cedric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 12:26:37

Brilliant! The chase scene was definitely thrilling and I'll rememeber it forever! The detective work done by players is also a change of pace from what I'm used to but really fullfilling and mentally stimulating! All in all a great module to create wonderful memories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death is the Final Escape
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tradition: Sandheart Volume Three
by Diana P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 09:39:48

This is a well built book which goes with the beginnings in the first two, although it's got adventures which will stand alone. I loved running it, and building up to the Main Big Problem.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tradition: Sandheart Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest: Weapons & Equipment
by Jeffrey W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 12:03:12

Wow. I have owned RuneQuest products for three decades, since the Avalon Hill boxed set. That game came with a mythic version of Europe I used- I just couldn't get the hang of Glorantha. I've read many books since, but nothing has immersed me in what the world of Glorantha would be quite like this book did. Seeing the armor and equipment was one thing, but reading about regional foods, currencies, trade, and even seeing examples of shelters and an idea of what I can do with my ill-gotten loot helped me switch gears from bog-standard D&D-style fantasy into the Mythical bronze-age fantasy of Glorantha. It's not just a gear guide, it really does help wrap your head around Glorantha. Well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest: Weapons & Equipment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storm From A Teacup
by Craig P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 12:55:34

The use of tea as a central theme in this scenario is a great idea! I also appreciated the generic location which gave me the flexibility to slot this into my ongoing campaign set in 1929 Chicago. I simply popped my investigator on a bus out to a more rural location. It's refreshing to see a scenario which isn't pinned to Arkham or the surrounding area. I also ran this as a single-player game and it worked, though I'm using Pulp, and I did rewrite somewhat heavily.

There are a few proofing and editing issues but nothing major. The Table of Contents includes an incorrectly named NPC: Charlie/George the bouncer. This error repeats on p.9 in the boxed skill section. It looks like an edited change of name to avoid duplication with the Chief of Police which wasn't quite changed throughout but I could be wrong. There's a partial sentence on p.6: "and get a better idea for..." I'd love to know what that was going to say!

I made some fairly major changes before I ran it. I dropped the final cult reveal as unnecessary. I combined the two Bad Guys into one and the two rituals into one (and the two goats). I held back on the tea reveal for my investigator to uncover at the speakeasy. I was a bit confused about the location of the Tea Factory...separate building, I guess? I produced a map for Pineview as well as plans for the Barn, the Tea Emporium and the ruins. I gender-flipped Freddy and Tommy to female bootleggers to bring some balance to the all-male cast.

Formatting is spot on. The Miskatonic Repository publishes a standard which a lot of scenarios seem to ignore! This scenario also features a great spread of skills with ample choice to go through scenes via different skilled routes. It's again refreshing to see this.

From this tea-drinking Englishman, I'd like to say: Cheers! And thank you!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storm From A Teacup
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hammersmith Haunting
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2022 06:24:07

A tightly written scenario with memorable NPCs (Shotgun Granny!) and an interesting premise. The interior layout and artwork is superb. This is a great example of the power of Call of Cthulhu for learning history as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hammersmith Haunting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carousel of Fears
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 07:52:02

A very well written and presented scenario. Have neither played nor run it, but definitely worth a look!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carousel of Fears
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Six Paths
by Niamh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2022 04:32:06

Ok after talking to the creative team this is a full edit and repointing of my original review.

I have adjusted my score from 1 to 4, I did consider scoring it a 3, but the book is essential very good, the artwork is excellent, and there are good ideas running through it. I'm not 100% behind this book, that one paragraph still annoys me, but knowing what the author is trying to get across has calmed my rage as it were.

I still have issues with the text of the one paragraph explaining if vindan and nandai are trans. I would prefere it to say yes they are (to the most part), but with differences to mordern trans people mainly because of being brought up the heortling culture. This would be a more inclusive statement and build upon peoples exisiting assumptions and relatable frames of refference. By saying they arent, (this still feels somewhat exclusionary) and then trying to explain what they are after removing any common ground the reader might have, is making more work and in this case I dont think enough space was given to explain what the author was trying to convey. This is where I saw a differnent way to interpret the words than the authour had intended...which lead to the book upsetting me enough to write the one star review.

As goes the two rune spells I have issue with, a small amout of flavour text justifying their place in the book and world would be all thats needed for that gripe to be brushed under the carpet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Six Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Catcott Collection
by Tomas R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2022 11:02:27

Great idea to make a 1 Keeper/1 Player adventure. Excellent psychological adventure that really has a sense of the rwality-bending disorienting horror akin to the Yellow King within in! Recomended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Catcott Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Six Paths
by Greta G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 18:27:15

Full disclosure: I am credited as a sensitivity reader on this book.

The Six Paths goes a long way towards opening up the space of possibilities implied by the six genders enumerated in the Runequest core book, and does so in a very charming and delightful way that's truly beautifully illustrated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Six Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Spear (RuneQuest)
by Carl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 02:51:50

A great scenario that is so huge that it can also be described as a mini-campaign. Its great but I would recommend that you read it at least 2-3 times before you run it. Its not the easiest scenario to run. But well worth the effort.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Spear (RuneQuest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Duel at Dangerford
by Carl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 02:50:02

A great scenario that puts the PCs into great action.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Duel at Dangerford
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Six Seasons in Sartar
by Carl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 02:49:16

Probably one of the best roleplaying campaigns ever written and a great introduction to the Glorantha setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Six Seasons in Sartar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cut to the Chase: Dramatic Chase Sequences
by Colin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2022 15:32:06

A fantastic addition to my regular 7th Sea game! The new mechanics enhance dramatic scenes seamlessly without adding unnecessary rules or slowing down the fun! I'd love to see a variant for naval chases!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cut to the Chase: Dramatic Chase Sequences
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'm really glad you like Cut to the Chase. In Bloody Misadventures, my naval combat supplement for 7S2, I devoted a sidebar to using these rules for sea chases. I'll reprint the pertinent below, but the short(er) version is: don't do it. :D "Chases at sea are long, tedious affairs. Barring a chase weaving between the scattered islands of an archipelago, high seas pursuits have no Obstacles. Depending on the prevailing winds, a determined pursuit can take hours, even days! Playing out a seafaring chase over several rounds just draws out the inevitable." But Bloody Misadventures has a whole bunch of other things to worry about with sea battles. The chase is the least of your worries.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1358 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates