DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Lucas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2022 05:36:32

Great lore and flavour, but all of it is laid out incredibly poorly.

As a Storyteller, I need setting supplements to be easy to parse and reference. If I look at a character entry, I should be able to quickly tell the basics - what other Kindred know about them, what is their current position, whether they're a Neonate/Ancilla/Elder or whatever, where they can be found etc.

I don't think you can actually use this book as reference material when running, but rather you need to read through it, and make your own notes. This largely defeats the purpose of buying a premade setting supplement.

Also, it's 2022 - why would you not include an easily downloadble version of the Chicago map included for VTT play?

The actual writing is solid, and the mechanical additions (e.g. the Spirit of the City) are largely very good. Probably still worth buying if you have your heart set on playing in Chicago, or if you just don't want to make your own city from scratch - as I write this review, there aren't really any other V5 alternatives to this book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2022 19:02:16

My copy, which was purchased back when it was Onyx Path Publishing that printed this and not Renegade Game Studios, came with some damage along the spine and rear cover of the book. The adventures inside themselves are pretty interesting and fleshed-out, but it's not my favorite book out of the line. It's also really weird to write a review for a book produced by one company and now distributed by another, but to be fair, this is at least one failure with V5 overall that I can't lay at Renegade's feet.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sabbat: The Black Hand (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Erin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 23:38:32

i honestly dont normally bother to post reviews but this is just SO disappointing a product.

Yes the page count is low and the price is high, but I could overlook those faults were the content not so vapid and uninspired. This book is simply... lazy. Given the evolution of the setting I was genuinely excited about this book as it seemed to me that a Sabbat verging somewhere between extremism (even for the Sabbat) and collapse was ripe for some amazing storytelling fodder. The content of the book comes nowhere even close to meeting this potential and reads with all the thought of a 6th grade book report hastily thrown together the night before the assignment was due based on fast forwarding through a B movie knock-off.

Dont waste your money. Any idea you come up with yourself is going to be better. Invest the money in some good coffee and snacks to fuel a few good hours to sketch out your own vision of the Sabbat.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Sabbat: The Black Hand (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sabbat: The Black Hand (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 20:56:59

Honestly, unless you're completely new to Vampire: the Masquerade, and only then if you're wanting to be a Storyteller, and only then if you really feel the urge to include the Sabbat directly, there's no reason that anyone should buy this book over any of the other previously published Vampire: The Masquerade Sabbat books instead and just operate under the knowledge that "Gehenna War is going on, lots of Sabbat went to that" because that's more or less what this book amounts to in around 140 pages. The PDF has a disturbingly high number of misspellings and grammatical errors, and while I realize this book isn't intended to present any of the antitribu as PCs, it does a piss-poor job of presenting any real SPCs involved with the sect whatsoever, save for in brief passing. If this is the quality that we can expect from Renegade, which I'd been leery of when they took over for Modiphius, maybe Paradox should just give the license to Onyx Path instead, because they've had the best handle on the material thus far in the whole line's run. This was a waste of cash and probably the last of the V5 titles I buy, and I've bought all the hardbacks. How disappointing.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Storyteller Toolkit (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Simon R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2022 07:33:12

The PDF doesn't even include the tables from the GM Screen. The description says: "A full color PDF 32-page Storyteller Source Book containing tools and advice on creating and running a Vampire: The Masquerade chronicles." It includes three tables 100 victims, 100 places and 50 omens (for what ever reason) The advice is very short and to be honest completely useless. The author gives advice to threaten the live of the characters to invoke horror. The other big advice is to use jump scares. Seriously the author gives the advice to use jump scares in a tabletop rpg. This was a description of everything included in the 10$ PDF, that you can't read in the preview. In my opinion this is a scam.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Storyteller Toolkit (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Victoria H. Date Added: 03/26/2022 15:08:09

at first I was delighted my book arrived quickly and earlier then expected. only to discover pages with creases wrinkles and folds. I even found a page with a huge chunk ripped out of the page. Looked all over and cannot find a way to report the damages.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Anarch (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Ian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2022 02:40:39

The irony of a sect and its corresponding subject material being oriented around youth is that it all feels old and cliche. An excessive reliance on left/right politics and "rebel" stereotypes makes for a generic and uninspired organization with little depth and intrinsic character. It's also difficult to sell such a sect as rebellious when the corresponding political attitudes in the book are well within the acceptable and conformist status quo in the real world. Besides politics, the Anarch Movement and its culture portrayed here comes across as vapid and uninteresting with such a great emphasis placed on partying and revelry, completely destroying any notion or nuance of personal horror except for some passing lip service. The Ministry is alright and the book does best when it marginally breaks out of its comfort zone to describe the spiritual and cult groups within the sect and mechanically, it's all serviceable.

The Anarchs have always struck me as the most shallow, boring and 1-dimensional of all the sects and this book disappointingly carries on that tradition. This book is essentially just generic punk stereotypes with smartphones and fangs and all of the scant interesting ideas are underdeveloped. For a group that is supposed to be about freedom and freedom of expression, an overwhelming sense of uniformity pervades the material and all the ideas that form the foundation are tired and passe. Do I regret buying the book? No, because I am autistic about lore, but I am certainly disappointed by how unstimulating the content is and can only recommend purchasing it on sale.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Anarch (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Thrass G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2022 07:35:58

There are some things about Oblivion the developers should have paid closer attention to. For example the way Compel is written in V5. If a particular Hecata happens to be the wraith's fetter in order to compel said wraith they must threaten to destroy themselves.... All in all great sourcebook though!!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sabbat: The Black Hand (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2022 09:28:54

While I think the price of the book is too high, I'm giving this book 1 star mainly because its a watermarked PDF. I've been trying to go through the V5 books and consolidate all the necessary information for my table into one file, but because this PDF is watermarked then I'm unable to copy and paste from the document unless I have the password. None of the other PDF's have a password restriction. The cost might be too high, but I enjoy the new powers my group gets to use at the table, the antagonist stat blocks and some of the lore. Unfortunately I'm going to have to commit alot of time to re-typing all the information I need for my table. You can absolutely avoid buying this book: paths can be recreated using convictions, no mechanically different bloodlines are added, storytellers are going to create the stat blocks they need anyway and lore can always be shifted based on the table.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Sabbat: The Black Hand (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Religions (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2022 05:44:11

I agree, this book is far better than some of the absolute nonsense published for V5 - looking at you Mr. Sabbat. I like the concept of the book and I love the various different cults detailed within.

However, even on a casual glance, there are some issues. Firstly the usual, poor editing, spelling or grammatical errors. Come on people, use a program and spend an afternoon correcting it all and it's done. Hardly expensive or difficult is it?

Secondly, and this is something that marrs a lot of OPP products. Art is bland. None of it is bad, I mean not to the level of the Exalted core, which contains some terrible choices, but nothing stands out as really memorable. I take it back, the poor sod roasting over an open fire was pretty memorable. But the test of Gaydos' work as usual is love or hate. Examples or bad or just terrible choices of art include for the purity - just looks too computerish, the orphans on p57 is horrible, the golden cic on p47 looks lifted from a poorly animated computer game, and the shepard of Ur-shulgi, well, what a wasted opportunity, when they could have shown the boy himself on a pilgrimage or one of the ancient ancilla he chose.

And so on to the next issue. Because of the beckoning, the elders have had their numbers thinned. Methuselahs are now gods when they wake up, because your average cainite in v5 is a thinblood at best or if your ST hasnt yanked the pages from the book in disgust, a daywalker. And so, on to the Shepards. Ur-Shulgi personally hand picked 12 top men for the job of bringing the naughty muslim Assamites back to the fold, and then laying smacks upon all vampirekind for being weakass morons instead of badass diabolarist, lords of the world, who worship his sire instead of any pathetic mortal false god. When you think about it, he has a point. Why would supreme beings, eternal beings, worship gods of the kine? That's for the weak, and the weak do not deserve the blood. I'm with Shulgi, he'd get my vote. He's a top lad, screw that traitor Al-Ashrad, he's not even a good mage, so ner.

I digress, my issue was this. curious, of Shulgi's choices of "ancilla of considerable age", I took to the wonders of the internet to look them up. Now an ancilla of considerable age... a few hundred years old then? Nah, fuck that noise, Elulu, well over 4,000. Naram-Sin, the same. Now both of these ages assume the cainite was embraced in the era the real historical figure lived. They're both ancient kings of Ur, just like the real shulgi, (though as they were kings before him in real life it all gets messy). So because of the beckoning, authors are now writing about ancient ancilla because they can't use the word "elder". Ancilla are typically 1-2 hundred years old, but these clowns are 20-40 times that and the world didn't shake when they rose up to do their master's bidding? DUMB. Pro-tip. If you are going to be kewl and use real world kings etc as throw away names for your ancilla, don't choose ones so old. Kindred beyond 300 years are ELDERS. Please hire writers that know VAMPIRE lore. I would love to know what took down two Ancients, but the opportunity is lost to us now.

Anyway, all that aside, I've given the book 3 stars. Better art, better art choices (why the terrible orphans or bloodless and not something cool for the Withered for example) and just better research/ writers actually knowing Vamp Lore would have raised this book up to at least a 4. It's a decent read, and will add a little spice to a campaign, but I for one look forward to the day Vampire is not under the direction of Dawkins and OPP hire some talented artists. It can be done, smaller companies manage it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Religions (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Pedro Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2021 11:53:20

Phenomenal book. From start to finish the writing is great, every cult is extremely interesting and provides tons of chronicle ideas. The Hecata write-up on its structure and clan is marvelous as well. Definitely a must buy for V5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition
by Maximilian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2021 14:00:39

Vampire 5th Edition didn't hold my expectations. My group is playing Vampire since 1998. There are a lot of editions, and this Edition is a mediocre one. I really liked some new fresh ideas and the art work as a DM, but I don't understand why they organised it like a book. You need to learn very important aspects by heart because you will never find it again ( like while in session). I miss a Quick Build table, a Character traits overview (standard like in DND5). In practice, the system was at first interesting but then a little bit of an obstacle for the flow in the game. This is of course just the experience in my group.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 15:35:51

One big problem that WoD aways had. If the character goes out of USA or Europe the character gets a dumb story.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: The Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 15:30:57

Why we don't have this book in V1?

This book has too many good things about, vampire cults, how they work, how they are built and more. I liked the Hecata reunion too.

to be flawless I would say that lineages ban should be suported for old hecata, but is only that stuff that bored me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cults of the Blood Gods (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Religions (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2021 15:26:25

I loved the book and the plot from Artemis was the idea that made me finish my chronicle idea.

Strong points in this book: Onyxpath looks like they know what they are doing with V5. This book like Chicago and Cults of Blood God is exaclitly what VtM success was about. You have character/cults with agenda and not only a book with a lot of rules. And to me is clear that Onyxpath should lead the World of Darkness.

Weak points: We thought the infernalism topic would appear in this book, but they let this part out. And Tremere phisycal combatents was pretty meh.

But in the end this book is far better than other titles published in V5 era.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Religions (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 97 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates