DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
NewbieDM's 5e Spell Templates
by Paul K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 15:25:12

Bought this pack a while ago and have set it up in three separate Roll20 campaigns. the templates are clean, nicely designed and effective, the instructions are clear and easy to follow.

Certainly worth the small cost and pay endless dividends.

Hard to knock it at the price, buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NewbieDM's 5e Spell Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Randall W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2020 18:43:40

This was the first product I purchased off the DMs Guild and I credit this with giving me a set of streamlined rules to introduce my daughters to the game of D&D - 10 years ago! They both remain fans and are now playing 5e on the regular! Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids Adventure Pack I
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2019 13:38:13

This is hands down the BEST introduction to tabletop RPG's I have seen for kids. Simple...CHECK! Easy to understand...CHECK! Easy to scale for more advanced players...CHECK! If you feel D&D 5E is a bit tricky to introduce young players to a Tabletop RPG, this game is your answer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2019 11:07:19

This is an excellent introduction to tabletop RPG gaming for young ones.

The rules are simple, and the opportunity to tweak / alter / adjust them is there if you want it.

First time we played this was at an sleepover birthday party for my son.

3 boys opted to play, the rest were playing xbox....within an hour I had all 8 boys around the table playing once they saw what it was.

A+ material here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2015 10:43:41

I thought it was a great starter to see if the kids would be interested and gauge whether I should try more RPG-type games with them. It was a success!

I learned that it was a little scary for my 4 y/o so I'm going to try creating my own adventures with less dungeon-crawl and more mystery/exploration/story-telling.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2012 18:00:56

We've tried several RPG's for kids, but so far, my children have liked rpgKids the best. Some reasons why they responded well to it:

First, the entire ruleset comprises 4 pages, with one page of optional rules. The rest of the PDF gives advice on running games with kids, a full-length adventure, character sheets, colorful tokens and maps, etc. So, the simplicity of the game is probably one of the strengths to which my kids responded. Combat consists of a simple opposed roll. The game employs classes that are abstracted into three categories: melee, ranged and magic. The classes themselves are also rather abstract (Healers, Sword Fighters, etc.) with minimal characteristics to differentiate them. There are no attributes (i.e., no STR, DEX, etc.) to track. There are no hit points or weapon damage points, because every attack (melee, ranged or magical) does the same damage: Once a PC or monster is hit once, he is considered "Hurt," and if hit twice, he’s "Knocked Out." There's a simple healing mechanic to allow PC's to get back into the fight.

The simplicity might make the game sound dull, but I found that it allows the GM (presumably an adult) to shape and adapt character concepts and actual gameplay for dramatic effect, a mechanic which the game encourages. As simple as the game is, it wasn't always a cakewalk for the PC's to accomplish their goals, so having the freedom as a GM to do a bit of modification (and even hand-waving on occasion) to maintain drama and keep the story moving is a strength, I think.

One last thing which differentiates rpgKids from other kid games is the quality of its adventures (there's an Adventure Pack, in addition to the full adventure included in the game). Mind you, we're still talking about adventures written for 4-7 year olds, so have realistic expectations. However, unlike the insipid nature of the adventures in some other kids rpg's, these have depth, both in terms of gameplay and story. No insipid rat hunts in cellars!

My kids thoroughly enjoyed rpgKids. They were able to quickly grasp the nature of the character classes and adapt them to suit their needs (e.g., a Sword Fighter is easily shaped to be a mace-wielding dwarf, a Healer can be a robe-wearing priest, and a Wizard can be Gandalf or some necromancer). They were also able to quickly get into the action -- not bogged down by rules, they let their little imaginations fly. As GM, you just roll with their moves, and fun is had by all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
by Shawn C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2012 22:09:47

This is a very nice, easy way to introduce your young geeklings into the world of RPGs. My family is enjoying the first adventure and cannot wait to get into more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
by david f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2012 02:25:13

The adventure here follow a similar style as in the core book. Work well a part from the fact that my 5 year old made sure the wizard was dead in the core adventure and I had to do some fancy foot work to allow him to be alive again (it would have been nice to have known that in the core adventure). Excellent, can we have more ... please ... (grin)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by david f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2012 02:20:39

I played this with our 5 year old over the weekend. He looked after 4 characters and I did the GMing. We both had a brilliant time and he did not want to stop playing it. The rpg rules themselves need some work to make them clearer to read as to be realistic you will have to scan them very quickly as you are controlling several kids. Larger bullet points of just the important stuff would have helped. You could nt just give this to kids as there are a ot of assumptions which only a adult rpg player would know what to do with. The adventures themselves are cool but it did take me a while to realize the the first part of the adventure you are meant to role play with your child. Over all excellent fun and I liked the pre done floor plans a lot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Aadel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2012 11:33:54

I have very little experience with Rpg's and I was able to understand this game enough to run a campaign with my kids + their cousins and some adults in the mix!

Very fun, very simple. Great for kids and their parents. My girls keep wanting to know when we are going play again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 20:26:11

Some great expansion adventures for the original game - we have run my kids through 2 of the 4 adventures so far and they are begging for more!... and these kids love video games, so I think that says a lot that they beg to sit around the table with their parents rolling dice. :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 20:23:53

Awesome game - my kids (ages 6 and 8) are completely hooked!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Pierre H. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2011 15:29:03

This is Excellent! So far I've played it once with my kids (girls 3 & 7 years old). The young one lost interest after 15 minuttes, but the older one LOVED it - and she had a fit when we had to finish before the adventure was over.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
by Bruce B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2011 20:36:24

Please see my longer review for the bundle version, but I loved having a nice set of premade adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids Adventure Pack I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

rpgKids (v1.5)
by Bruce B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2011 19:47:35

Just the right tone and complexity. See my longer review for the bundle product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
rpgKids (v1.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates