DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Genesys Expanded Player's Guide
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 18:16:45

If you run Genesys, you should get this supplement. It's a bit of a kitchen sink book, with a lot of unrelated content, but there are no wasted pages; you'll get good use out of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Expanded Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Genesys Core Rulebook
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 18:09:51

This has become my home group's go-to game system. It's a good mix of crunchy mechanics and narrative elements, plays well throughout a lengthy campaign, and really does fit in any setting. The game has been exhaustively tested in its earlier incarnation as the Star Wars RPG, and it works really well at the table. Be aware that the kinds of stories it emulates are similar in tone to Star Wars: acts of swashbuckling, skullduggery, and heroic battles that can swing from triumphant victory to crushing defeat, with a wide variety of outcomes in between. It does adventure fiction really well, but you'll have a hard time getting Genesys to emulate four-color superheroes or doomed Cthulhu investigators. There's an art to using the narrative dice, but once you get the hang of it (after a couple of sessions) the results are amazing. When I run this game, I never know how things are going to turn out, except that it will be fun and exciting. Note also that a lot of game elements that look wrong at first (starting with the custom dice!) actually work very well at the table, leading to an enjoyable experience for the players and interesting and engaging stories, so give them a shot before you throw them out. If you're a GM who prefers improv to prep and enjoys being surprised by the direction your stories take, but who also wants a good variety of official and fan-created content to draw on, Genesys is a great choice



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 10:56:37

This new take on L5R by FFG (now EDGE) presents some novel ideas on the old roll and keep. the novelty dice might look like a cheap money grab (which I'll partly concede) but they work marvelously with the new system. My only complaint about the book and the main reason why I give 3 stars instead of 5 is because of chapter 6. Chapter 6: Scenes and Conflicts is the meat of the system, providing rules on how to play the many situations where players face opposition. The problem here is twofold. The system tries to be a narrative and tactical system at the same time and accomplishes neither. So you can have situations where going strictly by the rules, a samurai with a katana dueling someone with a bow can hit the bow user even if they are out of reach, also, Duels provide many different actions but the only one worth taking is always attacking, so forget about the old Iaijutsu duels where one strike decided the victor. Intrigues, the "social conflict" provides few examples and not enough guidelines, so a rookie GM might have trouble adjudicating an Intrigue scenario. Skirmishes, the default combat scenario works only if everyone is already adjacent to everyone else, because tactical moving in this system doesn't work. Finally, Mass Combat is awful, it takes forever and clearly it wasn't playtested enough because just like duels there's only one right choice and that is kill the opposing commander. Finally, the book is highly disorganized, with information being found in unexpected places like sidebars in a previous chapter. I have hopes that with Edge taking point now, they will plan on releasing a revised edition of the corebook where they fix chapter 6.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Path of Waves
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 10:24:47

This book offers new ways of playing in Rokugan without being a Clan Samurai. It also offers new techniques, advantages and disadvantages and guidelines to creating your own school. My only caveat is that I feel this book could have been released later down the line considering we still have so much more pressing stuff like better rules for mass combat and fleshing out monks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Path of Waves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Emerald Empire
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 09:45:36

The book provide a more in depth information for the setting even experienced players of the setting will find useful information here and for newbies it Really is a must have companion for the core book. It also brings mechanics to play as a member of the Imperial Families and cool titles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Emerald Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Shadowlands
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 16:38:06

This book has lots of stuff to run a Crab campaign on the Wall or the Shadowlands or a ghostbuster/ cultist hunter campaign. Overall, the schools presented here are really good additions with the caveats for the Kitsu Medic School that feels off for the Family and Clan, the Mirumoto Taoist Blade looks like the answer to the question "what happens when you mix a Mirumoto with a Togashi?" and the Kuni Warden because, just like with the Mirumoto Taoist, they are both Monk schools with access to kihō when right now there are like half a dozen kihō (or less) for each Ring, so these schools might become interesting later but right now, they don't have many techniques to choose from. There are rules for creating Kakita Blades, but if you compare the rules presented here with the Kakita Blade example provided on the corebook, the one in the corebook is clearly a nemuranai and impossible to replicate with the rules provided here. There is only one page of new "common" techniques but there's a ton of new Mahō. the rules for creating your own Oni look solid as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Shadowlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings Celestial Realms
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2020 10:22:38

All this is just for chapter 2 and 3, that contain actual mechanical stuff.

  • Centipede Clan: great to have some fleshing out of this minor Clan and I admit I don't know so much about it from AEG time, but they look cool. They provide 3 possible schools for the minor clan, and the book provides only one, which is fair, we have some guidelines on creating new schools now. The problem is that the Sun Sentinels, that for some bizarre reason have the shugenja AND bushi tags, even though they just mentioned that the Moshi do have a bushi school and it's a shugenja school with no access to invocations, except the ones given in the curriculum which is only Fire invocations, which would be fine, except that 9 pages ago, they mention how the Sun Sentinels are famous for their Air and Fire invocations. I guess someone failed on their proofreading check...

I had discussed this with others that had already given their opinion on the schools but now actually having the chance to read them, let's go through the other schools:

  1. Agasha Alchemist: a waste of a page. They are what the Yogo Wardmasters are but with potions instead of wards. Besides, the Agasha Mystic alredy have in their fluff, if not their mechanics, that they already use alchemy to fuel their invocations anyway, so having another Agasha school called Agasha Alchemist, is redundant to say the least. If this was an Agasha smith instead, to do a homage to the the Tamori...
  2. Asahina Envoy: another Crane Courtier school but at least they are not Doji. This school is actually interesting, providing another way to play an Asahina that is not a Shugenja and providing another way of playing a Crane Courtier that doesn't have to always deal in favors and gifts.
  3. Ishiken Initiate School: after almost 2 years of waiting we finally have the Ishiken. I gotta say I am actually surprised how interesting this school is compared to previous iterations of the Ishiken.
  4. Kaito Spirit Seeker: I like on this different aspect of the Kaito obligations. Really cool school.
  5. Kaiu Architect: another waste of a page. We have a Kaiu Engineer already, why have a Kaiu Architect. What are we going to have next Kaiu Surveyor? Kaiu Interior Designer? (which actually makes me think a Kaiu Shugenja/Sage based on geomancy could be a really cool school for them).
  6. Kitsu Realm Wanderer: a way better Kitsu School than the Kitsu Medic from Shadowlands. With an interesting fluff and interesting mechanics. Besides, they are from the only interesting family in the whole Lion Clan.
  7. Shosuro Shadowweaver: ooooh, look at me, I am so edgy I have 3 different tags and even though I have a misleading name, I don't have any Shadow Brand mechanics. Also, I am yet another Shugenja and Shinobi school in a clan where 6 out of 7 schools are Shugenja or Shinobi... It's interesting that they can work better inside obscuring terrain but their school ability is like creating a sphere of darkness from DnD on the battlefield and hope an adversary will decide to go inside? Granted, on Rank 4+ that's the entire battlefield covered in darkess but stil... As assassins, the Shosuro Infiltrator from the core works better than them, as Bushi, the Deathdealers are way more interesting, as Shugenja they have a different role than the Soshi, but still feels like a waste of a really good page for a better school.
  8. Utaku Stablemaster: another waste of a page. A school that feels like an NPC school or if someone wanted to play the Lone Ranger in a High Fantasy Samurai game... Guys, look, I can summon a ride when I whistle...
  • The new advantages and disadvantages are really good and offer some interesting ideas for more.
  • Ancestral Swords: I mean, I guess it can have some value for those that want to know what the equivalent to a DnD artifact could look like in L5R but they are more interesting for fleshing out their stories than their actual mechanics.
  • Agasha Pattern: that would have worked amazingly with an Agasha Smith school in this book. Instead, I guarantee in the future we will have an Agasha Smith school that won't have this pattern because they won't reprint this pattern in that book.
  • Techniques: lots of invocations. It would be nice if we had had some kihō as well, we could have definitely removed some schools to have 4 pages that could be filled with a dozen new kihō...
  • Inversions are strange, which I guess was the intention. I like the way they use the dice, focusing on blanks which is like a really insightful idea.
  • Places of power are really nice.
  • The Bond with a Spirit title is awesome and creates some interesting storytelling hooks. The moon cultist title on the other hand, feels like something that an NPC would have and in this case, it could just be an NPC profile instead, also, it contains a typo where it says a certain technique is a kiho when it is a ritual.
  • I am honestly disappointed that there's a single new NPC. I was hoping for more supernatural creatures being shown here.

Overall, I would give this book a 4 out of 10. I had so many expectations for it and waited so long that I feel cheated. I honestly don't have much hope for Fields of Victory AT ALL, after this book. I sincerely don't get why we must have a school from every major clan in each new supplement and I would hope for more techniques, titles and creatures. I mean, the Shosuro Shadowweaver could have been a title that gives a Shadow Brand and would occupy half of a page. We have 4 schools that are slightly do-overs of previous schools or uninteresting that could have been used for kiho.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings Celestial Realms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Children of Aten: Genesys Fantasy/Steampunk setting
by Elliot H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2020 12:15:03

Children of Aten fufills both crucial elements of a good Genesys setting: It is complete, fully fleshed out, and the various talents/species/gear all work together seamlessly. Furthermore, it includes useful information and rules which can easily and seamlessly be incorporated in other settings, expanding them.

I strongly suggest purchasing Children of Aten. You will get your money's worth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of Aten: Genesys Fantasy/Steampunk setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Children of Aten: Genesys Fantasy/Steampunk setting
by Kyle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2020 11:02:12

Lots of great additions that could be used in many settings, but the realm hopping setting of Aten is fantastic in its own right. I especially enjoyed the new talents and will incorporate many of them into my other games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of Aten: Genesys Fantasy/Steampunk setting
by Timothy F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2020 17:43:57

If you're interested in a fantastic setting, but are tired of the typical fantasy tropes of elves and dwarves, Children of Aten is great! The Realms are basically different planets or moons within a "solar system", with an unpredictable series of portals that open at random. This means that a GM can move the players around from Realm to Realm as fits the adventure they want to run.

The species are interesting, with differing cultures to give them unique identities. Talents are likewise clever, providing some whimsical humor in their names that can help drive their narrative use.

Magic is detailed with a number of species-specific skills with a more limited range of magic actions, as opposed to the broad utility of the skills presented in the Genesys CRB. As a character can only learn to use a single magic skill (which requires a talent), this requires the player to focus on what they really want. Some may find this to be a drawback, but I find that it gives character to the setting.

The inclusion of steam-powered and other equipment not typically seen in a fantasy setting gives Children of Aten a sort of "Jules Verne" feel.

The book also has a dizzying array of Adversaries for GMs to populate their games with. It is important to note that any of these Adversaries could be "re-skinned" for use with any Genesys campaign in any setting.

5 out of 5 Stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low and Dark Fantasy Careers
by Alex H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2020 06:28:19

Has a stack of careers from the fairly generic but useful through to downright unusual - like the flagellant. A few are from the Core Rules (Druid, and Cleric is only slightly different to Priest), but they do have recommended starting talents and equipment, so if you're after that they might be helpful. In any case, plenty of unique stuff in here. I did find some useful careers and talents for my setting and came back to throw a couple of $$ at the creator.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Low and Dark Fantasy Careers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sunfall
by Dave F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2020 14:29:57

I really can't write a review for this product that weighs heavily enough on how fantastic it truly is. In each carefully detailed section, it is absolutely clear that this is is a labor of love.

Sunfall is well written, to the degree that I often wish it were a novel and not just a Genesys RPG supplement. It has all the makings of an edge-of-your-seat page turner, the world and its inhabitants being highly detailed and interconnected. Anastasia's writing inspires drama and great storytelling.

As an RPG supplement however, this translates into world-building tools and setting lore that will fully immerse your players, as well as a fair example for how to create the same in your own settings. Sunfall is absolutely packed with unique new material: gripping adventure seeds, clever and thematic game mechanics (Rules for intraparty conflict, secrets, and possession? Yes, please!!), and a stunning array of new careers, magic, talents, and adversaries.

Whether you're looking for a truly unique setting in which to run games, or for inspiriation and tools for building your own, you will not be disappointed by what Sunfall brings to the table (see what I did there? ;).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sunfall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Way of the Scorpion
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2020 16:04:39

Not only does this book provide a who's who of Scorpion Clan leaders (and enough back story on them to easily incorporate them into your game), but it also provides extensive rules and guidance for poisons, ninja, and playing the most duplicit of clans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Scorpion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Unexpected Allies
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2020 16:01:13

A who's who of Rokugan leading up to and including the Clan War. A good collection of random strangers who are destined to leave their mark on the Empire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unexpected Allies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Secrets of the Crane
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2020 11:00:50

For 2nd ed. L5R or 3rd ed. D&D, this book is a very useful tool. It is also valuable for those interested in any edition of L5R who want a better understanding of the Crane. Focusing on one of the great clans of Rokugan, this book provides history, geography, unique customs, and even secrets unknown by those outside the clan. It also includes good detail on the vassal families in service to the main families, allowing players a whole new aspect to choose when creating characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Crane
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 416 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates