DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2022 22:07:09

I found this book to be a solid contiunation of the world of Midnight. It is missing some things in the 2nd Core of Midnight But I can see them easaly added into posiably sub-book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MIDNIGHT – El Legado de las Tinieblas
by Jose R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 16:54:09

Antes de nada, decir que probablemente mi problema con esta edición eran las expectativas. Por eso divido la review en dos partes:

  • Si nunca has jugado a la 2ª edición de midnight en DnD 3.5: este es el mejor escenario de campaña que existe (para mi, obviamente). La ambientación es fantástica, novedosa e interesante, el mundo es inmersivo y las aventuras pueden tener mucha profunidad.
  • Si vienes esperando una actualización en la antigua edición a 5e: el manual es decepcionante. Toda la ambientación sigue ahí, con algunos textos idénticos y algunas pequeñas variaciones. La historia no ha avanzado, y Eredane sigue como la dejamos. Aceptable. El problema viene con la conversión de las normas. Apenas hay nada propio, nada de esas normas propias que tenia el escenario y que permitían que se sintiera como algo más propio y diferente a DnD tradicional. Aquí las conversiones con 5e básico son las mínimas, y sinceramente, parece que ha imperado la ley del mínimo esfuerzo.
  • No hay razas mezcladas: ni enorcos, ni elfianos, ni ninguna de las otras. Las razas han sido modificadas y hay subrazas (dornitas, ereños, etc.).
  • Las clases son las mismas de DnD5e básicas: ni explorador sin conjuros, ni defensor, ni canalizador. Ahora hay paladines y pueden hacer magia sin ser detectados, igual que los exploradores. El resto de lanzadores de conjuros (bardos, magos, hechiceros...) funcionan igual que 5e básico. No hay brujos, ni clérigos ni monjes (como era habitual en 3.5, salvo que se introducía el Defensor para compensar).
  • Las sendas heroicas se han reducido a dotes de las cuales te regalan la primera a nivel 1 pero luego tienes que usar los puntos de dotes habituales para mejorarlas. Las sendas heroicas que servían para compensar la falta de objetos mágicos regulares, y la aplastante superioridad de la Sombra, ahora son muy inferiores y debes invertir en ellas. También hay muchas menos. Cosas como el canalizador o el defensor ahora estan como sendas.
  • No hay armas del pacto, ni talismanes. Se les menciona, pero no aparecen en ninguna parte. Quizás las guardan para suplementos, pero en el antiguo libro básico aparecían.
  • Las armas propias del escenario (los cuchillos de combate Erunsil, por ejemplo) no tienen particularidades, sencillamente pone al final "trátalos como dagas", y tan anchos.
  • Sigue habiendo fichas de npcs, conjuros nuevos, dotes nuevas, descripciones de nexos, y descripciones de todas las regiones con sus tramas (algunas reutilizadas). Esta parte está bastante bien.

Resumen: Es una versión muy inferior al escenario de campaña de 3.5. No han innovado nada en el apartado de normas y se han regido por la ley del mínimo esfuerzo. La edición es preciosa y llena de ilustraciones. El libro se nota de buena calidad.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – El Legado de las Tinieblas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by Lilian T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2022 10:13:18

I have a very special attachment to the Midnight setting. Except for some editorial choices, which you can like or not, the book is faithful to the original editions. The descriptions are very correct and this is a big book that depicts this desolated world with a lot of details and pretty fine artwork.

Unfortunately, I cannot play the game with the ruleset as given, as the work here to adapt to 5e cannot compete with the care that was invested into the latest editions with 3e D&D. As written, these rules does not manage to serve the specific feel of the setting and the uniqueness of light bearers. This is too bad : A few optionnal and costly feats cannot emulate the greatness of the heroic paths.

The book can be a base to work your own game upon, but system-wise you will have : to houserule the heroic path feats allocation, to create the half-races that are missing (all of them), to pehaps balance some of the new races that are proposed, to find the class archetypes elsewhere to emulate the feel of the game and some missing classes (as the defender), to create your rules to make spellcasting feel more dangerous and different, to make Midnight-specific weapons not just new names for the basic weapons from the 5e player handbook, etc. etc. I you do not do some of that, your Midnight characters can be not so much different than any other forgotten realms adventurers. Then it might constantly cost a lot of energy to keep the mood and themes of this setting on track.

This book is a wonderful experience at shyly giving 5e a Midnight flavour, but it's not Midnight boldly twisting 5e to its own whims and desperate reality. Too shy, too lazy or with no passion for the ruleset? By the end, the product is not a complete failure for sure but it's disapointing. At least because I love the Midnight setting and 5e so much and I think that the synergy can be great.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Awakened Age: Superhero Genesys Setting
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2022 09:56:14

If you’re looking to run a Supers Game using the Genesys System, this is by far the superior product to do that with. While there are some things that could be added to not rely on the one shtick (Z-Gene) it’s opened ended enough to modify the setting to suit your needs. Further powers are promised, but the system is good enough to cover most powers your players might use and new powers can easily be added with the groundwork already set. It was a bold move to ignore the Magic System which seemed ripe for a Supers Game, but the use of talents is effective. Definitely a must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awakened Age: Superhero Genesys Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by James M. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2022 21:04:36

I love this product.

I love Midnight in general, when I first read the 3rd edition books I felt like I'd discovered one of the greatest settings ever and many ways that feeling is still with me. Legacy of Darkness is not the same book as those I read all those years ago but it does what its designed to do. It gives you a beautifully detailed world at the very edge of ruin, one your players will struggle agianst and, hopefully, take the lead in saving. With fantasticly immersive art and new mechanics designed to give characters a boost in a world where they'll need any they can get, I can't recomend this high enough to someone who wants to expand their collection or try a new setting entirely.

A book doesn't need 72 new subclasses or a dozen new races to be worth the price, what it needs is a story worth reading and this has it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by Nicola R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2022 11:02:04

Well, I must admit I expected and wanted more out of this product. I don't mind too much the lore changes; but I do the following issues: -Poor proofreading of the product (in just a quick glange I found lot of typos, reference to 3.5 rules (the outsider creature type) and even reference to setting elements who were not ported to this version) -While I do think that the 3.5 version and really TOO MUCH specific rules, this has too FEW. You just can't have the feeling of Midnight with standard 5e rules. No changes to the rest mechanics, no new subclasses, just a few backgrounds and feats. Heroic Paths are not even that great considering they just are feat trees and some are way too powerful (I'm looking at you, Channeler), or way too weak. I did not want ALL the rules from the previous edition, but at least the could have bothered to convert Charms (since they mentioned many times in the book), maybe create a fighter subclass for the old Defender class or a spell-less ranger variant, some new feats for the midnight specific weapons and some more.

While I'm disappointed by this, the artwork is great, but i can't go over 3 stars. I just hope that Edge plans to release a supplement to fix the rules lacking from this one.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – El Legado de las Tinieblas
by Joaquín H. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2022 13:19:40
  1. Me ha gustado muchísimo, soy fan de Dark Sun y esperaba una ambientación de este estilo, oscura y opresiva, con un tinte post apocalíptico para D&D5.
  2. La ambientación es muy completa, tienes toda la información del continente de Eredane y la historía del mundo para montar una campaña.
  3. Lo que echo en falta es una aventura introductoría, ya que cómo el tono de las partidas van a diferir mucho de las clásicas partidas de mazmorreo, hubiese estado bien algo de lo que partir a modo de ejemplo. Es que desde los niveles más bajos los pjs son gente destinada a combatir al mal supremo y da la sensación que te predispone a una campaña larga con tramas enrevesadas de conspiración e intriga. Aún así, este punto queda salvado por la increible cantidad de páginas dedicadas a desmenuzar la politica e historia, así cómo el modo de vida, región por región, sin olvidar por supuesto, a todos los malotes que controlan el mundo, en esto es muy extenso.
  4. No le pongo la máxima nota porque en cuanto a clases de pj se queda bastante corto. Los clérigos y los monjes no son una opción directamente debido al trasfondo de midnight, por lo que hubiese estado bien que el resto de clases tuviesen arquetipos propios de este mundo apocalíptico dónde el mal ha triunfado y la magia está proscrita. Me da a mi que eso vendrá en suplementos posteriores, por lo menos en el libro principal podrían haber metido alguna cosa...eso no mola.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – El Legado de las Tinieblas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by Jordane [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2022 11:36:21

This is one of the laziest conversion I have seen:

  • The lore and background are pretty light in comparison to the original core book.
  • All the half breed races are missing
  • Barely any heroic path and they give gift only every 4 levels instead of every level
  • None of the new classes (prestige and core) are here
  • The alternate casting method is not here either. Midnight is a great setting, because it also supported by very flavorful gameplay mechanics, basically none of that is here.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by Naïm U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2022 03:29:27

Midnight is a dark setting but the dark side is so heavy that sometimes it's a bit hard to believe. Everything is dark, nobody is happy, everybody is starving in a gloomy land, being an elf or a dwarf means you'll be killed on sight ... I guess I was waiting for something maybe more subtle, with an evil that could seduce people to make them believe that Izrador is the right way (like in the video game Tyranny) but here Izrador is just an invincible force of evil that tortures, uses and oppresses people. That would make me think if I was in this world "no food, no hope, no other gods ? why bother living ? "
The rules also are very light and it's a big problem. We're supposed to create characters that can fight the Shadow but without noticeable armor or weapons (they are forbidden) and without flashy magic. The rules won't help : no subclasses that would provide "unarmored defense", brawling skills (you have to pay a feat for this), discreet magic or some capacities that can help to fight back, ... Or maybe the intention was to play only in wilderness where you will have to hit-and-run all your life ? no urban adventures, hidden among the population ? Also some feats are a bit weird like "You have advantage on Strength (Athletics) checks to grapple a creature who cannot see you" which is already the case in the basic rules ... The rest is good, the book is well-written, the images are inspiring, the forces of shadow are ennemies your players will hate with a passion, breaking a black mirror is already an awesome quest plot ... hence the 3/5



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MIDNIGHT – Legacy of Darkness
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2022 13:31:23

Well done for 5e. Look forward to more material and classes. I intend to run in concert with LevelUps Advanced 5e.
I would recommend to the publisher to execute on a campaign for your next product offering in the Midnight line. It could be broken into parts so that players can get into the world and adventuring sooner rather than later.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awakened Age: Superhero Genesys Setting
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 23:07:57

Disclaimer: I playtested this material.

This is the best of the pack for Genesys supers. The way evertything fits together is well-considered and there was a lot of work put into making sure everything fits the right tones and doesn't overcomplicate superheroes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awakened Age: Superhero Genesys Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
by Lucas A. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 02:56:11

The addition of the Psychic skill and Mind spell is very valuable, especially when creating "evil sorcerer" characters! Excellent value for money, even if the other spells have somewhat more limited applications.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skills Guide: Skills Supplement for Genesys
by Jack S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2022 20:17:40

Very simply the best supplement on the Foundry. Incredibly thorough, it thoroughly expands on every single skill in the Core Rulebook in great detail. It has multiple symbol results tables for each skill, a bevy of interesting new rules, and helpful guidance on selecting skills for your setting. Particularly interesting are some great rules to clarify and make use of Knowledge skills, which are so often ambiguous. It also has wonderful presentation and production values - it would benefit from a round of proofreading to help with translation errors in grammar, but that's extremely minor. If that were fixed, this would deserve to be bound and sold in a store as an official Genesys product.

I would rate this second only to the Core Rulebook for anyone interested in playing Genesys. It's that good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skills Guide: Skills Supplement for Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BOOST #1: Mutation
by Jack S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2022 12:35:34

A tidy little supplement. I know it was the first BOOST, so I'm not suprised that it's the smallest. An archetype, some talents, a few weapons, and a couple of adversaries. I really enjoy the narrative and mechanics around the lobster mutants. I think the talents are a little messy - a Tier 2 that gives automatic Triumphs on a huge number of skills seems wildly overpowered, even with the built in trade-off. It seems oddly min-maxy for Genesys.

This strikes me as more of a proof-of-concept for BOOST than anything else. The later BOOSTs are all an improvement in both quantity and quality.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BOOST #1: Mutation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BOOST #3: Deep Dive
by Jack S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2022 12:32:07

This is a solid supplement for underwater adventures. The gear is interesting, and there are rules for how to handle underwater movement and combat in more depth. There are actually two sets of those rules, which is a little odd - I think future BOOSTs would benefit from making similar items in the same supplement more collaborative.

I definitely recommend this if you intend to take a dip beneath the waves (I certainly do, and this will be informative)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BOOST #3: Deep Dive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 497 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates