DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Factions 1: A Faction Talent Supplement
by Micah-Shalom K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2021 07:32:32

This is a great little side system that is light weight and can add a bit of depth to the world you're weaving for your players. Anyone who has used 5E's piety system (introduced in Mythic Odysseys of Theros) will Factions 1's system immediately familiar and intuitive. Moreover, a number of generic and specific example factions are presented that can either be slotted into your own game or used as scaffolding for your own unique faction tracks. Definitely recommend this splat, especially at this price point, for any medium to long running game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Factions 1: A Faction Talent Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sunfall
by Kelsey G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2020 08:32:07

This is a beautifully written setting that leaves one brimming with adventure ideas throughout the whole experience of reading through it -- I couldn't put it down once I started! It strikes a fantastic balance of being just similar enough to our own world and history to provide a touch of framework, while being different enough to allow ample room for creativity. I loved the touches of unique cultures thrown in throughout the setting as well.

I genuinely hope the author considers publishing some adventures in this setting -- she truly is a fantastic writer and creater, and I can't wait to get a Sunfall campaign on the table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sunfall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2020 16:18:26

It's a little difficult to read with all the awards in the way. But in all seriousness, this supplement is invaluable to its rerecommended settings or anywhere you might want a bit more in-depth fist-a-cuffs. it earned those awards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Factions 1: A Faction Talent Supplement
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 13:27:00

"Factions 1 lets players climb the ranks of the organizations that matter to their characters while rewarding them in a new way, tying them further into the narrative of the world they exist in, and granting them further abilities to make them more capable and (ideally) unique within their party. On the GM's side of things, there's a whole set of new hooks for the old tacklebox, and a good amount of flexibility within the mechanic to deliver the desired experience to the players." - Seamus Conneely

Check out the full CHG review here: http://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/12/18/factions-1-review-organizations-in-genesys-from-keith-kappel/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Factions 1: A Faction Talent Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Genesys Vehicle Companion
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2020 00:47:41
A Great Resource

I checked out the product intially to get some help designing mechs for a game I'll be running, and this had pretty much everything I needed to help guide that design, including a ready-made sample mech that I was able to use as a baseline for my own designs.

The examples are well-explained and there's one for each of the typical size categories you're likely to need. There's discussion of the appropriate values to use when creating new vehicles (including weapons and armor) as well as how to deal with group combat, minions, etc sensibly.

Genesys has the benefit of being lightweight enough that creating new vehicles using the guidelines here won't take forever, but crunchy enough that you feel like there will be noticeable differences in the feel when you get them to the table and use them.

Beyond the content, everything is well formatted in the familiar Genesys style, so it's seamless with the core rulebook.

Definitely worth getting if you're planning on having vehicles be a significant part of your story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Vehicle Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fireborn: Player's Handbook
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:58:54

Very cool setting, very interesting game system. The rules are a little rough in play, but not bad (and that could also be the fact that I haven't played it enough to really get into the groove with it.) Interesting core mechanic, amazing magic / karma system. My biggest complaint is that they hinted at this incredibly cool setting, but never came out with any additional supplements for it (and this is the kind of game that needs supplements.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow of the Beanstalk
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 01:19:35

The art and the rules are terrific, and the setting straddles cyberpunk and space sci fi well enough that this book is a good supplement for anyone wanting to run a Genesys game set anywhere this side of a space opera. The setting took a while to grow on me but I appreciate it more as I'm reading into it. It's both darker and lighter, more hopeful and more sinister than I expected from a "cyberpunk" setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Beanstalk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2020 00:58:03

Lots of good magic rules advice. If you want to use magic in a Genesys game, this book is absolutely worth the $3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Realms of Terrinoth
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 21:58:56

As a fantasy rules supplement for Genesys, this is great. As a setting, it's decent. The art is good, the setting history is interesting, as are some of the monsters. But on the whole, the setting just seems a little bland to me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Realms of Terrinoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Genesys Expanded Player's Guide
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 18:16:45

If you run Genesys, you should get this supplement. It's a bit of a kitchen sink book, with a lot of unrelated content, but there are no wasted pages; you'll get good use out of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Expanded Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Genesys Core Rulebook
by John L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2020 18:09:51

This has become my home group's go-to game system. It's a good mix of crunchy mechanics and narrative elements, plays well throughout a lengthy campaign, and really does fit in any setting. The game has been exhaustively tested in its earlier incarnation as the Star Wars RPG, and it works really well at the table. Be aware that the kinds of stories it emulates are similar in tone to Star Wars: acts of swashbuckling, skullduggery, and heroic battles that can swing from triumphant victory to crushing defeat, with a wide variety of outcomes in between. It does adventure fiction really well, but you'll have a hard time getting Genesys to emulate four-color superheroes or doomed Cthulhu investigators. There's an art to using the narrative dice, but once you get the hang of it (after a couple of sessions) the results are amazing. When I run this game, I never know how things are going to turn out, except that it will be fun and exciting. Note also that a lot of game elements that look wrong at first (starting with the custom dice!) actually work very well at the table, leading to an enjoyable experience for the players and interesting and engaging stories, so give them a shot before you throw them out. If you're a GM who prefers improv to prep and enjoys being surprised by the direction your stories take, but who also wants a good variety of official and fan-created content to draw on, Genesys is a great choice



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 10:56:37

This new take on L5R by FFG (now EDGE) presents some novel ideas on the old roll and keep. the novelty dice might look like a cheap money grab (which I'll partly concede) but they work marvelously with the new system. My only complaint about the book and the main reason why I give 3 stars instead of 5 is because of chapter 6. Chapter 6: Scenes and Conflicts is the meat of the system, providing rules on how to play the many situations where players face opposition. The problem here is twofold. The system tries to be a narrative and tactical system at the same time and accomplishes neither. So you can have situations where going strictly by the rules, a samurai with a katana dueling someone with a bow can hit the bow user even if they are out of reach, also, Duels provide many different actions but the only one worth taking is always attacking, so forget about the old Iaijutsu duels where one strike decided the victor. Intrigues, the "social conflict" provides few examples and not enough guidelines, so a rookie GM might have trouble adjudicating an Intrigue scenario. Skirmishes, the default combat scenario works only if everyone is already adjacent to everyone else, because tactical moving in this system doesn't work. Finally, Mass Combat is awful, it takes forever and clearly it wasn't playtested enough because just like duels there's only one right choice and that is kill the opposing commander. Finally, the book is highly disorganized, with information being found in unexpected places like sidebars in a previous chapter. I have hopes that with Edge taking point now, they will plan on releasing a revised edition of the corebook where they fix chapter 6.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Path of Waves
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 10:24:47

This book offers new ways of playing in Rokugan without being a Clan Samurai. It also offers new techniques, advantages and disadvantages and guidelines to creating your own school. My only caveat is that I feel this book could have been released later down the line considering we still have so much more pressing stuff like better rules for mass combat and fleshing out monks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Path of Waves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Emerald Empire
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2020 09:45:36

The book provide a more in depth information for the setting even experienced players of the setting will find useful information here and for newbies it Really is a must have companion for the core book. It also brings mechanics to play as a member of the Imperial Families and cool titles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Emerald Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Shadowlands
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 16:38:06

This book has lots of stuff to run a Crab campaign on the Wall or the Shadowlands or a ghostbuster/ cultist hunter campaign. Overall, the schools presented here are really good additions with the caveats for the Kitsu Medic School that feels off for the Family and Clan, the Mirumoto Taoist Blade looks like the answer to the question "what happens when you mix a Mirumoto with a Togashi?" and the Kuni Warden because, just like with the Mirumoto Taoist, they are both Monk schools with access to kihō when right now there are like half a dozen kihō (or less) for each Ring, so these schools might become interesting later but right now, they don't have many techniques to choose from. There are rules for creating Kakita Blades, but if you compare the rules presented here with the Kakita Blade example provided on the corebook, the one in the corebook is clearly a nemuranai and impossible to replicate with the rules provided here. There is only one page of new "common" techniques but there's a ton of new Mahō. the rules for creating your own Oni look solid as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Shadowlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 410 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates