DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Legwork and Larceny
by Elliot H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2022 15:31:51

These rules are excellent help when creating heist based encounters and sessions.

You don't always know what you're getting when you purchase community titles from drivethrurpg, but if it's by Studio 404, then you know it's going to be good, balanced homebrew on par with first-party published material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legwork and Larceny
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

L’Appel de Cthulhu - Aux Portes de l’Horreur
by raphael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2022 12:43:54

L'insupportable écriture inclusive ainsi que l'utilisation du terme "joueuse" rendent la lecture de ces "ouvrages" vraiment pénible. Dans la langue française le NEUTRE est masculin pas féminin. Quand au point médiant et autres IEL, non merci c'est imbitable. On est pas en train de lire un manifeste d'Evergreen.

Florilège : L’ex-soldat·e, 29 ans Depuis qu’iel a été honteusement renvoyé·e de l’armée pour avoir frappé un officier, l’ex-soldat·e accepte la moindre offre d’emploi qui se présente. Chargé·e de protéger une nouvelle équipe de fouilles, iel est désormais de retour en Égypte (où iel a servi pendant la Grande Guerre). Traits : frustré·e par la tache sur ses états de service et écoeuré·e d’être coincé·e dans le désert.Motivations : l’ex-soldat·e doit impressionner son employeur·se (le·la dilettante) pour être sûr·e de toucher son chèque.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
L’Appel de Cthulhu - Aux Portes de l’Horreur
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
by Randall L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2022 16:39:58

It wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but it was a good place to start for my own system. My biggest issue was there is no "Riches to Rags AKA MC Hammer" rule. Since its a Skill, it doesn't go away. You're just rich forever. Mechanically, spending XP to gain money doesn't make sense to me. Its definitely designed for settings were currency isn't liquid, so it can work for most settings with a little effort, even fantasy. The price point is right, the layout is good. The tables work great. Overall, I'd say its worth it. Its an okay suppliment.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2021 11:51:38

If you are playing GeneSys this is a must have fan supplement It gives an easy to follow guide on how magic works in the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zynnythryx's Guide to Magic: A Beginner's Guide to Genesys Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
by Alex H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2021 18:33:09

This is an excellent ruleset. 4 stars only because it's genre specific. I run mostly fantasy/ancient settings where treasure is more of an expectation but the issues are still the same. Plus, Genesys just doesn't give you a lot to spend coin on in a fantasy setting. So I modified this ruleset to just use the Wealth characteristic. Rather than spending xp to increase wealth, the GM allocates it based on treasure, and a character can buy items of a higher rarity by spending their Wealth characteristic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wealth: A Ruleset for Funds and Commerce in Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Haedra's Shard, Part 1
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2021 06:54:49

Very well setup. All of the information was well laid out and easy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Haedra's Shard, Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! Part 2 is in playtest and editing.
Legend of the Five Rings: Celestial Realms
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 22:39:56

Chapter 1 provides some information about the many Realms that form the Universe, it's a nice original take on the whole Jigoku thing, as, it wasn't necessarily a Realm trying to pervert the Celestial Wheel, but it became Tainted once it collided with Fu Leng.

  • Centipede Clan: great to have some fleshing out of this minor Clan and I admit I don't know so much about it from AEG time, but they look cool. They mention 3 possible schools for the minor clan, and the book provides only one, which is fair, we have some guidelines on creating new schools now. The problem is that the Sun Sentinels, that for some bizarre reason have the shugenja AND bushi tags, even though they just mentioned that the Moshi do have a bushi school and it's a shugenja school with no access to invocations, except the ones given in the curriculum which is only Fire invocations, which would be fine, except that 9 pages ago, they mention how the Sun Sentinels are famous for their Air and Fire invocations. I guess someone failed on their proofreading check...

I had discussed this with others that had already given their opinion on the schools but now actually having the chance to read them, let's go through the other schools:

  1. Agasha Alchemist: a waste of a page. They are what the Yogo Wardmasters are but with potions instead of wards. Besides, the Agasha Mystic alredy have in their fluff, if not their mechanics, that they already use alchemy to fuel their invocations anyway, so having another Agasha school called Agasha Alchemist, is redundant to say the least. If this was an Agasha smith instead, to do a homage to the old Tamori...
  2. Asahina Envoy: another Crane Courtier school but at least they are not Doji. This school is actually interesting, providing another way to play an Asahina that is not a Shugenja and providing another way of playing a Crane Courtier that doesn't have to always deal in favors and gifts.
  3. Ishiken Initiate School: after almost 2 years of waiting we finally have the Ishiken. I gotta say I am actually surprised how interesting this school is compared to previous iterations of the Ishiken.
  4. Kaito Spirit Seeker: I like this different aspect of the Kaito obligations. Really cool school.
  5. Kaiu Architect: another waste of a page. We have a Kaiu Engineer already, why have a Kaiu Architect? What are we going to have next? Kaiu Surveyor? Kaiu Interior Designer? (which actually makes me think a Kaiu Shugenja/Sage based on geomancy could be a really cool school for them).
  6. Kitsu Realm Wanderer: a way better Kitsu School than the Kitsu Medic from Shadowlands. With an interesting fluff and interesting mechanics. Besides, they are from the only interesting family in the whole Lion Clan. Then again, the old Kitsu Shugenja already did both things, so why not make this a title instead?
  7. Shosuro Shadowweaver: ooooh, look at me, I am so edgy I have 3 different tags and even though I have a misleading name, I don't have any Shadow Brand mechanics. Also, I am yet another Shugenja and Shinobi school in a clan where 6 out of 7 schools are Shugenja or Shinobi... It's interesting that they can work better inside obscuring terrain but their school ability is like creating a sphere of darkness from DnD on the battlefield and hope an adversary will decide to go inside? Granted, on Rank 4+ that's the entire battlefield covered in darkess but still... As assassins, the Shosuro Infiltrator from the core works better than them, as Bushi, the Deathdealers are way more interesting, as Shugenja they have a different role than the Soshi, but still feels like a waste of a really good page for a better school.
  8. Utaku Stablemaster: another waste of a page. A school that feels like an NPC school or if someone wanted to play the Lone Ranger in a High Fantasy Samurai game... Guys, look, I can summon a ride when I whistle...
  • The new advantages and disadvantages are really good and offer some interesting ideas for more.
  • Ancestral Swords: I mean, I guess it can have some value for those that want to know what the equivalent to a DnD artifact could look like in L5R but they are more interesting for fleshing out their stories than their actual mechanics.
  • Agasha Pattern: that would have worked amazingly with an Agasha Smith school in this book. Instead, I guarantee in the future we will have an Agasha Smith school that won't have this pattern because they won't reprint this pattern in that book.
  • Techniques: lots of invocations. It would be nice if we had had some kihō as well, we could have definitely removed some schools to have 4 pages that could be filled with a dozen new kihō...
  • Inversions are strange, which I guess was the intention. I like the way they use the dice, focusing on blanks which is like a really insightful idea.
  • Places of power are really nice.
  • The Bond with a Spirit title is awesome and creates some interesting storytelling hooks. The moon cultist title on the other hand, feels like something that an NPC would have and in this case, it could just be an NPC profile instead, also, it contains a typo where it says a certain technique is a kiho when it is a ritual.
  • I am honestly disappointed that there's a single new NPC. I was hoping for more supernatural creatures being shown here.

Overall, I would give this book a 5 out of 10 mostly because of Chapter 1. I had so many expectations for it and waited so long that I feel cheated. I honestly don't have much hope for Fields of Victory AT ALL, after this book. I sincerely don't get why we must have a school from every major clan in each new supplement and I would hope for more techniques, titles and creatures. I mean, the Shosuro Shadowweaver could have been a title that gives a Shadow Brand and would occupy half of a page. We have 4 schools that are slightly do-overs of previous schools or uninteresting that could have been used for kiho.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Celestial Realms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Shadowlands
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 22:27:17

Chapter 1 provides the lore. It talks about the Shadowlands, how it came to be, its history and some points of interest. Then it talks about Nezumi (without offering rules for playing as one, just NPCs, which is a shame). Then we get a discussion about the Crab Clan, the Wall and how it is to do incursions into the Shadowlands. 4/5 (because we don't get to play as Nezumi, yet...)

Chapter 2 is where the mechanics meat of the book lies and mostly there is some solid useful information and new mechanics but there's a lot of problems (IMO) as well.

  • We have the Falcon Minor Clan who are the Ghostbusters Clan.
  • We have 8 new schools and this book signals for the school creep that all other books will follow:
    1. Asako Inquisitor is a Courtier/Shugenja school with one of the few mechanics for detecting supernatural abilities (that can be countered by the Soshi Illusionist school but then that would mean PvP in a group). Overall it is a solid school.
    2. Kakita Swordsmith is an Artisan/Courtier school, technically, the other half of the students taught at the Kakita Academy, it is here just because it uses a mechanic introduced later in this book (patterns). The school could have been pottentially broken IF there were more elaborate mechanics for crafting items that used opportunities, as it is now, it's neither strong nor weak school.
    3. Kitsu Medic School. It feels to me as the first waste of a good page of many to come. I get giving the Kitsu a school that is not a Shugenja. It's technically an Artisan/Bushi school but it doesn't do anything artisanal at all. It has a really strong school ability for support during a skirmish but it feels out of place for the family. Mechanically though, it's a solid school.
    4. Kuni Warden (Monk). It is weird for the Crab to have a monk school but this school has one of the best anti-shugenja ever. Give your character a kusari-gama (found later on Courts of Stone) and shut up everyone trying to cast something. Good school.
    5. Mirumoto Taoist Blade is a Bushi/Monk school and the answer to what happens if you cross a Togashi Monk with a Mirumoto Bushi. MTB is what you get. As a GM be prepared for the MTB spam kiho left and right while attacking with a katana and finally making kiho OP. Broken school.
    6. Moto Avenger is a Moto Shugenja who basically worships the o5R Shi-Tien Yen-Wang. It has a cool school ability allowing for it to act as support or damage dealer as the need arises. Good school.
    7. Toritaka Phantom Hunter is the Falcon Shugenja. Supernatural creatures have a lot of difficult hiding from them and by rank 4 they can awaken (temporarily) their weapons and go melee on supernatural creatures which is always cool. Good school.
    8. Yogo Preserver is another Yogo Shugenja. Lorewise, they also revolve around paper magic, but where the Yogo Wardmaster created wards, this one creates animated paper assistants who are insanely broken and overpowered (shikigami) with a school ability that allows the school to have multiples of them and spam them. Broken school. DO NOT ALLOW IT. ALLOW IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!
  • We get more Shadowland related advantages and disadvantages and another heritage table focused on Crab characters.
  • We have more weapons now, and the introduction of siege weapons and shield. Shields are OP but will become even more once you get your hands on Path of Waves.
  • We get Signature scrolls which was a way to provide Shugenja with some cool abilities added to their invocations but it was poorly implemented and never showed up again.
  • We get a new mechanic called patterns. They are applied to items (almos exclusively weapons and sometimes armor). This could have been a new group of techniques with actual ranks and stuff and sort of the technique focused for Artisan tag, instead, they cost varying values of XP (where half of it helps advance your rank), it was a good idea implement poorly, in my opinion.
  • We get some Jigoku Artifacts and Crab artifacts as well. Most of the time they will be narrative devices.
  • We get 1 sole new invocation and 2 rituals, one of which deserves special mention on how broken they are. DO NOT allow a player to have Craft Shikigami, it doesn't matter they can only be used once per scene. The fact that they give the shugenja an auto successful invocation with 2 bonus successes and 2 opportunities makes them extremely broken when a Shugenja can learn an invocation that they have a poor Ring value but leave the Shikigami (that is created with a Void/Artisan check) to cast for them.
  • Finally, we get a ton of Maho.

I would put Chapter 2 as 3/5

Chapter 3 brings expanded rules for Oni generation. Let me tell you, a powerful oni can be really, really powerful, something that can easily wipe out a party of even rank 5 characters. It also brings tips on how to roleplay Tainted/Afflicted characters, provides new demeanor and template for NPCs and 4 titles Shadowland/Tainted related titles that are really interesting (even if a little bit broken) but that's a problem I have overall with how titles were implemented in this game. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Shadowlands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Courts of Stone
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 21:25:44

So, keeping up with my tradition of reviews dividing by chapter. First of all, I would just like to congratulate FFG on keeping up with the AEG tradition of releasing misleadings splatbooks. You thought this book would be all abourt court but it's actually mostly about shinobi. Anyway, let's do a play by play of chapters. Chapter 1 begins with why people built and lived in castles and goes through what is like to live in a castle for samurai. Then it expands on the Winter Court tradition, some of the castles for all the Great Clans and then we get a more in-depth description of the Crane Clan and its lands. They do have a map of the Crane lands and I can't tell if the physical book has a better printing, but the one in this PDF is incredibly blurry. 4/5 because of the blurry map.

We get to the meat of this book, we ge presented to the novel Deer Clan, whose shinobi and shugenja are apparently all that exist between a stable empire and the Ruinous Powers, nope, wait, wrong setting. Anyway, that is my personal opinion of the Deer, they could have been a nice addition as another source of famous Matchmakers outside of the Crane Clan and thus having some niche role in the Empire with Clans who want to find spouses without the need to owe a favor to a Crane, but we get that and also secret ninja who make sure the right people live or die so balance can be kept. We get yet another 10 schools, being an early sign that school bloating was indeed going to become a thing halfway through this edition lifetime

  1. Bayushi Deathdealer: we finally get a bushi school for the Scorpion, bonus points for having the most metal name of all the classes. Its school ability is sort of on the weaker side of the spectrum, but if you have the opportunity (pun intended) to find out someone's advantage or disadvantage, it might eventually pay off. Good school.
  2. Daidoji Spymaster: it's the kind of school that I find hard to justify, I mean, you are basically playing M instead of 007 and I am sure that there will be people who will find this interesting, but this could have been a title instead of a full fledged school. Its school ability is also on the weaker side. Weak school.
  3. Doji Bureaucrat gets double prize of unnecessary school for being yet a second school for the same clan on a splat book and for being yet another Doji Courtier school when we already have one in the CRB. Its school ability is actually quite strong (and even possibly broken just before or during a duel) but it kind of feels like the evil twin for the Doji Diplomat. Strong school anyway, even if somewhat redundant.
  4. Ikoma Shadow School: it had the potential to be a great school and kind of is if your campaign was able to reach rank 5 and you finally got your hands on Silent Elimination (which is a rank 3 technique that you can only get at rank 5 anyway) and it has one of the weakest school abilities of this book. Weak school.
  5. Mercenary Ninja is a school not associated with any clan and supposed to be taken by characters whose background is a ronin or a heimin. It gets access to all Ninjutsu permanently with the trade off of not having free access to shuji except the ones in its curriculum. Nothing that a good title can't solve. Its school ability is not that good but not that bad either. Good school.
  6. Shiba Artist: yay, the Shiba get an artisan school. The problem? Their school ability has the prize of being the worst of the book and that's saying a lot. They could have followed with the previous Shadowlands book and introduced yet some new patterns (even patterns for stuff that is not armors or weapons) but they chose not to and the Shiba Artist is only good enough to reenact the Patrick Swayze/Demi Moore scene of Ghost. Weak school.
  7. Shika Matchmaker: remember what I said above about the Deer? Here it is. It's does have a somewhat powerful school ability for the Ritual that they start with, the problem being, it only works with this Ritual. Neutral school.
  8. Shika Speardancer is actually a really strong school with a strong school ability. They kind of get on my nerves because of how the Deer get handled in the book but I have to admit this school is solid. Good school.
  9. Togashi Chronicler is keeping the tradition of schools that really shouldn't be here but we need one from every single Great Clan and this was they best they came up with. I find the school reasoning sort of weak and their school ability is kind of hard to pin down how good it is considering how very few kiho we have at the moment. I will put as a weak school because of that.
  10. Yasuki Yojimbo this is the mother of all tanks and what all tanks strive to be. Give this character a range 1-2 weapon and suddenly they can keep the entire party almost unhittable. Good School

We get some more advantages and disadvantages, a new heritage table oriented for the Crane, some new weapons and armors for shinobi. Remember when I said this book was a stealth book about ninja instead of courtiers? We get 9 brand new ninjutsu and 10 shuji. Considering how ninjutsu are extremely hard to be accessed, it kind of feels like overkill that many, but hey, that explains why we got the Mercenary Ninja. On the one hand, this book didn't have a Unicorn school, so it's going in the right direction of avoiding school bloat, but then it just adds 2 schools for the Crane (and 2 extremely redundant ones, at that) 1/5.

Chapter 3 provides a way of setting up your own winter court or normal court games involving the players as well as tips on how to keep the shinobi character(s) involved with the rest of the party. We get 9 new titles, most of them extremely overpriced. We even get a title (Covert Agent) that pretty much functions as the excuse to have "enemy clan" characters working together if the need arises. We get yet another table for opportunities to be spent in courtly scenes. We get a new mechanic called Bonds. They are nice if you invest the XP on them, the problem is, any XP invested in them does not advance school rank (not even by half) this is something that I would personally house rule anyway. Unfortunately, this book, while being Crane centered, does not have a template for Crane Clan NPCs nor new demeanors. 1/5



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Courts of Stone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Path of Waves
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 14:30:53

This book offers new ways of playing in Rokugan without being a Clan Samurai. It also offers new techniques, advantages and disadvantages and guidelines to creating your own school. My only caveat is that I feel this book could have been released later down the line considering we still have so much more pressing stuff like better rules for mass combat and fleshing out monks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Path of Waves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS
by JT T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2021 04:34:54

In an attempt to keep this review quick concise and on point, I will be going with a tried and true system. The Good, The Bad and The Ugly.

The Good. It really does what it says on the box, a full system for the superhero genre in the Genesys system. While i have not done an exhaustive search, you would be able to make near any type of hero your little nerd brain could think of, the powers, and there are many many powers, gives this book a lot of material with which to play. The system is easy and fits into Genesys just fine, the learning curve (if you already play Genesys or Star Wars from FFG) is negligible and everything will make sense on first reading.

The Bad. There is going to be a lot of page flipping. There are a ton of powers to go through and while they are organised (ish) you will be going back and forth a lot in order to make your hero the way you want. You may also find yourself switching between somewhat non-related power cataegories of which there are 16, so if there is a learning curve to this book, here it is.

The Ugly. There is two parts here. Part 1, balance may be an issue. Back in Star Wars (Which used the narative dice system before Genesys) there had been the small issue of PC's putting all starting XP into Stats, and having 4's in a number of key stats for their career, and having little if any put into skills and talents. Not so much of an issue in the early to mid game but it was noticed that these characters tended to outstrip their peers quicker. This is really not that big of a deal and can be managed very well. However, here in SUPERS, a starting character will have the usual 100 points (more or less) they will have another 100 points addditional to represent super powers. So most characters willl start with 200 (about) points. Now SUPERS is a fairly high power game as this genre usually is, but GM's would need to be wary of PC's dropping everything into stats, or everything into powers. This could cause some balance issues. My preferance would have been for starting XP and XP for buying powers to be keep seperate, this would aalso have the added benefit of setting to power tone for the game. Everybody plays Daredevil level heros, 100 points. Everybody plays Superman level heros, 1000 points.

Part 2, When I learn a new game of setting, to help me learn I make random characters, I imagine a lot of GM"s would also do this. So i made a team based on the X-Men, and this is where I stopped. If you are making a team of eclectic indiviuals you may not have this issue, but with only a single Archtype for "Mutant" all characters started off in the exact same place. If i was making a team based off for example the Avengers, it would feel more individualised. This was somewhat solved by using starting Archtypes from the Genesys Core Book and altering. Career selection to a lesser extent had the same issue, at least for what i was trying to accomplish. Again, for a more random team (Avengers, Justice League, etc) this is not so much of an issue, but a team that has a similiar theme (X-Men, Bat Family, Supersoldiers etc) you may need to do some work.

I want to clarify that these points are from my experiance and tastes, and even if I had known about these issues beforehand, I would still have brought the book.

In summary, a good buy, well worth the money, and i look forward to more titles from the author (Maybe some more setting optional rules as wwell ;) )

This review was brought to you by someone with zero writing ability or experiance but 30+ years of TTRPG's, so YMMV.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the detailed review! There is definitely more to come in the SUPERS line!
Mechasys
by Chase L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2021 16:48:06

An outstanding product!! If you want to capture that Anime feel this is what you are looking for. Written by system experts that clearly love the genre, this is a quality book that deserves a print-on-demand so I can set it next to my official ones. I'm going to build an entire setting for my group using these rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mechasys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Genesys Foundry Graphic Design Templates
by André B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 12:00:04

I don't have access to InDesign, Scribus files would be valuable. I also couldn't open the pdf in Scribus. Information on it is valuable, but it would be easier if I had access to files that I could use directly



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Foundry Graphic Design Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The End Of The World: Wrath of the Gods
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2021 14:17:27

Imagine that you and your friends are just hanging out having a good time. Maybe you’re playing a TTRPG, maybe you’re watching a movie, but then -- each of you is blinded as a sudden message of doom is transmitted directly into your mind. The harbinger forewarns of your imminent death and the ascension of dark, celestial forces. It’s not a question of if you can survive -- but how long.

The basic premise of the End of the World TTRPG game series is that you and people you know in real life suddenly find yourselves thrust into an apocalyptic event. In the case of Wrath of the Gods, that event is the gods returning to earth bringing about Ragnarok, the Apocalypse, etc., though, if you play one of the other series, aliens, zombies, or sentient machines could be the cause of your imminent demise. Since you’re playing yourselves, you won’t have abilities like casting spells or fighting with swords or running really fast -- you’ll only have your own skills and items to rely on.

Creating a character is fairly easy. Once you decide to play yourself or another similarly mundane character, you determine your characteristics, which include Physical (Dexterity and Vitality), Mental (Logic and Willpower), and Social (Charisma and Empathy). Each of these characteristics have points, the value of which will determine how many dice you roll at any given time and what number you want to roll at or under. Next, you choose features, which are essentially your strengths and weaknesses, then you write down what equipment you might have on you, and finally you record whatever traumas you’re currently suffering from. And then you have a character!

As for actual gameplay, every action that can have a positive or (more likely) negative effect on the game is resolved via a test. These tests have you roll two sets of d6s, which can negate each other, give you added stress, or help you accomplish your test. However, for every test that you run, you’re more likely to get a point of stress, and, if you get too many points of stress, your character will die.

This quick summary makes EotW sound simple, and, honestly, it is, but not if you try to play the rules as written. Characteristics are supposed to be offensive and defensive, but it’s never quite clear how offensive and defensive work since you’re typically not doing a ton of competitive rolls. Likewise, it’s difficult to use all of your characteristics during a game, making it more likely that players will use the same characteristic over and over and over again. Finally, equipment is pretty nebulous and difficult to utilize effectively. Yes, you can use certain equipment to gain an extra d6 to roll, but that doesn’t really help with creative solutions.

Overall, I would say that, while EotW isn’t a bad system, it’s not my favorite either. The rules could use some streamlining and playtesting, and the scenarios aren’t super easy to replicate or run. Mostly, they read like stories where you try to shoehorn players in and do what you want (die). In fact, the whole premise (that you’re going to die) does come off a bit contrived when you actually try to play it.

I did like some bits, especially the stress and trauma mechanic (though I didn’t necessarily like how minor things such as spraining your ankle were initially considered “traumas”). I thought it was cool that stress could turn into resistance, and I appreciated that there was a mechanic for tracking how close someone comes to death. However, I could see this game either going on forever or ending really, really quickly because of this mechanic.

Finally, I did like how easy it was to make NPCs/monsters/villains/etc. You basically just need to ascribe a point value and then give them a few features which don’t necessarily have anything to do with the point value. It makes it possible to have a low stat creature that can still do something really cool.

Honestly, I’m not sure if I’ll ever play this system again, but I’m glad I at least tried it. I liked the premise of you and your friends going through the end of the world, and coming up with a scenario really stretched my GM abilities. Playing was also fun, and I liked seeing how my friends responded to these cataclysmic situations. I’d recommend giving the game a try, though I would also only recommend buying one of the books instead of all four -- you don’t get a lot of difference between the four, and, honestly, once you get the basic mechanics from one book, you can easily run the game for any scenario.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The End Of The World: Wrath of the Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mechasys
by JT T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2021 05:26:03

Lets keep this review simple.

The Good - Well written, imaginative, fits Genesys just fine. A good mix of options without making things to complicated, dosent try to rewrite Genesys but to fit into the rules system rather seamlessly. There is a good selection of options and you should be able to make most Mecha that you could want, you cannot make everything but there is enough to keep you happy.

The Bad - I dont wish to include my above statement here, but for the sake of completeness I kinda have to. You cannot make everything. This is really just a statement not really meant as a bad thing, im sure there will be other additional books to this line that will expand your options but dont purchase this thinking it is a complete 100% guide to making every single Mecha your little nerd brain can think of.

The Ugly - I found the Mecha creation process quite confusing, roundabout, tedious/labourous and frankly a little annoying. Not enough clarifications, rules hidden in text and rather important points accidentally glossed over. I buy books llike this so I can be lazy and not have to come up with this stuff myself, as soon as I have to actually do work in order to make it work them I start questioning my purchase.

In short, great book. Fits the RPG well and provides some great idea. But be prepared to put in some work.

This review was made by a complete amatuer with zero writing ability but quite a few years of RPG'ing under his belt. YMMV.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mechasys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 477 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates