DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
WARPLAND
by Cannibal H. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2022 13:43:31

You can read the Cannibal Halfling Gaming review, including questions and answers with Gavriel, here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2022/03/11/warpland-anathematic-science-and-dawning-magick/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

NEUROCITY
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2022 20:21:58

I really enjoyed a large section of what I read from Neurocity , the original spins on many of the themes from this genre were well crafted over to give something new . There were some statements that literally made me pause and really think. It paid clear reference, homaged and reweaved its new form from many such classics such as the THX1138 , Paranoia , Brave New World , 84 , Cyberpunk yet not quite , Equilibrium , Matrix and other dark future mediums.

Man does not fly .. The borders and bands of the sections of the city ..The re-cloning of people and sterility , fed back to the machine , the combine .. Loved it !

You should be proud to have crafted something new in an already VERY crowded genre..

Long Live The New Flesh ..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NEUROCITY
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Christopher!
WARPLAND
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 21:54:47

Definitely a system you and your group ought to check out, very fast to pick up and play with quick to comprehend rules with a focus on using dice results as something to jump off from as opposed to something to strictly adhere to. Especially if you like systems that are going to challenge your players in all manners of resource management and reward creative thinking and preparednes! The system uses a 2d6 for resolutions for practically everything in the game, so there's not a labyrinthine set of rules to memorize.

However by far the greatest highlight is the setting itself. It's very easy to see how much thought went into the setting, you'll find the unique blend of sci-fi and grounded fantasy lends itself to really unique adventures. For me it felt like the brutal world of Conan the Barbarian combined with the movie Heavy Metal, in the best possible way! (also the Spotify playlist for the game is amazing, have definitely added some songs from that to my personal playlist) If you're looking for something fresh in a brutal world, definitely pick up Warpland, you won't regret it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WARPLAND
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2021 08:39:43

Let me start by saying how much I love the art in this book. It ranges from ancient medieval images to stuff drawn specifically for this and gives an overall flavor to the game. Layout is easy to use and in a progressive format: beginning with a little background, then the basic rules, then character generation, equipment, and then more details about the world. If you are printing out the PDF, stopping at page 23 will give the players most of what they need (those pages and a character sheet will get them what they need.)

Characters are quick to generate, and with even the mightiest having 10 (or fewer) Hit Points, combat can be very dangerous. The system doesn't use character classes, but instead Aspects, Flaws, Skills and Gifts (special abilities) to allow for a character uniqueness.

The rest of the book is about the Warpland, and has many encounter tables (and other random tables) giving a lot of flavor to this odd realm. Even if you have a fantasy RPG you already love and are not looking for a new game, these encounter tables will add to an existing campaign, with random town generation, rumors, world events, and a list of personalities PC may encounter.

I enjoyed reading the game and will integrate a few of the ideas into my existing campaign, though if I can get my players to give it a try I'd love running a few adventures with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by Joseph B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2021 14:12:21

WARPLAND has a simple, but intuitive ruleset and a engaging setting. Players are the only ones that roll dice in this game and the core mechanic is 2d6 rolling at or below your stat to determine the outcome. The setting has a psychedelic metal feel and embraces the fact that the apocalypse is already here. I only have the pdf currently, but I liked what I saw well enough that I'm sure I'll pick up the physical copy soon. Looking forward to running this and seeing what else the creator has in store for the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by Steve B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2021 01:44:57

Warpland - A World Cornered By Change And Oblivion.

Introduction - Gavriel Quiroga's Warpland is an RPG about the struggle for survival in a world begging to be let die, its baleful cries rising from its wounded crust in the form of mutations, fell magics, and walking abominations. There is no non-liminal space here, no place where a human could simply exist in the peace and security of late modernity or of those ancient and stable and medieval worlds so common to RPGs. Though this world's death is swiftly-onrushing on the geological scale, on the human one, its every labored breath plays out over days and weeks in kaliedoscopically roiling skies and the tides of its caustic seas. That death was brought about by a techno-arcane war so apocalyptic in character that in its aftermath humanity turned its back on accumulating knowledge as a very idea. If braving this world cornered by change and oblivion sounds like fun to you, Warpland is the game for you.

Systems - Warpland is an only-players-roll 2d6 system with a straightforward, equal-to-or-below-attribute binary resolution engine. It has elegant dice mechanics for determining differential success or failure--most obviously in the form of damage dealt or sustained--and for arriving at the occasional complication arising from bare success or miserable failure. All of the above work off of the base 2d6 die roll, with only the occasional need to reference a table or roll again, which is a breath of fresh air compared to systems packed with exploding dice, critical tables, and the like.

Its core rules are seven pages long. Those who value elaborated edge cases and dense mechanics may not find much to latch onto here, but they accomplish the game's core goal of simulating the fast-moving, up-close-and-personal action that is its meat and milk. They also provide plenty of space for customization and personalization, which almost every GM I know will find invaluable. I give Warpland's core systems an eight out of ten.

Character Creation - Warpland's character creation is short and to the point. It begins with some basic questions about who your character is. From there, there's a simple point distribution between the game's attribute system, and selection of zero or more skillsets (yes, you read that right: if your lore is low enough, you won't know how to do anything). Then it finishes out with background and starting equipment. The character creation chapter is nine pages and the process can be accomplished in ten minutes, though it's more likely to take closer to thirty the first time.

Speed is a critical feature of this system because starting characters are a dime a dozen here. In Warpland, a starting character is a regular person, not a hero, and every strength will be bought with a weakness elsewhere. Due to the game's fairly slow progression, those weaknesses are generally here to stay, so being able to get right back into the action quickly in the event of character loss is a plus. Despite its brevity, character creation does an admirable job of providing plenty of hooks to hang characterization on, placing such traits as concept and arc words at center stage. Dedicated to its core playstyle, Warpland's character creation earns a nine out of ten from me.

Gameplay - Warpland's gameplay is rooted firmly in the oldschool style of roleplaying that draws inspiration from wargaming first and foremost. The GM is a referee to adjucate the PCs' struggle for survival against their true foes: the warplands themselves, and, of course, the perfidious dice. Like all good oldschool RPGs, Warpland's core gameplay is a test of the players' ingenuity and skill at evading dice rolls in general, and combat specifically. Combat is high-lethality in Warpland. Even a character with perfectly average attributes can be laid out unconscious and 1d6 rounds from death by a garden variety morlock with a stone club if they throw box cars defending on even ground. And because the GM isn't the one rolling, opportunities for fudging dice rolls to keep characters alive are few and far between.

Now, I'll be the first to admit that this playstyle is not for everyone. GMs with ambitions for grand story arcs and players who love to write elaborate backstories and play quirky and dramatic characters will have a hard time with the relative fragility of the PC lineup. Those hoping to take on every challenge with a stoic jawline or a quip will have even a harder time with a system equipped with plenty of ways to punish pressing your luck. Survival itself is a reward worth fighting for in Warpland. While the game's subsystems execute on this core concept well, its fairly narrow focus means it will demand significant retooling for running games in the more modern Traditionalist, Open-World Rationalist, or Collective-Dramatic playstyles. It is a credit to Warpland that it is as a system robust enough to tolerate such retooling without too much loss of core fidelity. I give Warpland's gameplay a seven out of ten.

Style & Feel - Style and feel is always a difficult category to adjucate, and in Warpland this is doubly so because of its presentation. Make no mistake: all of the information you need to run a game of Warpland the way it deserves to be run is present in the book. Art directors Laura Gius and Mariana Juarez deserve special commendation for presenting a text thick with potent and information-rich visual communication, for it is here that the crucial information about how Warpland should be played resides.

The difficulty, though, is that almost all of this information is presented in the form of visual art. The book's relative reliance on visual media(1) for its style and feel demands a high degree of either experience with American fantasy artwork or generalized artistic literacy on the part of the GM. Speaking personally, while I absolutely adore the game's look and feel, I have to wonder if more literal-minded GMs might find themselves at sea trying to build their own material for this game.

I did say "almost all," and while this description is accurate based on the level of depth with which the game's core themes are conveyed in the art, there are sources of mostly implicit communication about playstyle present in the text. The handful of non-diagetic or diagetic but unsourced quotes scattered throughout the text do some work building its feel, and the sample adventures at the rear of the text, almost all of which conclude with some variation on the theme of "the PCs will probably not survive this," do an admirable job of providing some implicit guidance on the game's overall texture. The game's only sources of explicit verbiage on playstyle are the "Game Mastering Tips" on page 131, and its "Epilogue" on page 141. Altogether, the art, quotes, and a few explicit statements convey themes of desperation, survival, savagery, and a hostile world, struggling to slough off its current form, and utterly unfit for the humanity stubbornly persisting to eke out an existence from its warp-scarred crust. For my part, Warpland's style and feel earn it a ten out of ten.

Setting - Warpland's setting is a grimbright world of horrific mutants, psychedelic skies, fantastic landscapes, and roving nomads of unknown motives. Its few permanent cities are bastions of either mad curiosity and malign magic, or militant obscurantism and iron-fisted authority. It is a post-apocalyptic take on the "barbarian age" setting that will be familiar to any fan of the 80s fantasy adventure movies from which it draws inspiration. Its descriptions of its world's many and varied locations are somewhat sparse, but thick with hooks from which to hang the homebrew lore by which a campaign becomes the work of its GM.

The warplands themselves are an ever-present force in gameplay in this game. The color of the warp light that rains down from what passes for a sky in this shattered world has a small but omnipresent influence on gameplay, and the random encounter tables in each region form the base experience of traversing those areas, giving them each a unique texture and personality. All this benefits greatly from being custom-built for the warplands as a setting--like all great roleplaying games, it shines its brightest when its rules express the story of its living world. The warplands might be one of my favorite settings in any game. Tragically, I can't give it more than a ten out of ten.

Conclusion - Warpland is a game as elegant as it is clever, and as punishing as it is beautiful. A boon to the oldschool RPG audience and drawing inspiration from the 80s fantasy adventure media of the RPG world's early heyday, Warpland is an inspired work sure to bury itself deep in the creative pits of the experienced GM's brain. For savvy players and experienced GMs seeking an oldschool experience, Warpland has my unequivocal recommendation as core audience. For GMs seeking a setting to inspire them and anyone tired of photorealist art in gaming, it has my recommendation as a game you might just find yourself falling in love with. My overall score is an excellent eight point eight out of ten.

Systems: 8/10

Character Creation: 9/10

Gameplay: 7/10

Style & Feel: 10/10

Setting: 10/10

Overall: 8.8/10

(1) For the sake of brevity and to avoid decentralizing credit, I have chosen to exclude the game's official Spotify playlist from the scope of this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this lovely detailed review. Hope you can check out Neurocity and please stay tuned because more is coming!
WARPLAND
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2021 22:49:45

I had the pleasure of receiving a review copy from the Author, and I have to say for a smaller game with a simple, straightforward 2d6 system, the amount of depth in setting up an evocative setting is remarkable. Warpland evokes the feelings of Conan the Barbarian and the Elric Saga in its scope of its low fantasy mixed with ancient and unknowable god. Despite this the setting mixes's in a strange amount surrealisim as well as lost relics of a by-gone civilization adding in elements of science fiction.

Warplands art also lends to this, there are some aspects of classical arts ripped from the middle ages, along with art matching the themes of Conan, and then others of deep surrealisim and aspects. While so many differing styles of art might seem a bit jarring, when put into the context of Warpland and its discordant harmony of its setting, it blends together really well and draws you into reading more and more.

Overall, the only reason I give this a four is because I have yet to actually run a game yet to give a good overview of the mechanics, but it is definatly a setting I will be visiting in the near future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by Noman C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2021 16:40:39

tldr; Personally 5/5, 4/5 because personal taste can effect your own opinion.

Warpland is very much a setting first, an absolutely fantastic setting. If you read Taarna, or watched her in Heavy Metal, you get the general mood and atmosphere here. The system itslef is built to be simple, down to a 2d6 roll-under system and damage calculated by the same dice roll. Wanting to ride the edge of success feels pretty in-theme. I put is one star off of perfect because the setting may not jive with some people, but is perfect to me.

Crank up Blue Oyster Cult's Veteran of the Psychic Wars and when the party least expects it, hit them with that Electric Wizard's Barbarian. The is like the High on Fire's "The Black Plot" music video, with a bit of Pelucidar for taste. In an interview, Quiroga said settings like this are not in is regualr wheelhouse, but he's got me fooled. Although I have the digital edition, I am considering getting a physical edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by Jo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2021 20:43:41

Absolutely marvelous book to read, with great art and worldbuilding! A post-apocalyptic fantasy setting thatis a joy to prepare to as a DM, since the author very helpfully FILLED the book with tables to generate towns and encounters. An absolute delight of a book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by sean t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 15:32:11

Cross between Morg Borg & Sci-fi romp. love artwork some great ideas that I will use in my own game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by Pedro L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 04:00:41

A masterfully written TTRPG that is remebiscent of the high times of Heavy Metal or 2000AD magazines. The distopian future/past and the mechanics used are familiar but put to use in such a way that is immediately immersive for the players. The storytelling is compelling and the artwork is beauty with a punch. Made it to my table and is already a fan favourite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2021 20:06:37

Warpland is not just a game, it's not just a setting, its an entire world.

The mechanics are solid but not cumbersome at all. They take a back seat and let the game and story drive themselves.

The world is fleshed out while leaving plenty of room for player expansion.

The art work and layout are top notch.

Warpland is a great starting point for new players and a great place for experienced players to thrive.

Get this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet for Warpland
by Thomas L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2021 20:39:16

Not a lot to say! The character sheet is simple, sweet, and to the point. Perfect for the game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet for Warpland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WARPLAND
by Thomas L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2021 20:37:07

The advertisement snagged me, folded and creased, looking like the back cover of an old magazine - Heavy Metal or Epic Illustrated. In the foreground a sword buried blade down in skulls and loot, the background all melting cliffs and 70s style psychedelic fantasy-trope shapes twisting away. Over and beneath the image, the words - the font is phenominal, fitting in perfect - stating technology as a thing of the past, and dark magic introducing itself into the world. I need to check this bad boy out.

My first search took me to Gavriel Quiroga's Facebook site devoted to the game, and I see the gamebook's cover for the first time - Wow! I am immediately reminded of the thick linework of some of my favorite artists like Mignola or Sam Hiti, equally mysterious but rendered dark and grim. So many connections click through my head in its own inspirational web of logic: Frazetta, Fire and Ice, old 60s and 70s fantasy paperback art, god I love that font! post-apokalyptic, Den, 2000AD, old creepy ghost comics my uncle used to let me read, the hits just keep coming. Then I read blurb beneath, promising me a world the likes of which we've seen in the Heavy Metal magazine and film - oh yeah, I'm hooked.

Long story short, I have the game. I Love it. Throughout the book, the art is a perfect fit for this forbidding and fierce setting - some pieces pulling you in so thoroughly that I swear you can hear music, bellowing, the crunch of boots and clink of chains. Every Single Page has been thought out and placed purposely. I know I've read others say the same thing, but this book is a masterwork in itself. The gameplay is fast and loose and easy, lending itself both to heavy roleplay/storytelling or easy adaptation into a GMs own setting if preferred. You can easily open this book anywhere and start reading; every page pulls you in through the art, graphic design, and Quiroga's inspired writing. The setting has so much feeling! Each region is discussed, with additional appropriate (and Fun) encounter charts to roll on that really do a lot of the heavy work in delivering that feeling of the different regions. The specifics that set this game apart from all others are exceptional, from the awesome Aether-effect charts you roll on every few days, to the mutations and artifacts and demon-bound items; and underpinning it all, the history - this ain't just any old post-apokalyptic world. (I Love the use of Eloi/Morlock future-mythology!) The whole twisted, brutal, mysterious, somehow hopeless world is the very definition of fantastic.

I'm married, work full-time, and am a father of four. I'm an incredibly busy individual. When I get off work, I have very little personal time, and that time I like to spend watching movies with my family, reading, playing games on Steam, board gaming or role-playing. Lots to choose from in that list - each one offering a multitude of choices, and I have very little chance to do any. I choose Warpland.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WARPLAND
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

NEUROCITY
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 20:02:21

I love Neurocity. It's got a very detailed world, which has several backstories which you can choose or roll to make each game unique. It's got robust tools for plot hooks as well as a full set of pregens, which is a personal favorite of mine. The ruleset is very OSR. It's the best way of dealing with player death I've seen, you're not allowed to die. It's Paranoia meets1984 meets Shadowrun. 5 Stars. 



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NEUROCITY
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates