DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2020 12:19:45

Evrything...and I do mean EVERYTHING about this setting is glorious in the best possible way. So much passion was poured into this project and it truly shows. The art, lore and detail are exactly perfect and I could not be more happy with the product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by rick b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2020 21:09:37

I don't often write reviews, but this book is definitely worthy of a player's or gm's time. It is well written and deals well with the insanity of our time. There are many hooks for a good time at any table. I am adding this to our regular games in the 5e worlds quickly.
I look forward to more from this world and will be picking up future works for sure. Hopefully, "Lost Vegas" will be given some details. And I would love to see how the pandemic and other issues are brought to the game. The best part of this book is that it is satirical without becoming cynical, which happens often. Instead, it follows the path of Jonathan Swift, never taking itself so serious that the reader loses hope.
This book has provided me with enjoyment already and will bring smiles to those who want to have fun at the table, but can still look at the world and say "we can do better."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2020 23:17:02

I cannot rate this setting book more highly. I watched it climb the ranks of Kickstarter greatness, I participated in the Discord server for it. I even got my Character art in the book! I believed in this campaign so highly, not only did I donate 200 smackers on Kickstarter, I also dropped another 90 in Backerkit extras. This is the real deal when it comes to amazing satire and wonderful settings. This will be in my most esteemed and proud collection of D&D media.

Enough with the praise and gloating, let's talk about why it's so good.

First of all, the execution of satire is of a very high level. The way that things are named, the artwork, the lore, most everything in this setting is so very clever! While the expansiveness is not quite to the caliber that I had wished, since they became a company and are planning on releasing TONS of Murka content, I believe that I will be completely satisfied - I was hoping for settings and city guides for each city listed in the map of Murka. Apparently this is in the roadmap, so I will be completely ecstatic to see my home town of Atlanta done up in true Murka style.

Next, I'll talk about the art. The artwork is very well done and I was very impressed with the depictions and illustrations that were lovingly included in the book. I will admit that I am a tiny bit disapointed in the visual style of my player character that was included, but I can overlook that - I'm just incredibly gracious that she is included in any kind of D&D related media. As for the other character art, omg is that one of the greatest things about this book. The "cameos" from all kinds of celebrity likenesses, the familar ideas of American culture turned into magic items, even the monsters are downright hilarious and I love all of it!

Lastly I will touch on the lore. Woah boy do I love me some lore and worldbuilding and boy howdy does Murkah have that! Of course, it takes American history and adds it's own D&D fantasy spin on the actual historical events and adds a dash of ridiculousness in true satire fashion. The fact that we have some refferences to Founding Fathers, historical wars, our American currency (known as a Buck), and even cultures based upon the city settings that are introduced to the world. I cannot wait to see more of what Action Fiction does to expand the world and history that is Murka!

I sincerly reccomend this book and support the works of Action Fiction. They are incredibly amazing people. I have not only made friends with them through the Kickstarter process and discussing the development of it, but also by watching the small company grow. You absolutely will not regret support this amazing team!

For the land of the free, and the home of the brave!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Brian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2020 14:04:20

I loved almost every single page in this book. Practically all of the subclasses are well-written and mechanically sound enough to fit into normal campaign settings beyond Murka. I especially liked that the Artificer got some support as well, making it feel more of a part of the base class group and not just an Eberron thing.

Looking forward to playing with this setting in my next campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Kristopher R. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2020 07:05:37

I bought this :) Fun supplement with some spiffy subclass options. Maybe a little tongue in cheek for some tables, but a great fit for mine :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2020 09:10:22

Monsters of Murka a well written game that manages to tackle a difficult topic in a fun way while creating mechanics and additions to the D&D 5e game that will live on beyond just campaigns set in this setting. I would recommend.

I don’t often find myself reading parody games and when I do, they are typically short and designed for tongue in cheek one off sessions. Monsters of Murka by newcomers Action Fiction is a very different take on the parody style of game. They have taken a topic that is close to many people (American Politics), created a parody setting and turned it in to a fully-fledged game utilising D&D 5e. Monsters of Murka was funded by a successful 2019 Kickstarter campaign and the game was published in 2020 during the global COVID-19 pandemic.

There are a lot of things to like about this game and not many things to dislike.

Action Fiction have produced a quality 217-page book that presents an alternate history with a rich setting that could fuel multiple levels of gameplay. Significant effort looks to have been expended to address content concerns through the use of sensitivity readers as well the appropriate content warnings. Given the addition of rules such as those that explore Human Privilege, I believe this was a good idea.

One of the few negatives I experienced while reading the book was I felt that the team could have done a slightly better job at explaining how the 'standard' D&D elements fit within the broader Monsters of Murka world context but other than a slight distraction during the initial reading this didn’t detract to much from the overall experience.

The numbers alone speak volumes to the amount of work put into this book. There are 3 backgrounds, 15 class options, 40 magic items, 14 spells, 15 monsters, 22 deities, an 8-piece artifact, 3 fully fledged locales and even a new condition.

This was a well written enjoyable read into a fantastical view of American politics and pop culture. Even as a non-American I found the references funny and as I read, I kept looking forward to the next section. There are some games that are good to read but may not be good to play. Monsters of Murka is a balanced game with thought put into playability and as such it would also make a great game to play.

There are elements of this game that stuck with me after I had finished reading. For example, the addition of optional rules for human privilege was thought provoking and I imagine this will influence my own game design in the future.

Full Review - https://joshboys.reviews/f/monsters-of-murka



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Ranlam M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2020 16:13:19

The game does what it says on the tin, and that is be freaking amazing. Take a ride in a place that FUCKING sucks and have the power to do something about it, or don't whatever it's your game. But this book will give you not only some fun ideas, but also the tools to expound on this ideas yourself. Truly, these are the memes y'all were looking for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Merric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2020 14:43:07

Monsters of Murka is a wild meme filled ride featuring everything from gunchucks to an influencer class. But there is more to this than just the addition of new items, spells, classes, and loot. There is a whole work setting built on the meme tastic world of Murka ranging from sea-addled to Washtown where you will find the Don and various ruling factions as well as some familiar monuments.

While I received this product for free I would recommend it to anyone looking to add some levity to their table and take on some truly epic bosses.

As a bonus it is freaking hilarious.

Down with The Don!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Steve M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 14:15:41

Monsters of Murka places traditional D&D adventuring in a setting very familiar to a lot of us, recognizable through the lens of satire.

The material in this sourcebook is useful both as a self-contained setting, or parted out and used individually. The inspiration for various subclasses, magical items, spells and other options is obvious, but they're robust enough that I'd consider using them even in non-Murka games. Similarly, Murka itself can be used as-is out of the book, placed in an existing campaign world, or even just distilled for inspiration and used for seasoning. I know I'm definitely going to use the Draguns next time I run 5E, they make me smile and bring me joy.

When it comes to satire and commentary, Monsters of Murka punches up, not down. Looking forward to seeing what's next from Action!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Alexis L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2020 17:00:58

This is a super fun addition to the DnD universe! I have been hoping to play a campaign that was adapted to modern times so when Monsters of Murka was advertised for me on Kickstarter, I had to check it out! The art is incredible, there are so many fun additions and the ability to expand on them is awesome, like the box of donuts magical item, where you can use the donuts with effects provided, or invent your own! And being some the Seattle area, I love that we were included in the main cities and the maps all look great. Plus Sea Addled is a great pun and just clever all around. Couldn't be better timing than for it to come out during the pandemic and give my friends and I the opportunity to start up a new campaign to parody the nonsense on the news and while we have the time to play it out. Thanks so much!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Taryn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2020 11:01:00

"Make Murka Great Again!"

This campaign setting is packed full of wit and satire! Visit the land of See-Addled or the Holly Woods. Play as a Dragunborn Cleric of the Explosion domain, or perhaps as a Priveleged Human Ranger with Cowboy Magic! Have a donut from the Baker's Dozen Donut Box (one of many new magic items) but try not to take a bite of the Donut of Death. Maybe have a nice Donut of Destruction instead, and take a buff to your damage rolls for a while. Slay some Trumplins, Drumpfs, and Butter Elementals, while you're at it!

After reading through the thoughtful re-telling of American history and taking a look at the new settings, firearms/explosives, subclasses, backgrounds, spells, and magic items that this book brings to the table, I'm excited to run a Murkan adventure. I highly recommend this campaign setting to anyone who wants to explore current affairs and have a great time doing it.

Come for the memes and celebrities re-drawn for D&D (like Terry Crews as a Cleric, or the "I'm About to End This Man's Whole Career" meme as a Bard), stay for the biting societal commentary and well-thought out campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Velvet D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 20:38:16

The content in this supplement is second to none. Packed with puns and references galore, fun and exciting new sub-classes, and terryfying new monsters, this package has something for absolutely everyone. The art is fantastic and incredibly well done. The new mechanics and items are diverse, exceptionally crafted, and varied enough to stand out even amongst each other. The settings are fully fleshed out cities with incredible characters and histories, moreover, the new pantheon had me in stitches. The amount of work and passion the team put into this product is palpable and I can only hope they had half as much writing it as I had reading through it. If you're someone who appreciates well-crafted material, memes, wordplay, and fun for the sake of fun, I can't reccomend Monsters of Murka enough. I may have my reservations of being American but Stan-Ley damnit, I'm one of the proudest Murkans you'll find.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 16:55:17

I backed this game on Kickstarter thinking it would be pretty funny. I was wrong.

It is HILARIOUS!

Human Privilege! Help Desk Wizards! Crowd Sourced Warlocks! Action Hero Fighters! DraGUNS! The Don! Killary! A massive setting that stretches from sea to polluted sea! It's got it all! The humor is topical and on point, and it doesn't spare anyone or anything. It's the kind of humor that only someone how truly loves a thing can write, striking that perfect balance between reverence and irreverence. And the best part is: Gunchucks! Nun chucks with guns on the end!

The layout of this books is very professional and well done. Other than a few editing mistakes (not uncommon for the initial PDF release, I'm sure most of them will be fixed very shortly), it's as strong as any official D&D book published so far in terms of look and layout.

The artwork is also beautiful. D&D versions of favorite (or not so favorite) celebrities and politicians. Fantasy remakes of popular memes. Monsters and magic items, all the artwork is amazing and does a fantastic job of striking inspiration in this old DM's heart.

Also, for all the humor in this book, there's not a lot of just fluff. It's a full on campaign setting. Three cities are detailed. History is given. Factions are discussed. Deities and heroes are looked at. It's got everything you could want from a setting book, except maybe an introductory adventure (it's my only complaint).

And the mechanics in it are also very well done. Very balanced. Again, for all the humor in these options (and there is plenty), these rules could be used in a non-Murkan campaign without upsetting the balance of it very much, if at all.

Overall, it's a really great product, and I applaud everyone that worked on it. If I had one regret (other than the lack of an adventure), it's that I didn't opt to back it at a physical level, because this book belongs on my shelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Niles G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2020 11:41:56

A well thought through parody of modern pop culture in the United States. Truly something unique in the best way possible. Expect lots of laughs and puns while you fight in this 5e setting. Lots of lore, new sub-classes, tons of magic ideas, amazing professional art, and truly an easy template to drop yourself anywhere into a fastasy USA.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Murka Campaign Setting (5e)
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2020 21:36:40

There are three things that solidify this as a 5-star product for me.

  1. The Quality of the Written Content: The team over at Action Fiction are both brilliant and hillarious in just the right combination that is required to make something like this and make it actually, ya know, GOOD. Every single section and paragraph throughout this entire book is littered with pop culture references and puns that just about any American citizen living in the modern world can relate to and laugh along with, but this product is more than just a collection of well thought out and witty jokes. In fact, there is plenty of good satire out there in the form of RPG material, but what sets this apart is its pure practicality. The magic items, for example, are items you'd actually want to include in your games for more than just their humorous titles, but also for the fact that they're practical magic items that have a real mechanical use. I found myself reading through little bits of content such as character options and monsters, first thinking "oh that's cute and funny," and very quickly thinking "wait, hold on, this is actually flipping AWESOME and I need it in my game immediately." Everything from the sub-classes to the NPCs and items are phenomenally well thought out and make you want to jump right in and start playing in Murka.

  2. THE F-ING ART: I MEAN LIKE IT'S REALLY GOOD. Even the illustrations throughout this book are drenched with personality and wit. There isn't a single section without a brilliant celebrity cameo that is both instantly recognizable and incredibly fitting for the subject matter. This book will forever be a snapshot of all of the memes and pop culture icons that defined this era in American history and the art goes a LONG way in making that so.

  3. The Creators: I can't possibly write enough positive things about the individuals that worked on this book. Action Fiction is a group of absolutely wonderful people who work constantly to uplift and grow our community. It has been a pleasure and an honor to have known them throughout the creation of this project and see it develop into what it is today.

BUY THIS. BUY IT. THE PDF IS ONLY 10 DANG DOLLARS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates