DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Magus Hack
by andres m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2021 02:10:12

Mage Hack is an urban fantasy game that has some really interesting looking mechanics and ideas. Playing on the idea of a flexible magic system in which you can do pretty much anything and running with it. 

The rules seem pretty good and are very light overall. Character creation is fast and easy with most emphasis focused on the characters magic. 

The majority of the rules focus on magic. For the magic rules I love the philosophy system which allows for the creation of any kind of magic user. Be they wizards in a tower, mad scientists, or secretive witches. The magic relies on a charge system where you roll to collect charges for your spells. The magic is flexible and diverse relying on creating spells in six magical schools which align with each of your stats. Where as far as I read your character could do anything if they had enough time and reached a high enough level. 

Overall I like the magic system. It's flexible giving your characters the ability to cast whatever spells they want and while somewhat complicated is fairly easy to manage once you get the hang of it. 

I do dislike that character creation requires rolling for stats and no alternatives to doing so are provided. But I understand that this is based on the black hack which is in tern based on 1970s role-playing games so I suppose that it's expected. 

The game is generic and has little in the way of setting. Though it does have some rules on other worlds and possible antagonists such as an invasion of fairies or aliens. It can be used for pretty much any urban fantasy setting so long as your ok with extremely freeform magic. It does however seem at times that the game was designed to be "mage the ascension, with better rules" especially considering the philosophy examples seem to be the 9 traditions with the serial numbers filed off. I do feel like a good setting could be made from this though and overall I think it's a good system to work with if you like flexible urban magic. 



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Magus Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great (and very insightful) review. Yeah, full disclosure, the game is an attempt to "do" Mage: The Ascension with clean old school mechanics and the Philosophies are very much the Nine Traditions, slightly rebranded. Magus Hack does go out on a limb to offer a range of 'Big Bads' from the obligatory conspiracy of powerful wizards, demons or cyborgs to a Fae invasion, Lovecraftian horrors or sentient plants. I think the game gets a bit more distinctive if you check out the Sorcerers Companion. That adds in Archetypes to build your character around a spell-slinger or an arcane secret agent, a good dose of world-building for demons, dragons, angels and fae and a quick'n'dirty alternative magic system. The forthcoming 101 TALES OF WONDER will add enough scenarios to make Magus Hack more bespoke, I hope. But it's main pitch is that you can quickly roll up characters for an urban sorcery scenario without getting too bogged down in lore or backstory. Anyway, THANK YOU for a very thoughtful analysis
The Hedgerow Hack
by Timothy P. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2021 01:35:55

This RPG in a word is quite original and throws you into the fray with a chance to role-play dimension travelling scarecrows, beaked men, tinkers, magic casters, and adventurers in a land that is connected closely to the folkloric other world with light and dark creatures and demi-humans. The reader is introduced to a setting of English hedgroves with portals that may mysteriously open into another time or place where you are called on to over overcome some fearsome evil. It has overtones of Narnia, but also could be suitable for games of a darker nature with adults. I look forward to seeing more developed for this series - particularly a setting or an adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hedgerow Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review: a mini campaign in three acts is on the way, entitled 'A Spring Clean For the May Queen'
The Ghost Hack
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 16:11:51

An interesting idea here roleplaying ghosts in a world where both the living and the dead pose a threat to your undead existance.

The dice mechanic is the most interesting thing here, where the die you roll to influence the game changes to reflect fatigue or power loss. This seems an excellent way to reflect your efforts and will give a sense that your actions have consequences, rather than simply running out of magic or being able to swing a sword infinately like in other RPGs.

I've only read this book, so I can't say if this is its own game or a supplement to a larger game system, but The Ghost Hack reads more in line with an instrcution manual than a book that gives you a big insight into the world in which it is set. This isn't a bad thing if you like to homebrew based on good mechanics, but I felt after reading it that I wanted to understand how the afterlife works, what are the undead locations like? How do some of these rules work in a scenario? So perhaps this last point is where this book could have shined further, and a scenario or adventure included in the book with the rules to demonstrate the potential here would have been welcome.

I like the black and white art inside the book, giving a creepy theme that matches the subject matter, which also has callbacks to classic RPG books from the 70's and 80's.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Ghost Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fen Orc Almanac 2020
by Chris O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 14:28:38

well worth chucking a few shekels at. something will catch your eye or at the least give you some cool concepts to work off. hope there's going to be another volume....



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fen Orc Almanac 2020
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beneath the Ruined Wizard's Tower
by Karl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 14:17:14

Nice work, fits well with original. Surprisingly good for a free product. 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Ruined Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Ghost Hack
by Karl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 14:08:26

Excellent product.

All the flavour you want without obstructive mechanics. This is a game that has it’s focus set on telling compelling, emotional tales. It’s all roleplay over rollplay, I highly recommend the “Hell hath no fury” adventure to get your feet wet. That will take you along all the important points of the system and clarifies any ambiguity you might have.

Cannot recommend enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ghost Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fen Orc Almanac 2020
by Karl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 03:13:39

Been following the blog for a long time, saw these as they were posted. Great to have them all contained in one slick volume.

If you like what's in here there is a lot more content on fenorc.co.uk, reviews of systems, homebrew stuff etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fen Orc Almanac 2020
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fen Orc Almanac 2020
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 06:29:45

If you’re looking for one shots, or want a side quest to spice up your campaign then this is a must have. Each one is creative and differing in tone and theme. Personally I want to keep the “Inn of the cold companion” in my back pocket in case of TPK.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Ruined Wizard's Tower
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 05:27:55

Great imaginative expansion on a classic module. Highlight being the introduction of a dungeon warden or ‘dingleman' (as Fen Orc puts it), there’s a link to a great article included that builds on the idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Ruined Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beneath the Ruined Wizard's Tower
by Emily R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2020 12:42:08

I really love this expansion of Zenopus' Tower. It pays homage to the original dungeon and brings in loads of fun elements and mystery. The thematic and spacial relationship with Holmes' original dungeon is spot on. I started my players out in the Ruined Tower and this was a really fun way to expand their adventure once they had cleared out the first level. Would highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box: Unearthed Trove
by Emily R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2020 12:39:00

White Box has been great for playing virtual D&D during lockdown and Fen Orc's 'Unearthed Trove' makes it even better. Great new classes and useful systems for trauma and death really enhance the game for myself as a DM and my players. The PDF is very well formatted and easy to read. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box: Unearthed Trove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fen Orc Almanac 2020
by Emily R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2020 12:36:39

A fantastic resource. I just started out as a DM and this is full of fun and interesting scenarios to play out with my players. Especially loved the dwarven rom-com - laugh out loud moments! Newbies and experienced D&D players will find a lot to enjoy in here. The almanac is well set out and easy to follow. Would highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fen Orc Almanac 2020
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box: Unearthed Trove
by Karl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 15:30:47

Some really thoughtful expansions on the base system. Can’t wait to unleash the trauma systems in my next campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box: Unearthed Trove
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates