DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2022 22:03:41

I joined a Weird Frontiers game at an online con. I chose it because I was a fan of DCC and the setting of Weird Frontiers was compelling to me. I was not disappointed! This game and setting are rich with content for your RPG table. The many character classes are unique and fun to play. I am hooked and you should be too! Get on this weird wagon train and enjoy the ride!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird Frontiers RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by William K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2022 14:56:45

This book is terrifying. Not just the content - the sheer size of it will send a chill down your spine.

But the content is great too! The delightfully old-but-new-school mechanics from Dungeon Crawl Classics, with a well thought out and comprehensive setting. The character classes are flavorful and unique, the "gun deck" adds some western verisimilitude, the art is fantastic. And the game is just fun.

If I have a complaint, it's that the size of the book sometimes makes finding things a bit of a pain. But it's not enough of a complaint to stop busting out this glorious tome every time I get a chance.

A++, I'll buy anything David makes.

Also, if you play DCC and haven't checked out Carnival of the Damned, you owe it to yourself to do so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2022 12:41:16

David Baity has created a love letter to the old west and the Mythos, all while wrapping it in a deep understanding of the powerful Dungeon Crawl Classics engine. This, in my opinion, is the definitive Weird West genre game. Between his well designed and beefy classes, his intelligent yet not overwhelming rules evolutions, and his spells, Mr. Baity has really done something special here. It is also worth noting, when I mention his classes, I don't mean reskinned versions of DCC classes. No, he really built his classes and most of his spells with a real flavor of his own. When you consider the number of adventures already released for the setting as well, this 900 page tome and supplements gives a lifetime of gaming goodness, either to take wholesale, or rob bits and pieces of for your own home brew games! I'd take issue with the size of the book alone, except that I can't find anything I would not want now that I have seen it. This book is an accomplishment akin to the original P'Tolus setting, a real game changer for any future 3rd party content in my opinion. If you want some more of my thoughts, see my video on my YouTube channel, Books, Bricks and Boards!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Nicholas E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2022 11:09:16

Absolutely outstanding work in all respects. You can tell this huge book is a labor of love and it oozes attention to detail and quality. Anyone who is familiar with DCC can pick this up and run (ride?) with it. There is so much core material here to inspire your creativity. It may not be flawless, but I've yet to see a flawless product in over 40 years of gaming. That being said, it is darned close! The organization was well thought out and everything is presented clearly and concisely, even if it is 900+ pages. Further, I've had email dialogue with David and he's been friendly, responsive and genuine. I'm so glad to have supported him in producing this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2022 12:49:02

KS pdf Review.

Piggybacking off of the Dungeon Crawl Classics dice mechanic (and aesthetic) this morbidly fun Western ttprg has a ton of depth hidden within a chunky 900+ page tome. Just like DCC, there’s plenty to dig through, but you only need the very basics to get rolling and enjoy plenty of weird western shenanigans around your table (whether online or in person).

The character classes are very interesting takes and twists on western tropes; from the more traditional Gunslinger and Gambler, to the outrageous and surprising Hellbilly and Luchador, to the creepy Occultist and Sin Eater- just to name a handful. And many of the character classes have access to magic or magic-like abilities, which tie them to the world.

Lastly there’s a meaty bestiary of bizarre creatures and a few adventures included so the players and gm can hit the ground running! If you’re a fan of the “weird west” genre then you owe yourself to check this product out. If I have any quibble, it’s just that you’ll either need to get some DCC dice sets OR you can just use a phone app or any online die roller. You do NOT need the DCC core rule book to play Weird Frontiers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Norbert - J. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2022 09:34:11
So I run the YouTube Channel, Mr. Mean Speaks! where I sit and chat about table top rpgs and my thoughts with a lil review tossed in and the hopes that you the viewer will watch and hopefully decide that game A is something you might or might not like and this whole mess of words will help you decided to buy or not! Well I'm gonna cut to the chase right now and make this simple for ya! Buy this book! Its that simple cause if you can answer any of the below questions then you are prolly gonna love this game! so here we go! 1. Do you love Weird West tales? 2. Do you love Dungeon Crawl Classics rpg? 3. Do you like easy to learn game mechanics that make your class feel special? 4. Do you like Cthulhu type horror?

If you can answer yes to any or some or even all of these questions then this is the game for you!

The art is awesome in the book! Its over 900 pages of RPG goodness! Its a PDF you DONT have to lug this tome around! Unless your crazy like me and just like having cool books with you all the time!!!

So in short the game play is amazing (I have played it at Cons and ALWAYS have a great time!) The art is amazing! The game mechanics are solid! This is a BUY, Get it and impress your friends and family! :-) It has the Mr. Mean Seal of approval!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
It's always an honor to be asked on a show to talk about the game. Thanks for the review and for having me on, Mr.Mean
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by RONALD P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2022 22:42:12

I gave this 3 stars as it is clearly a labor of love from its creators. It is not better in world development (Luchadors in the Wild West? Yuck), its structure is clunkier than most (Even more than Aces & Eights, if you can believe that), and its Cthulhu take is meh (Down Darker Trails is superior.) Buy this game if you dont have any other Wild Wierd West game, but if you do, just stick to them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
While I don't understand some of your criticisms, I realize that the game isn't going to win over everyone that takes a chance on it. I'm very sorry you didn't find anything to like about it- Dave
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2022 15:12:29

Everything you love about DCC but Weird West. There are a LOT of great games focusing on the west but I promise you’ll find this one to be special.
Now in full disclosure, I live in the same general location as the author and have been lucky enough to sit in a a fair number of adventures. So while I am a biased source at least I’ve had some time with the game.

So my take: The character classes all feel unique and set the tone for the rest of the game. Even the classes you think will be straight forward, like the gunslinger or monk, all have a uniqueness that helps give this version of the fantasy west a different twist.

What is a western with out guns and WF has a meticulously researched list of period firearms. They don’t feel like they were an afterthought. You got to get firearms right in a western and this game does.

All new spells, written with the setting in mind. Not just a rehash of same old spells.

A bestiary that’s over 100 pages. Again, they all feel appropriate to the setting.

Includes two full adventures and already has additional published adventures.

The art. Every other page has a t-shirt worthy image and with a tome that clocks in at 900 pages, that’s a whole lot of art. Gunslinging Nun on page 104 is my favorite.

Nine hundred pages can be overwhelming. No getting around that. It should be several books with the adventures printed separately but the author has been pretty forthcoming on why it ended up this way. It is well organized and anyway, thats why they make bookmarks. Yes it’s 900 pages but there were simply no corners cut. It’s all in there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2022 19:40:21

Weird Frontiers is strong! It was what introduced me to Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG. WF has the same playfulness and creative juice inducing as DCC, just with a western flavor.
By just looking through the book (a thiccc boy!) you can see it was prepared with blood, sweat, and tears. If you are at all interested in a western theme, Weird Frontiers is one to put on the top of your list!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Lucas G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2021 11:17:44

I can't say enough about this game! I'm in love with so many of the character classes, and my players had a hard time choosing because the classes all have something that makes them special. Keep in mind this is a DCC (Dungeon Crawl Classics) compatible game, but you don't have to have any other books to play. The rules are a little more crunchy than what I'm used to with DCC, but any judge with a few games under their belt can plug and pull whatever they want to make the game their own version of a weird west RPG. If you want advanced guns there is a really cool section that gives you all you'd ever want to know, but the author also includes a list for firearms that help keep it simple. There is a light backstory, but you're not going to find it overbearing, and I like the fact that there are plenty of tables and charts to help me build my own towns and adventures. The book comes with two full adventures and we had a lot of fun with the funnel (0-level) Death Crawls West.

This might not be your kind of game, but we're definitely having fun with it, and at 900 pages you can tell the author wanted to give you the full Monty! I can't wait for the upcoming adventures to drop for this gem of a game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2021 16:50:16

This is an amazing book put together by an amazing team. I'm running this for my group and I haven't seen them this excited in years. The same goes for myself.

The class options drip with theme and cool ideas. There aren't a lot of games within this genre, but this is undoubtedly the new king of the table. It is impossible to read and not get a billion cool ideas for amazing adventures. I backed this on Kickstarter and am disappointed that I didn't spring for the limited edition book. Every page feels carefully crafted with the utmost love for this hobby.

I admittedly don't know a lot about this time period but this provides more than enough information for me grab and immerse my group in Weird Frontiers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Douglas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2021 16:47:16

I bought this game on a whim because I'm a fan of...well, just about everything in this book. At over 900 pages, I figured there would be a lot of fluff to wade through, but I found myself pouring over every page because each one is dedicated to fleshing this world out in interesting ways. You can tell this is a labor of love and that the creators really put their hearts into it. I've paid more money for lesser quality games with much less content, so I feel I can safely say that you're getting a good deal for the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Hey Douglas, just wanted to give you a quick reply and thank you for taking the time to write something. I know not everyone will like what they find within the pages, but when someone such as yourself digs what I've been cooking up for years it totally makes it all worth it. Dave
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by Eric Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 17:20:41

This game is the perfect thing for those who love the Wild West and Cthulhu with the backing of the natural gonzoness of DCC. It is a must have in your gaming collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Weird Frontiers RPG
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2021 14:47:31

it's spined on DCC and its an amazing game.
I ain't gonna lie: just like the massive tome the rules can be a lot to juggle.
Once you get the rules, it is a great game to DM and to play as a player. The flavor is off the charts and 100% worth the price alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
by wend c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2020 22:14:34

Bootleg Edition of Dark Trails RPG is well worth the dollars spent. The adventure is playable either as a quick one-shot intro session to the genre using the well-written rules contained within, or as our group is currently playing it, a hard slog through the trails using just a small selection of the MANY encounters within the almost 200 page book, which should take us to level 2 and I imagine, begging for more.

I'm a fan of paying for the PDF, testing the waters and if it stacks up, I grab a physical copy too... if I'm not too cash strapped at the time. Many times I have paid for PDF plus full-priced physical just to support the author/s and I'd not hesitate to do the same for this. Mind you, I've also jumped right in with the late backed Kickstarter and will be waiting patiently by the trail for the pony express to drop off my full stand-alone Dark Trails RPG tomes (600 pages, what more could it contain??!!), plus all and any add-on adventures and also some swag for the players who take up the reins... and shirts, I'd proudly wear!

I support this product FULLY and have been a David Baity fan since the awesome 'Carnival of the Damned' DCC RPG adventure (which again has more encounters than you'll ever need)! As a comparison, I own Call of Cthulhu Down Darker Trails and have played Deadlands Weird West and I have way more fun and feel more comfortable with the DCC RPG family of products.

PDF: Have not found any issues with the product, it is well organised and quality is A+! Physical: Will let you know. Last Word: I was not coerced or plied with booze to write this review and am of sound mind and body! I think! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Trails RPG - Bootleg Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates