DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by Colin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2020 12:13:58

This is one of THE best DD5E conversion i have ever seen.

It's fast to learn, has a lot of options, an engaging lore and the mechanics go well with the cyberpunk/transhuman setting the game has.

If you can get a playtest of it, do it. You won't be disapointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2020 00:54:30

I love this setting! my players are really enjoying the very diverse creations they come up with due to the mods to themselves. the classes are fantastic as well, even without magic, the Hacks are pretty dang powerful when used right! or just punch your way though!

It feels lighter than say shadowrun, but still has that undercurent of needing to do things in the shadows. its a great setting, and am vastly looking forward to campaign modules that come out for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2020 20:34:28

This book has been moving around my house since it arrived. It goes from hand to hand, rarely sitting on the shelf unconsulted. We expect we'll play more games in the intended setting, and we're convinced that the mechanics and creative opportunity is strong enough we'll create our own locations and run the GeneFunk classes in them.

There have been some strong 5e publications from independent publishers. This holds up next to any of them. Nice work, CRISPR Monkey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Hack Cards
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2019 16:12:19

(Disclaimer: I'm a kickstarter backer.) This is an extremely useful tool to print out reference cards for the various "hacks" (read 5E D&D spells in this biopunk universe) available to players and NPCs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Hack Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 Biopunk Tokens
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2019 14:31:22

(Disclaimer: Kickstarter Backer) Excellent, high quality character tokens suitable for PCs and NPCs on Roll20 or other online RPG platforms. Designed for the excellect Genefunk 2090 game, but useful for any sci-fi setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30 Biopunk Tokens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 13:33:16

Backed the kickstarter on this and a few similar ones looking to see how to bridge Cyberpunk genre with 5e rulesets.

In my opinion GeneFunk 2090 so far seems to be the best example of this.

Things I really like: The step beyond basic cyberpunk into gene editing and transhumanism. In that regard it seems much more mature a genre than simple cybernetics.

The classes seem nicely thought out and less 'cartoonish' than what you sometimes get when shoe-horning sci-fi into 5e.

The flavor the the hacks for the two hacker classes - simple little things like wording how your Alarm 'hack' works in the world of 2090 helps the story telling vibe of hacking vs magic.

Overall just a great attention to detail and making the ruleset feel natural and less forced. It may be one of the best SciFi adaptations to the 5e system I've personally seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by JOHN C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2019 12:57:27

Genefunk 2090 is brimming with creativity. The production values are gorgeous. The setting is a brilliant madhouse.

This game takes the familiar rules of 5e and smoothly adapt them in the dystopian world where you may battle corporate assassins, syndicate grunts or genetic monstrosities. The player options are powerful and interesting without being tedious or overwhelming.

The game’s influences are many and weaved together until the lines between them disappear.

The GM support is effective at giving you tools to construct your own adventures, without being a slog or involving mini-games. Plot hooks, guidance, details about how to handle and grow the campaign.

I appreciate the level of detail the world lore that is given. The history of how we got here fits in two pages. There’s a more well developed cast of corporations to work for and sabotage. It’s the right size of world lore. Too many books pad the first 100 pages with setting and histories. This book delivers its setting where you can easily take what you need from it and move on.

The power curve seems very high, but it’s balanced that the options are all generous. It sets up an ecosystem where characters are less generalists which blends well into the setting of high powered cyborgs and genetic mutts.

Overall, Genefunk 2090 is a very fun, very accessible bio/cyberpunk setting with functional design and huge amounts of creativity. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by adam m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2019 20:48:21

Had a great time reading this. Even though I'm not usually a 5e guy the subject caught my attention and the text and art held it. Despire the plethora of cyberpunk games out there this one feel like its own thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by Sam H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2019 00:08:14

Had a great time playing this! Recommend it to any Sci Fi nerds looking for an RPG to really sink their teeth into. a very interesting setting with lots of thought provoking ideas, and deep inner workings that help the world feel alive. And super fun, fresh game mechanics to boot. Great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by Aimee V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2019 12:27:07

Super fun to play, solid mechanics and character options, and a setting that really pulls you into full immersion. My players love it have even been preferring it over our other campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2019 17:53:50

Full Disclosure: I have helped fund this product on Kickstarter and have been given a "Creative Consultant" credit for helping during the playtesting period. I do not financially benefit from the sale this product.

GeneFunk 2090 is a "biopunk" (think cyberpunk with an emphasis on genetic engineering and its consequences) TTRPG using a modified form of the D&D 5th Edition rules set (all rules are included in this book, no need to own any D&D rulebooks).

What's the Setting? You play as a group of deniable asset mercenaries known as a "cadre" doing dubiously legal tasks for the various corporate and criminal syndicates that form the power structures of this cyberpunk future. Your reputation and pay scale is mediated by "Mosaic", a social media app / job board connecting cadre mercs to clients who need dirty deeds done discreetly. Nine megacorporations own nearly everything in this world, and the "Second Corporate War" is well under way as covert and not-so-covert warfare is the only way for these syndicates to gain superiority over each other.

What's the Technology?

  • For over 50 years genetically engineered humans have been created, designed for a myriad of purposes. As of the year 2090, a quarter of the worlds population were born with transgenic traits.
  • The overwhelming majority of the population have a nanotechnological colony in their bodies called a "daemon", an internal computer and medical nanobot system revolutionizing nearly every aspect of life.
  • Cybernetic, biological and daemon software upgrades are available to those who can afford them to push far past the limits of what is humanly possible.
  • One of the major corporations has developed "Phoenix Unlimited", a system that creates backup copies of a client's consciousness so that in the event of their death, that copy can be given a new body and a kind of functional immortality can be achieved.
  • Despite all the incredible things daemon technology can do, there is a hidden price. It is possible for criminals and government agents to hack into someone's daemon and affect their target's brain and body. Memories can be altered or erased and bodies can be puppeteered. Codehackers are essentially techno-psychics in this world, and the havoc they can wreak is terrifying.
  • Ranged weapon technology is primarily projectile based with specialized ammunition available. Melee weapons can be enhanced with electrical charges or especially sharp nanoblades. Armor can grant physical damage reduction on top of the normal AC boost. No laser pistols or energy shields, flying cars exist with turbofan VTOL, and there's a permanent base on the moon.

How's Character Creation? You have a choice of over 18 different "Genomes" (think D&D races), each very powerful in their own right (a level 1 GF2090 character will be equivalent to a level 3 D&D character). You also have the option to create your own custom genome (GM willing), or play a "Mutt" who rolls completely randomly what traits they inherited from their transgenically engineered parents. There are 11 prewritten Backgrounds to choose from, with the option to write you own. There are 8 classes, ranging from your standard D&D analogues (Fighter, Rogue and Monk players will recognize archetypes) to the Suit (an agent of a corporation/government/mafia who wields money and influence as their weapon) and hackers.

What's this about Hackers? There is no magic or psionics in this world; but bioengineering, nanotechnology and daemons can be used to create effects normally reserved for spell casters in other games. Simply: Hackers are spellcasters, using D&D-like spells as "Hacks". BioHackers can use hacks to affect biological bodies, either to harm or heal. Codehackers can use hacks to affect computers and brains (remember daemons can be hacked), making them truly terrifying techno-psychics. Engineers are masters of machines, their hacks either being crafting blueprints or representing the exact gadget you needed amd just happened to be carrying with you. If you like playing a spell caster in other 5E games and are worried there's nothing for you in this SciFi game, trust me, this game has got you covered.

Is it Good? As stated in the beginning, I am clearly biased. I love this game. The book is gorgeous, the character build options endless, and the setting is perfect for cyberpunk skullduggery. And at this price ($19 US from where I sit) for a 314 page rules complete TTRPG this well made, I think its a steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Core Rulebook
by Scott D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2019 13:47:24

Fantastic quality -can't wait to run a biopunk campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Setting Book
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 22:16:48

I’m a long-time player of table top roleplaying games but have never tried anything from the cyberpunk genre. I’m blown away by how polished this is – just reading through the timeline makes me want to get all my friends together to roll-up characters. You’ve done a great job building on existing RPGs and have added so many new things (really looking forward to seeing the hack descriptions). Looking forward to the Kickstart launch at the end of the month!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GeneFunk 2090 Setting Book
by Jaimie M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2019 22:13:33

Can't wait for the Kickstarter, it looks amazing already!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GeneFunk 2090 Setting Book
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2019 12:37:07

A "BioPunk" (or modern cyberpunk in the post CRISPR age https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CRISPR) setting. With real designer babies just around the corner, this take on the cyberpunk dystopia feels closer at hand than its 1980s inspired ancestors. That said, if you are at all familiar with Cyberpunk 2020, Shadowrun, Interface Zero or any other cyberpunk game settings, you know the drill. You are deniable assets for megacorps, with the added wrinkle that all "cardre" (mercenary band meets limited liability corperation) are linked into a single social media app "Mosaic" with reputaion tracking.

What will you get in this free download? All the fluff text and art of the unreleased core book with brief blurbs where the 5e crunch will be post-kickstarter. This is an increadibly generous preview for the future release, but not a playable game.

What will they do differently with 5e?
Instead of magic or psionics in this setting, all spell-like effects are tech-based hacks. 99% of all PCs and NPCs have integrated nanotech computers with legions of nanobots swimming in their veins so hacking into the bodies and brains of friend or foe mimics spells easily. Biohackers heal & harm bodies, codehackers dominate minds & computers while engineers engage in good old mechanical techno-wizardry.
Other classes mimic your fighters and rogues, but the "Suit" class seems like an interesting choice: You wield powerful 'favors' with governments and megacorps. Make one phone call and an orbital ion cannon strike takes out a target or a drone delivers exactly the ordinance you need.

Is it good? The fluff and concepts for the various genotypes and classes are very intriguing, but as this has no stat crunch I can't tell you much about the actual game design. The art is outstanding and I have yet to find any typographical errors or word salad gibberish commonly found in kickstarter PDFs. These folks have done the right thing and worked hard on the project BEFORE going to Kickstarter and asking for money. Based on this preview, come May 1st I plan to be among the first 100 backers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Cheers for the thoughtful and specific review, I appreciate the detail that reflects your actual reading of the book! :D
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates