DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Helm of Radiance - Adventure for Worlds Without Number
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2022 00:16:52

I honestly don't know how to feel abou this product. It's not a brilliant adventure, and if I'm being honest I feel it fails to deliver on the core premises it advertises in its description.

  • 1-2 hours? Unless your players are EXTREMLY slow moving and prone to distractionn it is more in line of 30 minutes to an hour of content at best.
  • "explore" the cave of whispers? it is 3 scenes chained together by a loose narrative. No Map, no branches just: "Say these things. if the players do X, Procede"
  • solve a "riddle" of incredible danger? A series of doors that upon opening have various events that happen. No hint's at the danger's behind the doors at all. One of the doors is an instant "Save or die" scenario for level 1 characters with no warning, I guess that counts as incredibble danger. The only Hint at the doors is "have them roll a notice check, if they succeed tell them one of the doors has worn hinges, thats the correct door to go through" No other narrative clues are given.
  • Solving a mystery with several possibbble player determined outcomes is. "There are monsters at the end. You can either make a deal with them or Fight them".
  • "A new WWN monster" Yes. Thats technically true...But wwn is very generic in its stat blocks so anything that is given stats is "new", and the monster in question is not "new" in the fantasy RPG world. Its kobolds.

It's not a brilliant adventure. My first thought on reading it was "wow. This is the sort of thing I would improvise if my players went in a direction I was not prepared for. But I could likely improvise it better." Followed by "if this is a sellable adventure, I should try publishing the stuff I run."

All of that being said. the seed of something good IS there, and with some work from the referee the concept could be taken and something good could come of it. I'm unfamiliar with the other work by Earl of Fife, so I can't say how this compares to other things they've done...For 2 dollars: it's fine. It's an idea that can be run to fill some time and if you find yourself lacking inspiration, its a fine idea for an adventure if you are willing to put in the lions share of work to make it worth running. I'm not angry I bought it, but at the same time I feel like this could have been a random blog post someone posted as an idea.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Helm of Radiance - Adventure for Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Brandon. I have went through and updated some of the adventure to make parts less random. This is meant for a fill-in spot for a quick aside when adventuring.
The Maze of Mezeria - Adventure for Worlds Without Number
by Aaron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2021 06:34:59

Some cool art and interesting ideas on how to structure a WWN adventure with a few unique mechanics, but overall I felt underwhelmed, especially at this price point.

I think if the scene recaps were cut (a one page summary for each one page entry is not needed), the typos on alomst every page cleaned up, and the price reduced to around $3, you'd have yourself a pretty solid product.

Oh, and starting off the adventure with a unavoidable trap that EVERYONE has to roll a save or take 1d6 damage is a terrible idea!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Maze of Mezeria - Adventure for Worlds Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Cook at the Crossroads - Adventure for MÖRK BORG
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2021 09:47:02

I really like this simple yet effective adventure. It can easily be dropped in any campaign as a very neat encounter. It's about 12 pages but in my opinion, very worth while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cook at the Crossroads - Adventure for MÖRK BORG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes & Hardships: Wallace
by Kurtis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2020 09:21:46

Absolutely spectacular. Wallace is incredibly carefully and well thought out. the attention to detail and depth of forethought into the writting supports an incredibly versatile game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships: Wallace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fat of the Lamb - Adventure for Old-School Essentials
by Adam M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2020 10:31:12

This adventure really doesn't feel like it follows the old school design aesthetic. Instead of giving players agency, it's a heavily-scripted series of events on rails that would fit 5e far better than OSE. It's well-written, but it just doesn't scratch the itch that OSE adventures should.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fat of the Lamb - Adventure for Old-School Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Helm of Radiance - Adventure for 5E
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2020 21:10:35

The Cavern of Whispers is said to be haunted by malevolent, restless souls that jealously guard an artifact known as the Helm of Radiance. Many have dared to brave the cave in the hopes of riches and power, none has succeeded. Will your PCs succeed where others have failed? Find out in this six-page, 5e sidetrek/expanded encounter for 1st and 2nd level from Earl of Fife Games.

I can’t give much away without spoiling the adventure’s central twist, but it’s imaginative, fun, and gets huge kudos for playing against expectations. Also, of note, one can overcome the final challenge in a number of ways, perhaps excluding combat – a nice change of pace.

While a couple of head scratching plot points need addressing by the GM, they are easy enough to correct and don’t detract from the overall experience.

The Helm of Radiance may not suit the tastes of those who like gritty or grim gaming, but younger players in particular should enjoy the experience.

Editing and formatting are very good and the pdf sports nice full-color artwork.

Cody Leigh has delivered a rather enjoyable side trek that serves as a change of pace. It demonstrates a grasp of 5e rules, some interesting twists, and is inexpensive. Worth looking at for an hour or so of gaming.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Helm of Radiance - Adventure for 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Cody L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2020 21:40:01

I playtested this game through several one shots and a campaign. I can comfortably say that this is one of the more comprehensive RPGs I've ever played. The roll-keep format creates compelling results, the skills allow players to cover every potential interaction within multiple settings and combat system is fluid. Heroes and Hardships has a place at any table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Peter H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 13:09:58

I took part in the playtest of this game and really enjoyed it (you'll see from the reviews that everyone did). It's on the grittier, more simulationist end of the scale when it comes to combat, but runs a lot faster than something like Rolemaster. I particularly liked the character creation system, which gives enough options to meaningfully shape your character but not enough to cause confusion. I'm looking forward to seeing the wider range of options in the full book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by sim 1. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 13:00:22

Had the pleasure of playtesting the system multiple times. Its going to be a great toolbox for players and gm's who want to step away from the heroic and into the gritty. Mistakes will kill your pc's and victories will taste much sweeter with this system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Kurtis M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 12:11:47

Spectacular. I had the pleasure of playtesting and the system is brilliant. Every fight has tension and anything is possilbe. The level of effort put into this is clear the from the moment you open the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Jarrod W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 09:53:11

The Quickstart Guide itself is immense. Nearly 100 pages and an index? And great art? As Elaine Benes would say, "Get outta here!"

I've had the chance to play H&H several times, first in a Western-themed campaign and second in a cyberpunk-esque one shot. The system handled both settings well and is easily customizeable.

Combat can be brutal, dangerous, and add real weight to your roleplay. I have it to thank for my character's rapid promotion from deputy to sheriff ;)

The full game will be something special.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Walter P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2020 09:41:25

Every fight you go into has a chance of death if the dice gods disfavor you. This pleases me.

With this game I can finally say someone from Colordao has done something of note.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by Heather M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 18:52:21

I was able to playtest this system a few times and loved it. It's very versatile in terms of setting. From feudal Japan to the western frontier, Heroes and Hardships can adapt. The dice system may take a few tries to get used to, but once you do, it is fast-paced and easy to use. The AP system allows everyone to engage in combat easily without waiting half an hour for their turn. The layout of the book is intuitive, and anything you need to know can be readily found.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes & Hardships Quickstart Guide
by ysabeau1 W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 22:01:15

I was a playtester for this system. If you are paging through and thinking "this is nothing like D20", you are correct. The rules are original and therefore take a bit of mental effort to absorb. However, I highly recommend putting in that effort and giving it a go. I think this system results in more realistic play, and combat is SO much more engaging than what you are probably accostomed to! Tracking Action Points requires more keeping up with than 5e initiative, but the flow is quick and allows for very cinematic feeling encounters. It has been designed with all genres and settings in mind, and I look forward to playing through the more advanced rules as they are released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates