DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage
by Timothy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2022 05:59:07

This game is so beautifully put together. Don't let the fact that it's only 2 printed pages fool you, there's a lot of depth here! Andrew has done an incredible job of compressing this amount of gameplay into such a short package, all the while keeping the rules very clear. It's wonderful to live in a world where things like Pencilvillage exist!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pencilvillage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage: Advanced Event
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2022 16:37:10

An Essential add on for repeated plays of Pencilvillage. Very well thought out.

Events turn from "roll 2D6 on a table" to "D6 + turn number" on a much larger table with three tiers.

Once a teir 1 or 2 event happens, you cross it out and the same numerical result goes to the next tier, opening up the possibility for events to be stronger/more swingy as the game progresses. If the tier 3 event is already marked, then you re-roll until you get a different result, which keeps the same event from happening more than a few times in a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pencilvillage: Advanced Event
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2022 16:29:11

This is my favorite world-building (small scale!) solo print & play game.

It's just meaty enough to be interesting but still fast playing and there are numerous paths to victory. Also, I love making maps. :)

The Advanced Event table adds a decent amount of variety once you've played the base game a handful of times.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pencilvillage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Penciltown
by Ed B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2022 08:59:51

Compelling Game

Warning: The author recognizes by noting that its random element, dice, plays a big factor in your campaign outcome. Also, we all know ghost towns exist.

In the week that I have owned the game, I have felt a strong urge to play every day. With six games played, I have won two, resigned three, and lost one (played all the way to turn 100). Two of the resigned games I played early as novice. I blame lack of experience. The remaining resigned game had a horrible streak of one and two pip die rolls, which simply spiral your resources into mucky goo. Even during that worst luck game, it still felt satisfying during many turns therein to defeat some challenges of events. At its worst, you hold hope that things will turn around -- probability and all that.

If you can hedge against the die rolls early and mid-game, it offers many just rewards.

I have felt inspired by this game with its incredible balance despite random pitfalls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Penciltown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage
by Dylan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2020 18:40:51

This game is pretty great. As others have said, it really does scratch that city builder itch, with the tension of being attacked and dungeon exploration built in. It makes me think of a really simplified paper version of Warcraft 3.

The mechanics are clever, and I honestly found the rules to be fairly clear. After reading through it once, I just started a game and looked things up as I went. Since the rules are only on 1 page, finding a specific rule is very easy and after finishing my first game (with a score of -17



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pencilvillage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 08:23:30

Absolute cracker of a game, five stars! As others have mentioned it does exactly what it says on the tin. It scratches the 'I want to play a city builder/ dwarf fortress style game but want to be done within an hour' and it does this VERY well. The basc game has you building a village, creating an economy to aquire resources and in the late game send heroes off on mighty quests for loot and glory. Each round there is an event that keeps you on your toes and the goal of every game is very different depending on what you choose at the start.

The Good: 1. The turn 'process' is simple and gives the game a good 'flow' 2. Gameplay stays fresh throughout the play through as each time you upgrade your core building new mechanics become available 3. HEAPS of ways to customise your games from different characters, maps and modular 'mods' you can plug and play to change your experience 4. Pretty sure the Designer is an Aussie (he said crickey in the video) so that is an automaic +1 for me 5. Active Designer. Quick to respond to feedback and sounds like he is listening to his fanbase. +1 again Things to consider (potential bug bears)
  1. The rules are a bit hard to understand and important things (like the default number of actions per turn in 3) is easy to miss. The Youtube Videos clarify the game really well.
  2. The maps are in grey scale and the icons can be a bit tricky to tell apart (was not too much of an issue but the option to print in colour would be nice)
  3. It is a much lighter version than Pencil Town but I would reccomend both games depending on what experience you are after
Wishlist for improvements
  • Colour maps
  • New maps/ character packs (happy if seperate purchase)
  • Custom 'Scenerios' (custom map with unique mods/ events/ rules like a map with a rival evil castle or something or a win condition to slay the largest monster)
  • coastal expansion (I just want to be a Pirate King...)


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the glowing review. I really appreciate it :) Bugbears 1 and 2 will be improved soon, and at least half of your wishlist will come true :)
pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage
by Max R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2019 01:08:18

Absolute gold. it'd be great to have a way to generate our own maps but, at the same time, a few hours in Paint seems to be all you need to make your own maps! I think that's the beauty of games like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the kind words :) Yeah, it's intrinsically "open-source" because the materials are so simple.
pixel_trans.gif
Pencilvillage
by Steven F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2019 10:29:10

Let me start by saying that : PencilVillage is definitely worth the 4.00. It's satisfying, fun, and worth the time!

The good:

1) A clean game engine that works with intricate interactions.

2) It's an a modular city building game with rpg aspects. Huge win :)

3) It has a ton of replayable value; each play through, you can choose a different "Character" that has different aspects that almost feel like you're playing a different game.

The Okay:

1) The game includes with enough of resources to run the game multiple times, via maps and characters. However, the representation of the information is somewhat lacking.

I ended up finding the designers youtube videos, that shows you how to play the game. Without that "tutorial" of sorts, I doubt I would've even been able to play it.

2) Beyond requiring a tutorial (For what it's worth, I watch videos the first time I play a new game anyway, so that's not really a negative.) the maps/environments have some issues. There isn't anything wrong-functionally speaking-but it is difficult to really read.

In short, the maps including difficult to work with; the grids and lines are super fine, and not discernable. Additionally, the tile icons are the same. Once again functional, but lacking in differentiation.

Potential areas of improvement

1) The Rules. And once again, it's not the rules themselves, the engine is sound. My issue with the rules is that they're not explicit; that is to say that it requires some implicit jumps from having "information dump" to "I understand how this game works."

I think the thought was to have the entire game to be "small" (page count I mean). Due to the fact that the game has a small page count (under 10), the presentation of the information is, or could be rather, a barrier to play. I watched entire 1 hour tutorial, and even then had some questions.

I supposed the most explicit example lacking from the rules, is the "Turn Order." From the Video they are:

1) Tick the round tracker up 1.

2) Roll Event

3) You get 3 actions (unless modified by event).

It's sort of important to include what's supposed to be going on each turn, and in what order, inside rules.

TL;DR It's a good game. Pick it up, watch the tutorial video by the published, and have some run. Rating 4/5

Maybe PencilTown might have more instruction (which is my next game to pick up).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I was strongly motivated to keep things minimal, but as the edge cases get worked, keeping it to one page of rules is looking like a bit of a silly constraint. It is really difficult to be clear in a handful of words. Depending on how things go, I may move it to two pages, which will allow a lot more space for simplicity and clarity in how things are explained. I am continuing to gather feedback from players and will attempt to address concerns in future updates. Poor clarity with the maps is definitely a big issue which lots of other people are also struggling with. It's the first thing I'm going to fix when I'm back at my desktop - my idea is to have a "dark version" for all the maps, for those who prefer high contrast. I do want to mention that the core play loop is in the rules! Under Play: "Proceeds over 30 Rounds. Each round, cross off the round tracker, roll Event, and take three actions." Several people have struggled to find this, so the onus is definitely on me to make it clearer, but it is in there :) Thank you for the fair and kind review, I greatly appreciate it. I'm glad you're enjoying the game :)
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates