DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Corpus Malicious - The Codex of Evil
by Casey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2020 18:52:17

absolutely perfect for a dark or evil campaign.

 



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Corpus Malicious - The Codex of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Onurhan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2020 16:23:37

This is the best dnd 5e setting book I have ever read. I really love nordic content and the classes are very accurate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 07:18:52

I've been a player and on/off GM for a couple of years. Though I'm mostly a fan of high-fantasy settings, a well-done low-fantasy setting can be just as interesting. Svilland is a good example of this.

Svilland is a low-fantasy Norse-themed setting that focuses on a mainland with the same name. The setting is mainly gritty as expected from a Norse setting. Warriors are tempered in the cold of snow, even fragile characters like wizards are expected to be somewhat rough and brawny. Survival is a major concern for the settlements, not only from the hostile environment but also of many foes both from the outside and within. This design shapes the overall tone of Svilland and atmosphere of the stories in the setting.

The setting is inspired by Norse culture and this inspiration is built into the mechanics/classes introduced as well. Wizards are replaced by Runewalkers, drawing power from the runes Odin gives the people. Clerics and Paladins are renamed to Gothi and Alle. Seidrs are introduced as remnants of the old ways, drawing power from spirits rather than Odin, creating many avenues of conflict with the people of Svilland. This conflict is reinforced with the story of the land, many GM's would find an opportunity to create tension between Seidr players and their partymates/environment. Similarly, most classes also receive different archetypes that allow more thematic character options, though Rogues were left out of this treatment. While the races tie into the history of the land and overall theme, they are fairly low-fantasy as well, so don't go expecting to find a substitute for Tieflings or Changelings.

While most spells are focused for combat situations, there are a good number of utility spells and there are really interesting ones. Such as Boon of Sacrifice which can be used after a killing blow to summon a divine guardian or Seeds of Agony, which makes an unconcious targets soul live your entire lifetime's worth of trauma and turn it evil if it cannot take the pressure. The spells are unsurprisingly focused on the gods, as the Norse pantheon is central to the setting. Justice is delivered by the followers of Tyr. People live and fight to please Odin. They fight and try to die honest deaths in battle to avoid Hel's grasp. Loki's followers try to sow dissent into their settlement at every opportunity. The gods are central both in the setting and the lives of the people in it. One god I believe deserves special attention is Balder, who holds dual aspects. Both as a god of beauty and poetry, and as a god who was killed and suffers in hell as a symbol of agony and pain. I found multiple perspectives for a single god like this to be really refreshing.

For GM's the book provides many generic NPC's that can be used as templates for a specific foe or used as is for combat encounters. There are also unique NPC's provided by backers that can be used to serve as story specific encounters or just for flavor.

While some of the points I mentioned mean Svilland is not fully compatible with my taste, they should be evaluated considering the vision of the setting, how well they fit into what Svilland is trying to be. It is an amazing setting for a gritty, high combat adventure through the snowy mountains of a Norse setting. If that's what you're looking for, I absolutely recommend you give Svilland a read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Canberk B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 05:20:18

I was old-fashioned man who kept playing D&D 3.5e. Things have changed when my DM introduced Svilland to me. I started playing D&D 5E thanks to Svilland Campaign. It's one of the best Nordic setting in my opinion. I'm looking forward to Frejya's Tears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Drew A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2020 19:10:06

The setting and lore are very well thought out and this book certainly gives a very solid foundation for building a nordic themed campaign. The monster design is very interesting and I am always happy to find more things to throw at my players. I also like the idea of the magic system, however, this is where the issues begin. The balance of classes/subclasses and spells is all over the place. Some spells are wildly overpowered in comparison to others of the same spell level (Overwhelming Virtue vs. Mass Cure Wounds for example) and others are so niche or underwhelming it would require a very specific situation to be designed by a DM to even make use of them (Dagger of Agony for example). Some subclasses like the rune warrior fighter are way too powerful (a variant of eldritch knight that gives a ton of extra damage per attack).

This book very much needs an editor as well, there are many typos and translation errors/odd sentence structure and it can make certain passages hard to understand. As a DM that likes to give a lot of handouts to my players I feel like it will require a lot of extra work on my part to edit anything I pull directly from the book.

tldr; I do enjoy this book and I recommend it for anyone looking to build a norse setting, however, I don't see this as a finished product, it needs a lot of balance and editing before it is complete.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 06:18:50

There are two ways to approach an "Ethnic Fantasy D&D" setting like this one. The first way, as done by TSR itself, is to focus on accuracy/realism and present the setting in a more "historical/low fantasy" light. The second way is to use the myths more as a guideline, striving to find that balancing point between mythological accuracy and the distinct "feel" of D&D. Svilland definitely leans more towards the former than the latter, which, unfortunately, is not to my preferred taste. I was quite disappointed with the humanocentric approach and the lack of Nordic-inspired non-human races, which I had been most interested in seeing. This is, I acknowledge, a matter of personal taste, and I'm sure that others will be quite happy with this low fantasy feel. I will say that I was very impressed with the effort put into developing both two brand new core classes for the setting, and a variety of subclasses; I never would have thought of a "Paladin" as a Nordic-leaning class, but the tweaking of it into the Alle was very impressive. My biggest complaint, however, is that this book feels like it really could have benefited from an editor; there's so many subtle misspellings and broken grammar that it can sometimes be legitimately hard to read, which is a shame given the obvious love that has gone into this book.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hello Jonathon, Nothing can make a developer happier than valuable criticism. They allow us to see what we cannot see, and we thank you with all our hearts for it. As a result of our personal preferences, we wanted to keep the races in a more humanocentric structure while doing Svilland. We also continue to add new things that will not shake Svilland's flavor. On the other hand, we published the Troldfolk Race on our website in our Expanding Svilland series. This is a series of free content beneficial for mostly the readers of Svilland but they can be applied to other settings too. You may want to have a look, and hopefully, it will be something you were looking for in Svilland. :) You are really right about the writing of the book. Svilland was our first book as a studio, and English is not our native language. We learned a lot after Svilland and we hope that our future titles will not encounter such problems. Thank you very much again! Dream Realm Storytellers
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Can U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2020 16:29:18

Amazing content. Art is also top quality. All in all great work, especially if you like Norse mythology and legends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wolf's Maw - A Svilland Saga
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2020 13:43:34

Really cool, complete adventure. To put it over the top I'd recommend listing what LEVEL this is for (I figured it out by looking at the pre-made characters - they're 5th).

I'm going to take a run at setting this up in on my Roll20 account, stoke!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wolf's Maw - A Svilland Saga
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2020 13:21:21

I was fortunate enough to get a copy of this campaign and am now setting up a Roll20 game to really dig into it! REALLY cool setting, great art, organization, and Dream Realm Story Tellers are easy to connect with!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Corpus Malicious Demo Booklet
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 07:57:02

Have you ever wanted to go absolutely frigging grimdark nuts with your D&D game? Have you ever wanted to pull from Doom, Dark Souls, Bloodborne, or Gears of War to make your table pull out their electric guitars and start riffing? Well, what is given to you in the Corpus Malicious Demo Booklet is just a taste of what the folks at Dream Realm Storytellers just launched on Kickstarter. Now - this book is truly meant for mature readers and mature gamers, folks who understand the level and twisted and darkness that this book will be planting you in. It is not meant for the faint of heart, or memelords - it is meant for serious players, whether you are looking at the backgrounds like Cultist or Murderer, or some of the monsters which really stir some fear. I do appreciate that the team put a content warning in the front of the book, and overall, it is well needed. The demo - if just a taste of the full book - dives deep into the darkness, danger, and debauchery of evil, and makes for a tough read at some points. But I am still glad a book like this will be in circulation, as it allows for roleplay exploration of the dark sides of humanity and fantasy. Overall, a very well designed and well crafted demo with plenty of promise for the future.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Corpus Malicious Demo Booklet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2019 14:26:01

I would like to take a moment that I was very lucky that I found these folks - I was skimming through Twitter one day and almost went by Svilland, but the cover grabbed my eyes and I went back to take a look at this bad larry. And I must say, I am thoroughly impressed - as Svilland is beautifully laid out and organized to a T, with both a vicious adhesion to mythology and tradition, as well as making new and exciting takes on classical stories. With interesting races, kickass monsters, and a world that feels lived-in and gritty, the team behind this fantastic book have tickeled me a big fan. If you are looking to add some good ol' grim-dark-Nordic shenanagins to your game, then look no further.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Svilland - The Norse Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates