DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 18:25:04

Ok, this is really a great little product. This is particularly true in the realm of information delivery and organization. It also hAS some tables (I am thinking of the patches table) that are just wonderfully evocative of tthe atmosphere sought. I strongly recommend it with two caveats. The first is that it is a sc-fi HORROR game and the mechanics (stress/panic, the deadliness of combat, and the experince point system) all emphasize the horror/hopeless aspect. if you want a more general game in thsi sort of near future setting, I would look to the original GDW 2300AD or perhaps one of the Cepheus Engine/Traveller near future games. This focus mitigates toward one shots, I think. Likely incredibly fun one shots, but one shots. The second is that despite the atmosphere this players' guide feels incomplete: No opponents (human or otehrwise) and no setting beyond the obvious inspirations. I know that the publishers/writers have mentioned online a Game master's book is coming, and Dead Planet is already out, but for now, it is more likely to be used as an adjunct to other systems (in both directions as I could see importing elements of thsi into other games, and elements (i.e. monsters and scenarios) of other games[Call of Cthulhu and Delta Green, I am looking at you]into this).

Overall, a great little game hioefully early in its life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by norbert p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 21:28:02

If your looking for a rules light and easy horror Sci-Fi RPG you should totally get MOthership rpg, for a lil more info and my thoughts on the game please check out my YouTube review. A big thanks to all at DriveThruRPG for allowing me to post my reviews...

https://youtu.be/e_8zNus6UA0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Kip C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2019 09:35:41

If you are looking for a game to create the feeling of Event Horizon or the Alien movies, this is the game for you. Easy character creation and rules light flavor enhance the horror gaming experience. Highly highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 12:31:49

A fantastic game for re-creating Alien or Aliens type games. The art is GREAT! The tables are evocative. It has a true old school feel about it. Most of the mechanics are very basic - roll under stat on a d100. The stress roll and the panic rolls really give each monster or bizarre encounter a true horror movie feel. The best part of the book though is that the character sheets include a flow chart for how to design them which simplifies character creation a shocking amount. The flow chart makes character creation so intuitive. It is the only RPG I have ever played where no one needed to ask any questions (except about items).

Some of the rules are not well defined and no setting is included. This may bother some purchasers but this game is about 100% old-school style gaming with heavy GM Fiat so rules clarifications do not slow the game down. I would also recommend picking up Mothership: The Dead Planet supplement so that you can be ready to play with a few random rolls. It includes a few INCREDIBLE set pieces but you still need to make your own setting for this game.

That said, the game has a serious space horror feel to it so the inspiration is easy to come by.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Dead Planet
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 12:26:50

The graphics and layout of this supplement are incredible! The spaceship creation for derelict ships is very clever. It is not quite quick enough to roll the whole ship up in a moment but it can easly be done with 10 minutes of prep to generate an entire side mission! It can also be done virtually room by room after "The Warden" (aka GM) rolls how many rooms there will be. This plus the map of the derelict ship of the Alexis with details of the rooms and items to be found there are easily worth $5 by themselves. Then, you get a number of random lists ranging from names of books in the captains rooms to how to move the monster if you want it moved randomly to tables for generating NPCs on the "Dead Planet". Then, add in the hooks for landing on the planet, the map of the base, and then a third adventure and you have quite the starter supplement!

That said, this is an old-school style game. There is a fair amount of GM Fiat and the game as written can be deadly. No worries there though, you can still have a spaceship full of cryo-sleeping crew to replace their dead mates or slow down the madness as "The Warden".

The monsters in this module are somewhat standard sort of xenomorphs and the plot is a bit of a railroad but again, there is nothing stopping you from spicing it up. Instead of waiting and buying the expensive new Alien rpg, grab this and have fun now!

I also wanted to point out that because success is instantly known in this version of the d00 system used AND high DM fiat, I have been running a very successful game of this by forum.

I can't wait for future supplements for this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Dead Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2019 05:58:34

The system is slick. There is a need for a system that can do what Mothership does; I've been looking for it for 5+ years. I can't wait to see what my players do when I present them with cosmic horrors through the lens of the Mothership.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2019 12:51:30

This is a great game for those one- or two-night sessions to break up a long campaign from another system. Character creation is compact, not overly burdened with heavy rules, allowing for a better flow. Check out their Discord channel!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2019 14:42:57

Cracking game. Easy to learn and teach quick to play and deadly!! Good old fashioned Scifi scrap. Ticks all the boxes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Daniel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 21:50:42

Pure OSR with clear systems and a brilliant but simple ship creation system. Everything is here to put together the scaffolding for genuinely interesting character and stories. I would also recomend this to people who enjoyed the first edition of dark heresy or rogue trader but wanted the warhammer lore stripped off. Art wise it is simple but stylish. The gun section is very welcomely illustrated. I always enjoy a goofy example of play so I was sad to see there wasn;t one but thats fair to be honest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Andrew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2018 18:07:04

I stumbled across Mothership at Dragonmeet and was immediately taken by its streamlined design and ease of play. The character creation is inspired; a flowchart of the character sheet means you can have a character up and running in a few minutes. The rules are equally streamlined and aim to have you playing in minutes. The tone and design of the rulebook complement each other and help place the players in the game universe. It looks like it's extensible and flexible enough to accomodate any potential sci-fi setting although Dead Planet (which I also purchaeed) offers a compelling surreal and creepy world. Ship design is also a revelation in ease of design; throw a handful of 6s and the results denote room function and move the dice together and there's your physical layout. There are loads of useful tables in the rule book and the Dead Planet book to help Wardens.

If sci-fi or horror are your thing then give Mothership a go!

Can't wait to run it and looking forward to new module and toolkit releases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Howard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2018 02:47:12

This does for OSR Sci-Fi what Into The Odd and Lamentations do for OSR Fantasy. Within about 3 minutes of picking it up, you want to run it. Your mind starts to buzz with ideas for adventures and images of PCs cast into the dark void or dying lonely pointless deaths on a forgotten hostile planet. The artwork is very evocative and who wouldn't want to roll on a table during character generation that gives your character a manual on how to make moonshine from Gun Oil and Fuel plus a Vacc Suit patch that reads "I'm Not A Rocket Scientist, But You're An Idiot".

One of the difficulties of Sci-Fi roleplaying is the danger of getting sucked into the scientific integrity and physics of the setting. Mothership neatly sidesteps this and focuses on things at the human level, especially the effects of trauma and stress. It also paints a picture of a universe of dark and unfathomable entities and phenomena.

Although it will be great for one-shots, there are rules for character development, XP and levelling up, but the lethality of the game makes the DCC 0-level character funnel look like a trip to Centerparcs.

Even if you don't use the rules as written there are some great concepts that you can port to other games. There's a wonderful module/adventure Dead Planet that takes the darkness and weirdness up to 11.

In terms of deep space roleplaying this is definitely Patrick Stuart rather than Patrick Stewart.

It's PWYW, but bung Sean some £ or $ because it's money well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by BRUCE C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2018 20:51:07

Beautiful layout and design make this game really stand out. The rules are elegant and well presented and the implied setting and style makes me excited to run Mothership in 2019.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Gaaron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 10:38:14

This is a very cool little game. I say little because 1) The rules are very straight forward and easy to pick up and 2) The book is physically little (similiar to LOTFP books.) I like that approach because who always wants to lug a bunch of hardcovers around all the time? One thing to keep in mind is that this is a player's guide so you are not going to get setting material, monsters, etc. I think the publisher has plans to release a Warden's (GM) book in the future. That being said, I would suggest picking up the companion adventure called Dead Planet which can get you up and playing quickly. My sense is that the author designed this for easy and quick play. All spaces on the book are used, including the back cover. Dice: All you need are D10's. It feels a bit like CoC light in that you roll under skills for successes using percentile rolls, combat uses contested rolls, PCs can panic, etc. There are many cool, unique goodies: A D100 patch & trinkets tables, & easy ship design. The ship combat is quick and intuitive which I appreciate - this is a lesson that other publishers of SF games should learn. Compare this to ST Adventures where the ship combat is pretty much unplayable per the rules as written - just way too complicated. The system includes the ability to hire Mercenaries, which are basically the Hirelings/Retainers of D&D BX/EX. Mercenaries have simplified stats and give the party a ready pool of NPCs that can be converted to PCs when PCs start to die (yes, I say WHEN, not IF. This is SF Horror/Survival after all!) I plan on running this soon. First thing will be to have the players watch Aliens and Event Horizon. Then we'll create PC's that are the senior officers of a small rescue or scout vessel. For example: Captain, Science Officer, Engineer, Sergeant of the onboard Marine squad. Then we'll have a crew of NPCs to fill out the crew (5 or 6 Marine grunts, technicians, crewmembers, etc.) When the PC's die, their subordinate underlings can take over and save the day! :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Seraphim D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 10:26:48

This rulebook is surprisingly well composed. It's very short as far as rulebooks go, but it packs a lot into its 48 pages. I found myself frequently asking "Why doesn't every rulebook do this!?" One example of this is the quick reference "cheat sheet" on the back cover.

All chargen elements and ship building elements are presented in nice flow diagrams that efficiently communicate the process. This makes the rules incredibly easy and fast to pick up.

I only have two real complaints. One, I don't like how they handle contested rolls by having whoever rolls bellow their skill, but still higher than their opponent, win the contest. I prefer Dark Heresy 2e's method of degrees of success/failure. Second, I wish the had more crunch with the skills. They only describe roughly what they are and don't give players/GM's much else to work with. I suppose that will have to be handled by house rules.

Still, 5/5. Excellent system portrayed in an elegant way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Piers N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2018 16:41:10

NB - I have not played the game - I've just read the rules.

I bought this game based on the review on Questing Beast and it's a very mixed bag. What stands out is the Character Creation and elements of design around this. This appears to have taken its cue from a number of Indie RPGs where the character sheet contains all the information a player needs for chargen and play. ALL RPGs should be doing this and these design elements in this game are excellent. However, the game itself has a number of features which I find problematic. I might be being picky and other players may love the game for these reasons.

Skills and Combat - The skill tree is a lovely idea but I'm not sure how many of the skills are necessary for a Horror game. There is a tension in the design between offering a "complete" skill set so that a character has the potential to deal with any given situation and a stripped down set of skills that focus the game in on what it proposes to do, namely offering an experience to the player of survival horror. Combat appears to be a significant part of the rules, suggesting that they way to deal with the Horror is to shoot it. That's great if you want to play 'Aliens' but I'm more into 'Alien', 'Event Horizon' or even Tarkovsky's 'Stalker.' It is less clear how the game can handle this.

Maths - with a D100 system things can get mathy quickly (for me, anyway). A pet peeve is adding 7% to something, which you have to do with a certain Armor save. Elsewhere it appears you add or subtract multiples of 5 which then makes me wonder why not use a D20 system. While some may be fine with the maths others might struggle to calculate, slowing the game down and detracting from potentially tense scenes.

Hirelings and Ships - I get that some might want to have their own ship in an extended campaign and hire redshirts to be chomped or turned mad by the Horror but these rules could well have been put out in a supplement and I couldn't see how they would have been relevant at least whn the character are lower level.

Art - The art is inconsistent and at times looks incomplete. I appreciate this might be a design choice, such as the weapons on pages 13 and 14 but this design is not followed through and some of the art (pages 5, 11 and 35) looks as if it has been put in purely for the purposes of testing the layout and then upgrading the art in a later version. The game is in Beta, which is fine for me but I don't understand why it is being offered in print at this point. I'd advise just getting the pdf at present.

Running the Game - There is no information for running the game and it's not clear whether there is a forthcoming Warden's (Referee's) Guide or whether you are meant to buy the Dark Planet adventure. What stats should I use if the Horror is a swarm of rat-like creatures? How should I handle a non-corporeal Ghost-like creature? A telepathic entity that reads the minds of the players and exploits their guilt or weaknesses? How indestructible should the Horror be? I guess I could work this out for myself but it's additional legwork.

I'm sorry if this review comes across as overly negative. I'm keen to try playing the game but am reticent to run it. I want to make clear that a great deal of effort has been put into making this game and in a sense that's why I'm disappointed. I wanted to love this game because of the genre and the hard work put in.

Instead I just like it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates