DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
by Kassandra S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2020 01:17:46

Ran this for my work group and had one of the most chaotic sessions of my life. Great monster, great location, and the adition of sound files was a huge hit. Do wish it had a stronger hook but otherwise a fantastic little adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
by Antônio N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2020 19:02:37

Killer module. Easy to read and super easy to run for first DMs. Great introduction to Mothership.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Fox C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2020 16:04:17

Best RPG Zine on the market hands down the crew over at Mothership are putting out top notch products. The system is a perfection, the d10 system is robust enough to work anything you throw at it while keeping everthing streamlined down a d10 system. Buy it. Buy all of their Moduals everyone is a gem and a treat to just read through. Wardens good luck in space.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Dead Planet
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2020 02:04:22

Sci fi adventures are hard to find, so I'm a bit more generous with this product than I normally would be.

Cons While art is of little importance to me, the art in this product is simple pathetic. Really, really bad.

The formatting is awful. Entire pages are neon pastels, apparently to ensure that you won't print the document.

Several lengthy entries are duplicated, apparently for no other reason than to pad page count. This was not an accident, because they are formatted differently.

The deck plans provided assume starships will be shaped like snowflakes. Why this is, is not explained.

The cannibal colony is equipped with a device that launches a harpoon, trailing 60+ MILES of cable, to hook and drag ships out of a low luna orbit. How they aquired such a device, the power plant required to launch such a load, and then drag the aforementined snowflake-shaped ships out of orbit (again, a minimum of 60 miles up) is not explained. Especially since these same cannibals' next biggest program is raising goats.

The writers apparently think that tables are the way to GM a game. Decisions, apparently, are consdidered to be difficult. This would not nessessarily be bad, except that the table entries range from dumb to farcical. For one moderate example, you can encounter a bulk hauler loaded with ceramic garden gnomes. Because apparently there are planets which desire huge amounts (tens of thousands) of garden gnomes, and have the capacity to build a starport, but do not know how to work clay.

The pdf is not bookmarked.

Nothing is covered in depth. There are some really decent ideas, but they never go beyond a brief statement.

There are a lot of really bad and downright goofy ideas put forth. For one example, if the PCs will not willingly undergo amputation in order to interact with the colonists, the book notes that the cannibals will sneak onto the PCs ship and disable the life support. Because apparently the PCs would never think to lock their hatches, or leave someone aboard.

Pros The authors do a good job of cross-referencing data.

There are some really great ideas included, and a workable outline of a plot, but there is zero depth of explanation or development.

Overall Overall, this is an extremely superfical document with many grossly immature ideas and zero background research. If your group is made up of adults with basic education, you are going to have to put in a lot of work to making this scenario playable.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Dead Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2020 23:25:38

Really captures the feel of Alien and other sci-fi horror ideas without getting bogged down. You're up and running with just 44 pages. Also useful as a plug-in for other games that may need some help getting the right aesthetic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dissident Whispers
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2020 13:31:09

Such an amazing range of creativity on show here. And the money goes to a good cause. It's a no-brainer really. Buy it now, feel better about yourself and have a years-worth of play ideas. If you still aren't convinced, listen to the Mud and Blood podcast episode about it and be amazed by the amount of hard work went into it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dissident Whispers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
by Josh G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 21:21:05

Ran this module as our "intro to mothership" module at the 11th hour. A good dense little module that was enough for people to bite into but not too much so that you actually have to do prep to run it. Pretty optimal starter mission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: A Pound of Flesh
by Devin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 20:56:11

A Pound of Flesh is, in my opinion, the gold standard of RPG supplement design. The graphic design of this book is stunning and innovative. The designer(s) did some amazing work utilizing only white, black, and pink. There is a lot of information packed into its layout! the tone is encouraging and the writing stimulates your creativity while you're running the adventure. There isn't any filler here; this is packed full of useful information.

As for content, the setting is appropriately dark and dystopian. In addition to the thoroughly-detailed space station Prospero's Dream, there are also random tables that will aid you in creating your own space stations. This is a book you will get a lot of use out of for your Mothership campaign.

The only thing I would have liked to see would have been a content warning at the beginning. There is some deeply disturbing stuff in here - as you would expect from a sci-fi horror game - but it would be helpful for GMs, at least, to know what they're going to be in for, and gauge whether their players are going to be okay with that content.

This should be up for awards.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: A Pound of Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Hive Mind (Issue 01)
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2020 21:53:24

Lovally content, fun ideas, could do with another round of proofreading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Hive Mind (Issue 01)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2020 17:34:35

I've run this game once and hope to play again tonight. The game shares its theme with the recently released Alien RPG from Free League Publishing. I've run that game five times.

I love both, and if I was going to run a bug hunt type adventure set in the Alien Universe, I would use Alien RPG. I like the D6 dice pool mechanics, how stress works, and the overall design is top shelf.

Mothership is as an approachable system for all kinds of Sci Fi fun. I find myself feeling constricted in the Alien game, in terms of a similar type of storyline each time I would run the game, variations on bug hunting. I realize this is partly my doing, but that's the feeling.

Mothership, to me, doesn't share this limitation. Mothership exudes verve and a kinda freefall gonzo approach to storytelling that pulls you into the drama. Plus, I love the charactersheet built with the rules to build the character, inspired idea!

In short, I love both games, but I lean toward the flexibilty of stories you can tell with Morhership over Alien.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2020 10:03:14

I just played this module with 4 young teenagers, we had a blast! I love the tri-fold idea, it made it just seem user friendly and doable as a one shot for a GM. The audio files were awesome, really grabbed the players. We played for two hours and had some awesome stories by the end.

One player got infected and so the android amputed his hand to save him, after shooting him with the Scientist's tranqualizer gun. After piles of horrible rolls and four "surgeries" with a scalpel and a cutting torch later, the guy had lost his arm up to the shoulder. The android character worried his arm pieces would infect the other players so she found a medical bag for contagious material. After putting all the gore in the bag and cinching it up, she looked down at the patient and noticed his patch, which said "meatbag"! We all busted up laughing, so awesome!

Thanks so much, I hope more one shots are made like this, we had a blast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: The Haunting of Ypsilon 14
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Dead Planet
by David W J. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2020 08:02:50

Forcing players to mutilate themselves is what killed my campaign, bad module.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Dead Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by David W J. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2020 08:00:17

Play Alien RPG instead. There's more content, friendlier devs, and a more enjoyable system. Mothership is designed around scifi horror like Alien. the Alien RPG IS Alien.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 18:25:04

Ok, this is really a great little product. This is particularly true in the realm of information delivery and organization. It also hAS some tables (I am thinking of the patches table) that are just wonderfully evocative of tthe atmosphere sought. I strongly recommend it with two caveats. The first is that it is a sc-fi HORROR game and the mechanics (stress/panic, the deadliness of combat, and the experince point system) all emphasize the horror/hopeless aspect. if you want a more general game in thsi sort of near future setting, I would look to the original GDW 2300AD or perhaps one of the Cepheus Engine/Traveller near future games. This focus mitigates toward one shots, I think. Likely incredibly fun one shots, but one shots. The second is that despite the atmosphere this players' guide feels incomplete: No opponents (human or otehrwise) and no setting beyond the obvious inspirations. I know that the publishers/writers have mentioned online a Game master's book is coming, and Dead Planet is already out, but for now, it is more likely to be used as an adjunct to other systems (in both directions as I could see importing elements of thsi into other games, and elements (i.e. monsters and scenarios) of other games[Call of Cthulhu and Delta Green, I am looking at you]into this).

Overall, a great little game hioefully early in its life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mothership: Player's Survival Guide
by norbert p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 21:28:02

If your looking for a rules light and easy horror Sci-Fi RPG you should totally get MOthership rpg, for a lil more info and my thoughts on the game please check out my YouTube review. A big thanks to all at DriveThruRPG for allowing me to post my reviews...

https://youtu.be/e_8zNus6UA0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates