DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk RED
by Mateus [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2024 16:56:43

Lovely book, with simple, streamlined rules that are easy to understand and explain to others, a setting that feels alive and evocative and interesting to explore, great art, and some nice dark (sometimes hitting depressingly close to home in the real world) lore.

I just really wish I had waited 2 more weeks to get it because then I could've gotten the Humble Bundle with this and CP2020 + extras for the same price I paid for this book



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk RED
by Dan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2024 10:48:04

Cyberpunk RED has quickly become a top favourite system to run and play in. If I had one complaint it's that information can be scattered over multiple sections and chapters and can require a lot flipping back and forth to find. But that's a minor complaint compared to how fun the system and setting are to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Black Chrome
by Johann [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2024 02:34:28

I'm new to CPR (though I've been tabletop RPGing my whole life) and this is a pretty dang good book. The locations and characters are very useful (and the BC+ DLC to this book is definitely recommended) and the items add character and flair to the otherwise standard core items.

One suggestion would be to have more tables at the end. Having tables sorted by Booth (a roll table for all the Black Chrome items at booth C1, C2, C3, etc) would be super handy. Easy enough to make on your own by searching the relevant booth number in the PDF (say, searching for "C1") but having a table pre-made would be useful rather than flipping back and forth through the book or tapping my find button a bunch when my players get to the booth at say, C3.

Could be a quick DLC, even.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Chrome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk RED
by Scott [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2024 12:12:18

Well-presented and very easy to play. This is a fantastic TTRPG experience..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Richard [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2024 16:45:34

Still fighting the Corps after all these years!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Witcher: Easy Mode
by Tyler E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2023 12:13:18

i love how easy and fun this was. i will be buying the full game pack in here soon



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witcher: Easy Mode
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Daniel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2023 10:41:53

TLDR: Buy it if you love to work on paper, otherwise its free if you buy 2057 videogame (or buy RED).

The book arrived in perfect conditions. I must say, if you are buying Cyberpunk 2020 its because you want it printed, otherwise I would recommend buying the Cyberpunk 2057 videogame, since it comes with a free digital copy of the TTRPG original game (2nd edition and all).

Its true that the rulebook might be chunky and somewhat unclear around some of the stuff there is, buy it because of the artwork, the amazing "punk" feel in the diagramation, and the ergodic nature of the book that you might think there is only on paper.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Danger Gal Dossier
by riley [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2023 02:23:32

The lore and game content in this book is great! I can't wait to add this to my game! Worth the buy!

I rated this 3 stars because the interior art style is so off theme. It's this modern cartoony/ Hero Forge look. Super chonky feet everything is scaled up and Just grody. There is no grit or Dark future here. It completely pulls me out of the world and makes it very hard to enjoy the product as a whole.

I get that this product is meant to accompany a miniature game and that all the interior character art probably came from the miniature designer and it shows in it exaggerated style. Works well for miniature design... really bad Art direction choice for a game book.

This style plus the anthropomorphic animal vibe coming on way to strong is so unattractive when you compared to the earlier CPR products and the 2077 aesthetic which are both On fracking point for Cyberpunk.

Please Don't 5e the feel of this amazing game.

Please bring back the " Dark Future" and Style and attitude because this Vibe is Really Dorky and uncool.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Danger Gal Dossier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Danger Gal Dossier
by Alex B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2023 19:40:49

I genuinely adored this addition to my cyberpunk collection, it provides premade characters and in depth and interwoven character backgrounds and stories as well as providing more information for the Cyberpunk groups and gangs including but not limited to the 6th street, the bozos, the maelstrom, the tyger claws, generation red, as well as some of the danger gals themselves. Also included are a few new weapons, vehicles, and cybernetics, and a new mission for gms to run for their players.

On a personal note: I really really really adore the Gen Red and wanna adopt them all and keep them safe, so maybe if your players have some vague semblance of maternal instinct and aren't just murder-happy cyber freaks (not that there's anything wrong with that) I'd suggest introducing some of the kids stuck in a cycle of trouble for them to want to act as potential protective parental figures.

Edit: for anyone looking into canonical queer representation in tabletop games Cyberpunk is pretty good at having it, and this book is no exception



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Black Chrome
by Faith L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2023 12:09:29

This is a really great book, that extends the game nicely with more equipment.

I really appreciate that it doesn't introduce power creep - instead it offers the option of adding flexibility.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black Chrome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Micro Chrome
by Ehn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2023 02:31:23

Hard to really review this, since it's just a couple of items. The items contained are good, with the smart lens being the real stand out, and for .50 cents, it's a solid purchase. Just nothing that makes it a must buy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chrome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Black Chrome
by Ehn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2023 02:29:18

Black Chrome is Cyberpunk RED's first big gear book, and it does a lot to not only expand play, but also the world at large.

The start of the book does a good job of both explaining the concepts of night markets (A concept touched upon in the core rules) along with explaining the ease of use that this book provides in making your own. There's a helpful display showing what information is being displayed, the explanation of new key words, and even a new mechanic that we'll get into later. Before I go into anything else, of particular note with this book is the layout. Most Cyberpunk books have a similar layout, but the way that the information is provided in Black Chrome is a stand out, and really helps sell the vibe. I really can't say enough nice things about it.

The start of the book isn't the strongest, as it's the apps section. A new mechanic and something to give one's agent more use, the majority of these apps lack useful mechanics aside from a few (the trauma team one is a personal favorite). It's easy to take these as a proof of concept, but I don't see most players getting a lot of use out of these on both a flavor or mechanical level.

Cyberware is next, and we now have a whole slew of budget options for players who don't want to shell out the money or GMs who don't want to turn NPCs into loot crates. In both situations, these budget items are great additions with some fun flavor implications to the world at large. There's also some neat new additions which allow you to determine your hit points in universe through some clever workaround. There's also a little something to make bullet dodging easier for players or a nice sidestep to GMs who want to make such actions harder.

One of the larger features of the cyberware section is cyberfingers, with most of them being generally useful tools. None of them pass the mildly interesting tier for me, but for some people, that's enough. But there's no new functionality that you're missing out on if you give them a pass, and a hand full of them is a dangerous way to drain your humanity quick (something that's hard enough to hang onto with all the cool stuff above).

Fashion and Armor is one of the highlights of the book to me, both for the creativity of the gear and the art showing it off. The descriptions are all lovely, and there's quite a few new pieces of gear in here which are both mechanically interesting as well as fitting to the greater lore of the world. This book would be worth the price alone for the mimic kit and mechaman smartglove, but unique effects like shocking grapplers, being fireproof, and even holographic clothing keep everything here incredibly interesting and great for player expression.

While I don't think the general gear section lives up to fashion, that's a high bar, and the items here include some very fun new things like a 3d printer, a portable gear repair station, and even a new net arch-less drone. There's a strong mix of utility and fun items here, and while some might never see play at your tables in the hands of players, they make great items for NPCs to really help with world building.

New linear frames are next, and for most of these, I just can't validate the cost. Most are based off of the Sigma Frame's increase to 12 body, with almost all of them able to be made into internal frames. But at the cost of a beta frame, the added utility they give doesn't feel worth it to me, as each one is running 5,000 EB and doesn't feel like their additions are adding 4,000 EB worth of value. This might be the area of the book that was the most of a letdown to me, but I think it's also because there's no middle ground between 1,000 EB and 5,000 EB in value, so any improvements to a sigma frame were going to push the cost up a lot.

Vehicles are our next stop, and this is another area in which the book shines. We don't even just get cars, there's a great selection of flying vehicles here too, and this is where the new mechanic I mentioned before comes into play, nomad access. While some vehicles may not be worth the listed nomad access levels, others are more than worth it, and the art for each vehicle presents them in a fashion that makes them all seem so cool. I don't want to pick out favorites here, but let's just say a lot of starting nomads are going to be looking at the Grundy. Also a hoverboard?!

And you knew we'd eventually land here, the weapons. These are more of a mixed bag than I would have liked, but at the same time, I can also say there's more hits than misses, including items to actually use the demolitions skill (which was tragically underlooked in value in the core rulebook). For being a weapon's section, there's a ton of tricky items in here that would be more at home in a spy kit than in a holster. Melee weapons start with a few new flavors of ignoring armor (but none topping the kendachi mono three), and quite a few new fist weapons with some neat tricks to them. Thrown weapons actually get some love here too, with boomerangs and tomahawks designed specifcally for throwing.

I think the sheer variety of guns is impressive here, all of them carving out unique niches for themselves. If I'm going to be honest though, my favorite are the purposefully bad ones, the guns that are given to street level doombas who won't stand a chance again a properly armed crew. Sure, things like the pepper shaker are great for autofire, but give me an overlord handcanon any day of the week. Combination weapons are a large theme of the book, with various combinations being displayed within. None of them would outdo a focused version of one of their components though.

But we're out of gear now, and into mechanics and flavor with an explanation of the economy of the system. This right here is great for people who aren't completely up on the lore, giving a snapshot of how to play out matters of finding or creating gear. It's all just amazing as a learning tool, and a great use of pages in a book like this.

It's hard to say what my favorite part of this book is, but the night markets are absolutely top three. Fun descriptions and ideas for unique night markets along with fixers (and stats to run them) make for what shines as a culmination of everything that we've seen in this book. The fixers are fun and unique, with their personalities being given for players along with the gear they'd normally carry and even advice on how to be invited to or join their night market for asipring fixers. Another one of those 'the book is worth it for this alone' moments in a book that's full of them.

So there's plenty of gear in this book that I wouldn ever touch, and yet I'm still 100% satisfied with what was contained within. Black Chrome fits the style of Cyberpunk along with providing way more worldbuilding than I'd have expected from a gear book. This is a book for players and GMs alike, and I can't suggest it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Chrome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Danger Gal Dossier
by Ehn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2023 10:59:12

The Danger Gal Dossier was a very anticipated book for a lot of us in the community, as many gangs from previous editions have lacked much lore to them. Not like I can blame R. Tal for that, you only have so many pages, but this book sought to rectify that issue, and it did in spades. Maybe I wish it was another 50 pages long, but that's complaining about not getting enough of a good thing.

The book starts with a useful guide on how to use the NPCs and factions contained with in before getting into the meat of the book. Each group is given a very enlightneing opening page done in character as Danger Gal operatives to speak about the group's origins, goals, resources, and any other useful trivia to help run them better. It also provides a handy template for making your own factions in Night City, something that people interested in a book like this will certainly consider.

The majority of gangs and organizations (hard to call loose confederations of characters like 'edgerunners' a gang) along with smatterings of corporations are on display here, with each one being given care and consideration not only to their lore, but also their gear. The unique spread of weapons and other gear given to each NPC is very nice, although it is a shame that more from Black Chrome couldn't be used (understandable since anything listed here had to be reprinted), but even with that limitation and the sizeable amount of reprints from different supplementary material, most NPCs still stand out from both a gear and lore perspective.

2020 players and 2077 gamers will notice some familiar faces coming out to play, helping to better integrate people from either of those groups into the diverse world of Cyberpunk RED. I can say that from the lore and concepts given for each character that even a new GM should have a solid idea of how to run each character in a unique fashion. The care given to groups like The Bozos, Danger Gal's Puma Squad, and The Pirhanas especially are the kind that are rife with plot hooks out of the box, from scisms among clowns to interpersonal drama on the Puma Squad, and the Pihranas just all be pretty nutty.

Factions that most players will have in their game such as Trauma Team and NCPD were also given far more capable members than those suggested in the core rulebook, making what could have easily been a squash into a proper rumble. To segue here a bit, DGD also gives a higher tier of opposition in both the Boss (in which the core rules only had what I would call a lacking cyberpsycho) to 10 hardened mini bosses, 6 bosses, and even 3 hardened bosses (Crusher from the Maelstrom is a great example of a real combat monster). This is enough to challenge groups who may have not been intimidated by the CRB's offerings or even the DLC hardened opponents.

Astute readers will also notice what is a treasure trove of unique Tech Upgrades, or TUp, in this book. Plenty are on the more simple end like +4 skill chips, but others are more interesting, such as minor skill bonuses to different skills along with exotics getting +2 option slots. There's so much to pull from for this book, and tech players have a great place to see just how much more diverse they can make their new inventions.

All non CRB gear has been reprinted, including some ellusive items from MicroChrome, a little known piece of the game (with one of the items being reposted in the companion DLC). There's honestly a lot that I'm really glad to see, such as bicycles, junk ammo (great for mooks), and The Observer drone. Smart Lens was reprinted with a slight errata as well to make it not compatible with paired cyberware upgrades, so be aware of that if you're still sticking to the MicroChrome version.

One of the best parts of this are the NPC guidelines (which are guidelines and not hard rules [intended to be only taken as guidelines]), which give the parameters not only for what the concept of a hardened PC is (which can also be found in one of the DLC volumes, so it's not exclusive to this book), as well as the parameters for what makes someone a mook, lieutenant, mini-boss, or boss and the hardened variants of each. Just for clarity, these are just guidelines, not immutable rules, simply suggestions.

The book finishes off with what I consider to be a very charming one shot adventure known as The Incident, even if I knew it by another name first. It's a relatively straightforward adventure which helps introduce the PCs to at least one of the new characters introduced in this book along with a fun bit of investigation, getting to meet with one of the more unique subcultures inside of Night City, and threads that could easily lead themselves into another bit of the adventure.

I did like this book as a whole, but there were some things that I thought could have helped. A small tactics section for each group could have helped to give fights against them more of a unique feel to them, something that with only mostly CRB gear can be difficult. Gear diversity was also an issue, but considering all the gear is self contained, I can give that a pass. I do also feel as though as much as I enjoyed seeing the pregen characters in the edgerunner's section of the book, that group was given too much real estate, and I wish there could have been another faction or two in place of those characters, since the edgerunner group was probably my least favorite of the book while also being the largest at 17.

These are nitpicks though, and as a whole Danger Gal Dossier opens up so much lore to the world that if you enjoy Night City even a little bit, it's very much worth it to pick this up. Full five stars, seal of approval, and whatever else I can give it because the team knocked it out of the park, and they've left me incredibly excited for their next offering.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Danger Gal Dossier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cyberpunk RED Easy Mode
by Ehn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2023 10:52:37

Cyberpunk RED easy mode is R. Tal's way to help people jump into the game. The book itself is decently lengthy for a free volume, and with it, you could run a very bare bones version of the system, meaning that it accomplishes its goal for helping people dip their toes into the mechanics and see if it's for them.

I will say that I don't love the structure of the book, as the beginning of it is quite a (trunkated) lore dump. We start with a primer for the theme and vibe of the game, only to lead into 8 pages of lore. Speaking as someone who can have problems getting into a new game, having this much lore tossed at me from what I'd consider the pick up and play book is daunting. It's all lore I like, I think it's well written, but I think it stifles the pacing of an initial read through, especially for prospective players. Even from a GM's point of view, there's a lot here that won't immediately add to how they run the game. A list of example media beforehand while putting the lore later in the book would have been a better way of helping people engage with the themes without bombarding them with the world at large.

Past that is a simplified rules set, but one that could be used well enough for the experience. It keeps it simple, snappy, and overall does a great job at replicating the feel of the game under a more limited scope. I feel like I could hand this off to a TTRPG newbie and come back with them asking few questions about the basic mechanics. There's a lot of mechanics that the players won't need to know, lessening the burden on them. A new GM might have issues with how much is being thrown at them though.

Lifepaths also make an appearance, and to me, these are for most pick up and play groups something I'd love to toss to them after their first game to get them invested. No complaints about it here, it's one of the more unique systems in the game, and I'm glad it made an appearance in the Easy Mode offering. Anything that helps show the unique values of the system is aces to me.

Along with a few maps, we get an adventure, Getting Paid. The adventure itself is very classic in its set up, has enough options to avoid being a straight point A to point B adventure, but I do worry that the amount of freedom in what can happen will be daunting to new GMs. To someone who knows how to run a game, they probably won't be tripped up, but I can see the large amount of variance in what the GM could do being too much for someone not used to TTRPGs. I believe a few more guiderails could have been helpful here.

As a whole, I consider this a solid introduction to the system as a whole, with only a few hiccups such as lore placement and an adventure that risks overwhelming new GMs being the only slight stumbling blocks here. But it's also free, so why not grab it anyways and decide for yourself?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED Easy Mode
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Interface RED Volume 2
by Ehn J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2023 10:36:04

Interface RED Volume 2 is a nice collection of the previously released suppliments on the R. Talsorian website. To me, reviewing the stuff that's already publicly available isn't terribly interesting, so I'm going to be talking about the unique content. As a caveat, I really enjoyed all the reprinted stuff that isn't unique to this, but at the same time recognize that the unique content is the biggest selling point here aside from having it physical.

The main event here is the bioexotics packages, those that turn your on the street Edgerunner into those people from that one Batman Beyond episode. It's more than just surface level modding here, as each package also comes with the cyberware needed to not only be an animal (or devil/orc/better you), but to truly embody it. This does include some new cyberware exclusive to this volume, so if you're a completionist on having all the possible gear, it's worthwhille to pick it up on that alone.

Now speaking as a mechanical player, most packages are probably going to have something that you just won't care about. Rarely will a package be all vital, as most tend to include some cyberware that's more for flavor than anything else. That's to be expected, but it's worth knowing about before going in. Also regardless of the severity of the package, each one will take a month to install, and the costs of them are typically enough to the point where unless you sell your soul, you won't be able to start the game with these. Despite the cost, there is a sidebar mentioning that their cost should be considered lower for the purpose of a fixer sourcing them, meaning that even the higher end ones won't be impossible to get until the late game.

As for how much of the fantasy of these creatures they embody, I'd say that depends on your view, but I can say that from a mechanical perspective, they do very well to give what these animals/creatures should be. One thing to worry about is some steep humanity loss, but in a step for convenience, the humanity loss for each of these forms is preset. That way, you don't have to worry about going cyberpsycho while becoming a cat girl. Cost wise, these packages are very efficient, with one package normally retailing for 2,100 EB and 14 HL having a value of 5,700 and 57 HL if bought separately. The only true cost is the month you spend having it all done and in therapy afterwards.

I believe that this volume sets out what it intends to do in creating unique forms for players as well as a diverse suite of forms that NPCs can take, making the game world a more interesting place. It's not the kind of thing that will fit every game, but for those of you who liked that one episode of Batman Beyond with the splicers, defintely grab this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interface RED Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 16 to 30 (of 338 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates