DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cyberpunk RED Data Screen
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2021 00:43:53

So this is a quick functional review of the data screen. I purchased the pdf so I can't comment on the physical product. I give it five stars because it does what a data screen should do; it gives a large portion of the most critical rules for easy reference. The data screen comes in two colors, a white background and a black background. I prefer the black background but thats just me. The screen is fully bookmarked with links to many of the listed contents below. It also provides the art for the back panel in a way that would allow an enterprising person to print the info and art sides into something they could turn into their own version of the screen.

Basically this is a combat and action management screen. It gives what is needed to make these processes go faster for the GM and the players, exactly what a screen should do. It does not have every useful chart in the game (no netrunning charts, vehicle combat or drone use) but it covers many if not all of the aspects that will get the most use in a game session. If you have read the book or played the game you will recognize this from the breakdown below. The only thing I would change is putting the basic net action and net combat resolutions onto the screen. They could have pulled costs, jobs and facedowns to add this but it wasn't enough for me to pull a star. Apologies if I missed anything. The screen covers the following...

Panel 1

Skill Resolution, Difficulty Values, Critical Success, Critical Failure, Trying Again, Complimentary Skills, Taking Extra Time, Using Luck, Modifier Examples, Costs, Actions, Job Pay with payments based on difficulty, and Facedowns.

Panel 2

Initiative, Ranged Combat Resolutions, Move Actions, Single Shot DVs Based on Range, Fire Modes, Aimed Shots, Autofire DVs Based on Range, and Weapon Damage and Rate of Fire by Type.

Panel 3

Melee Combat Resolution, Brawling, Martial Arts, Brawling and Martial Arts Damage, Grabs, Chokes, Thrown Objects, Explosives, Armor and Armor Types, and Cover and Types of Cover.

Panel 4

Wound States and Wound Effects, Critical Injuries to the Body and Effects, and Critical Wounds to the Head and Effects.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED Data Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Book of Tales
by Syamim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2021 23:11:56

idk what to say man, this is such a blessing for new DM like me and new comer to TTRPG in general. this book proved to be newcomer friendly.

i mean i am so new in TTRPG in general, i cant really write an adventure (even if I got all the books, im still overwhelmed. thats how new I am) and here I got freakin 6 adventures and I can follow the guide to tie these adventures into one big amazing campaign from kovir to toussaint !! what else I wanna ask for !

Much love to R.Talsorian team, Mike, Cody, and Lisa Pondsmith, also JGray, and the social media admins whom being so friendly towards newbie like me. and all the writer of this awesome tales, you are so very much appreciated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Book of Tales
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Witcher's Journal
by Raul G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2021 04:57:45

Perfecto, expande de manera muy coherente el bestiario, ademas de porporcionar lore para ello, algo que no muchos libros de tipo compendio suelen hacer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Witcher's Journal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2021 04:41:22

I had originally wrote a 5-star review after initially playing the Jumpstart Kit. I apologize for that. I did purchase both the pdf of the core rules and a hardback copy. After running a 7-month campaign my opionon has changed. The game is easy to learn, create a character, and adjudicating the rules. You can pick up this book, quickly create a crew of edgerunners, and start playing. It is simple while offering a fair amount of crunch.

However, this game stinks. The book is a layout artist's nightmare, and even with bookmarks it's hard to navigate. This is because of redundant sections of rules. If page count is money, this book wasted a lot of money. Many of the rules don't make sense, like armor-piercing, cover, supressive fire, and melee combat, etc.. Skill costs are out of whack. Some Role Abilities are very OP while others are lackluster. While NETrunning was streamlined, it's still a mini-game and doesn't work as they probably intended it to. Don't ask me about vehicles. The setting doesn't know what it wants to be. It claims to be cyberpunk, but the author obviously wanted to make a post-apocalypse game instead. Cyberpunk used to be about "style over substance", but that's completely abscent from this edition. If you came to this game to play a ttrpg version of Cyberpunk 2077, forget about it. You're going to be very disappointed.

My advice: Cyberpunk 2020 is still a good game. It needs some houseruling, but it's a much better game than this slipshod.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witcher Pen & Paper RPG
by Syamim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2021 06:32:02

mike, cody, lisa, im your number 1 fan. welldone, this is translated very good to PNP RPG with the outstanding interlock system and d10+d6 dices.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witcher Pen & Paper RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Teenagers from Outerspace
by Stephen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2021 10:18:19

Teenagers From Outer Space has been one of my favourite role-playing games since I was an actual teenagers, back in... well, never mind that. It's such ridiculous fun, and it's so smart about being silly - the suggestions for Game Masters for how to create and pace comedic situations are incredibly useful all on their own. The edition I first bought when I was... well, never mind that... was the less-anime-focused version, because back then we barely knew what anime was, and so it was presented as more of a comedic science fiction/sitcom/movie-about-teenagers kinda thing, but any edition of TFOS is a joy to read and to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teenagers from Outerspace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mekton Zeta Plus
by Onyx S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2021 00:18:32

4 stars, but only for the print-on-demand quality.

I'm thrilled and grateful to have a new physical copy of this book . . .

But the quality of the page scans is noticeably low. Kind of feels like I'm reading a bootleg.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Plus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Marcus L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 15:41:17

As rules goes, it's a streamlined experience over 2020. However I feel that with this streamlining, there's a lot of charm that's been lost to the setting and the general feel of the game. 2020 had a lot of personality as games go, and RED plays it a bit too safe and shallow with things. It has a lot of major advantages over 2020, of course, one of the main ones being the new Netrunning system. Now it actually feels viable for a Netrunner to join a group and not just hang back or even be an NPC for the group. After testing out the system with some friends, the Netrunner had as much active ability during a fight as the Solo protecting them while they broke into a computer network.

The setting is somewhat all over the place. Partly, it feels like it wants to really dig into the Post-Apocalyptic feel of the Time of the Red, with night markets and bazaars but at the same time, there are still clinics that can gladly install new cyberware for you. Some interesting things has happened in the lore since the year 2020, of course, but for bridging the gap between 2020 and the 2077 game, it feels lacking. In my mentioned group, we pushed things ahead and played a few years prior to 2077 and still had a great time.

Overall, I like RED, and would recommend it, but it's so close to being great rather than just good. Still a great purchase, and at $30 it's a steal.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by emanuele t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2021 05:58:28

It is bad, very very bad. I played 2020 for 20 years and after a few months with RED I have decided to go back to 2020. I actually regret buying RED.

Rules don't make any sense, all weapons feel the same, there is not real meaning in customization. New Hit points rules make the game like 5ed but worse. Cover system is just leazy and dumb, same for autofire, the combat is not balanced, the players never feel in any danger (in 2020 anyone can die with just a single well placed shot, in RED is very very very unlikely) etc etc. RED is just a leazy product. Positive note? netrunners are better in RED.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Witcher Pen & Paper RPG
by Kyle O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 08:49:19

If you really love the Witcher you are going to love this game. This whole game system does a great job translating not only the fantasy of the games but really loyally to the books as well. The art is INCREDIBLE and the organization of information is clean and easy to read. The professions systems works great and is refreshing if you are burnt out on traditional class archetypes. I love the magic system in this game and if I was ever going to build a magic system I would have this by my side. That and the gear and crafting. I haven't played a game with a combat and gear system I like better.

The OG print version of this has a LOT of errata, but R Talsorian customer service is impeccable and provides updated PDFs. And if this looks overwhelming they have a Basic Rules book that you can get almost for free.

Highly recommend. Must have for TTRPG players who love the books, games, and even the show. If you don't care about the witcher but want something gritty, brutal, realistic, and challenging with crunch and gear/magic/crafting systems that make your actions matter. Then this is ALSO a must have. I've never had a bad time playing this and it helped get my brother into the Witcher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witcher Pen & Paper RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2021 06:52:18

After I've been playing for a few months I can say the game is a mess.

Layout is horrible and trying to find rules it's always a pain in the ass ... like, you want to know how much does a car cost? Maybe in "Fitted for the future" chapter? Nop. Maybe in "Street Economy : Night market" chapter? Nop. They are in vehicle combat. And there are like dozens of things like this, rules dropped everywhere without care ... and when you're playing and need to reference something, you know you've seen it somewhere, but you have to stop the game to try to find it or just pull it from your arse and keep going.

Lore? Yep, a mess to ... the game doesn't know what it wants to be. Look at the cover art itself, then I tell you that commerce is broken and people can't get what they want, corporations are no longer international but broken into local places because no internet, and containers don't reach places and nomads control the trade routes and the game suggest you have to find old abandoned containers to find cool stuff or buy it in black markets ... and it begins to feel a lot more like some kind of post-war post-apoc game than cyberpunk, and you wonder ... how the fuck those corporations are still a thing if they can't sell stuff? Who pays for the neon signs? Who pays for the fuel of those flying cars?

Nomads of course! Because it seems that R.Talsorian has some kind of hardon with nomads. They have the best education. Best cars. Control trade and badlands ... and are the saviours of the world. After the 4th corporate war Night City was almost destroyed. Who saved it? You'd guessed it! Nomads!! You are a techie? Sorry, you won't be able to make better cars than nomads ... no, they don't need skill, they "just" have them.

And those poor hobos on the streets with old lame cyberware? No longer here! Because somehow cloning stuff is so easy and cheap now that replacing your missing limbs with new gadgets it's almost easier than scavenging an arm and paying a doc to install it. Yeah, you hear it, you no longer have organ scavengers or traffickers, because it's just cheaper to clone stuff! It's almost instantaneously too ... but remember that we still don't have global internet nor common trade routes so all this technology and training has any sense to reach anywhere :D

And it keeps going on ...

Rules are, of course, another mess ... from shotgun shells that can only hit someone at 3 meters, to skills like "Autofire" that are harder to learn and use than Cryptography, Mathematics, or whatever other knowledge skill. Why? Because they didn't know how to balance autofire, so they made it hard to purchase and use. Job done. Fuck it.

A weak desperate street hooker is going to hit you with a machete? That's gonna be 2d6 of damage. You say a 2 meter tall full cyborg Adam Smasher-like beast is going to hit you with the same machete? Yep, still 2d6 damage. Strength isn't taken into account at all. Now, if our borg drops the machete and hits you with a fist and 1 rank of karate? 3d6 of damage, here I go, maybe even 4d6 if it's borged enough.

Combat feels bullet spongy, cover makes it feel like some sort of video game with people jumping around trying to dodge bullets. I mean, cover doesn't upgrade difficulty checks, they just add a layer of hit points you have to destroy ... but if not fast enough, your target can just change cover and you'll have to start anew. Unless you ignore cover and run around the battlefield to ignore theirs and use your REF 8 to dodge bullets. Because that's what movies and Call of Duty taught us.

There are so many things that feel wrong that I don't have the patience to write here and ... at a certain point, you just keep doing more and more house rules until you ponder why the hell you are even trying. I didn't pay to do the job myself. I buy a rulebook so I have the job made for me.

Art is cool tho ... except that it just misses any context at all or it's just generic as fuck. Most of the art is just there to look pretty not to reinforce text or help you visualize anything. Like you may be reading about the Fixer class special ability and they show you a giant buddha statue in the middle of containers of a cargo area. Maybe you're reading about skills and they put a drawing of some cyborg dude applying makeup.

Verdict : A failure. It seems like a game that doesn't know what it wants to be. Like two different persons altogether are steering the book in two different directions ... one is an old "I'm tired of this genre" guy, and the other is some CoD kid with that kind of "cool" ideas that make you roll your eyes.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk v.3
by tristan w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2021 22:36:19

the lime green coloration mixed with the way the information is presented makes even attempting to read this extremely difficult on a computer. if you'd best get a printer and print it off in black and white because with color it is just painful to even so much as look at. the publisher really should have stuck with the CP 2020 style of presentatrion because it helps if you include daigrams of what the fuck you're doing when running a game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 09:40:08

This was a difficult choice for me, because this game fixed all the things I disliked about Shadowrun, but is far from perfect. I would still wholeheartedly recommend this game to anyone who is an experienced roleplayer, or who likes the Cyberpunk setting, but there are serious issues with the design of the book and some of the decisions made regarding the publishing that tarnish its score. I really like the review another person posted with GBU, so I will be applying that.

The Good: Excellent setting, flexible rules, fast paced interesting combat. I am not experienced with 2020, but I will say that it is a smoother game than DnD, and I rarely have trouble keeping the attention of my players (always a nightmare whenever I try to play DnD). The system is good, and with adequite support over the next few years, will definitely be worth getting into.

The Bad: There is no sugar coating it, the layout of this book is atrocious. The index section is even worse. Finding any important rules is a nightmare of page flipping for entire table. The hyperlinks tend to be farely good on the pdf, bringing you to relevant sections, but if you don't know where to even start looking for the answer (and incredibly common problem with this layout, believe it or not), then you need to use the search feature of your PDF reader. Shocker, the search feature is just as useless because the book is filled with ridiculous amounts of lore.

I don't dislike lore, in fact I would probably read it if it wasn't randomely sprinkled over the entire book when I am trying to find important, time sensitive rules. If I crack open the book, I am either trying to read lore or learn the game, I should not have to dig to find either.

The layout issues are well documented in nearly every review I see, and while they don't cause as many issues in the PDF due to the hyperlinking and the search issues, but I would have to give my hard copy of the book 3 stars because of how frustratingly useless and expensive it was.

The Ugly: To be frank, this is mostly a personal problem, but I can see other people having this issue too. RTG is advertising Astral Tabletop here as a place to play Cyberpunk, even going as far as letting a screamsheet be released for free. This might make you think that RTG supports ATT as a way to play CPR. Guess what? It doesn't. There are 2 dozen posts on the forum requesting that the 10 or so NPCs in the book be imported into ATT, no response from the Publisher or ATT. I asked several times nicely on the RTG discord if they were looking into this. No response. I spent $100 on a yearly ATT membership because I thought that CPR was going to be supported, only to have to spend 8 or so hours of my life building those basic characters because the publisher can't be bothered, and because of the way ATT works, I have no way of giving anyone else access to those characters I made, either.

The character sheets are already set up which is nice, but that is all you will ever get. They better be worth the price of the ATT subscription.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mekton Zeta
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:51:50

I loved this game back in the day but as an adult, I don't have the bandwith for this much crunch in my rpgs. This game is definitely showing it's age despite being a true classic.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Witcher's Journal
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2021 04:46:36

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2021/04/06/ersteindruck-a-witchers-journal-r-talsorian-games-monster-en-masse/

Lange bevor Geralt von Riva über den Kontinent zog, ja sogar vor den unbekannten Abenteuern seines Mentors Vesemir, gab es Erland von Larvik, einen Hexer der ersten Stunde. Seine Notizen bilden die Basis für die zweite Erweiterung zum Witcher-Rollenspiel. Wenig überraschend enthalten diese viele Beschreibungen von Monstern.

Bereits 2018 erschien das Grundregelwerk zum Hexer-Rollenspiel oder auch The Witcher – TRPG im Hause R. Talsorian Games und bot einen soliden Einstieg zum Rollenspiel auf dem namenlosen Kontinent. Die gesellschaftlichen Probleme, die politischen Intrigen und die generelle Düsternis des Settings wurden treffend eingefangen. Dazu spielten sich die Kämpfe dank des W10er-Interlock-Systems (Cyberpunk Red) außerordentlich tödlich. Die erste Erweiterung Lords&Lands bot verhältnismäßig wenig und überzeugte weder bei den NSC, den Ländereien noch der neuen Klasse Adelige:r völlig.

Mit dem Witcher‘s Journal bringt das Team um Cody Pondsmith nun die nächste Erweiterung auf den Markt. Dieses Mal darf sie sich tatsächlich so nennen: Auf den insgesamt 160 Seiten finden sich zahlreiche Monster und verschiedene Tagebucheinträge des legendären Hexers Erland von Larvik. Dazu Hexer-Aufträge, besondere Monster und neue Spielmechaniken. Ein proppenvolles Paket also?

Das Goldene Zeitalter der Hexer – A Witcher‘s Diary Mit den Aufzeichnungen des ersten Hexers erweitern R. Talsorian Games den spielbaren Zeitraum. Bisher standen in ihrem Rollenspiel die Ereignisse um die drei Nilfgaardischen Kriege im Vordergrund, die während der Bücher und Videospiele stattfinden. Nun wagten die Entwickler:innen den Sprung ins kalte Wasser und liefern hier erstmals Einblicke in die Anfänge der Hexer-Gilde, kurz nach der Konjunktion der Sphären.

Es werden Jahreszahlen und Hintergründe zu den ersten Hexern geliefert sowie zu einigen bekannten Vertretern jener Zeit. Schlussendlich geht es dann um die Spaltung der Hexer in verschiedene Schulen, die sich den Kontinent aufteilen, die daraus resultierende Renaissance der ausschließlich männlichen Kaste und den unausweichlichen Niedergang der Schulen.

Im Auftrag einer reichen Witwe kümmert sich Erland von Larvik um ein paar Neblinge, die es sich im Sumpf etwas zu gemütlich gemacht haben. © R. Talsorian Games Das betitelte Goldene Zeitalter ist hierbei nur in puncto Monsteranzahl wirklich golden. Ansonsten dominieren weiterhin bekannte Themen wie Rassismus, Mord und Totschlag, Krieg oder Neid – es ist und bleibt eine raue Welt.

Insgesamt sind die Informationen detailliert, aber nicht zu detailverliebt, sodass eine Kampagne zur Zeit der ersten Hexer gut zu erstellen ist. Jedoch bleibt genügend Freiraum, eine eigene Geschichte zu erschaffen und neues Lore zu erleben.

Neben dem Rundumschlag in fiktiver Historie werden als kleine Einspieler zwischen den Monsterbeschreibungen einzelne Transkripte aus den Larvik’schen Tagebüchern geliefert. Diese gehen nie über eine äußerst volle DIN-A4-Seite und lesen sich in etwa wie die Kurzgeschichten der Geralt-Saga, wenn man diese auf die Kampfszenen reduziert hätte. Die Geschichten selbst sind meist zu kurz, um eigene Abenteuer daraus zu entwickeln, jedoch lassen sie die sonst etwas zahlenlastigen Monsterbeschreibungen lebhafter wirken und liefern Anhaltspunkte zur Beschreibung der Wesen.

Tödliche Tierwesen und wo sie zu finden sind – Von Barbegazi bis Waldschrat Das Gros der Erweiterung machen jedoch nicht die Tagebücher, sondern die Monsterbeschreibungen aus. Direkt zu Beginn wird erklärt, wie die Monstertabellen zu lesen sind. Wäre das nicht etwas für das Grundregelwerk gewesen, welches geradezu unter einer Flut von wenig erklärten Tabellen litt?

Nichtsdestotrotz lohnt sich die Klarstellung. Die Monster im Buch sind in Kategorien wie Nekrophagen, Geister oder Bestien unterteilt. Besondere Monster wie höhere Vampire oder echte Drachen bilden nochmal eine eigene Klasse. Über 33 Monster haben so im Journal eine neue Heimat gefunden. Bis auf die Trolle gibt es keine Dopplungen mit dem Grundregelwerk. Mit dabei sind viele faszinierend-abstoßende Wesen aus The Witcher 3, wie etwa Fehlgeborene oder Schleimlinge. Doch auch unbekanntere Bestien aus den Vorgängern haben Einzug gefunden, beispielsweise die Gralle.

Die Jagdobjekte haben neben einer generellen Schwierigkeit viele weitere Stellschrauben. Wie intelligent sind sie? Sind sie rein instinktgesteuert oder in der Lage, taktische Entscheidungen zu treffen? Über was für Fähigkeiten und Finessen verfügen sie? Und, am allerwichtigsten für den dauerhaft geldknappen Hexer: Was für Beute wirf das Monstrum ab? Das schafft auf einer Buchdoppelseite Übersichtlichkeit und System für die SL.

Abgerundet wird das Monsterkomplettpaket mit einigen Hilfestellungen zu Encountern und längeren wie kürzeren Lore-Texten, welche aus der Sicht von Gelehrten oder Hexern verfasst wurden. Diese Erfahrungsberichte zeigen sehr schön die Wissensunterschiede. Denn während Nicht-Hexer sich mit ihrer Bildung nur auf Hörensagen und Aberglauben verlassen können, ist es den Profis dank ihrer Ausbildung vergönnt, sehr schnell viele wichtige Informationen zu Tage zu fördern.

Das kann dann, ganz Witcher-typisch, den ein oder anderen Kampf ersparen. Wenn der Hexer der Gruppe sich beispielsweise daran erinnert, dass Trolle oft mit Alkohol bestechlich sind und die SC daraufhin ihre Taschen danach durchsuchen, um die Monster-Begegnung unbeschadet zu überstehen.

Außergewöhnliche Monster – Lebensläufe für Drachen und Vampire Die sogenannten Außergewöhnlichen Monster stechen aus der restlichen Metzel-Masse heraus und sind mit deutlich mehr Informationen versehen. So geht es bei den echten Drachen viel um die Unterschiede bei der Farbgebung, ihre Gesellschaftsform und wie ein so hochintelligentes Wesen trotz fehlender Lippen mit den Spieler:innen kommunizieren kann.

Höhere Vampire, die vielen noch aus dem Witcher 3-DLC Blood and Wine bekannt sein dürften, fallen ebenfalls in die Kategorie des Besonderen. Neben viel Hintergrundmaterial zu den verschiedenen Stämmen und ihren Ursprüngen rund um das Herzogtum Toussaint, dürfte die größte Neuerung der Lebenslauf für die besonderen Monster sein. Denn da es sich bei Drachen wie Vampiren um nahezu unbesiegbare Boss-Gegner handelt, empfiehlt das Buch, sie von vornerein mit mehr Persönlichkeit, als das typische „Monster der Woche“ zu versehen. R. Talsorian liefert hier auswürfelbare Lebensläufe mit aberdutzenden Möglichkeiten. Das war bereits eine der Stärken des Grundregelwerks. Ähnlich wie bei den SC geht es hier zuerst um die Familie und das Alter, bevor es um spezielle Dinge wie den Jagdstil oder einzelne Lebensereignisse geht. So können Drachen beispielsweise in Frieden mit der Landbevölkerung zusammengelebt oder ein Vampir schonmal gegen einen Hexer gekämpft haben, woraufhin er gegen seine Tricks immun wurde. Vielleicht ist der vampirische Gegenspielende einer Gruppe aber auch nur ein ausgestoßener Blutalkoholiker.

Nach diesem Prinzip lässt sich prima und schnell eine Nemesis für die Gruppe entwickeln, die nicht an einem Abend besiegt wird, sondern am Ende einer langen Kampagne steht.

Ermittlungen und Aufträge – Hardboiled Witcher Passend zu den supernatürlichen Antagonist:innen bespricht das Buch in seinem vorletzten Kapitel, wie sich diese mit komplexeren Abenteuern langsam aufbauen lassen. Kurz gesagt: Es geht um Rätsel und Ermittlungen im Witcher-Rollenspiel. Denn wie das Buch treffend festhält, sind Hexer nicht nur mutierte Monsterschlächter, sondern genauso effektive Detektive. Oftmals ist am Anfang eines Auftrages nicht klar, um welche Bestie es sich handelt (so vage sind unter anderem auch die elf beigelegten Hexer-Aufträge). Vor dem eigentlichen Kampf werden also Zeug:innen befragt oder Tatorte untersucht.

Aus dem Intelligenz- und dem Willenskraft-Wert ermittelt sich die Menge an Fokuspunkten, die für das Finden von Hinweisen und das daraus folgende „Herstellen“ von Beweisen gebraucht wird. Die Hinweissuche kann durch Hindernisse erschwert werden. Die Hinweise selbst können zusätzlich noch einen Verschleierungs-Wert haben, der wie eine Art Rüstung für das Rätsel fungiert. Das Mysterium selbst hat einen Komplexitätswert, welcher schlussendlich durch „Schaden“ auf null reduziert werden muss, um zu des Rätsels Lösung zu gelangen.

Trotz zahlreicher Beispiele und umfangreichen Informationen verfällt das Witcher’s Journal hier in alte Muster und verliert sich mitunter in Überkomplexität und Zahlen. Andere, durchaus relevante und spannende Aspekte fürs Ermittlungsrollenspiel, wie etwa der Umgang mit der Diskrepanz zwischen Spieler:innen und Charakterwissen, werden lediglich am Rande behandelt.

Erscheinungsbild Das Witcher’s Journal umfasst 160 DIN-A4-Seiten und ist im Oktober 2020 außerdem in deutscher Übersetzung beim Truant Verlag erschienen – für den Ersteindruck lag jedoch nur die englische PDF vor.

Der größtenteils fehlerfreie und gut lesbare Text wird untermalt von zahlreichen stimmigen Illustrationen der Witcher-Welt. Erstmals finden sich sogar komplett neue Bilder im Buch. Bisher lieh man hierbei immer von The Witcher 3 oder Gwent.

Die Texte sind verständlich, das Layout ist stimmig. Offenbar wurde aus den vielen Fehlerchen des ersten Grundregelwerks gelernt – schlecht oder gar nicht erklärte Tabellen gibt es jedenfalls keine. Vorhandene Informationen sind sinnvoll auf Text, Tabellen und Seitenränder verteilt.

Die PDF ist bereits mit einem Index versehen, welcher schnell zu den einzelnen Monsterklassen verweist. Für ein wenig Verwirrung sorgte, dass die Tagebucheinträge im Inhaltsverzeichnis den Monstern beigefügt sind, sie im PDF-Index aber als eigenständiges Kapitel aufgeführt sind.

Fazit

Das Witcher’s Jorunal ist ein solides Bestiarium zum Nachschlagen und Erweitern der eigenen Kampagnen geworden. Alle notwendigen Informationen zu einem Monster befinden sich auf wenigen Seiten komprimiert und lassen sich schnell umsetzen. Die Wesen sind abwechslungsreich und zusätzliche Features wie die Lebensläufe geben den besonderen Monstern bereits zum Start eigene Persönlichkeiten mit Freund:innen, Feind:innen und Verflossenen.

Der Hintergrund-Teil des Buches und die Aufträge sind eine nette Dreingabe, genauso wie die Tagebucheinträge. Insgesamt bleiben sie jedoch genau das, eine Dreingabe. Für einen richtigen Story- oder Kampagnenband wäre das zu wenig. Durch die Hexer-zentristische Sicht fehlen hier vor allem Informationen zu politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umständen.

Das Investigationssystem ist detailliert, verliert sich aber mitunter in seinen zahlreichen Sonderregelungen und wirkt in Anbetracht einer zügigen Umsetzung am Spieltisch erst einmal abschreckend.

Als Monster-Erweiterung erfüllt das Buch für knapp 30 Euro (15 Euro für die PDF) seinen Zweck allemal. Es bietet viel Material für spannende Kämpfe, Abenteuer und Begegnungen in der Welt der Hexer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Witcher's Journal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 244 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates