DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ironsworn: Starforged
by TAVON G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 21:50:44

I've been on this AMAZING ride since the Kickstarter and it's been SO MUCH FUN! The character creation, the Truths, the assets, the mechanics, ALL OF THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. This will be some of the best money you've ever spent. Trust me, trust us. Join us in the Forge!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by T. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 21:07:59

Ironsworn was revolutionary. Starforged takes it to a whole new level. It is the standard of which all RPGs should aspire to, solo or otherwise. Shawn Tomkin has mastered the art of the muse. He dangles the carrot of creativity right in front of your nose on every roll.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
by Ben [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 18:51:38

It is great! Played it when everything was locked down, and it scratched that RPG itch! The book is huge, but the rules are easy to pick up and use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn
by Johan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2022 10:16:43

What can I say that hasn't been said already? This is just such a great system. If I could knock it just a little is that I'm not entirely comfrotable with the abstracted combat rules, and I try for the most part to avoid it. Otherwise, I really enjoy playing Ironsworn as a great adventure while listening to some atmospheric music late at night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 19:47:53

This game is wonderful. I have spent time playing a Mandlorian solo adventure. I am also using the base rules with some dice adjustments to play a superhero variation (by adjusting base dice and difficulty dice from d6 to d8-d12 etc for stats for supers and supernaturals). I love the PBTA influences. I love the tables and use most of them when I play up on Roll20. I am letting all my ttrpg peeps know about this game and love the fact that I can use the same system not just for solo play but also as a base system for groups. Thank you so much for this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 16:29:24

From the setting oracles to the game mechanics, Starforged drips personality and possibility. If I had to choose only one RPG to play for the rest of my life, this would be it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by jon b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 11:16:55

This game system is the gold-standard for solo RPGs and GM-ing with improv. I can't recommend it enough. The rules are low crunch and drive the story forward with twists and turns and complications. The oracle/random tables are delicious and well-organized.

The setting is cool, but far too "perilous". The oracle tables and world-generation procedures create a space sector that I have a hard time suspending my disbelief about. The scarce resources, low populations, limited trade, and hostile environments all make for a world that would quickly extinguish human life.

Luckily, the game system is perfectly capable of driving a campaign in a homebrew Sci Fi world (or a world of fantasy or other genres, for that matter). The oracle tables are still great in a more hospitable and thriving Sci Fi universe, but you will need paint the broad brushstrokes of that universe yourself.

If you can't find a group to play with consistently, if you're a forever-GM who wants to play a character, or if you want a low-crunch system that always drives the story forward, this is the game for you.

Starfoged is a very special contribution to the world of RPGs. I'll be playing it for years to come.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by Kyle [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2022 11:00:58

I tried Ironsworn, Loved it, found out that a sci-fi version was coming out soon, waited impatiently (Missed the kickstarter) finally played Sci-fi version... damn, I'm new to solo RPGs, but this series is phenomenal.

Love the story focus, I've found that crunchier games played solo take ages to accomplish anything. I also like the addition of more moves, and the new rulebook. Something about this one feels much better than Ironsworn's rulebook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by Cooper F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2022 01:07:37

This is an incredible system. Elegant in design, robust in function, exciting in play. This game can spark the imagination of even the least creative solo roleplayers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Delve
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2022 14:14:25

Do you want to add dungeons or depth to the travel segments of Ironsworn? Do you want prompts to create dungeons with a motif and / or theme for any fantasy dungeon crawl or even hex crawl? If so, buy this now! It's a great resourced even without the Ironsworn rpg. Speaking of which, you can get Ironsworn as a free PDF and I cannot recommend it highly enough!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Delve
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Kristopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2022 10:38:32

Disclosure: I was involved with the playtest of this game.

It has been a real treat to watch this game evolve through the playtest to the polished final product available today. However, I've got to say I've been having an absolute BLAST with this game from day one. Even the rough early versions of this game had immense playability and huge potential. Now though? With the incredible art, the refinements to usability and gameplay, the additional oracles? Solid gold. Do not sleep on this one.

The game plays great as a solo experience, but its equally as smooth running a GM-less, zero-prep game with a small group. Grab this game, get some friends together, and head out into the Forge for some sci-fi adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Stefano S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2022 02:10:15

I backed the KS on day 1, I can say it has been the best experience on the crowdfunding platform so far. Timely updates of the progress, complete transparency about the choices made, frequent updates of the developer edition PDF. The game was immediately and fully playable at the end of the campaign, refined release after release over the last year. I cannot wait to have the physical copy in my hands to see in print the wonderful art. This game has a strong community on Reddit and Discord, look for one of the many actual plays on YT or listen to a podcast to have a taste of it. I strongly suggest you to grab one of the few copy left of the Deluxe Edition if you can.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by Alexander B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2022 18:54:45

Starforged pulled me out of a years-long creativity drought and helped me fall in love with TTRPGs and writing again. I haven't shut up about this game since the Kickstarter dropped and I don't plan to now that the official release is here. The rules are easy to understand, the Oracle tables are inspiring, and the amount of freedom with regards to character building and problem solving is a welcome change from many other systems that are often restrictive or punish "sub-optimal" character ideas. The art is fantastic as well and the reference materials are extremely useful. If you like space adventures you should definitely pick this game up. This is my Game of the Year and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have, if not more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by Andreas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2022 15:19:47

Where Ironsworn blazed a trail for a distinct type of narrative driven solo-roleplaying game full of streamlined tools, neat mechanics and player agency, Starforged takes all of it, refines it, distills it and brews up a magical concoction that raises the bar for what an RPG system should be like. Lessons learned from Ironsworn are implemented in ways that add another layer of depth to the game, making it feel like a complete end-to-end package that can provide you with hundreds of hours of material to play through. Its baked-in focus on solo play make it the perfect system for a lone player to explore a retro sci-fi universe at their leisure and guarantee that it'll never get boring.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by STEVEN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2022 11:40:06

Starforged is a beautifully designed, beautifully rendered update to the core Ironsworn system.

Lots of small, incremental improvements for clarity, usability, and fun added in Starforged.

The assumed setting is great, and the guided prompts for making it your own world are fun and compelling. But even if you don't want to use the assumed setting, the amount of work to drop in Star Wars, Firefly, The Expanse, Dune, or any other sci-fi setting is trivial.

My experience with both Ironsworn and Starforged have all been universally positive, with fun, dynamic, engaging roleplaying, both in solo, co-op without a GM, and guided play (with a GM, where I was the GM).

This is such a tremendous system for fiction-first, narrative-style gaming. Ironsworn / Starforged takes inspiration from Apocalypse World / Dungeon World / Powered by the Apocalypse, and mixes in some Blades in the Dark / Forged in the Dark, but is very much its own thing.

In case you didn't catch my drift earlier, this game (and its predecessor) are GREAT. Not good, GREAT roleplaying systems and really should be in every gamer's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 137 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates