DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Ironsworn Print Edition Bundle [Limited-Time Offer]
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2022 09:55:26

I bought the special offer. Download and physical books. I haven't recieved my physical copies and it's been 6 months.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn Print Edition Bundle [Limited-Time Offer]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Michael: Have you reached out to DriveThruRPG on this issue? They are very helpful and responsive when it comes to missing books. Printing and shipping is normally 2-4 weeks, so I would suggest connecting with them to see what your books did not arrive. You can contact them via this web form: https://support.drivethrurpg.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
Ironsworn: Starforged
by Shaun S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2022 22:31:07

Starforged is the absolute pinnacle of solo role-playing, science-fiction role-playing, and narrative gaming. The system is elegant and the various moves are flexible enough to provide for most any type of action. The Paths (kind of like classes) can be combined to make the kind of character that suits your imagination. The Truths section helps you to define the particular kind of universe you want to play in. I was able to create a literal Biblical apocalypse, with the very real possibility that the Forge in which my characters exist might be some astronomical equivalent of Hell. But you could as easily have a hopeful setting, or something like Firefly, or the Expanse, or whatever suits your preferences. The mechanics for Connections, Journeys, and Challenges all use the same underlying mechanics, allowing players to get on with the action without having to constantly flip through the book (there's a short reference guide included if you need to do that, though). The real gem among these excellent rules are the Scene Challenges and Clocks - mechanics that help to create some real tension. Will you hack into the system before the guards arrive? Can you make it to the rendezvous before the drop ship leaves without you? Anything prolonged task or challenge with an uncertain outcome can be made more exciting with this feature. And we cannot overlook the absolutely GORGEOUS presentation. Full-color throughout and the artwork is beautiful and really helps players to visualize the setting. If you buy ONE game, ever, it should be this one. I'm not even kidding and if you disagree, come fight me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn Lodestar (Reference Guide)
by Dave T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2022 01:01:44

Ironsworn Lodestar, in my opinion, is the single most underrated resource & toolkit book I've picked up in the past 6-7 years of any TTRPG system. It's that fantastic, and I sincerely encourage anyone to check this out. The best part of it is, while obviously it is made as a supplement to use for Ironsworn, the enormous amount of GM guidance, random table generators, and worldbuilding tools can be applied to literally any TTRPG. If I had any two resources that can immediately be ported into any TTRPG setting, it would be Worlds Without Numbers, and Ironsworn Lodestar. Both are perfect.

Lodestar shines in that it gives tons of GM guidance for the specific PBtA (or PBtA adjacent/influence) Ironsworn game, and does a FANTASTIC job of presenting overview sections of all move types, categories and descriptions...that are well laid out, ultra intuitive to understand, and all locating in one easy to find doc. I honestly wish game designers made something this intuitive for every system, because more complex systems are dying for something like this, both for GM and player purposes, you can just flip it open and immediately find what you need for any Ironsworn game.

It equally shines as a generic/not tied to Ironsworn resource that is chalk full of random generators for everything from plot, worldbuilding, PC character building, character feelings and personalities, backstories, locations, villages, celebrations & disasters in villages or cities, random encounters, random events...all with tones stretching between happy to sad, to dark and spooky, to chivalrous, to joyful and celebratory to depressing or true danger or tragedy. It also has a fantastic section for name creation of both PCs, NPCs and creature types, as well as locations. Could be used for just about any system and setting that involves high or low fantasy, steampunk, or history.

It's just awesome, and for a resource so inexpensive, everyone should grab a copy. Kudos to the remarkably talented author Shawn Tompkin for creating Ironsworn, Starforged, and this excellent Lodestar resource!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn Lodestar (Reference Guide)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Donovan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 21:29:56

Its simple, buy it and enjoy everything inside!! You will NOT be disappointed at all!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Sean G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 16:56:42

Just started playing with a group of friends and everyone is having a blast. The freedom this system gives you to shape the narrative, coupled with the oracles and evocative snippets of lore, set us up for an amazing co-op game from session 1. The refinements that Starforged has over Ironsworn really smooth out the gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
by Sean G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2022 16:52:46

Absolutely love this game. A perfect tool for telling whatever kinds of stories you want to tell.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Ken K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2022 14:51:59

simply sublime... Ironsworn was my first foray into solo rpgs and Starforged is next level!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Karl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2022 13:24:56

Have been exploring the Forge for a while and it is just pure joy to play. A great solo sanbox of possibilities for me. The hours fly by whilst in the Forge...great great game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by TAVON G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 21:50:44

I've been on this AMAZING ride since the Kickstarter and it's been SO MUCH FUN! The character creation, the Truths, the assets, the mechanics, ALL OF THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. This will be some of the best money you've ever spent. Trust me, trust us. Join us in the Forge!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by T. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 21:07:59

Ironsworn was revolutionary. Starforged takes it to a whole new level. It is the standard of which all RPGs should aspire to, solo or otherwise. Shawn Tomkin has mastered the art of the muse. He dangles the carrot of creativity right in front of your nose on every roll.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
by Ben [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2022 18:51:38

It is great! Played it when everything was locked down, and it scratched that RPG itch! The book is huge, but the rules are easy to pick up and use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn
by Johan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2022 10:16:43

What can I say that hasn't been said already? This is just such a great system. If I could knock it just a little is that I'm not entirely comfrotable with the abstracted combat rules, and I try for the most part to avoid it. Otherwise, I really enjoy playing Ironsworn as a great adventure while listening to some atmospheric music late at night.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 19:47:53

This game is wonderful. I have spent time playing a Mandlorian solo adventure. I am also using the base rules with some dice adjustments to play a superhero variation (by adjusting base dice and difficulty dice from d6 to d8-d12 etc for stats for supers and supernaturals). I love the PBTA influences. I love the tables and use most of them when I play up on Roll20. I am letting all my ttrpg peeps know about this game and love the fact that I can use the same system not just for solo play but also as a base system for groups. Thank you so much for this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ironsworn: Starforged
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 16:29:24

From the setting oracles to the game mechanics, Starforged drips personality and possibility. If I had to choose only one RPG to play for the rest of my life, this would be it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn: Starforged
by jon b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2022 11:16:55

This game system is the gold-standard for solo RPGs and GM-ing with improv. I can't recommend it enough. The rules are low crunch and drive the story forward with twists and turns and complications. The oracle/random tables are delicious and well-organized.

The setting is cool, but far too "perilous". The oracle tables and world-generation procedures create a space sector that I have a hard time suspending my disbelief about. The scarce resources, low populations, limited trade, and hostile environments all make for a world that would quickly extinguish human life.

Luckily, the game system is perfectly capable of driving a campaign in a homebrew Sci Fi world (or a world of fantasy or other genres, for that matter). The oracle tables are still great in a more hospitable and thriving Sci Fi universe, but you will need paint the broad brushstrokes of that universe yourself.

If you can't find a group to play with consistently, if you're a forever-GM who wants to play a character, or if you want a low-crunch system that always drives the story forward, this is the game for you.

Starfoged is a very special contribution to the world of RPGs. I'll be playing it for years to come.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates