DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by Ana R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2019 20:15:16

I was a backer from the kickstarter and have been following along for some time. The responses and updates were/are stellar, I highly recommend bringing up any concerns or ideas because the team is absolutely brilliant. Not to mention that I was immediately excited upon opening the PDF, the art is fantastic and while the process is a bit overwhelming at first glance, it's pretty intuitive after a quick read. I'll be allowing these custom races for my next homebrew campaign and I'm looking forward to seeing what my players can make!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by Steve W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 20:52:40

This book is a tremendous tool for the DM/world-builder. Every trait in here (and there are hundreds and hundreds) comes with descriptive text written in the standard D&D tone. They all have point values so you can mix and match and have some expectation of balance. (Or know just how out of balance you're going to get.) The lore generation tips are very helpful if you want to write backgrounds from scratch, but there are also helpful random tables that cover several pages of potential background information if you need a boost.

The huge collection of example races is full-featured, with traits, backgrounds, and sometimes spells for each. There are some great NPCs at the end, spells, feats, all kinds of good stuff. This book is full of flavor!

My one recommendation: don't try to print the whole thing for use off-line, you'll use a lot of toner. I did print the random trait tables as a reference section, for use on the fly, and because they list the traits by point value, super useful for working out a species.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 16:09:20

For me the problem was balancing stuff, with this it makes it easier. There are so many options to make a race, that I see using this book for years to come. Great Job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by Mark d. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 15:49:54

Just love the stuff that's possible with this. Been crafting races using this book for an adventure I'm starting in a month or two, using only this book for races (npc and players) and the variety in traits helps generate such unique creatures. Some things might be a bit overpowered for your adventure, but the creator(s) has/have expained in the book what traits might not be suited in certain cases.

Overall I really like this book and think it's easily worth its money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by Brittney L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 15:42:43

I was a backer on this project over on Kickstarter and I absolutely love the idea of being able to create anything and everything your heart desires when it comes to unique and creative races. It has already helped me with balancing the flying mechanic on one of my races that I am creating for a suppliment.

I would highly encourage everyone to purchase this, especially those that love homebrew. You can tell that so much love and dedication has gone into producing this suppliment piece. It is a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by JACK S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 15:41:18

5/5 = Worth it.

A wonderful supplement that I've been using to remake some of the standard 5e races to suit my world's needs. So far, the process has been smooth as butter with my only complaint being the lack of bookmarks in the PDF.

Other than that, this is a must buy for DMs looking to start homebrewing races without all the worries of balacing that normally come with it; the book takes care of that for you! A massive +1 to all the folks who put their blood, sweat, and dice into making this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by Kyle F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2019 23:31:22
I'll be kind and start with the positive. There are a lot of options you can choose from when building a race, more so than any other race builder i've found. But it is potentially to the point of excess. There are certain areas where there are too many varying options when it could have been done simpler. The part i found most frustrating is the way it's handled during the creation process. rather then functioning in a point purchase (i.e. i buy swim speed 30 for x points, then can increase or reduce it for y/-y points, it is package based. everything is to be bought in precrafted packages, which is fine until you have a specific combination that they don't have. At that point you either need to find the best fitting option or abandon that idea. Sometimes the option might be buried in there, but it has all these additional add-ons that are either unnecessary and driving up the cost of the package, or outright unwanted in places. The part that drove me to actually make a review/response as opposed to just staying silent is there are some homebrew spells included in the book. At first thought i though, neat, wonder how those will work. Then iread them. a few of them were ok, nothing all to special or illogical. then i got to one. I showed the description to several friends i play with without showing them the entry in the pdf and asked them what spell level something of that caliber should be. The lowest response i got was a 5th level spell. It's a cantrip. Going through i thought a handful of the numbers were a bit high or a bit low, or even inconsitent in places, but figured it was just me. but when there are such glaring overpowered entries listed in this, it makes me second guess how useful of a reesource this 'ultimate race creator' is as it calls into question how balanced a lot of it is. If you want something wack and fun, if you want to make races for the hell of it, or you don't give a fudge about balance, then this is likely a 5 star product for you. This came from a place of love and passion, that much i can tell. While my review iis negative there is no denying the hard work the creators put into it.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
We're sorry you found the book unbalanced and we try to be very responsive to balance recommendations. We're already hard at work implementing some changes for a V1.1. Could you tell us which spell was the issue for you? We'd be happy to revisit it.
The Ultimate Race Creator 5e
by James E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2019 21:30:16

i wish they'd let me write this in my computercomputer



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30 New Fantastical Creatures: Minn’s Magical Menagerie
by Lucas D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2018 17:16:41

Minn's Magical Menagerie is a fantastic addition to bring into your game if you're looking to spice things up a bit with some interesting and useful animal companions. If you're party includes a member that oh so desperately wants a pet, and we all have one of those in our parties, then this book is perfect for you to bring in some interesting critters that could help them out!

One thing that really struck me about this was that every single animal there had a purpose that a party could benefit from. From spiders that can repair clothing and armor to bats that act as a sentry for watching your back or standing guard over the night watch, this book includes a ton of fantastic additions to your already spiffy adventuring party. One nice thing as a DM is that the way this is written is so that you could basically read verbatim what is written down as the encounter. Each description of the animals and even the introduction itself is written as though you were describing this scene to your party. I loved each description they had of the creatures because not only did it fill in on the details of the critters but it also gave you a good idea of what their personality was like.

Another great usage of this book is having animals that work for your villains. An opposing adventuring party could just as easily have a hunting dog that is searching for your party or a BBEG could have a number of these sentry bats placed around their castle when you try to sneak in, and it creates a fuller experience for the players because they suddenly have to think about basic wildlife instead of just the monsters around them.

So if you're looking for a great addition to your adventuring party, or you want to spice things up with the enemies that your party will face then i highly recommend this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30 New Fantastical Creatures: Minn’s Magical Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronomancy
by Monica G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2018 21:38:09

Chronomancy is a short supplement for 5th edition Dungeons and Dragons that offers some really nice rules for time-related magic. The book naturally provides rules for sorcerers and wizards, but also for warlocks and rogues. The book does a really great job with these class options, providing some very interesting rules for rogues who have the ability to suspend their enemies in time with special attacks, and for warlocks with abilties that give them tactical battlefield advantages, such as sending an opponent back to where they were before their last move. These are some really cool, original, and somewhat unexpected features for what appears to be a sourcebook for arcane magic.

The book does a good job of offering options for magic users as well. It features 'Blood of Eons' and 'School of Chronomancy' options for sorcerers and wizards. These offer time-themed abilities for each class. Sorcerers gain some interesting and potentially powerful abilities centered on suspending spells that they cast for later execution, which can bring devestating effects if planned and timed correctly. Wizards, however, dont't get much in the way of abilities that complement their spell casting, but get abilities tied more to combat actions for themselves and party members. This makes the school of Chronomancy option somewhat more viable for support wizards than for combat casters.

The book also offers a lot of spells for arcane casters, and on the whole they're well-written and well- balanced. Some spells are really clever, such as 'Fast Forward'--which reduces spell duration by 1d4 in a 10' area, ending spells which reach 0 duration. This is a great idea for a spell, but might be a bit too overpowered for a cantrip (the lowest level of spells), since it could be used to almost immediately end short duration spells. DMs should keep an eye spells such as this to make sure their players don't abuse them. The book also includes 'Premonition', a spell with open-ended rules that is less of about rule mechanics than a vehicle for the DM to further the story by giving players a glimpse of the future (and some story hooks). This is another one that DMs will likely have to think about before they let their players use it, but it is certainly not anything game-breaking. Most of the rest of the spells presented are rather balanced and straightforward. Though the spell list and the class features do require some new mechanics that are introduced at the end of the book. These are conditions such as 'suspended', in which things affected by it disappear from the time stream, 'frozen' for things that are left in place unable to move. As well, there is a type of damage--'temporal', which is damage inflicted when something ages very quickly. This sort of thing requires some new mechanics, such as these, and on the whole they're easy to interpret, though DMs may need to be vigilant about how they apply them.

Overall, this is a nice book for adding some flavor to your game. It has some great options and the rules mostly fit well into a standard D&D game. Just note that it may require some judgement from a seasoned DM from time to time.

Check out the full review here at geeksagogo.com!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronomancy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 New Fantastical Creatures: Minn’s Magical Menagerie
by Noah B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2018 20:41:37

Minn’s Magical Menagerie is a great product and I enjoyed reading it page by page. I was impressed by the creative creatures put that clearly had lots of effort put into their design. I would recommend that DMs use this to give their player's the options of pets at early levels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30 New Fantastical Creatures: Minn’s Magical Menagerie
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 New Fantastical Creatures: Minn’s Magical Menagerie
by Maester R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2018 23:14:47

Minn's Magical Mengaerie is a delight to read. This product is full of imaginative magical pets to offer inspiration for your TTRPG characters. From adorable to exotic this DM resource delivers on page after page of stats, abilities, descriptions, and pictures of ideas for pets to offer your players a memorable addition to thier RPG experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Runemastery
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2018 12:01:47

I rusked a dollar on this, expecting to get burned by the usual drek, but I was very (and pleasantly) surprised. This is a very good product, easily adapt to any system. My only complaint is that while it has a verey high standard for interior decoration, it woulds be a print cartiridge killer if you wanted to make a hard copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Runemastery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beastmen Race Creator (5e)
by Maester R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 23:55:30

The format is easy to follow and understand. The thought that went into making this is evident. In these pages you will find a point system for creating fun antropomorphic racial traits for your customized beast-person. You can add good, bad, or neutral traits ranging from longevity to physical and magical qualities. There are four example races already made with details in the back. This worth the price to get started making your own personalized part-animal race for your RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beastmen Race Creator (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Runemastery
by rebecca s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 18:46:49

Runemastery is a great buy! It's well organized, easy to read, complete, and it makes me want to try it. There are detailed descriptions of 20 different runes, each with three different functions. There is plenty of diversity because you get to choose which order to learn the runes in. You also can inscribe runes onto just about any surface, like weapons and armor, or even yourself. This document provides everything you need to make your character a master of runes in one of four different subclasses, each of which looked fun to play. It looks like it belongs in the class section of the PHB. If you want a new class to try out, this product won't let you down.

On an unrelated note, this is Rory, not Rebecca s.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Runemastery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates