DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Swarmforged
by Benjamin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2024 19:07:20

Phenomenal concept. Used it to make a Hexblade Warlock and got a few laughs when my arm fell off.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swarmforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Retroverse Maps
by KRIS [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2023 16:32:29

The maps really help carry the entire tone and feel of the Retroverse. The mega dungeon is amazing and has so much fun stuff even on its own. I'm very happy these were added VTT's are rough with PDFs sometimes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retroverse Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lasers & Liches: Game Master's Beats
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2022 12:43:16

Has been an absolute joy to run with my freinds. None stop cool and fun vibes



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lasers & Liches: Game Master's Beats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lasers & Liches: Players Mix
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2022 23:07:13

this product is a love letter to pop culture of the past few decades. Shiny variants and corruption rules are great for breathing new life into old standard monsters. the new classes are essentially retro-cyberpunk/anime versions of the original classes but that's fine, I like the individual feel of each one. Can't wait for the Game Masters Beats to get released!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lasers & Liches: Players Mix
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lasers & Liches: Players Mix
by Zachary R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2022 18:44:43

This content and its creator are the next step in awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Lasers & Liches: Players Mix
by Eugene W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2022 17:59:48

Love everything about it and the Henshin class DID NOT DISAPPOINT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Lasers & Liches: Players Mix
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2021 18:32:23

I've played 3 different versions of this since the KS launched and it just keeps getting better and better!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Swarmforged
by Colt B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2021 18:03:27

Found this via the author's twitter account and love the idea in conjunction with a campaign i'm running. That and the DnBees stuff makes this so much fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swarmforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Great Orange One Warlock Patron
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2020 12:40:50

This is a great addition to 5th ed that mixes just the right amounts of seriousness, fun, and useful game mechanics. A great option for anyone looking for an alternate warlock patron who doesn't take things too seriously... except Mondays and lasagna.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Orange One Warlock Patron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Great Orange One Warlock Patron
by Glass T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2020 14:38:58

This is both hilarious and super useful. Who wouldn't want a warlock patron like this anyways *5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Swarmforged
by Cory P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2020 21:55:12

This is really creative and well thought out 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swarmforged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Retroverse Free Preview 2018
by Jessie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2019 17:10:48

I liked this, I really do. The premise, that it's all just a game, diminished my enthusiasm somewhat. But honestly, the creators are just really cool and inventive people. The dragons are interesting and unique. I'll absolutely use things from here in my own games. It's worth it just for the artwork and creativity that went into this project.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Retroverse Free Preview 2018
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lasers and Liches Test Wave 1
by Colt T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2019 00:37:40

The Retroverse seeks to fill a niche role with its setting, and options in the tabletop market with its 80s, synthwave inspired asthetic, and saturday morning cartoon sensibilities.

The test wave boosts a sample platter of content for player and dms alike to player with, most of which can be integrated into more tradition settings relatively seamlessly, for those wishing to try the content without creating a whole campaign based in the provided setting.

Races The Retroverse introduces the Wolf-like Wonari, and the noble dinofolk the Cerans, each with three subraces, as well as four new Dragonborn varients. The new races have interesting lore to work off of, as wells cool new abilities to give players more options without unbalancing when compared to existing content.

Classes Holo-Knight: a stylish class with a lot of interesting ideas. Balance wise it seems slightly less powerful than existing classes, and the wording of some abilities is a little confusing, Construct healing, and the first part of Holo armor read a bit awkwardly, but are otherwise functional.

Synthweaver: The bard like synthweaver seems more like a subclass for the bard than a class of its own. that being said it does a lot different from the class that inspired it. one of the more powerful classes in the Retroverse, it gains full spellcasting, some powerful support abilities, and potential with melee damage, and an interesting but confusing ability with their Roller blades, and multiplying Dexterity.

De-Fragger: This class, closest to the paladin in the traditional sense focuses on the setting specific Corruption rules, but can easily be retooled against undead if brought into a setting without such rules. This class tries many new ideas walking a razors edge of balance between under powered and over powered, so its probably fine.

Goreangyr: The weirdest class of the four, this class puts your character in control of a giant robot creature, based off of an animal, abberration, dragon, fiend or elemental. the restriction of 1/4 CR seems somewhat restrictive, and its hard to envision how this class would play in game without actually using it. there is certainly a lot to keep track of, and it shouldnt be a casual choice for a player to attempt using this class as it is now.

DM Features

The Monster stat blocks are geared towards lower level encounters, but boast some interesting abilities and designs, the Glass Shadow being a stand-out for its combination of dangerous slippery, creepiness.

The Items are somewhat disappointing. most are simple enchantments with odd aesthetic requirements for use, or overly complicated like the "keysword" weapon. There aren't many included, but what is here could be improved upon in the future.

Summary

While not perfect, the Retroverse accomplishes what it has set out to do, and is worth looking at for anyone interested in some fresh new races or classes. the lack of subclasses is a bit disappointing and the magic items could do with some reworking, but over all this is a solid sample platter of things to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lasers and Liches Test Wave 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Lasers and Liches Test Wave 1
by Jacob L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2019 19:52:59

Yo, what's up dudes of all kinds, are you ready to get radical?!? Good, cause im taking a look at this thing and... well a few thoughts.

The aesthetic. This is absolute brilliancy, so pat yourselves on the back for that one, you've earned it.

The content. There's a not insignificant amount here, but that's not always a good thing (but it very often can be).

The balance and mechanics. OH boy here we go.

So i'm gonna write a more thourough review later as I know there's a second test wave coming soon and Why waste everyones time 2019. I'll be talking more about more egregious things, and just give more general thoughts. Sidenote, Maybe run this by the lads over at the UnearthedArcana sub, they've got some really good pointers.

CHAPTER 1: RACES

Wonari. That bite attack is.. bad. It's not even a ribbon, it's just completely pointless.

Winter Wonari: You get a charisma boost but your lazer vision increaeses damage output? wha... also the ability is a lil busted, maybe just make it so they get true strike? Moon Wonari: That laser attack is... again, it might be better as a cantrip you can cast at will. Or use the dragonborn breath weapon as a template. Gia Wonari: This is actually good, although i do question how blinding someone and feasting on corpses relates. Is there a reference i'm not getting?

Cereans AW YEAH BAY BEE, WE JURASSIC PARK NOW. OK SO, yeah adv on save against paralyzation AND grapple is uh, completely busted. I'd maybe just use the powerful build?

Tri-Cerean: Uh, yeah no bonus action attack for free? That goes so far beyond busted we've gone back to the days of 3.5. As for the spirit weapon, Uh, why? Sti-Cerean: The not your time ability is... ok, if a bit underpowered. Let's look at the other trait OH SWEET MERCIFUL TUNA ON RYE WHAT IS THAT. +1 ac is fine. +1 to attack and damage? No. 1000000000000x no. Dragonborn! Ok I actually really like these, although I have to ask the reason for the, not using a table for the breath weapons? ALso, drop the blind effect from the xenon dragonborn. And i'd just have the tesla dragonborn be a cone of lightning with a dex save.

CHAPTER 2: CLASSES

HOLO KINGHT. All classes have proficiency in a few weapons. Even a Wizard can swing a staff. yeah te is literally no reason for me to not pick leather armor. it should't even be a choice. Also, waht the hecc is that spell progression. you have half casters and full casters. Also half casters don't get cantrips. (they're called class features not skills). Ok, so, This honestly should just be an artificer subclass. Same thing for the synthweaver, it's just a worse version of the bard. ALSO NO, dexterity is not a spellcasting stat.

DE-FRAGGER. Again, why would I play this over a paladin. It would make an amazing paladin subclass. Also the extra arms adds an extreme level of complexity for little gain. Also, cast from hit points doesn't really work in 5e, the blood hunter is really the only lass that's even remotely managed to pull it off, and the actual balance is somewhat dubious (hit points equal to your character level? Not blood hunter?)

GOREANGYR. OK, THIS is a class that actually deserves to be it's own class. It can't really be an artificer subclass if the golem is kept in any way. That said... Look, if you're gonna force someone to take a skill, give them that skill as a class feature. That also being said... this is an extremely complicated request, yes being a power ranger is awsome, but this class would need a ton of iteration to start, and having it be a part of L&L just enhances the inherent problems with the class.

The only reason I haven't given this a 1 star is because there's a new version coming out soon. There are some wonderful ideas in here, but they feel unrefined. Yes, this is a test wave, but it feels like a first draft. But, again there are some amazing ideas in here, and I desperately hope this succeeds. The authors are some truely excellent people, and i wish them nothing but the best. And i hope nothing more than for them to prove me the biggest fool and blow me away with an amazing supplement for one of the best games ever made.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Retroverse Free Preview 2018
by Torn P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2019 02:05:36

The amount of passion put into this project shows! Built for 5 E with the Rule of Cool in mind, this setting really delivers when it comes to imaginative monsters, creative races, and unique classes. Playing in the Retroverse setting is a joy, as it brings many elements from my childhood to life in a D&D setting. As a DM, wastching the confusion and delight on my players faces when they come a cross a Retroverse element in my game is just.... the best feeling ever.

If you haven't checked it out yet, I highly recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Retroverse Free Preview 2018
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates