DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Book of Wondrous Magic 5E
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2022 18:08:55

This is a great book for your magic items neccesities!

What I do whenever I read a TTRPG product is to bookmark the page which has a thing or two that I want to use in my future games, and I bookmarked almost all pages of this book. The Book of Wondrous Magic has so many magic items that has that "special" power that you don't expect it to have it and you just imagine what will be your players' reactions when they realize what they have.

Overall, this book is more than worth it for its price and I assure you that you will want to implement at least 10 magic items that this book offers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Wondrous Magic 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Iskandar City Sourcebook 5E
by Frank M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2022 10:02:17

I haven't read through all of this, but I bought it because I am getting ready to run a new 5E campaign and I wanted to add considerably more depth into my homebrew world. I'm not going to incorporate Iskandar into my world, but knowing how his other works were written, I knew that I would benefit from owning it. So far, I have not been disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iskandar City Sourcebook 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Secret of Strangelight Hall 5E
by Badger B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2022 21:20:42

I enjoy this person works I really do.

I dont know if its a culture thing but I have already asked him once to not solicit reviews for his products from me.

I have received other emails about other products soliciting reviews.

In the UK its not the done thing.

Please allow me to buy your stuff without getting me receiving emails from you to write reviews!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Strangelight Hall 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Badger, I'm glad you enjoy my content and I'm sorry my email caused annoyance. I don't recall receiving an email from you personally about soliciting reviews, but it's possible you used a different name. DTRPG enables publishers to contact customers via email. I have no way of excluding or including individuals, it is done on a "mass" basis (e.g. all people who bought product x on date y). Emails such as "Did you enjoy product x? are pretty common on platforms like Amazon. If you'd prefer not to receive emails from me (or any other publisher), you can adjust the settings using this screen: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/account_contact_options.php. If people have not opted out of publisher contact, I work on the assumption that they are ok to receive emails. kind regards, MTB
Hi Badger, Just a follow-up. I looked back through some products and saw that we did indeed discuss review solicitation back in 2020, on the Darkhold product. I respectfully note that your suggestion was to "set the alert for like a fortnight/month after purchase," which I did in this instance. kind regards, MTB
The Secret of Strangelight Hall 5E
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2021 18:24:46

M.T. Black is recognized within the community for creating high quality one-shot modules, and the Secret of Strangelight Hall is no exception.

What I love the most of this module is that every location has its fantasy theme or detail that makes it unique. Two of these locations made me laugh out-loud imagining how my players would react and said to myself "this is awesome."

If you are looking for an easy to implement and/or to run module for first timers or veterans GMs, I really recommend this module. For the price it is offered, it is more than worth it in my humble opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Strangelight Hall 5E
by Ken [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2021 17:03:06

This adventure is typical M.T. Black ... style, quality, and value for money. I found this very easy to read and a satisfying adventure all around. If you have bought other M.T. Black products, you'll know what to expect.

Unlike another review, although I agree that as a VTT user, a better map would have been more 'appealing', for the price you are paying, the map is functional and serves its purpose (want a better colour map then expect to pay for it).

Worth more than 5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
by Daniel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2021 10:11:23

I finished reading this product yesterday, and I have to say that I learned a lot about creating, publishing, and selling decent RPG material with M.T. Black's experience.

I really recommend to anyone that's planning to create and publish an adventure module in the future or wants to do better modules to read this book. It is very insightful and I am sure you can learn at least a thing or two that you can implement.

It was worth my money for an acolyte of the TTRPG industry and I am sure it will be for others.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Anatomy of Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Anatomy of Adventure
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2021 17:00:16

This book was great and has practical tips and suggestions that worked for the author. While things continue to change in the industry, and the formula that he followed may not produce the same results (the author is also a pretty darn good adventure writer, so he is starting from an advantage), it does outline some good principles for TTRPG publishing and adventure writing in general.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Strangelight Hall 5E
by Walter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2021 21:20:44

This adventure was used as a “One-Shot” with my normal gaming group. It has an easy-to-read layout that keeps everything simple and clean. The adventure has a section for adjustment suggestions for running it for different sized parties and levels – making it helpful for encounter balancing. The encounters add new creatures and concepts that kept combat enjoyable and introduced some interesting concepts. The only downside is the map, with majority of the games I run using VTT and my gaming style being very token interactive – A better map could have been extremely helpful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret of Strangelight Hall 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Donnie G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2021 14:59:05

A straightforward module with tight writing, easy to follow dungeon key, and challenging traps. An solid choice for a quick one-shot game. I used this to introduce two people (out of five total players) who never played Dungeons and Dragons and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2021 21:08:33

A good, solid trap dungeon. Except not mean spirited (looking at you, Mr. Gygax).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iskandar City Sourcebook 5E
by Russ B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2021 09:32:57

I have been a fan of M.T. Black's for some time. I appreciate the approach of quality over quantity in his work. This setting book is no different. Iskandar gives you a city and everything you need to run it in just under 100 pages. The book clocks in at 112, but the tables are gracefully reprinted in the back of the book for ease of reference. Each area of the city is presented in a uniform manner with important NPC's, areas, and shops at the ready. Nothing drags on here as everything is covered about a topic in 2 or so paragraphs for the most part.

This is a city you could have up and ready to go in about an hour of reading/skiming the book if you are in a bind. I love the "plug-and-play" aspect here. Included are additional races and class options to bring more options to your campaign, but I will admit I didn't spend too much time on this section as I grafting this city into my own campaign setting rather than adopting the one presented in this book.

My only critique here is the map of the city, but the author clearly states that production costs were purposefully kept low in order to provide the book as most cost-effective as possible. The map does present each section of the city in a readable fashion, but there is little distinction between each quarter.

Overall this is a GREAT city setting book from a great author and I am excited to see more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iskandar City Sourcebook 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Steven C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2021 09:01:30

This was an excellent dungeon at an excellent price. It blends many different classical elements of the dungeon in an interesting way and it gives you a hook that can be easily used, though you can just as easily design your own. In my campaign, we used the hook as written, and that went pretty well with my group. A personal favorite of mine was having one member of the group describe an obstacle and another help solve that obstacle during the lead-up to the adventure. That particular aspect was brilliant for our group and one we will definitely be using again.

The art is servicable, especially given the price, and easy to take from the PDF and import into a virtual tabletop for use as handouts when appropriate. The map is easy to copy and hand-draw in, but I couldn't import the image directly due to the secrets being noticable in the player version, though I consider that a relatively minor issue.

For the price, this is a fantastic deal and the formatting is top notch so the prep work is very easy and gives you more time to think about what will be the most fun for your group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Bianca B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 16:32:56

M.T. Black is a veteran D&D writer with many successful adventures and supplements — and for good reason. M.T. consistently produces quality content and The Tomb of the Twilight Queen doesn’t disappoint.

This treasure-filled adventure is for an average party level of 3. The hook opens with a wealthy benefactor hiring the party to accompany him to find the Book of the New Sky that is buried with an ancient queen in a desert tomb. He promises a hefty payment for the party once the rare book is retrieved.

The world setting is within M.T.’s “World of Iskandar” campaign, but can be easily placed in any setting. The adventure is a pure dungeon crawl, designed to get your party to the tomb quickly and start exploring. “I've emphasized tricks and traps when populating the dungeon, but there are plenty of opportunities for characters to draw their swords,” writes M.T. in his design notes.

The most notable feature of this adventure for me is the design and layout. First, M.T. has clearly designed for tablet or phone reading, with a single column format with large, readable fonts. He also provides excerpts from the rules to help a new DM, such as calculating falling damage or jumping distance, to keep the adventure moving. The readability of this adventure sets it apart from standard D&D 5E design and requires little preparation to run. My only request would be a two-column format for folks like me who print adventures!

There’s also room to improvise encounters and fights, depending on what the DM and the party wants to focus on. “For the more significant battles, I've supplied round-by-round guidance to make the combat experience fluid and exciting,” M.T. notes. This makes the adventure customizable to the DM’s preferences.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Walter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2021 16:03:01

I played this adventure multiple times and each group of players have found it enjoyable and challenging. With an easy-to-read layout and great encounters, this adventure has found a place within my library that will be referred to for future one-shots or inspiration.

Breaking down what I liked or disliked into 3 parts: Layout, Maps and Encounters

  • Layout (4 stars): The layout for it is GM friendly and organizes key information in a simplified fashion, making it easy and quick to gather needed information. The style is a mixture of Old School meets D&D Adventure League. The artwork is basic but matches the black and white theme of the layout.
  • Maps (3 stars): Since I have moved 80% of my gaming over to VTT, having a detailed map is critical for my style of gameplay. You do get a digital map, but it misses out on the details and flavor that a full-color map can deliver.
  • Encounters (5 stars) : Many of the combat encounters can be challenging for the players, but easy enough to alter with recommended adjustments within the adventure. The traps in the adventure seemed to have been fully thought out and can make interesting gameplay.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Twilight Queen 5E
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2021 00:08:24

a fully fleshed out 20 -30 page dungeon for $2 - 3! What are you waiting for? You know it's a great deal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates